PDA

View Full Version : 2011 Zagcruits Games Week of Jan. 15



ZagNative
01-15-2011, 11:30 AM
From the previous Recruits thread:
Does Ryan shoot 3-pointers with decent accuracy? Just curious.

Let's start another thread.

Here is the schedule for our 2011 kids rhrough next Saturday:


http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTH7TLud8EI/AAAAAAABPnI/zArydzKvHzE/2011-01-15%20Recruit%20Schedules.jpg

I think Kevin Pangos is playing today again in the Silver Fox Tournament in Toronto.

Be sure to verify the times and places of games before you head out.

Info sources for schedules:

Gary Bell - Seattle-Times (http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/sports/highschool/basketball/boys/index.html?site=default&tpl=Team&SearchType=Team&Sport=6&TeamID=914&season=current)
Chris Sarbaugh - Gonzaga Prep HS (http://www.gprep.com/s/766/index.aspx?sid=766&gid=1&pgid=368)
Kyle Dranginis - Skyview HS (http://www1.nsd131.org/mainsite/schools/shs/Calendar/SportsCalendar.aspx)
Ryan Spangler - Bridge Creek HS (http://www.bridgecreek.k12.ok.us/hs/hs.htm)

BZ, Ryan doesn't shoot many threes. He's 6/14 on the season. Stats through yesterday's game (partial stats only for yesterday's game)


http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTH-cPOokeI/AAAAAAABPnU/1mgC4H1dnY4/2011-01-15%20Ryan%20Spangler%20stats.jpg

Birddog
01-15-2011, 11:41 AM
ZN, I don't know about the other teams, but those BC times are guidelines at best. For instance, BC plays at 8 PM (CST) tonight. I was frustrated after the Luther game fiasco so I called the school to confirm the time and place.

ZagNative
01-15-2011, 11:47 AM
That's why I included the source of the info above. One would think the school's website would be a reliable source, but perhaps not ...

MDABE80
01-15-2011, 01:09 PM
http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/sports/highschool/basketball/boys/index.html?site=default&tpl=Boxscore&ID=30031&season=current

Looks like Bell put up 28 pts last night.

BobZag
01-15-2011, 01:31 PM
http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/sports/highschool/basketball/boys/index.html?site=default&tpl=Boxscore&ID=30031&season=current

Looks like Bell put up 28 pts last night.

28? Is that all? That slacker.

:rolleyes:

ZagNative
01-15-2011, 01:54 PM
28? Is that all? That slacker.

:rolleyes:We'll see what his assist numbers look like when the full box score is entered on the Kentridge site Monday, but I'm looking forward to seeing if his assist numbers were high for that game. Brendan Westendorf scored27 (season average 15.5), and Jawan Stepney, 13 points (ave. 4)

OK-ZagFan
01-15-2011, 07:35 PM
Spangler unofficial stats against Bethany. Score 61-57 in OT. 39 points, 13 rebounds, 3 blocks, 4 assist. He shot 11-17 from the free throw line.
He competed against McGrady who is also 6'8". McGrady had 12 points, 1 rebound, & 4 blocked shots. The blocked shots came when Spangler was on the bench for 4:38 in the first half. McGrady fouled out in OT.
This was a defensive battle tonight and if Spangler would have had some out side shooters, it wouldn't have even been a game. Bridge Creek did loose their point guard for the rest of the year, so Bridge Creek will have their work cut out for them.

Purcell Tourn: Jan 20-22
Bridge Creek vs Ada 5:10 pm CST 20th. If Bridge Creek wins they play 7:50 pm CST on 21st. Then final game is @ 6:30 pm CST on 22nd.

Other teams in tourn: Anadarko (4A), Purcell (3A), St. Mary (3A), Byng (4A), Duncan (5A), Sulphur (3A)

sonuvazag
01-15-2011, 07:37 PM
Bridge Creek did loose their point guard for the rest of the year, so Bridge Creek will have their work cut out for them.

I'm thinking Spangler takes the point.:p

ZagNative
01-16-2011, 07:21 AM
OK-ZagFan, Thank you so much for the early stats and report!

Kyle Dranginis: From the Idaho Press-Tribune (http://www.idahopress.com/sports/highschool/basketball_-_boys/article_6a6f6a82-2145-11e0-b4dc-001cc4c002e0.html):
Duo leads Skyview

He’s the motor who keeps the Skyview vehicle in motion, a Division-I bound athlete, 6-foot-5 in stature who can single-handedly control a contest through his various skills.

That would be Kyle Dranginis, the best basketball player in the state, according to Columbia coach Reggie Guerrero. And on Saturday night, when Dranginis performed his usual theatrics, using his wheels to drive through the lane and draw defenders, he found a teammate to ride shotgun in his quest to run over Columbia.

That teammate would be Daniel Slemmer, a sharp-shooting sophomore guard who recorded 19 first-half points, helping the Hawks overcome a poor start en route to their 72-58 victory. Slemmer drained 5-of-9 attempts from 3-point range, often uncontested, thanks partly to artful passes from Dranginis.

“We know Daniel is a good shooter,” said Dranginis, who signed with Gonzaga in November and helped Skyview improve to 9-3 overall and 6-1 in the 4A Southern Idaho Conference. “I didn’t hesitate at all to kick it to him when I saw (him open). He can drain it.”

After trailing most of the first half, Dranginis led Skyview on a 24-3 run that stretched over the second and third quarters. He finished the game with 18 points, 10 rebounds, six steals, four blocks and nine assists.

Seven of those nine assists occurred in the first half, some were long-range passes stretching the full length of the court, others were passes in the half-court offense destined for Slemmer, who was often standing by his lonesome at the 3-point line.

“The kid that got us tonight is Slemmer,” said Guerrero, whose team dropped to 1-12 overall and 1-6 in 4A SIC play. “When you have, in my opinion, the best player in the state (Dranginis), they’re going to do those things.”

Read the full story here. (http://www.idahopress.com/sports/highschool/basketball_-_boys/article_6a6f6a82-2145-11e0-b4dc-001cc4c002e0.html)

Box Score (http://www.cybersportsusa.com/webgames/BoxScore.aspx?uid=0&ssid=&xmlfile=ColSky011520111730.xml):


http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTMXBDwPcHI/AAAAAAABPns/gOphmeHW9zg/2011-01-15%20Skyview%20Columbia.jpg

The story above didn't have a pic, but this thread needs one!


http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S2nd4i2ho8I/AAAAAAAAFMg/8qGneZcbZII/2010-01-19%20Kyle%20Dranginis%20Bishop%20Kelly.jpg

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 11:08 AM
I got a heads up that one of our members might be heading to Bishop Kelly to see Kyle Dranginis play tonight. Yippie! Maybe a fresh first-hand report coming!

Repost of the schedule put up earlier in this thread:


http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTH7TLud8EI/AAAAAAABPnI/zArydzKvHzE/2011-01-15%20Recruit%20Schedules.jpg

The usual cautions about verifying times and places before you head out apply. OK-Zagfan, do you know the time and place for Ryan's game tonight for sure?

Anyone going to catch any of tonight's other games?

thespywhozaggedme
01-18-2011, 11:41 AM
ZN, are we looking at this Slemmer kid? Only a soph and putting up similar #'s to Kyle when he was a sophomore.

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 11:48 AM
ZN, are we looking at this Slemmer kid? Only a soph and putting up similar #'s to Kyle when he was a sophomore.I haven't heard a peep about him, but maybe BZ has ..

BobZag
01-18-2011, 01:52 PM
Doubtful on the Skyview soph.

Bishop Kelly will be tough. Skyview will have to step it up.

IdahoSports.com will webcast the rematch vs Kuna later this season, so you'll want to watch that one.

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 06:35 PM
Doubtful on the Skyview soph.

Bishop Kelly will be tough. Skyview will have to step it up.

IdahoSports.com will webcast the rematch vs Kuna later this season, so you'll want to watch that one.Live stats up on Cybersports (http://www.cybersportsusa.com/webgames/webgame.aspx?xmlfile=BisSky011820111730.xml&uid=0&ssid=). (Thanks to stretchlimo for the link!)

Kyle with 18 of Skyview's 38 points, Bishop Kelly 35, with 2:14 left to go in the fourth.

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 06:51 PM
Skyview takes it, 45-42. Box Score here (http://www.cybersportsusa.com/webgames/BoxScore.aspx?uid=0&ssid=&xmlfile=BisSky011820111730.xml).

Congrats, Kyle!

zagking
01-18-2011, 07:30 PM
I was able to watch the BK-Skyview game tonight, and I walked away being pretty impressed by KD. It also seems like I was just beat by the box score report, so I’ll add in my observations from the game tonight. This was a very tough game, and I think the largest lead during the whole game was a 6 point advantage by Skyview with about a minute left. KD played really well throughout the whole game. Even being the best scorer and player on the team he is no way at all a ball hog. He doesn’t try to do more than he should, and really operates through the offense. His passing was great, and he seemed to always find the open man. He could have had a couple more nice assists but his teammates just nearly missed some good shots. I also don’t think that KD took bad shots tonight. His missed 3’s rattled in and out, and so did his free throws. He’s very quick with the ball, and has great change of direction. I was surprised by how easy it was for him to continually open up shots for himself. BK played him pretty tough defensively, and it appeared to rattle BK players more than KD. He kept his cool even when getting some extras shoves from the other players. The end of the game was probably KD’s best moment. KD got the ball off the inbounds, and passed to a teammate streaking down towards the other end for an easy lay-up. Then he turned to the BK student section and gave them the shhhhhh gesture. I also had KD down for 3 blocks on the night. He is truly a gamer, and is a huge reason for the win tonight. He was fun to watch.

zag67
01-18-2011, 08:59 PM
I just noticed in the seattle online that Gary Bell had 40 points. Kentridge beat Auburn riverside 75 - 65. That is all that I know about the game.

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 09:00 PM
That was great, Zagking! Thanks for the report!

And hey! Gary Bell scored 40 tonight to lead Kentridge to a 75-65 win over Auburn Riverside, per the Seattle-Times (http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/sports/highschool/basketball/boys/index.html?site=default&tpl=Boxscore&ID=30032&season=current).

Kentridge (http://www.kentridgebasketball.com/game.jsp) will probably post the box score within the next day or two, and Washington Preps (http://waprepsports.net/) should have a photo album up tomorrow, but in the meantime, here's a fabulous pic by Dan Brown from the Mt. Rainier game:

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTZ9VhhsEJI/AAAAAAABP4s/f2h_TBpSlao/2011-01-07%20Gary%20Bell%20Mt%20Rainier.JPG

ZagNative
01-18-2011, 10:06 PM
Chris Sarbaugh scores 19 points as Gonzaga Prep defeats Central Valley 64-55, per the Spokesman-Review (http://www.spokesman.com/preps/games/2011/jan/18/1625/)

ZagNative
01-19-2011, 07:24 AM
New Ryan Spangler video on OKBlitz.Com (http://okblitz.com/videos.aspx?cid=33214), "Too Much Spangler for Mount Saint Mary
Ryan Spangler scored 38 points against arch-rival Mount Saint Mary"

ZagNative
01-19-2011, 07:42 AM
Kyle Dranginis game story and photo from the Idaho Press-Tribune (http://www.idahopress.com/sports/highschool/basketball_-_boys/article_cc940fb6-23a1-11e0-8d5c-001cc4c002e0.html):
Dranginis takes over in Skyview win

http://bloximages.chicago2.vip.townnews.com/idahopress.com/content/tncms/assets/editorial/c/32/e0b/c32e0b20-23a1-11e0-9e32-001cc4c002e0-revisions/4d36996c9801b.preview-300.jpg

BOISE — He’s Kyle Dranginis. Just in case there was any confusion among the Bishop Kelly faithful.

After getting heckled by the Bishop Kelly student section all night, Skyview’s Gonzaga-bound senior lifted the Hawks on his shoulders late in the game like he’s done so many times over the past four seasons, and led Skyview to a 45-42 come-from-behind road victory against the Knights.

In the final eight minutes of the game, the point guard was 3-for-4 from the field, 5-for-5 from the free-throw line, recorded 11 points, four rebounds, two blocked shots and two steals. He even had the awareness to call a timeout late in the game as he was falling out of bounds.

“What I was real impressed with tonight is he didn’t do a whole lot of flashy stuff, necessarily,” Skyview coach Aaron Sanders said. “... It’s easy to notice him when he’s knocking down 3, after 3, after 3, but I thought he did a really good job of finding other ways to win tonight.”
Read the rest of the story here (http://www.idahopress.com/sports/highschool/basketball_-_boys/article_cc940fb6-23a1-11e0-8d5c-001cc4c002e0.html).

ZagNative
01-19-2011, 08:00 AM
Gary Bell: Box score for the Auburn Riverside game, from the Kentridge bb site (http://www.kentridgebasketball.com/game.jsp):

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTcXbSgEDyI/AAAAAAABP48/ms0UEsM2ZvA/2011-01-18%20Gary%20Bell%20Riverside.jpg

cjm720
01-19-2011, 08:10 AM
New Ryan Spangler video on OKBlitz.Com (http://okblitz.com/videos.aspx?cid=33214), "Too Much Spangler for Mount Saint Mary
Ryan Spangler scored 38 points against arch-rival Mount Saint Mary"

As always, thanks ZN!

Spangler's a man against boys. I would estimate he will have a hard time cracking GU's line up next year and likely be a RS candidate.

Zag4Hire
01-19-2011, 08:10 AM
Gary Bell: Box score for the Auburn Riverside game, from the Kentridge bb site (http://www.kentridgebasketball.com/game.jsp):

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TTcXbSgEDyI/AAAAAAABP48/ms0UEsM2ZvA/2011-01-18%20Gary%20Bell%20Riverside.jpg

Wow, look at that stat line. At least for Kentridge's sake, Gary Bell = Kobe. Watchout WCC!

http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/260195/gary3.jpg

http://blog.imgacademies.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/kobe_bryant.jpg

BobZag
01-19-2011, 09:03 AM
February 4. Mark it down. Skyview will travel to Kuna for what is shaping up as a game to determine league champs.

Meanwhile, very nice games last night for Kyle and Gary and Ryan.

stretchlimo
01-19-2011, 10:06 AM
New Ryan Spangler video on OKBlitz.Com (http://okblitz.com/videos.aspx?cid=33214), "Too Much Spangler for Mount Saint Mary
Ryan Spangler scored 38 points against arch-rival Mount Saint Mary"

Ryan's outlet at 1:40....the low baseline camera angle doesn't do justice - that pass was ridiculous. First the immediate awareness to look all the way downcourt, plus the ability to just wheel and flick a 70-foot dart on the money. I know he's a QB and all, but that wasn't your typical QB-type pass - it was slightly off-balance and across-the-body. Wow.

Other than that, Ryan pretty much projects to the "beast" category, imo. :)

Thanks for the vid, ZN. Awesome stuff.

ID ZAGFAN
01-19-2011, 10:19 AM
Ryan's outlet at 1:40....the low baseline camera angle doesn't do justice - that pass was ridiculous. First the immediate awareness to look all the way downcourt, plus the ability to just wheel and flick a 70-foot dart on the money. I know he's a QB and all, but that wasn't your typical QB-type pass - it was slightly off-balance and across-the-body. Wow.

Other than that, Ryan pretty much projects to the "beast" category, imo. :)

Thanks for the vid, ZN. Awesome stuff.

Not to mention that he has a good start on the requisite "Tats" for a GU big!!;)

sittingon50
01-19-2011, 11:50 AM
He may take over for Bouldin in throwing that "touchdown pass" on the inbounds play the Zags like to run at the end of a close game.

ZagNative
01-21-2011, 01:23 PM
Four games coming up today should bring Zag fans a bit of cheer:

Ryan Spangler Fri Jan 21, 5:10 PM Bridge Creek v. Ada at Purcell Tournament
Chris Sarbaugh Fri, Jan 21, 7:00 PM Gonzaga Prep at Mead
Gary Bell Fri Jan 21, 7:30 PM Kent-Meridian at Kentridge
Kyle Dranginis Fri Jan 21, 7:30 PM Skyview at Mountain Home


Spangler's game is a reschedule of the game originally scheduled for yesterday, postponed because of icy roads in Oklahoma. The games originally scheduled for today and tomorrow were pushed back to Saturday and Monday.

Times for games are local (Ryan's game today is at 3:10 PM Spokane time, and Kyle's at 6:30 PM.)

Tidbit from a chat on newsok.com's high school blog writer,Robert Przybylo (http://blog.newsok.com/highschoolsports/):

Who are your top 5 players in the state regardless of class
Friday January 21, 2011 11:38 Guest
11:41

Robert Przybylo:
I'm assuming boys basketball? Ryan Spangler of Bridge Creek. Stephen Clark of Douglass. Josh Richardson of Santa Fe. Obi Emegano of Memorial. And I really liked the Colbert twins (Trez/Trael) at Midwest City. I can't say too much about the Tulsa kids or Nino Jackson or Ardmore (sorry, haven't seen them).

sittingon50
01-21-2011, 02:21 PM
Any news on decommits after SCU?

:fingergun:

ZagNative
01-21-2011, 03:04 PM
Any news on decommits after SCU?

:fingergun:Scat, Sittingon50! The incoming class knows full well that there is no truth to the rumor that Kevin Foster is the Killer Bunny (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCI18qAoKq4)! They are not afraid!

ZagNative
01-22-2011, 02:57 PM
Ryan Spangler scored 19 points yesterday as Bridge Creek loses to Anadarko 47-43 in the first round of the Heart of Oklahoma Tournament in Purcell.


Highlight video and game story from Okblitz.com here (http://okblitz.com/Article.aspx?id=15350).

Chris Sarbugh: Gonzaga Prep defeated Mead 60-46. No points shown for Chris in the Spokesman-Review game summary (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2011/jan/22/saxons-go-to-work-inside/).

Gary Bell: As posted in another thread (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=32319), Gary had another big day, scoring 32 points, grabbing 10 rebounds and dishing out four assists as Kentridge beat Kent-Meridian 83-60.

Kyle Dranginis: Skyview beat Mountain Home 63-39 (http://varsityextra.idahostatesman.com/boys-basketball-game.php?gameid=1682&stats=Mountain%20Home-at-Skyview), with Kyle scoring 23 points and pulling down 9 rebounds.

As usual, no clue at all about what's going on with Kevin Pangos team, with information difficult to find.

maynard g krebs
01-22-2011, 03:22 PM
11-11 ft's for Gary, so it looks like he's cleaned that up. Good news. And Kentridge was 30-30. Amazing.

OK-ZagFan
01-23-2011, 08:01 AM
Ryan Spangler scored 19 points yesterday as Bridge Creek loses to Anadarko 47-43 in the first round of the Heart of Oklahoma Tournament in Purcell.


Highlight video and game story from Okblitz.com here (http://okblitz.com/Article.aspx?id=15350).

Chris Sarbugh: Gonzaga Prep defeated Mead 60-46. No points shown for Chris in the Spokesman-Review game summary (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2011/jan/22/saxons-go-to-work-inside/).

Gary Bell: As posted in another thread (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=32319), Gary had another big day, scoring 32 points, grabbing 10 rebounds and dishing out four assists as Kentridge beat Kent-Meridian 83-60.

Kyle Dranginis: Skyview beat Mountain Home 63-39 (http://varsityextra.idahostatesman.com/boys-basketball-game.php?gameid=1682&stats=Mountain%20Home-at-Skyview), with Kyle scoring 23 points and pulling down 9 rebounds.

As usual, no clue at all about what's going on with Kevin Pangos team, with information difficult to find.

UPDATE:
ZagNative,
I believe you were looking at 2010 game stats for Bridge Creek vs Anadarko.

Ryan scored 30 points in last night win over Anadarko. Score was 48-47 Bridge Creek.

Bridge Creek plays Monday at 6:30 vs Duncan for the Purcell Championship.

ZagNative
01-23-2011, 08:16 AM
Oops! Thanks for the good news! Looking forward to your report!

nonzagzag
01-23-2011, 11:14 AM
http://okblitz.com/Article.aspx?id=33328


does this Spangler Dunk video work for anybody?

OK-ZagFan
01-23-2011, 04:21 PM
Oops! Thanks for the good news! Looking forward to your report!

Ur Welcome........
I'll be at the Tourn Championship tomorrow night and will give update, when the game is over. I believe it will be a heck of a game!!!!!!

Baseline
01-23-2011, 11:25 PM
There is a huge difference in Spangler's physical appearance between last year and this year. He looks slimmer and more muscle this year. Big change for a high school kid.

OK-ZagFan
01-24-2011, 07:00 PM
Ryan Spangler's team lost tonight in the Purcell tourn to Duncan 42-54.

Ryan had 20 points, 12 rebounds, 15 blocked shots, & 4 assist.
The boy played tough tonight even with an elbow to the right eye, but it wasn't good enough to pull out a win.
Bridge Creek plays Lexington tomorrow night around 8 pm CST.

ZagNative
01-24-2011, 07:28 PM
Scott Wright story on NewsOk.com (http://newsok.com/unselfish-bridge-creek-team-maintains-win-first-attitude/article/3535105):


‘Unselfish' Bridge Creek team maintains win-first attitude
Bobcat players have a tight-knit relationship, are focused on winning

PURCELL — If Bridge Creek basketball is the topic, you know 6-foot-8 senior Ryan Spangler is at the heart of the conversation.

Spangler, with his averages of 33 points, 18 rebounds and six blocked shots per game, is the biggest reason for the Bobcats' strong start to the season.

But, just like every other basketball team, Bridge Creek puts five players on the court.

With a group of complementary players who coach Jason Sanders calls “the most unselfish kids I've ever been around,” the Bobcats have maintained a win-first attitude, even when all the outside attention is directed at one player.

“When you're a team, it doesn't matter who gets the publicity,” senior guard Jacob Bolich said. “We go by the ‘Ws.' When you get the ‘W,' it's all good.”

They weren't so fortunate Monday night, suffering their first loss of the season after starting 16-0. Despite leading 28-19 at halftime, shots stopped falling for the Bobcats in the second half of a 54-42 loss to Duncan in the championship game of the Heart of Oklahoma Tournament at Purcell.

Spangler, who signed with Gonzaga in November, finished with a team-high 20 points, 23 rebounds and 15 blocked shots for his fourth triple-double of the season.

He routinely drew two defenders as soon as he came inside the 3-point line and a third when he caught the ball, so he spent a lot of time looking for his teammates.

“In our offense, we try to work it in and throw it out,” Spangler said. “I can trust them when I throw it out to knock the shots down. And they play defense like heck.”

Read more: http://newsok.com/unselfish-bridge-creek-team-maintains-win-first-attitude/article/3535105#ixzz1C1Aw4Hzh

kingzag
01-24-2011, 08:18 PM
Fifteen blocks. Holy crap. Maybe its a misprint. If not thats incredible against a very strong team .

UberZagFan
01-24-2011, 09:59 PM
15 blocks? Guess the opponents didn't learn their lesson on when and where to shoot...

OK-ZagFan
01-25-2011, 07:19 AM
Sorry Zag fans, I guess I was a little off on the rebounds last night LOL.....
23 instead of 12. I'll try to get better stats next time before I post them.

sittingon50
01-25-2011, 09:06 AM
Yeah, OK. I was beginning to think he was pretty average.

:p

OK-ZagFan
01-25-2011, 11:19 AM
Here is a post from the Duncan paper today about Ryan Spangler.


PURCELL — It took a team effort and the Duncan Demons got it done.

Duncan trailed by as many as 11 points in the third quarter, but rallied to defeat Bridge Creek, 54-42, in the championship game of the 41st Annual Heart of Oklahoma Tournament in Purcell.

“We talk about service, from the littlest manager to the littlest player to the biggest and best player, we’re about each other,” Duncan coach Mikel Davison said. “You’ve got to have vision and dreams, and go out and execute. We did that.”

Jared Griffin had 17 points to lead a trio of Demons (13-3) in double figures. Jack Braught had 12 and Ryan Cox pitched in with 11, and DHS committed just four turnovers in picking up its first tournament championship in Davison’s two-year reign.

“This is a huge step for us,” Davison said. “This was a good tournament with quality teams. It wasn’t a push and it was a big win.”

Bridge Creek’s Ryan Spangler, headed to Gonzaga on a basketball scholarship, was not going to be denied. Spangler finished with a triple-double, posting 20 points, 18 rebounds and 14 blocks.

His team, however, did little to back him up when the Demons made a furious rally. The next highest scorer for the Bobcats was Austen Kelley with eight.“It took us a quarter, but we got the job done,” said Davison. “(Michael) Buben and (Jackson) Stone did a job. We kinda junked around for a quarter and then I told them to go get him (Spangler). We pushed, shoved and laid into him, and he got tired a little bit. When he went to the bench, we made our run.”
Cox and Braught scored the only seven points for DHS in the first quarter, as BCHS jumped out to a 13-7 lead. The Bobcats extended that lead to 28-19 at halftime and furthered it more in the third quarter to 33-22 with 6:00 on the clock.

The final 14 minutes of the ballgame was all Duncan.

The Demons went closed out the game on a 32-9 run, including making 11 of 14 free throws, all in the second half.

John Hamm and Daniel McCoy attacked on the defensive end and helped force six turnovers in the third quarter. Many of those turned into McCoy, Cox and Griffin lay-ups. McCoy finished with six points and 12 rebounds, while Hamm added two points, which pulled DHS within one to end the third quarter.

McCoy gave the Demons their first lead since a 5-3 lead in the first quarter with a bucket to open the fourth quarter. Duncan led 37-36 at that point and held Bridge Creek to just six points over the final eight minutes.

Cox gave the Demons a four-point advantage with consecutive buckets and later in the quarter, Griffin put an exclamation point with a lay-up and foul shot after being hacked on his way up.

The Demons began to feel the celebration coming on and cruised the final 1:27 of the game to the win.

“Daniel does everything on the floor,” Davison said. “He defends, he scores and he usually has the toughest assignment on defense. He keeps things going on offense, keeps the flow of the offense.

“We had to get the nerve to go out and play. That’s what we did.”

ZagNative
01-25-2011, 11:33 AM
I went back to check to see if Scott Wright edited his stat line. He didn't, but the story did now show a nice photo of a newly shorn Ryan.


http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TT8x2GvzukI/AAAAAAABQFI/10sbitQF1Wo/2011-01-24%20Ryan%20Spangler%20v%20Duncan.jpg



Bridge Creek's Ryan Spangler (12) grabs a rebound between Daniel McCoy (24), left, and Jared Griffen (22) of Duncan during the boys high school basketball game between Bridge Creek and Duncan in the Heart of Oklahoma Tournament at Purcell High School in Purcell, Okla., Monday, January 24, 2011. Duncan won, 54-42