PDA

View Full Version : Big Time Non-BCS Matchup Tonight: #4 SDSU at #9 BYU



CDC84
01-26-2011, 07:50 AM
7pm PT on CBS College Sports. 23,000+ will be rocking the Marriott Center in Provo tonight (a preview of what's to come for the Zags next season).

Here is the AP write up on the game:

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/basketball/ncaa/men/gameflash/2011/01/26/66405_preview.html

TSN's Mike Decourcy on SDSU's need to stop BYU scoring machine Jimmer Fredette:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/story/2011-01-26/to-stay-perfect-aztecs-will-have-to-contain-jimmer-fredette

Five Questions For Fredette:

http://www.sportingnews.com/ncaa-basketball/story/2011-01-26/5-questions-for-byu-star-jimmer-fredette

This should be a hell of a game - it's being called the biggest basketball game in the history of the Mountain West Conference. If SDSU is going to drop one, this might be it.

jazzdelmar
01-26-2011, 08:13 AM
lotsa excitement down here..

jimmer is a zag in another uniform......

LMUZAG
01-26-2011, 08:53 AM
Looks like it should be a very entertaining game.

jbslicer
01-26-2011, 09:43 AM
Paul James should come out of retirement and call the game for the Cougars.

gamagin
01-26-2011, 10:01 AM
Jan. 26 San Diego State
7 p.m. at BYU
Favorite BYU BYU BYU

-------- caesars -- mgm -- stations
Point spread -5 -5 -5
Total 145o/u 145o/u 146o/u
Total money line -110 -110 -110

ZagMan in Philly
01-26-2011, 10:48 AM
this game should be a barn burner...

CDC84
01-26-2011, 11:20 AM
Too bad the game isn't on ESPN so that more people could watch it.

RenoZag
01-26-2011, 11:35 AM
LINK (http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704698004576104290412900776.html?m od=WSJ_hpp_MIDDLE_Video_Top)


It's a prestigious school that propels its graduates to desirable jobs. Wherever the team travels, especially in its conference, the opposing fans make it exceedingly clear that they would like to see them mashed into a pulpy sauce. And its team colors are blue and white.

In other words, BYU has become the Duke of the West.

Behind senior guard Jimmer Fredette, the nation's leading scorer, they're 19-1, ranked No. 9 in the polls and a trendy pick to wreak havoc come March.

While mid-majors with a national profile such as Gonzaga or Butler are usually appreciated as underdogs, in the Mountain West Conference, BYU is treated like the establishment, rich in basketball pedigree. It's the squad guaranteed to fill a student section in Las Vegas, bring out hatred in Wyoming and agitate the otherwise sunny people of San Diego. Opposing fans even camp out for tickets to see BYU—and welcome them with a chorus of heckles, slurs and catcalls.

"They're the team everyone loves to hate," said Joe Cravens, a men's basketball analyst for The Mtn., the network of the Mountain West.

At the local betting parlor

BYU is -5

BobZag
01-26-2011, 01:59 PM
A game of more importance to the Zags tonight is the UCF-Memphis tussle leading into the big SDSU-BYU game on CBS College Sports Channel. UCF is very good and was ranked. We want Memphis to be a meaningful W, if indeed we can beat them next weekend.

MJGoGaels
01-26-2011, 03:01 PM
Gaels have the perspective of playing both this season. I'm pulling for SDSU.
http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/gametracker/preview/NCAAB_20110126_SDGST@BYU

link to cbs preview and link for on-line watch.

ronh_pm
01-26-2011, 03:58 PM
Another fun one, featuring not only OSU, but also my second favorite team, Texas, as well as my 4th and 5th favorite Canadians, Tristan Thompson and Cory Joseph.

http://atdhe.net/32354/watch-texas-vs-oklahoma-state

mtzaga
01-26-2011, 06:34 PM
Paul James should come out of retirement and call the game for the Cougars.

Paul James was the Voice of the Cougars on KSL radio for 35 years. He's one of the best.

Birddog
01-27-2011, 06:41 AM
BYU demonstrated the advantages of tenacious rebounding, esp on offense.

cjm720
01-27-2011, 09:20 AM
What a great game. Too bad Jimmer wont be around next year. Davies will blossom and be one of hr best big men in the WCC. Road games to BYU won't be easy. I'm pumped for next year!!

Go zags, beat St. Marys!!!

Birddog
01-27-2011, 09:39 AM
Anybody watch the Texas/ Oklahoma St game last night? Texas PG, Balbay, a guy not considered to be a scoring threat (although he had 10 last night) is basically a defensive specialist. He accounted for 30 or more deflections last night, 18 in the frirst half. Deflections aren't the same as turnovers, but still, that kind of disruption is a big value. Additionally, he got 2 steals and only 1 PF. That Texas team plays some smothering defense. I'm sure Abe would approve.

MDABE80
01-27-2011, 09:45 AM
I did watch! And I do! We need that type of grit.

hooter73
01-27-2011, 11:16 AM
BYU is going to change everything Gonzaga has in the WCC. in the end i think it will be a change for the better but the increda-streak of domination we've had for over a decade may be a little less than what we're used to. Im not going to get down on any losses in conference play next year like I have in years past.

sittingon50
01-27-2011, 12:03 PM
rush the court? Are you kidding me?

adoptedzag
01-27-2011, 12:07 PM
They beat the #4 team in the nation who had the nation's 2nd longest winning streak. While I don't personally agree with them rushing the court, a case could be made for it with all the hype coming into the game.

sittingon50
01-27-2011, 12:09 PM
I understand that, but they were favored to win. It was not an upset.

UberZagFan
01-27-2011, 01:57 PM
Too bad Jimmer wont be around next year.

Really? After watching him last night Uber was thanking the heavens that he will be gone by the time BYU enters the WCC. He's unbelievable. A sweet stroke from anywhere on the court. He just doesn't want to make free throws, he wants the ball to just hit the bottom of the net every time! His shot trajectory is nearly identical from all spots on the court. He has no hesitation pulling up from beyond NBA 3pt range--reminded Uber of Stepp from out there. He changes speeds with the best of them. Unafraid to go among the trees--probably because he knows he'll abuse them. Oh, and if that's not enough, he passes well and makes those around him a lot better. If SDSU had 6 guys on defense, he still would have put up 30 plus. Uber's thankful that GU won't be seeing that next year.

As for rushing the court, pretty silly coming from a team ranked in the Top 10 and favored, especially when the game had pretty much been decided for the last 4-5 minutes. It wasn't like they won on a last second shot that sent the crowd into a frenzy.

adoptedzag
01-27-2011, 02:34 PM
I still think its more apropo for them to rush the court than USF after beating us for the 2nd year in a row after we're losing two in a row lol. That will always make me chuckle.

upan8th
01-27-2011, 04:34 PM
AND, wasn't it refreshing to see the MWC officials actually let the teams PLAY, even though bodies were flying everywhere. As a poster on another thread noted, DAVE LIBBY HAS GOT TO GO!!