PDA

View Full Version : Coach needs to send a message: a little shake up is needed



CDC84
01-21-2011, 09:33 AM
First of all, the Zags still have a good chance of landing an at large bid, and the season last night didn't go down the tank. It was a bad loss and a horrible team performance, but the team hasn't dug themselves into a grave they can't get out of. Yet. Their destiny is still in their own hands.

So what I am about to say IS NOT coming from a sense of panic.

Nonetheless, I think the time is right for Coach Few to send a message.

Unlike some people, I'm not a believer that Stockton is the cure all for this team. I don't feel he is the future solution either. He has limitations.

But I think the time has come for Few to send a message, and that message is starting David at starting PG against USF on Saturday and moving Meech to the bench.

Not permanently, although I suppose David's performance could change that. But mainly to send a message that coach expects more from his starting point guard. Especially when that PG is an upperclassman.

The one thing I will say about Meech is that he is a fighter. He is not a pouter. He is a team guy and a great kid. I feel he would respond well to such a move, and it would energize his play.

Something needs to be done to shake things up. I don't think the move I am suggesting would cause great chaos on the team. The Zags keep alternating guys in and out of the starting small forward position. The only difference with the PG situation is that Meech is a junior, while the small forwards are underclassmen.

A little change is in order.

gozagswoohoo
01-21-2011, 09:36 AM
I think you're right CDC. I would also like Stockton to start a game, just to give him a shot. I think he has earned that. Is that a long term option? I'm not sure....but I would like to see how it works out.

ZagHouse
01-21-2011, 09:44 AM
No more chartered plane until the boys realize that every game needs to be their best effort. I bet flying coach might bring some of these boys back to earth.

bballbeachbum
01-21-2011, 10:27 AM
perhaps a good idea; Meech was improving game by game, but that has not been the case for 3 games. and I'm a big fan of his because of that toughness, warts and all...still am. I just like him, but he needs to shake out of this, whatever it takes, and play with more confidence

however, unlike the majority here on this board, I think THE killer issues rest on defense (agree w/ Hoopaholic), and in particular defensive rebounding; limit those O boards last night in the second half, it's a different outcome, and dominating the glass MUST happen for this team to succeed...and you can bet USF will ATTACK the O glass and the post/paint, just like they did last year

MickMick
01-21-2011, 10:29 AM
The following players need a "message".

Carter, Goodson, Harris, and Gray.

Each "message" should be unique and on a "case by case" basis.

Gray: Take care of the ball. Priority one. Sorry that you are forced into being the primary ball handler, but since you are, take care of the ball. Zags have to live and die with Steven. All you can do is coach him up.

Harris: Use your head with the ball in your hands. Make wise shots, don't charge, and pass it once in awhile. A few more rebounds would be nice as well.

Carter: You have had enough time to "adjust". The waiting is over.

Goodson? I dunno. PMac would be a Godsend about now and look how things ended up for him. Rollercoaster ride for sure. Forrest Gump's proverbial "box of chocolates". "You never know what flavor you are going to get".


Answer me this? What players have reached their "ceiling" and will likely not get much better?

I'll start with Carter.

NovaZag
01-21-2011, 10:56 AM
And what would this teach Meech exactly? Learn how to see the floor? Learn how to shoot a jumpshot? He could've played better, but nearly everyone (except Sacre) could've played better. I'm not saying that Stockton shouldn't get more minutes, but if you're going to start Stockton, it's because he's simply more effective, not because Meech gave such a poor performance yesterday.... because it wasn't that poor, for Meech.

ZagsObserver
01-21-2011, 11:07 AM
The offense simply does not work when Goodson is out there. He'll get a few driving layups, but it's not even his offensive output that's at issue. He has an inability to actually "run" an offense. At this point, I don't think that's something you can teach. Meech would be good off the bench in certain defensive situations or when the team is getting the full-court press. He is not a good first option at pg, and probably not even a second, unfortunately. When you have a pg that facilitates an offense well, everyone around him plays better. I think that's partially the issue with some of the others on the team (ie. Gray, who feels that he needs to try and create on every possession).

VinnyZag
01-21-2011, 11:08 AM
The following players need a "message".

Carter, Goodson, Harris, and Gray.

Each "message" should be unique and on a "case by case" basis.

Harris: ... pass it once in awhile. ..



I agree with much of what you're saying, but I actually think one of the problems with this team is that Harris is playing too passively, not that he's refusing to pass the ball.

I was stuck at the office during last night's game and didn't have the stomach to watch the recording when I got home. But Harris took just 7 shots, and only four two-point shots. Meech had as many field goal attempts as Harris.

I wish Harris would pass less, not more.

gamagin
01-21-2011, 11:15 AM
p.t. needs review. Except Rs's. It used to be that RS & SG, EH & Meech could be counted on for starters. Last night it went back to just RS.

Actually, I thought before last night the matter of p.t. was pretty much settled. Those who weren't playing well or having a bad game or were making bad decisions, would be seated and replaced by an eager, ready and mostly capable sub who would jump in an attempt to settle things down, or shoot, or contribute to fill the void as best he could.

It has worked better and better until last night.

That didn't happen v SCU. Except one time when we pulled ahead and a timeout was called. Then, when play resumed, Few had changed the lineup and we slipped back into our dysfunctional game.

But the point is simple: as long as we put in those most capable at the time, remove those who are having whatever kinds of problems at the time those problems crop up, we have enough horses to potentially stay with our game.

That wasn't done. The substitutions were not made the way they had been before. The good combinations, the ones that had SCU confounded, and which put us into the lead, were removed.

Meantime, they had a plan and stuck to it. When they found their hot hand, they kept feeding him. He kept shooting and his confidence built up with each succeeding shot. We don't do that with systems, or groups of players often enough. We need to figure out what works and then do it till it stops working. Had Foster been missing or been discouraged by better D, SCU would have to change its plans. We need to change the opponents plans. beginnng to end. We don't seem to do that.

I don't know what our plan was. I still don't. It wasn't apparent.

We had as many opportunities to take over as anyone could wish for. We didn't capitalize on them.

We beat ourselves and then they beat us.

So, by all means, p.t. should be reassessed. I don't care who starts or who doesn't. It doesn't matter.

It matters who has come to play and then plays. And it matters, too, that we leave those five in the game if they clearly are making a difference in our favor. And if they keep beating the other guys for the rest of the game, or until it is out of reach, they stay in.

hooter73
01-21-2011, 11:21 AM
OK I think Meech is a near total bust but another thread beating that horse?

A message does need to be sent about motivation to most the team and to the coaches too maybe but at this point in a year the skills you see are the skills you get. Coaches need to work with what they've got and the fans need to quit wanting something that's not there this year frustrating as it is.

Letting Stockton play more and Gray handle less is doable but I'll be really surprised to see it. Harris... nevermind but KO is not the answer for Harris not being the same player he was last year. Keita has the energy to play more minutes and we can afford to sub the wings (as we have no shooting guards imo beside Gray) for whoever is having the 'on' night. Its not a deep NCAA team and only with sound coaching differences like set plays from out of bounds like we used to be so good at will we be a conference champ team.

Funny how much i used to yell at Sacre and now he's the foundation we are happy with.

CDC84
01-21-2011, 11:26 AM
The major issue with Harris right now is that he has hit a wall offensively. Everything comes off his left shoulder. He's being scouted that way. It's causing turnovers and too many player control fouls on his part. He has no counter. He has a decent outside shot from deep, but it's strictly a set shot. He can't do it on the break, etc. He lacks any sort of mid range touch, so he is very reluctant to pull up from 12 feet, and when he does, it's a rare make. Any scoring is coming from pure athleticism. That wasn't the case last year when opposing coaches were still figuring him out.

I am as big of a fan of players participating in international ball as anyone, but EH could really use a whole summer at Gonzaga working with the GU coaches on his offensive skill set. He's not getting the work in that he needs on the German national team. The role that he plays on the German national team couldn't be anymore different than his role at GU.

He needs to develop more offensive countermoves. I knew that after his freshman year, and nothing happened over the offseason to make it happen. And then the injuries came, which exacerbated his offensive shortcomings and hampered his ability to work with the staff to make things better in what little time he spent on campus prior to the season starting.

Regarding the original topic = Few can't send a message to the whole team, even though the whole team was responsible for the loss last night. So someone has to take one for the team. For me, Meech is the obvious choice. I would explain to him that it's not necessarily permanent. The team just needs a little shake up.

gamagin
01-21-2011, 11:43 AM
your last graph

<< Regarding the original topic = Few can't send a message to the whole team, even though the whole team was responsible for the loss last night. So someone has to take one for the team. For me, Meech is the obvious choice. I would explain to him that it's not necessarily permanent. The team just needs a little shake up.>>

are you serious ? the coach can't send a message to the whole team ? You can't ? Coach K has benched an entire starting five to send a message. The message was received, too, if memory serves.

BroncoZAG615
01-21-2011, 11:52 AM
In all honestly, Coach Few needs to do a little self-assessment as much as he needs to send an outward message to the team.

CDC84
01-21-2011, 12:09 PM
are you serious ? the coach can't send a message to the whole team ? You can't ? Coach K has benched an entire starting five to send a message. The message was received, too, if memory serves. __________________

But Coach K has a roster full of McDonald's All Americans on the bench. Also, while I've seen Coach K do something like this during a game, I have never seen him do it to start a game. Starting a game is different.

The intent of not starting Meech is to send a message without disrupting the team in a major way. I don't feel starting David would cause great disruption against USF on Saturday, but it would still convey a message.

The Zags have 11 guys averaging double figures, and all played a part in last night's loss. Someone has to take one for the team.

thespywhozaggedme
01-21-2011, 12:15 PM
And what would this teach Meech exactly? Learn how to see the floor? Learn how to shoot a jumpshot? He could've played better, but nearly everyone (except Sacre) could've played better. I'm not saying that Stockton shouldn't get more minutes, but if you're going to start Stockton, it's because he's simply more effective, not because Meech gave such a poor performance yesterday.... because it wasn't that poor, for Meech.

Good post. I use to get mad at Meech because he's so bad at basic point guard things, i.e making an entry pass into the post, seeing the open man on the break and basic court vision, but then I finally realized that it's not for lack of trying; I distinctly remember seeing Meech try his hardest to get a pass to Rob last night, but it was so poor, it was picked off. Meech just can't do the things we expect of him, and it's really not fair to get mad at him for it, he tries, he just can't do it. He is what he is, a good defender, change of pace guard who can take the ball to the rim. As I stated in my now infamous Wake Forest game recap, Stockton is far and away the best point guard on the team, emphasis on the words point guard, but due to his limited stature, he too will always be a bit of a liability. Last night stunk, but it's not the end of the world.

thespywhozaggedme
01-21-2011, 12:18 PM
In all honestly, Coach Few needs to do a little self-assessment as much as he needs to send an outward message to the team.

+1 You wrote what I was afraid to, but I would have expounded on it, pissed off a lot of posters and then felt bad. Thanks for letting me live vicariously through this post. lol

GrizZAG
01-21-2011, 12:20 PM
Bench those refs! I saw better refs in grade school.

Our players were stifled from the get go by that atrocity and became tentative and passive at times because of it. Put this one behind us and move on.

cjm720
01-21-2011, 12:26 PM
I don't necessarily disagree, but I'd bench everyone except Sacre. We need to play smarter...we were doommed last night with the back to back to back turnovers by Meech, then Gray x2 to start the game. The lack of focus was horrendous. 11/18 assist to turnover ratio will not win games (Meech was 3-1). Send a message to our starters and bench them for the first 5-10 minutes.

We are far from out, and I remain quite hopeful for this team to make the second weekend of the tourney, but we need some soul searching. The first road game in the WCC was a wake up call.

gamagin
01-21-2011, 12:42 PM
__________________

But Coach K has a roster full of McDonald's All Americans on the bench. Also, while I've seen Coach K do something like this during a game, I have never seen him do it to start a game. Starting a game is different.

The intent of not starting Meech is to send a message without disrupting the team in a major way. I don't feel starting David would cause great disruption against USF on Saturday, but it would still convey a message.

The Zags have 11 guys averaging double figures, and all played a part in last night's loss. Someone has to take one for the team.

whenever anyone else messed up while he was at work. Just to send a lesson. But I get what you're saying. I just disagree. I've said before I don't think it matters who starts anymore. It's who wants to play.

and to that end, my meaningless vote would go to Stock if, when he got in, the team responded and he was making things happen.

vs. SCU. I'd have put Stock in sooner, too, and left him in longer, fwiw, because he was driving the tempo and the game more effectively.

bballbeachbum
01-21-2011, 12:46 PM
We had as many opportunities to take over as anyone could wish for. We didn't capitalize on them.

We beat ourselves and then they beat us.

So, by all means, p.t. should be reassessed. I don't care who starts or who doesn't. It doesn't matter.

It matters who has come to play and then plays. And it matters, too, that we leave those five in the game if they clearly are making a difference in our favor. And if they keep beating the other guys for the rest of the game, or until it is out of reach, they stay in.

the game was there to be won, yes; kept thinking that driving home. battled back and thru the FT fest in the 1st half, had the crowd beginning to lose faith, the D was happening early on in the second half and created a series of turnovers boom boom boom, was making plays; it was happening

but those gains weren't sustained, man. Payne was seriously one in this stretch, hats off to the guy...he kicked butt when it mattered in his senior year Rose Bowl game. the crowd started to believe, Foster had his Robin, couldn't answer on O or D, and it turned just like that

EricTheClown
01-21-2011, 01:00 PM
its hard to shake up the lineup when everyone is turning the ball over. i say stick with the same lineup. gray harris sacre and meech as constant starters with arop keita and monninghoff starting based on matchups. theres no need to panic, u just need to accept the team for what it is. on a good night they are barely a top 25 team. on nights like last night, be ready to change the channel

zag70
01-21-2011, 03:06 PM
Amen BroncoZag but I would include the whole staff!

kclubfounder
01-21-2011, 03:14 PM
I agree with the OP.

What would it teach Meech? That isn't the point. Sometimes a change-up causes ripples which turn into waves.

Plus, it sends a message. Hard work and improvement pays dividends. Not that anyone doubts it, but sometimes it is good for a boss/coach to reinforce it. Stockton has earned it and the rest of the team should see him get duly rewarded.

kclubfounder
01-21-2011, 03:18 PM
Do some of you think that Few and staff do not self-evaluate?

Do you think they are so arrogant that they don't believe they need to question their methods and their decisions - even when the team is struggling?

I guess you do think that.

Wow. I certainly don't.

ZagMan
01-21-2011, 03:26 PM
Good post. I use to get mad at Meech because he's so bad at basic point guard things, i.e making an entry pass into the post, seeing the open man on the break and basic court vision, but then I finally realized that it's not for lack of trying; I distinctly remember seeing Meech try his hardest to get a pass to Rob last night, but it was so poor, it was picked off. Meech just can't do the things we expect of him, and it's really not fair to get mad at him for it, he tries, he just can't do it. He is what he is, a good defender, change of pace guard who can take the ball to the rim. As I stated in my now infamous Wake Forest game recap, Stockton is far and away the best point guard on the team, emphasis on the words point guard, but due to his limited stature, he too will always be a bit of a liability. Last night stunk, but it's not the end of the world.

:agreed:

I agree I just don't think Meech is a good point guard, he has his strengths but court vision and laser passes into the post are not them. Stockton has these strengths along with a high basketball IQ. (I'm hoping he gets bigger and stronger)

ronh_pm
01-21-2011, 03:36 PM
I've said before I don't think it matters who starts anymore. It's who wants to play.



I can in all honesty say, that when I saw Harris watch two Broncos hit the floor after a loose ball at his feet, I knew this game was in trouble.

You can put Meech on the bench all night if you want, but when you only have three players that can score, and one of the three is is not willing to work, you need to change that up quick.

Harris was invisable last night and the team would have been served better with anyone else getting his minutes.

kclubfounder
01-21-2011, 03:51 PM
I can in all honesty say, that when I saw Harris watch two Broncos hit the floor after a loose ball at his feet, I knew this game was in trouble.

You can put Meech on the bench all night if you want, but when you only have three players that can score, and one of the three is is not willing to work, you need to change that up quick.

Harris was invisable last night and the team would have been served better with anyone else getting his minutes.

I remember when Ravio disappeared and had a terrible 3-month stretch when one of his best friends died combined with his girlfriend dumping him (at least, that's how I remember it).

These young men have many more things going on in their worlds than what we witness 4 hours/week.

I love the fact that Elias Harris is a Zag. I agree he has had a difficult year so far. I hope all is well outside the 4 hours/week I see him. I am holding on to the belief that he will start dominating once again (before it is too late).

tobizag
01-21-2011, 04:47 PM
No more chartered plane until the boys realize that every game needs to be their best effort. I bet flying coach might bring some of these boys back to earth.

+1

ZagLawGrad
01-21-2011, 04:53 PM
Thank goodness Coach Few is at the top of the food chain on this subject.

maynard g krebs
01-21-2011, 05:06 PM
I agree with starting DS, but only to get the team into an offensive rhythm from the start. The pattern for most of the last 10 games has been the same; slow start, DS comes in and the Zags get easy baskets, and after he goes out, the offensive flow remains better and the Zags maintain/ increase the lead they got w/ him in. I've been privately thinking I'd like to see him start since the Xavier game. If, as Few says, Meech plays better after watching David, he'd be more effective all game if he watches David for a few minutes before coming in.

As far as sending Meech a message, I'm with those who disagree. He plays really hard and does his best, but simply lacks basketball IQ. It's kinda like when the JV coach benched maynard g krebs in 10th grade because he was too slow; there was no way it was gonna make him faster. Some kids have to study all night to get C's in school; others get A's with little effort. IMO no message exists that can be sent to get Meech to do better. He's giving all he has.

NEC26
01-21-2011, 05:11 PM
I agree with starting DS, but only to get the team into an offensive rhythm from the start. The pattern for most of the last 10 games has been the same; slow start, DS comes in and the Zags get easy baskets, and after he goes out, the offensive flow remains better and the Zags maintain/ increase the lead they got w/ him in. I've been privately thinking I'd like to see him start since the Xavier game. If, as Few says, Meech plays better after watching David, he'd be more effective all game if he watches David for a few minutes before coming in.

As far as sending Meech a message, I'm with those who disagree. He plays really hard and does his best, but simply lacks basketball IQ. It's kinda like when the JV coach benched maynard g krebs in 10th grade because he was too slow; there was no way it was gonna make him faster. Some kids have to study all night to get C's in school; others get A's with little effort. IMO no message exists that can be sent to get Meech to do better. He's giving all he has.

Well said, I would at least like the chance to see how it goes with DS starting. The minutes don't have to change drastically.
By the way I think anyone who says Meech doesn't give all out effort are crazy its one of his best attributes to go along with a good attitude and leader.

dim4sum
01-21-2011, 09:06 PM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

gamagin
01-21-2011, 09:15 PM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

it would be a real blessing if you were to realize how very stupid & mean-spirited this post is. Maybe even realize it quick enough to go back & delete it.

kclubfounder
01-21-2011, 09:25 PM
DIM for some is right.

Give me a flipping break dim one.

ZagLawGrad
01-21-2011, 09:34 PM
... Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

That's a line that ought to earn you a couple of weeks in the cooler. And I can put up with just about anybody's posts on here regardless of my own opinions.

Zagineer
01-21-2011, 09:52 PM
Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

:eek: Are you serious? You are actually hoping/praying (use of the word blessing) for bodily harm to a fellow Zag..... who is still wearing the uniform?? :eek:

In all my years (since January 2008) of being on GU Boards, I have never been so upset as I am right now.

DIM. You are totally out of line. Out of the box. Over the top. You need a heavy dose of proper life perspective.

I can't believe it. My real name initials are DIM. I am considering to maybe change my legal name. :mad:

.

NotoriousZ
01-21-2011, 10:25 PM
Ouch, dim4sum, ouch. You've got to know that there's a line and it's about a mile behind you.

I love Meech, and yet I've been thinking that Stock should start and get more time at the point. The majority of his WCC counterparts are not going to expose his shortcomings on defense like some other teams have.

Meech can still be a big part of this team, and HE WILL. I wouldn't mind him playing the 2 or the 3 for streches in a quick, defensive lineup. And he can still play the 1...besides the last game I thought he was making steady progress.

Nevtelen
01-21-2011, 10:34 PM
I can in all honesty say, that when I saw Harris watch two Broncos hit the floor after a loose ball at his feet, I knew this game was in trouble.


Remember around the beginning of last season when Harris ran about 90 feet, bodied off two other guys and saved a ball that was going out of bounds - and this was in the first half of a game we were winning IIRC. I understand that because of the injuries he's probably reluctant to put himself in harm's way, at least unconciously, but man that illustrated the difference in Harris' 2 seasons for me as clear as day.

MickMick
01-21-2011, 10:45 PM
Bell, Pangos, Dranginis, and Spangler can't come soon enough.

The common denominator is that they are all scorers.

When was the last time we had a point guard that didn't have to "develop" an outside shot?

I sure do hope the next group has "it".

MDABE80
01-21-2011, 10:58 PM
Four tough nuts to join Rob! lol...it would be interesting.
Season isn't going well. I hope the coaches aren't blaming the players alone. The kids aren't hustling very much and they just do get the hang on defense. On a super night, Kobe or Michael are about the only two players who are unguardable. Foster was.and will be.

It's this defense, TO's and rebounding...still.as in the beginning it's just not consistently there.
I said it a million times. A team cannot win without all three. This team ncluded. Now...it's the first time I've seen no hustle.

It'll get better and some luck find strike us to get us in the NCAA. Hey we might even win one. Do not forget this SCU game. It's the heart of the matter. Steven's gone to sleep. ELias is playing like he doesn't care.and he's not developed further skills he'll need in any pro league.
Oh well....it'll get better...it has to!

billyberu
01-21-2011, 11:31 PM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

That is a disgusting thing to say. You need to reevaluate your life dimsum.

Hoopaholic
01-22-2011, 06:03 AM
truly disgusting statement towards any college basketball player or human being, let alone one of our own ZAGS...disgusting

1973Zag
01-22-2011, 07:14 AM
How about: start DS, and if he can handle his man defensively-we get the advantage of his ability to run the offense. If his defense becomes a mismatch, in comes DG as a stopper. I'd rather have the offense running and make a defensive adjustment (if necessary), than have the offense flat and try to hold the opponent to 1 pt. less than us. If DS can handle his man,we get both-not so sure about visa versa.

zagitup
01-22-2011, 07:39 AM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

Dim wit. What do you say Mods? This dork needs to sit in the corner for awhile.

bballbeachbum
01-22-2011, 08:10 AM
wow

bballbeachbum
01-22-2011, 08:13 AM
get Meech trending upward again, like he was for most of those games in the win streak. whatever can get that going again I am for. it's not a DS over Meech thing, or vice versa, type question to me. A step forward game from Meech is what is needed again, as he's shown he can do, starting or not starting, whatever. Come on, a step forward game baby! Meech, we NEED you!!!

and from many other players this is needed, too...E, we NEED you man!!! for example. also, Steven as the primary ball handler is not his game, he's a classic off ball guard and great at it, so I'd always rather see Meech or David as the primary regardless, to free Steven

DenDiegoZag
01-22-2011, 08:34 AM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

Dim, I'm not going to bash you as a person. What you wrote there is just simply mean spirited, inappropriate, and very un-Zaglike.

On to the point of the thread, I really don't think it would hurt to shake things up and bring both Goodson and EH off the bench. We cannot keep hoping that Steven come out hot and bombs three 3's because it seems to me those are the only games where the offense "seems" to not start terribly. It is not any worse to start off down 7-0 because you are getting burned on defense than it is to start off down that many because you have three missed shots and four turnovers. The environment will be nuts tonight just like last year, so let's just try and mix things up a bit.

After having attended the games at SCU for several of the past few years, I think we have been playing with fire down there and finall got burned when the final buzzer sounded.

Go Zags! Beat the Dons!

BroncoZAG615
01-22-2011, 08:54 AM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

http://mimg.ugo.com/200805/4813/simon-stunned.gif

RenoZag
01-22-2011, 09:00 AM
Meech has had umpteen chances to redeem himself, but he hasn't. He is intelligent enough (off the court, not on it)to realize that he isn't cutting it as a floor general. Few doesn't owe him an apology if he benches him. Few is coaching as if Meech has some kind of obligation to play. Hate to say it, but a real blessing in disguise would be if Meech were to sustain a season-ending injury. That would force the issue.

No, the blessing is we won't have to read any more of your noxious drivel.