PDA

View Full Version : RPI Killer



sittingon50
11-24-2010, 01:36 PM
Oklahoma.

Glad the Zags miss them this year.

bullzag23
11-24-2010, 03:31 PM
Division 2 opponents don't affect rpi but I get your point. OU is going to struggle this year if they can't beat chaminade

ZaggyStardust
11-24-2010, 04:31 PM
Hmmmm I'm not so sure that matters - according to CBS Sportsline and Real Time RPI our RPI is 121. So we have a lot of work to do ourselves... YIKES!

Rbo
11-24-2010, 04:44 PM
I know Clay Bennett is a big Oklahoma fan, so I'm glad they got schooled by Chaminade. Now I'm rooting for Oklahoma State to do the same on the football field this weekend.

Martin Centre Mad Man
11-25-2010, 03:30 AM
Hmmmm I'm not so sure that matters - according to CBS Sportsline and Real Time RPI our RPI is 121. So we have a lot of work to do ourselves... YIKES!

RPI is meaningless during the first ten games of the season. There is no body of work that you can use to evaluate the strength of schedule component.

The Zags just need to win the games they play, regardless of the opponent. Over the course of the season, even the losses to teams like KSU and SDSU will begin to help the RPI, because those teams will begin to have strong opponent profiles on the RPI.

DCZag
11-25-2010, 04:59 AM
Absolutely meaningless - Saint Mary's is at #53 and has played only a mediocre St Johns team @ home. Wait 'til halfway thru the conference season - then you have a body of work to compare.

It'll all work itself out. We just control what we can control. Today was the first time I even bothered to look at it, just to see how ridiculous it is this early in the season.

MickMick
11-25-2010, 08:29 AM
Absolutely meaningless - Saint Mary's is at #53 and has played only a mediocre St Johns team @ home. Wait 'til halfway thru the conference season - then you have a body of work to compare.

It'll all work itself out. We just control what we can control. Today was the first time I even bothered to look at it, just to see how ridiculous it is this early in the season.

I hate RPI.

Like everything else in college athletics, it tilts the money toward a select group of schools.

ZagNative
11-25-2010, 09:08 AM
TitoPoet started a good thread about KenPom's new rating system (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=600812#post600812).

Link to KenPom (http://kenpom.com/rate.php)
Kenpom, the site for stat junkies, is trying something new and is already putting out the numbers for this year. He has to do a lot of guessing based on last years performance and possibilities for this year.

He has GU at 40th (http://kenpom.com/team.php?team=Gonzaga) going 22-8 and 12-2 or on his game to game basis 25-5 and 14-0.

I am not sure his experiment will work, it is worth a look.Current rating for Gonzaga is #43.