PDA

View Full Version : Illini@Zags BiS Game Thread 12/4/10



BobZag
12-04-2010, 10:31 AM
Okay, here we go. The team, with Harris, is slowly improving but is it enough today? Not sure. The slower-than-usual progress has been giving Coach Few some gray hair, but the good of this is that the Zags could peak in March when it counts. Just need to survive this ooc schedule, and a W today in Seattle would be as good a start as there is for the Zags.

Tipoff is 2:15pm PST.

Good luck and go Zags! No injuries, please.

BobZag
12-04-2010, 11:43 AM
What a game between UK-UNC! Down to the wire.

RenoZag
12-04-2010, 12:44 PM
Gus Johnson seems to lead a charmed life when it comes to calling closely contested games. Hope today's BIS is as close

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 01:10 PM
UNC beats #10 UK after getting blown out by #20 Illinois just a few days ago...

Illini look even more impressive & daunting.

Gonna be a tall mountain to climb today.

ZagNative
12-04-2010, 01:17 PM
Pre-game show is on from Key Arena on KGA 1510. I'm curious to hear about attendance and about how Elias is looking.

ZagNative
12-04-2010, 01:29 PM
Hudson says at last check, there were just a couple of hundred unsold tickets, so it should be a near-capacity crowd.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 01:41 PM
Wow, several homer calls for Duke (no foul on Nored on that three, then a no-call on the other end on the three, were the guy went down) and the game changes instantly...

gamagin
12-04-2010, 01:51 PM
as driving home.

Essentially, he says the bigs gotta hold down the fort underneath and the rest have to guard the perimeter against the treys and (my words) we can take em.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 01:52 PM
Wow, several homer calls for Duke (no foul on Nored on that three, then a no-call on the other end on the three, were the guy went down) and the game changes instantly...

You know its bad when Bilas says several pro-Duke calls were wrong.

Butler hangin' tough with Shelvin Mack on the bench with leg cramps.

ZagNative
12-04-2010, 02:01 PM
Hudson says the starting lineup was just posted, and Harris will not be a starter. Olynyk and Manny get the start.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:02 PM
EH not starting. Sounded like KO taking EH's place and MA has earned the starting nod. Hope he catches fire and has a great game.

Santangelo warned that EH has not been practicing so even if he does get in, he's not expected to have the wind to play at this level without needing a break. This even if he plays and his injuries don't hamper him.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:06 PM
EH not starting is potential for an ominous start.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:08 PM
SG: doing more than we expect. Now need some consistent help (no names).

Feww (continues at Hudson's prompting): "Mathis needs to be aggressive. This is all new to him. 17-18k people (today's crowd) is new to him. He's also taking in a new culture, system and looking to shoot the 3, and we need to get him rebounding and involved.

re EH: it's hard. feel for him. we're going to try him today. but practice is not overrated, about timing and getting hit and accustomed to making plays with teammates. he's competitor and warrior and feeling better so we're going to try him. we need him.

TH: re Ill: 5 starters back. top ten talent. you have your work cut out for you.
Few: yes, srs. vets. and bruce does as good a job on off. they can hurt us at all five spots. spread us out. mckamey reminds me of darren williams.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:08 PM
Did they say if Elias is expected to play today?

Meehan said he "might" play.

Is Elias even warming up?

EDIT to add: just saw the update from Gam & Coach Few. Sounds good.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:16 PM
Is it possible to get a game over so we can move on to the one we want to watch, on time?

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:16 PM
Moved to 2:20 pst

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:19 PM
Moved to 2:20 pst

Better move it to 2:30

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:19 PM
Pace, EH and teamwork.

Both teams like to run, we'll see who can control the pace. EH will play but it remains to be seen how effective he can be. how well the rest step up and in will be another factor.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:21 PM
Pace, EH and teamwork.

Both teams like to run, we'll see who can control the pace. EH will play but it remains to be seen how effective he can be. how well the rest step up and in will be another factor.

I moved recently, into an old home on the South Hill. I didn't want to run wires everywhere (plaster in good shape, coved ceilings) so I got a soundbar thing to hold me over until I make a media room or whatever.

Works well, sounds good. It has NO AM RADIO. It drives me mad. :enraged:

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:22 PM
Duke--again. what a surprise.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:22 PM
here we go...

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:22 PM
wow, that 3 was from downtown

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:23 PM
nice pass, good 2 SG

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:24 PM
Meech

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:24 PM
xclnt Meech!

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:25 PM
Can't believe tidsdale got a hand on that ball - Rob should have blocked that out.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:25 PM
why is Sacre out on the perimter ?

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:26 PM
TALK when you rebound! Unbelievable.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:26 PM
I moved recently, into an old home on the South Hill. I didn't want to run wires everywhere (plaster in good shape, coved ceilings) so I got a soundbar thing to hold me over until I make a media room or whatever.

Works well, sounds good. It has NO AM RADIO. It drives me mad. :enraged:

for $15-20 just about anywhere. It'll do.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:27 PM
MA nice!

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:27 PM
for $15-20 just about anywhere. It'll do.

Yah... just an advanced device, then no AM radio. Its just odd..

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:28 PM
nice lob

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:29 PM
Manny is the king of the boards. He rebounds better with one hand than our bigs do with two. It's uncanny.

So... we gonna see Elias?

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:29 PM
RS shooting and moving, flowing. no time to think. Just react and play bkb. nice. Looks like KO directing traffic.

GU69
12-04-2010, 02:30 PM
I am liking the intensity I see. I was afraid we would not have it. So far, so good.

Agree.

Good start.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:30 PM
RS shooting and moving, flowing. no time to think. Just react and play bkb. nice. Looks like KO directing traffic.

I am impressed with KO playing heads up. He is using his handles, too.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:31 PM
ball movement is good by Zags, gotta watch the fouls

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:32 PM
Why why why do players insist on fouling a guy from behind on a breakaway... always gets called.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:32 PM
dumb foul SG

LynetteG
12-04-2010, 02:32 PM
E is in!

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:33 PM
MAhas a smooth shot

good to see EH in

MDABE80
12-04-2010, 02:33 PM
TO's kill a team. EH in...Sacre needs to shhhhhhh just do the work !

ZagNative
12-04-2010, 02:33 PM
I moved recently, into an old home on the South Hill. I didn't want to run wires everywhere (plaster in good shape, coved ceilings) so I got a soundbar thing to hold me over until I make a media room or whatever.

Works well, sounds good. It has NO AM RADIO. It drives me mad. :enraged:
Game's on 101.1 FM as well, same as KGA, but FM.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:34 PM
xclnt EH---new 6th man

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:34 PM
Stockton can play point. Just saying.

Not seeing what ur seeing

RenoZag
12-04-2010, 02:35 PM
Gray with the TO

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:35 PM
dumb pass Stockton, easy bucket Ill

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:36 PM
Stockton can play point. Just saying.

His size is a liability.... dang it.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:36 PM
picking on stock. too smart

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:37 PM
them, we can score, get a lead and make em catch up. Otherwise it could be the other way around. quickly.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:37 PM
Harris handing it off like that to stockton wasn't the best idea. Stockton open floor = OK. But if they don't help him out at all then it;s going to be trouble.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:37 PM
Stockton is not the PG for this team we need, Period

Saxon_zag
12-04-2010, 02:37 PM
Wow few, get stocktons ass off of the floor. Let the highly
Touted juco guy you got take the leash off. Redic

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:37 PM
Stockton is not the PG for this team we need, Period

Maybe in a couple of years, big maybe IMO

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:38 PM
He draws away plays away from the basket.

But he can't pass around them. He just can't, this team is too much.

Saxon_zag
12-04-2010, 02:39 PM
Stockton is not the PG for this team we need, Period

Seriously. I feel like the only reason he is seeing the floor is because of his last name.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:40 PM
Stockton is horribly overmatched this game. He's dribbling a lot and not able to run the offense effectively b/c he's getting harrassed by their big guards.

Also, Gray is the only player who didn't come to play today.

Time to wake up Gray! Gotta play smarter and more alert on offense! Let's go now.

Also, we've had some easy, uncontested shots underneath and along the perimeter...we are missing the easy ones.

Completely beating ourselves.

Anyone can see the advantage we have in the paint. Time to capitalize on it! Sheesh.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:40 PM
Zags lucky Illinois off to a slow start

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:41 PM
Seriously. I feel like the only reason he is seeing the floor is because of his last name.

stock is in there because meech got two quick fouls. no other reason. the rest have to compensate. it's just good ball to pick on him. not his fault. he's green. but he shouldn't be in this game. Meech should, but . . . .

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:42 PM
Carter was scared to pass it over to EH on the backside :(

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:42 PM
not seeing a lot of energy out of SG, nice shot RS

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:43 PM
Honestly, this is Illinois. Their guards are tall, strong, and tough.

IF Meech is on the bench, put in Marquise Carter. He is a back-up PG, isn't he?

Just noticed he's in the game.

Match-ups, Coach, match-ups.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:43 PM
Carter---very tenuous---looks lost, afraid with the ball

Like Gaddy started out at UW

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:44 PM
EH at 80% is 100% unstoppable when he wants to be.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:45 PM
Eh, lookin good

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:45 PM
MM! Dang it.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:46 PM
beautiful Meech!

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:46 PM
Good Meech!

Bad Zags almost losing the ball when THREE of them had it on the rebound.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:46 PM
WOW.

This is my final complaint post.

But, really? Sam Dower had his man completely sealed on the INSIDE & we don't even attempt a frickin' pass to him?

That entire possession was a joke.

It was an easy 2 pts/slam, but we launch a contested three instead.

Coach Few is upset with Gray this game. Then again, who wouldn't be? He did not show up. Steven Gray looks terrible and out of touch.

OK, my last rant post.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:47 PM
and they are exploiting the mismatches

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:48 PM
SG---wake up please

GU69
12-04-2010, 02:49 PM
Rob and E both having good games.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:49 PM
SG---wake up please

Yup. We need to run him a play to get him room. From the outside or clear the lane to one side and let him go at the hoop. He gets confidence from made shots...

thibaulm
12-04-2010, 02:50 PM
Anyone have a link? ive been searching the internet forever. where is philly zag at?

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:50 PM
WOW.

This is my final complaint post.

But, really? Sam Dower had his man completely sealed on the INSIDE & we don't even attempt a frickin' pass to him?

That entire possession was a joke.

It was an easy 2 pts/slam, but we launch a contested three instead.

Coach Few is upset with Gray this game. Then again, who wouldn't be? He did not show up. Steven Gray looks terrible and out of touch.

OK, my last rant post.

few is trying to find 5 who can work together. our starting lineup was doing that. NOW, Ill (older and smarter) is starting to wisely exploit our weaknesses. We gotta counter. If we can stay with em while RS is seated, & EH can continue playing well, I think they are in trouble.

but this is one smart team and well coached to take every advantage.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:50 PM
I'm realy beginning to wonder how big a "project" the Carter kid is going to be

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:50 PM
Offense. Defense. Passing.

Gray looks out of sync in every sense of the term.

Have never seen him play this way. They aren't even guarding him that closely, but he can't make it happen. He's also missed/blown at least three assignments on defense thus far. Not to mention dumb shots and failing to make the right pass.

Thank goodness Elias is playing well.

When the stage is bigger than the Kennel, the basket shrinks for Monninghoff.

Ok, promise that was my final complaint post.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:51 PM
Holy cow. How do we keep dbling and trplng the boards and losing them out of bounds?

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:51 PM
.Ok, promise that was my final complaint post.

lol, it's early

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:52 PM
We are very lucky that IL cannot hit a basket.

indeed

gamagin
12-04-2010, 02:53 PM
and it's working. I am really encouraged. Ill is the team that looks like it is in the headlights at the moment.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:54 PM
That's a 3. Black line is the three right?

this better not come down to 1 point. ;)

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:55 PM
Nice Dower

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:55 PM
Heck yes.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:56 PM
This is a serious question --

Rob Sacre was dominating -- we take him out.

Sam Dower was active underneath and nailed a 3 -- we take him out.

Gam? Can you help with this one.

Can we make sense of these rotations in this type of game?!?

Against a terrible team, sure, but a Top-20 team like Illinois?

Is Coach Few out-thinking himself?

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 02:56 PM
Holy sh#t

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:56 PM
xclnt EH---he is back

LynetteG
12-04-2010, 02:57 PM
Holy sh#t

This is the Harris we need!

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:57 PM
what was that RS???

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 02:58 PM
MA wonering why he got swatted? hello

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 02:59 PM
Sacre shouldn't attempt another pass on the high-low post.

Hey, I love his intensity & toughness this game, but he's a turnover waiting to happen.

The solution: reset the offense when he comes off the screen if the shot isn't there.

Seriously, Sacre turns it over 9 times outta 10 on that pass.

The refs are starting to get a little whistle happy for Illinois that is.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:00 PM
Boy. It's in intense game. Not sure on some of the subs though.

Rob's choice of passes downlow can be found wanting...

It's close with:
EH off the bench
Meech not in a whole ton
Steven will get his, he hasn't yet but it's coming
MM is 0-for, probably not likely to end that way.

We are doing better than I thought we would.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:03 PM
This is a serious question --

Rob Sacre was dominating -- we take him out.

Sam Dower was active underneath and nailed a 3 -- we take him out.

Gam? Can you help with this one.

Can we make sense of these rotations in this type of game?!?

Against a terrible team, sure, but a Top-20 team like Illinois?

Is Coach Few out-thinking himself?

we are essentially keeping the game close and saving our guys for the second half. IF Ill manages to extend the lead, well, it will be more difficult. But we are staying close and saving fouls, I think.

LynetteG
12-04-2010, 03:04 PM
Geez...the refs let them play for the first 12 minutes and now they are calling EVERYTHING and both teams are in the bonus already...? WTF???

greenlakesteve
12-04-2010, 03:04 PM
these refs sure are calling a pro illinois game right now

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:04 PM
Zag's chemistry big issue.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:05 PM
the one's I'm seeing are our fault in that we are reaching over the top. Meaning: we are out of position, Dower, RS, maybe ko. Gotta get butts tween the basket and the foe.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:05 PM
I wonder why EH does that 1,2 step to start the motion each time. Its called a travel a bunch...

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:06 PM
Terrible no call on EH.

LynetteG
12-04-2010, 03:06 PM
these refs sure are calling a pro illinois game right now

no kidding

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:07 PM
Meech looks a PG today

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:07 PM
Meech to Harris off the backboard is practically a play.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:07 PM
big jam EH

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:08 PM
Those 3's... dang.

That's what Gray should be doing....

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:08 PM
I'm going to go out on a limb and say he will light it up 2nd half. He's fresh and others HAVE stepped up in his absence. Good sign, imo.

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:08 PM
needed a hand up there...big possession here

GU69
12-04-2010, 03:08 PM
Two 3s in a row hurt.

NEC26
12-04-2010, 03:08 PM
That was pathetic LAZY defense !!!

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:09 PM
good look

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:11 PM
I look for Zags to be in trouble in 2nd half. hope I'm wrong. but this team isn't very good right now---no chemistry. Illinois slow start has given Zags some hope so far

NEC26
12-04-2010, 03:11 PM
A whopping 28 points at the half.

jazzdelmar
12-04-2010, 03:12 PM
Zags lower skill level is showing now, save Harris,

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:13 PM
We have all wrote about needing more than one go to guy. We more or less think that Steven is the guy, based on the season so far. EH is back, playing well. We need that 2nd guy. With RS, Manny and KO cleaning up and Meech controlling the tempo we got this game. Illinois is weak down low, we need to exploit that.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:13 PM
Elias is the man of the game so far. We need him and he is the only reason we are in the game.

this has been the best "team" play I've seen this year. IF SG can do half what he's done every game so far, in the second half, we're in it. And we have a team. Of which EH has stepped up bigtime. But so have RS, KO, Meech, SD & MA. imo.

MickMick
12-04-2010, 03:13 PM
Zags will never be a contender until they contest perimeter shots. All of them.

They can beat a team the caliber of Illinois by simply taking care of the ball. Better teams will shoot them out of the Gym.

I think the Zags are the better team in this one. Just quit handing them the ball.

NEC26
12-04-2010, 03:14 PM
I dis-agree. It was pretty good for a change.

So when Harris just stands there and watches a guy shoot a three with the shot clock at near zero you think thats good defense?

madness
12-04-2010, 03:14 PM
I'm going to go out on a limb and say he will light it up 2nd half. He's fresh and others HAVE stepped up in his absence. Good sign, imo.

Anyone know if he's sick? Zags need SG to win this game, flat out.

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:17 PM
keep pounding it inside...the paint is our advantage

lots of two handed rebounding by the Zags out there, RS and KO in particular; those one handed snatches by Manny really remind me of Mr. Mean

w/out those two bombs at the end and Tisdale flailing around all over the place, didn't see much from them on O, McCamey will try to change that, and SG and Meech and co. can't let him

make shots

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:17 PM
We are dominating on the boards, but Illinois has made 6 more FT's than us and we are 0-8 from 3pt and they are 3-8.

We must stop with the ticky tack fouls & knock down some shots from the perimeter.

IF Gray shows up in 2nd half, we get to the FT line, and hit a couple 3's, we can win!

We have only attempted 3 FT's...that's not gonna cut it. Partly the refs fault, but still...

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:17 PM
ball movement best yet this year I'd say

NEC26
12-04-2010, 03:18 PM
Anyone know how they overturned that three? It was hard to tell either way but I sure didn't see anything to overturn it.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:19 PM
ball movement best yet this year I'd say

Yes

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:27 PM
Meech

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:28 PM
we won't defend the 3--fuggaaadddaaabbbooutt it

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:28 PM
They need to get the crowd into it.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:30 PM
very bad start,

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:30 PM
If Gray would just get aggressive and drive to the hoop to draw contact, he'd get the foul.

McCamey is struggling this game as well, so what does he do? Drives to the hoop.

0-8 from 3pt is killing us.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:30 PM
Shoot !

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:30 PM
And the implosion begins....
f#ck, f$ck, f*ck.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:31 PM
I actually think Meech and EH had the best 1st half

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:33 PM
This first half was a severe case of pastliferegressionville for demetri. Overdribbling, not passing in transition, dribbling into impossible traffic under the hoop, passing while his feet or off the ground. This is square one, folks.
When in high school my coach told me (and I admire his frankness) that "we can win with you at PG, but we we can't win against good teams." I think this statement appplies to our current situation. Subject of a new thread should be "can we win without a point guard." Make Gray the nominal PG, but essentially field the five best players. Period.

Meech is TRYING. SG is not. IF SG starts trying, Meech can stop forcing something. SO who's at fault ?

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:33 PM
I actually think Meech and EH had the best 1st half

Meech was/is doing OK. There is nothing there to help and he picks up his dribble way to early.

Rob... come on. Get up and slam that thing.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:33 PM
nice miss, RS, nice

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:35 PM
That was only our 4th attempted FT of the game! Ouchee.

When something is working i.e. post game with Elias or Sacrek we find a way to go against it--every game.

We can't stay consistent.

With Gray doing his best houdini impersonation, we're struggline.

We MUST draw contact underneath and get Gray going from somewhere, anywhere.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:36 PM
#4 Meech, ouch

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:36 PM
Bardo is calling out Sacre. Rob plays like the big guy that doesnt know he is big.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:37 PM
RS pretty decent FT shooter

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:37 PM
Keep going down low... get the FT;s

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:37 PM
I guess I spoke to soon.

Atta boy!

Let's go Gray! We need ya bud.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:38 PM
SG left his shooting at home today---Tisdale brought his

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:39 PM
we won't defend the 3--fuggaaadddaaabbbooutt it

ouch

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:39 PM
It's about being open but its about

GUTS.

Bravery, confidence, believing in yourself.

We don't have that.... at all.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:39 PM
anyone know the two dumb ladies behing Bardo? jeesh

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:40 PM
Are you f'ing kidding me?!?

Same thing w/ SDSU & K-State...we allow them to shoot the most 3's they have all season.

Why o why can't we defend it?

Our defense is lost and non-existent after 15 feet.

K-State made 12 three's now Illinois has made 8 three's and still shooting...

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:40 PM
Are you f'ing kidding me?!?

Same thing w/ SDSU & K-State...we allow them to shoot the most 3's they have all season.

Why o why can't we defend it?

Our defense is lost and non-existent after 15 feet.

K-State made 12 three's now Illinois has made 8 three's and still shooting...

Hey---the rant?...lol

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:41 PM
Sacre is keeping us in this game now.

He is playign better, but he's not enuf alone

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:41 PM
so far. REALLY in the game. Reacting, raising hell. Doing m uch more than his share. I think all we need, S.A.P., is for Steven to start shooting.

We still seem to be getting the putbacks so even if everything doesn't fall, we have a backup shot. We can beat these Fokkers.

NEC26
12-04-2010, 03:42 PM
Are you f'ing kidding me?!?

Same thing w/ SDSU & K-State...we allow them to shoot the most 3's they have all season.

Why o why can't we defend it?

Our defense is lost and non-existent after 15 feet.

K-State made 12 three's now Illinois has made 8 three's and still shooting...

They aren't just taking threes they are so wide open its ridiculous. Its this teams philosophy it seems to stop the penetration and allow as many threes as the other team want to chuck up

jazzdelmar
12-04-2010, 03:42 PM
Lotta standing around, no plays, only Harris offers one on one skill..not Meechs fault. Team just isn't skilled enough.

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 03:43 PM
Bardo is calling out Sacre. Rob plays like the big guy that doesnt know he is big.

hmmm, RS bringing it I think...if he's called out, hopefully it's to keep bringing it. he and Elias in both posts

holy smokes, make those guys drivers

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:43 PM
Lotta standing around, no plays, only Harris offers one on one skill..not Meechs fault. Team just isn't skilled enough.

no flow because no chemistry on this team---Zags not sure who or what kind of team they are

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:45 PM
hmmm, RS bringing it I think...if he's called out, hopefully it's to keep bringing it. he and Elias in both posts

holy smokes, make those guys drivers

I should specify the powerdribble, not going up strong...

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:46 PM
Bull crap, he is not!

C'mon,. SG playing very poor in this game

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:46 PM
wow. sometimes I just don't know what to think....

bigblahla
12-04-2010, 03:48 PM
What a pathetic excuse for defense.

GU69
12-04-2010, 03:49 PM
eewwwwww

This whole second half has been horrible.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:50 PM
eewwwwww

This whole second half has been horrible.

Yes, and frankly the 1st half wasn't really all that good

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:51 PM
Shooter vs shooter we are way over matched, or like the tendency of the Zags we bring out the BEST shooting from teams. It is nauseating. Some of that, you just can't do anything about. We just go so far behind and they are feeling it so they are free to fire them up and a miss a few times in a row doesn't cost anything because we can't capitalize AT ALL.

Birddog
12-04-2010, 03:52 PM
Zags are just missing two ingredients for success......






OFFENSE AND DEFENCE

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 03:53 PM
Illinois is ranked in the Top-10 3pt% for a reason.

However, every team we play has a record day from 3pt. The Coaches need to fix this ASAP or we won't stand a chance in WCC either.

We should bring in a consultant, if need be. Butler's Brad Steven's as an Independent Contractor might be a start.

However, VERY dissappointed to see us try to play a shoot out with Illinois when we have the clear-cut advantage in the post. We have the better front-court, but the moment we got behind...we launch 3's we DON'T make.

We can't beat this good of shooting team, so just work it inside and try for the best.

Very bad defensive effort/performance by the Zags.

The good news: Elias Harris looks pretty good and is moving well. That is the only positive we can take away. Oh, we have a major advantage on the boards as well, but meaningless with their shooting effort.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:54 PM
Rebuilding is the word. If not for the entire season, then for the better part of it.

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 03:55 PM
See that, Manny coming down on the inbounds.... dribble dribble dribble - panic look then pass.

Dribble. Jump shot. 3 or a 2. Just do it. confidence is lacking.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:56 PM
You try playing when you are the most defended guy on the team.

Big time players gotta step up. SG hasn't been smothered. He's had the minutes over 3 years to know what it takes. Not a good day for SG

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 03:57 PM
nice 3 MA

gamagin
12-04-2010, 03:58 PM
Bull crap, he is not!

it was something like 10 mins into the 2nd before SG took a shot.

One.Whole.quarter.

For our leading scorer.

Baldwinzag
12-04-2010, 04:00 PM
K-State made 12 three's.

Illinois made 12 three's.

Both season records.

Someone needs to be held accountable.

I'm pulling the Coaching card on this one.

Has anyone thought we just don't know how to defend the perimeter?

Even when we had a Top-20 defense 2 seasons ago, it was due to our 2pt FG defense.

It sucks and needs to be retooled.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:00 PM
it was something like 10 mins into the 2nd before SG took a shot.

One.Whole.quarter.

For our leading scorer.

JG's a good guy, but a homer he is too :)

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:01 PM
it was something like 10 mins into the 2nd before SG took a shot.

One.Whole.quarter.

For our leading scorer.

Broad stroke here, but can Few not figure out a way to get someone 'their' shot? Lack of exectution? Watch UI, they come down and immediatly make a mismatch up top because we switch.

I saw were Few had us doubling in the corners and swinging the opposite corner defender at the guy our doubler left, but IU has athletes and heady players and they pass out of the double team like it wasn't even there.

I imagine our forced TO's on the defensive side are pretty low today...

GU69
12-04-2010, 04:03 PM
Interesting stat on TV: 57% vs. 18% on threes.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:03 PM
here's hoping !

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:04 PM
Exactly! Do that, Zags. Shoot it Steven.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:04 PM
SG got a gift on that 3

MDABE80
12-04-2010, 04:06 PM
Turn him loose! Steven MUST force his game on them! We can still win this if we guard people. Defense!!!

kitzbuel
12-04-2010, 04:06 PM
A little rotation on defense and things happen

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:07 PM
Its like they flipped a switch. turn the D up.

but.... Rob's shot has to be a certain way, he needs to be way down low and get the foul, maybe the shot and stop the clock.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:07 PM
Oregon v Auburn ought to be a prety good game

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:08 PM
the last two possessions was looking to pass sted to shoot. Shoot first, SG and pass if you must.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:09 PM
the last two possessions was looking to pass sted to shoot. Shoot first, SG and pass if you must.

No effort of SG to take it to the hoop today.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:09 PM
MM in there, maybe stedda Meech ?

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:10 PM
MM in there, maybe stedda Meech ?

If MM is willing to create a shot. His 3 is gonna have to be off the bounce. Fake, slide L or R and shoot.

He has the handles and D. Save Meech for a pressure D...

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:13 PM
Yuck.

Come on Zags. Finish with pride.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:13 PM
I posted this game by 14 in favor of Illinois--not gonna be far off. And defintitley not feeling good about it.

NEC26
12-04-2010, 04:14 PM
I cannot wait till this team gets a point guard that can shoot. Cannot come soon enough for me.

kitzbuel
12-04-2010, 04:15 PM
MM in there, maybe stedda Meech ?
He was passing up shots.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:16 PM
has taken back under the net. on our end. we led in off rebs by a bunch first half.

sigh. Even the 7 footer outhustled us. BUT, that said, it's getting difficult to see what it is we are trying to do with the ball. SG gets two touches and passes. W.T.F. ?

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 04:17 PM
that was an and 1 for KO there, bummer call

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:17 PM
KO---(shakin head)

mendiant
12-04-2010, 04:19 PM
no #32...shouldn't have blasphemed last year...

Ciao zags...

mendiant

U Zig, I Zag
12-04-2010, 04:20 PM
My expectations were here and there on this team.

Right now, I am honestly worried about the WCC. We can play these OOC teams like this, and not win - against good teams, mind you - but unless we win 2/3 of these OOC games (don't see it) we will need a strong WCC season and a tourney win to dance.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:22 PM
about a minute and a half to 5 mins late.

ZagLawGrad
12-04-2010, 04:22 PM
My expectations were here and there on this team.

Right now, I am honestly worried about the WCC. We can play these OOC teams like this, and not win - against good teams, mind you - but unless we win 2/3 of these OOC games (don't see it) we will need a strong WCC season and a tourney win to dance.

Still early, but right now this team is a MESS

kitzbuel
12-04-2010, 04:24 PM
If thw Zags played just a little perimeter D during that 10 minute barrage it could have been a different game.

gamagin
12-04-2010, 04:24 PM
we bring out the best in others. It's a role I hope we can overcome soon.

NEC26
12-04-2010, 04:25 PM
Huh and here I thought that was an embarrassing performance on national tv.

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 04:28 PM
got to keep grinding

bballbeachbum
12-04-2010, 04:29 PM
we bring out the best in others. It's a role I hope we can overcome soon.

what is up with that? have got to be prepared to meet that challenge, cuz it sure seems true

RenoZag
12-04-2010, 06:26 PM
Box Score Link (http://www.gozags.com/sports/m-baskbl/stats/2010-2011/gonmb07.html)