PDA

View Full Version : 3/7 AP Poll ~ Gonzaga #20 this week

TerpZag
03-08-2011, 08:39 AM
The Lady Zags have moved up to #20 in the latest AP Poll.

3/7 AP Poll Link (http://espn.go.com/womens-college-basketball/rankings/_/poll/1)

Congratulations Lady Zags!

TerpZag
03-08-2011, 02:46 PM
In this week's ESPN/USA Today Coaches Poll, Gonzaga moves up one place to #19.

3/7 ESPN/USA Today Coaches Poll Link that shows how the teams fared this past week (http://espn.go.com/womens-college-basketball/rankings/_/poll/2)

Zagineer
03-08-2011, 10:43 PM
Ok. Here goes. I'm just a college basketball enthusiast and GU fanatic. I'm not a Bracketologist. But I am an Engineer, so I gravitate towards straight math conclusions.

If we're ranked 19 or 20ish, and there are 4 quadrants in the NCAA tourney, seems to me we should be a low 5 seed to a high 6 seed.

What's all this talk about being an 11 seed? :confused:

It seems my entire thought process is off by a factor of 2!! (Or maybe someone else's thought process is off.)

Can someone please explain to me??

U Zig, I Zag
03-09-2011, 09:20 AM
Because they host. I think it came down to them not being a 1,2,3 seed (not realistic) but those seeds (a lot of them) are also hosting. During the WCC champ game they did a pretty good explanation. Made far more sense then I am now, I am sure.

Zagineer
03-09-2011, 12:06 PM
Thanks, UZIZ. I was at the game, but I also recorded it. I'll pay attention for the explanation when I watch the recording,... probably over the weekend.

BobZag
03-09-2011, 02:38 PM
It's a bit complcated but ESPN.com's Charlie Creme explained the seeding and basically the seed must be 11 in order for the Zags to play in K2. The women's tourney obviously works differently than the men's.

TerpZag
03-09-2011, 03:43 PM
Ok. Here goes. I'm just a college basketball enthusiast and GU fanatic. I'm not a Bracketologist. But I am an Engineer, so I gravitate towards straight math conclusions.