PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga should follow Oregon's lead



gu03alum
01-14-2011, 03:50 PM
I love Oregon's new floor and think that Gonzaga should do something similar. I was thinking they could incorporate Mt. Spokane or Spokane river.

http://www.wired.com/playbook/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/oregon-floor-660x361.jpg

BobZag
01-14-2011, 04:02 PM
http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/blog/the_dagger/post/Distracting-glare-detracts-from-first-game-at-Or?urn=ncaab-307433

The floor of Oregon's new arena.

Did it bother any of you? I didn't catch the game.

BobZag
01-14-2011, 04:04 PM
We were on the same wavelength. :)

rijman
01-14-2011, 04:04 PM
When I tuned in the Zag game and had to sit through the end of the Oregon game, actually a good game, I thought something was wrong with my tv. After watching for a little while I realized the shaded areas of the floor was a picture of trees. I wonder what the players think of it.

Jakester425
01-14-2011, 04:07 PM
Really? To each his own I guess. This was my fb status once I saw it last night.

"Award for ugliest basketball court goes to...Oregon."

Kiddwell
01-14-2011, 04:14 PM
A really interesting and innovative idea. On the other hand, that floor's Pac-10 logo in contrast to the WCC's logo is, on first glance, hard to figure out and, on second glance, kind of ugly.

:]

FuManShoes
01-14-2011, 04:15 PM
Looks like they ran out of stain, or someone had an accident.

77Zag
01-14-2011, 04:22 PM
Looks ok for Oregon --

I think the Kennel looks just fine -- may the tradition continue

zaguarxj
01-14-2011, 04:24 PM
How 'bout a marmot?

LynetteG
01-14-2011, 05:46 PM
Really? To each his own I guess. This was my fb status once I saw it last night.

"Award for ugliest basketball court goes to...Oregon."

+1, I think it's really ugly, but that's just my opinion!

MDABE80
01-14-2011, 05:52 PM
The glare on that floor was nearly disabling. It's got some depth to it as well. Kinda disorienting.. to each his own I guess.

gamagin
01-14-2011, 05:53 PM
casket.

Baseline
01-14-2011, 05:59 PM
I didn't like it at all. The dark stain looked like the old gyms from 40 years ago, quite dark. The contrast with the lighter areas bothered me and I felt it was a distraction. I think it would bother the players also, but thats just a guess.

RenoZag
01-14-2011, 06:23 PM
The half-court line is barely visible; they showed a close-up on TV and it is so poorly defined that "over and back" calls will be harder than Hades to determine.

It's all about Phil Knight's ego.

As for Gonzaga following Oregon's lead: The Ducks last made the NCAA's in 2008. They last played the NIT in 2004. The only place the Ducks lead to is basketball mediocrity.

They do have kewl football unis. . .makes 'em look look like Japanese anime.

Sarenyon
01-14-2011, 06:47 PM
"Gonzaga should follow Oregon's lead"

No, no they shouldn't.

FuManShoes
01-14-2011, 06:56 PM
PS - It's gotta give the home team some sort of advantage. The Ducks will be quite used to the crazy paint job but visitors may be a wee bit distracted.

mgadfly
01-14-2011, 07:06 PM
At first glance I hated it (just as I can't stand Boise State's football field) but by the end of the game I really liked it. I'm not sure why. I think it fits with basketball. It's artistic, it is fun, and unique.

Edit to add: I like it at Oregon. GU shouldn't imitate it.

azzagfan
01-14-2011, 07:44 PM
If we can get the same result Eastern did after changing their turf red, I'll support it regardless of how ugly it is :).

Zagineer
01-14-2011, 08:29 PM
As for my personal opinion........

A great idea.... (i.e., Hey,...... let's make something that embraces and models the PNW/Oregon heritage.)

But,.....

Poorly executed..... (i.e., Somehow,..... the need for functionality got lost in the process. :( Things like, the lines need to be clear and visible. And the mural needs to be subtle, as to not make visiting team players get dizzy and vomit on the court.)

But, if all that currently exists solidifies Mark Few as the lifetime coach at GU, then.......

I like it!! :clap:

For Oregon, that is. Not for GU.

:D.

hooter73
01-14-2011, 09:07 PM
You wouldn't believe what the coating on the K2 floor cost.

gamagin
01-14-2011, 09:19 PM
You wouldn't believe what the coating on the K2 floor cost.

to refinish, based on hardwood refinishing I've had done.

5600-7980 sq feet is the minimum & max allowed for D1 courts,according to the NCAA

So, not knowing the actual size of the K2, I guesstimate the cost @ 5600 sq ft: ($3-$4 per sq ft): $16,800-$22,400.

The cost @ 7980 sq ft ($3-$4 per sq ft): $23,940-$31,920.

All depends on the bid, of course but it's not cheap, as you point out.

RenoZag
01-14-2011, 09:21 PM
This thread has been hijacked by Home Depot. . .

;)

Juskickenit2
01-14-2011, 10:43 PM
That truly is ugly. The worst kind of live trace of some trees from adobe illustrator combined with disgusting colors and poor visual que's for actual lines on a basketball. Oregon should get their money back from that designer. Truly lost sense of the functionality of a court.

Juskickenit2
01-14-2011, 10:44 PM
What is that symbol under the O?

Rangerzag
01-15-2011, 02:18 AM
The Stanford mascot will feel right at home ;)

kitzbuel
01-15-2011, 04:31 AM
When I tuned in the Zag game and had to sit through the end of the Oregon game, actually a good game, I thought something was wrong with my tv. After watching for a little while I realized the shaded areas of the floor was a picture of trees. I wonder what the players think of it.

I actually flipped to another channel to make sure my tv was ok.

kitzbuel
01-15-2011, 04:35 AM
a view up from the casket.
+1

Zagpower
01-15-2011, 04:38 AM
Looks like a huge puke stain.

I thought posters were being sarcastic when some commented that they liked it. Different tastes, I guess.

ZagMan in Philly
01-15-2011, 05:03 AM
Way too busy and a big distraction while you are trying to follow the game.
I have a feeling they will make a change soon.

GrizZAG
01-15-2011, 05:19 AM
Like anothe poster said, I thought I was looking at an antique gym that had horrible stains at first. I didn't care for it, seems like another over the top Oregon attempt at trying to look like the trend setter (more of Knight's money than they know what to do with). Jerseys were pretty cool though in the Big Game I do admit.

I would be curious to hear from officials and players from opposing teams who are not accustomed to such a confusing floor pattern where it might be difficult to have peripheral awareness of where the edge of the court is during play.

ZagMan in Philly
01-15-2011, 05:24 AM
What is that symbol under the O?

I was curious too...

http://www.goducks.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=500&ATCLID=205018992

GrizZAG
01-15-2011, 05:51 AM
Reminds me of ILLUMINATTI symbol from Angels and Demons.

misszigzag
01-15-2011, 06:10 AM
I am all for artistic expression, but really don't think the court floors should be messed with too much.

Not sure about player complaints, but it seems viewers had many.
http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/blog/the_dagger/post/Distracting-glare-detracts-from-first-game-at-Or?urn=ncaab-307433