PDA

View Full Version : Prediction Thread: GU vs. Notre Dame (Saturday @ 5:30 PM/ESPN2)



Kiddwell
12-10-2010, 09:45 AM
The Irish were undefeated till Kentucky took ‘em apart (72-58) on Wednesday in Louisville. Otherwise, they’ve looked good beating Georgia (89-83), California (57-44), and Wisconsin (58-51). They’ll be smelling blood when they see the video on GU’s vaporization at Wazzu.

Names likely to challenge our guys include Guard Ben Hansbrough (Sr, 6-3), Forward Tyrone Nash (Sr, 6-8), Forward Tim Abromatitis (Sr, 6-8), and Forward Carleton Scott (Sr, 6-8).

No way, however, that these guys become the third team in a row to rain treys on our boys—well, Kiddwell hopes so. Here’s also hoping our guys blow off their WSU blowout, square their shoulders, and play this squad the way they played ND's Big East conference mate Marquette.

GU – 72
Irish – 71


:]

gamagin
12-10-2010, 09:50 AM
lets hope we surprise them and not play that way. I've got GU to show up. After that, I'd be just guessing.

My hope is we start fresh and play that way, putting the past behind us and looking to the rest of the season. It's possible. There seems to be no place else to go but up.

BroncoZAG615
12-10-2010, 09:52 AM
Ben Hansbrough is shooting 55% from beyond the arc.

Notre Dame big. In similar fashion to WSU.

EuroZag2010
12-10-2010, 09:57 AM
I'm praying we win don't care how :bishop_smiley:

Baldwinzag
12-10-2010, 10:22 AM
In all honesty, I think GU Prep could shoot 10+ three's on this defense right now.

I am not so sure we could beat Notre Dame College of Ohio, let alone the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

ND runs a 2-3 Zone, along with a triangle & one when we swing in to Steven Gray. They don't bother guarding Meech, so they sag another defender down low, essentially doubling our bigs on every possession along with two defenders up top vs our #1 scoring option(Gray). Considering the defense is able to conveniently not defend our point of attack aka PG, they are able to trap our wings and double our post players, subsequentely denying any entry pass and/or dribble penetration from our one & only guard that can score.

ND is smart. Don't think they won't do the exact same thing WSU did against us. Why wouldn't they? Our guard depth is non-existent and our play-makers are in a serious funk. Every team smells blood in the water and they will take advantage and go for the kill.

The Irish shoot 13 three's to be the 4th team to make double-digit 3's against us.

Hansbrough will abuse our perimeter defense along with Meech's overly active, yet fundamentally lacking, no results D.

The scary thought is Notre Dame is one of the first teams whom actually have the size underneath to defend our bigs one-on-one. Steven Gray may even see triple-teams this game, same with Sacre!


http://www.gonzaga.edu/campus+resources/offices-and-services-a-z/MarketingandCommunications/img/logos/Logo-Zags.jpg62
http://www.emeraldisleclassic.com/Content/images/NotreDameLogoSmall.png79

(that score is being overly generous, imo, considering WSU could have easily beaten us by 40 if they would have continued shooting their wide-open 3's, yet pulled back with 10 mins remaining)

Ezag
12-10-2010, 10:24 AM
Yikes not another good 3pt shooting team.....

ND 75
ZAGS 59

ronh_pm
12-10-2010, 10:48 AM
The Irish were undefeated till Kentucky took ‘em apart (72-58) on Wednesday in Louisville. Otherwise, they’ve looked good beating Georgia (89-83), California (57-44), and Wisconsin (58-51). They’ll be smelling blood when they see the video on GU’s vaporization at Wazzu.

Names likely to challenge our guys include Guard Ben Hansbrough (Sr, 6-3), Forward Tyrone Nash (Sr, 6-8), Forward Tim Abromatitis (Sr, 6-8), and Forward Carleton Scott (Sr, 6-8).

No way, however, that these guys become the third team in a row to rain treys on our boys—well, Kiddwell hopes so. Here’s also hoping our guys blow off their WSU blowout, square their shoulders, and play this squad the way they played ND's Big East conference mate Marquette.

GU – 72
Irish – 71


:]

Good teams find a way to win, but thats about all ND has done.

ND went to double overtime against an at best, average Georgia, stunk against Cal where the two teams combined to set an NCAA record for fewest points in a half (26) and were outscored by Cal in the second half, 39-36.

The Irish went on a 15-0 run in the last 4 minutes as Wisconson collapsed and lost an 11 point first half lead.

Just sayin.

jim77
12-10-2010, 11:00 AM
We defend the 3 a little better but, we don't cough the ball up nearly as much...Meech has his highest point total of the year....Zags 76 ND 73

Zag4Hire
12-10-2010, 11:01 AM
If you are familiar with the Bayesian process for odds creation, the higher the rating, the better the team. Just looked up the latest ratings and here is where they stand:

San Diego State = 92.74 (4th overall, Surprised but reassuring)
Illinois = 88.53
Notre Dame = 87.59
Kansas State = 86.85
Saint Mary's-Cal. = 86.48
Baylor = 85.06
Memphis = 84.89
Washington State = 84.33
Oklahoma State = 82.83
Marquette = 81.89
Gonzaga = 81.16
Xavier-Ohio = 79.80

So based on this info, the expected spread (plus an adjusted home spread advantage of 4.02), would be roughly 10 - 10 1/2. This probably seems low but for hoops, that is pretty high. So far 1-1 ATS with that embarrassment against Wazzu, I don't see any reason to expect a different outcome than the past two games and ND will be looking to right the ship. I am taking the chalk in this one.

GU - 58
ND - 73

DixieZag
12-10-2010, 11:08 AM
Not sure what team will show up. The one that lost 2 in a row to SDSU and KSU and beat MU, or the one that has lost 2 in a row and played like they did in Pullman.

I have said in other threads that this team is strung really tight and needs to loosen up some (in their head, not on defense) - I don't give us much of a chance to beat ND on the road - but playing at home would possibly tighten them more.

This team has the talent to beat all but a dozen or so teams on any given night that Harris is healthy, and they probably can beat ND but they have to really put it all together and have a great night - which I don't see happening at this point.

Tied or close at halftime.

ND 76
GU 67

Kiddwell
12-10-2010, 11:33 AM
Good teams find a way to win, but thats about all ND has done.

ND went to double overtime against an at best, average Georgia, stunk against Cal where the two teams combined to set an NCAA record for fewest points in a half (26) and were outscored by Cal in the second half, 39-36.

The Irish went on a 15-0 run in the last 4 minutes as Wisconson collapsed and lost an 11 point first half lead.

Just sayin.

These informative bits of insight actually give Kiddwell an even more solid hope for Saturday's outcome. :)

:]

RenoZag
12-10-2010, 02:20 PM
Fighting Irish - 66
Bulldogs - 53

( With additional pain & suffering inflicted on Zag Nation by ESPN's Bobby Knight )

75Zag
12-10-2010, 02:33 PM
I am afraid that the Congregation of the Holy Cross kicks the crap out of the Jesuits in this one. ND by 20.

But then again, maybe God will intervene. The Jesuits pre-date the C.H.C. boys by about 300 years. As I frequently mention to the compensation committee in my law firm, longevity ought to count for something.

Go Bulldogs!

U Zig, I Zag
12-10-2010, 02:36 PM
74 -67, GU.

Our defense still can't stop someone (that well) but we manage to score ourselves.

(I bet I have been 99.9% GU-Wins on these things since I started posting here. Belief starts somewhere... maybe the kids will feel our positive mojo.)

zagitup
12-10-2010, 02:38 PM
Yikes... could this turn out any worse than the Wazzu game? 'Fraid so. Not enough time to regroup. :(

Abusive Leprechauns- 85
Tormented Puppies- 60

allbusiness_zag
12-10-2010, 03:20 PM
Another frustrating zag game to watch...ND by 25. The three pointers keep raining, creating a flood advisory.

ZagMan in Philly
12-10-2010, 03:56 PM
These informative bits of insight actually give Kiddwell an even more solid hope for Saturday's outcome. :)

:]

I have to agree, unless our boys have no pride, we will compete in this game, win or lose, it will be a close game....good luck to the good guys.

by the way, the vegas line -7 NDame. I will take the pts.

ND has not played a real killer schedule:

Notre Dame Detailed Win/Loss PerformanceDate H/A/N Opponent Opp Rank Score Result MOV
11/12 Home GA Southern 340 98-61 W
11/14 Home Liberty 187 72-51 W
11/17 Home Chicago St 321 102-62
11/22 Home Maine 190 97-72 W
11/25 Neutral Georgia 70 89-83 W
11/26 Neutral California 37 57-44 W
11/28 Neutral Wisconsin 23 58-51 W
11/30 Home Indiana St 205 81-72 W
12/08 Neutral Kentucky 9 58-72 L

23dpg
12-10-2010, 04:33 PM
Basketball School 71
Football School 70

ZagLawGrad
12-10-2010, 07:55 PM
based on what we've seen so far.

Zags lose by at least 15 pts.

HOOTER
12-10-2010, 08:28 PM
I predict trouble.

NEC26
12-10-2010, 08:30 PM
I think we can win this one. I'll say 72-68 good guys!

ZagAddict
12-10-2010, 08:30 PM
Have to be honest... I think this team is already looking forward to playing Lewis & Clark State. This will be another demoralizing beatdown and long flight home for the team. I'm not going to kill a great Saturday with this game... gonna stick with decorating the tree with the kids and staying away from the television/internet.

ZagDaddy
12-11-2010, 05:28 AM
Zags show enough pride to make the game competitive but in the end poor rebounding and 3 point defense is their undoing. ND by 8.

If I'm wrong and this game isn't at least competitive, let's just say we're in for a long rest of the season.

Here's to hoping it's a competitive game regardless of the outcome.:cheers:

Reborn
12-11-2010, 08:42 AM
Zags surprise most everyone and beat Notre Dame.

Zags 77
Fighting Irish 73

The Zags finally begin to look like the team that we thought we had. What a great game it is. I've waited for this game for years now, and we finally get to play them.

Go Zags!

jazzdelmar
12-11-2010, 08:55 AM
nd by 14, despite a close 1st half....

Kong-Kool-Aid
12-11-2010, 09:25 AM
Gonzaga 85, Notre Dame 62

LongIslandZagFan
12-11-2010, 10:23 AM
Zags 80
ND 68

Going against the grain/superstition on this one. Then again, the last time I did this was against Marquette. Just sayin'.

VinnyZag
12-11-2010, 10:39 AM
I watched ND against Kentucky and frankly wasn't that impressed. Once the Wildcats committed to taking Hansbrough out of the game, which can be done, they ran away with it.

GU certainly has good enough on-ball defenders (Gray, Meech, Arop) to take Hansbrough out of the Notre Dame offense. If they manage that, there's no logical reason the Zags can't win this one.

But who the hell knows with this team? They'll probably let Hansbrough shoot practice jumpers all night and lose by 20.

Ezag
12-11-2010, 10:51 AM
Fighting Irish - 66
Bulldogs - 53

( With additional pain & suffering inflicted on Zag Nation by ESPN's Bobby Knight )

Oh man it sill be interesting to see what Knight has to say

7ICoug
12-11-2010, 11:24 AM
Gonzaga 73-68 ND.