PDA

View Full Version : AP Poll Just Out



gopackgozags
10-28-2010, 09:54 AM
This hasn't even been posted on ESPN.com yet, but as per Andy Katz's Twitter account Gonzaga checks in at #12. Looks like the AP is validating the Coaches (or whoever actually votes on that poll). Nothing too earth-shattering here, but San Diego State does actually crack the Top 25.

http://twitter.com/#!/ESPNAndyKatz

gopackgozags
10-28-2010, 09:57 AM
here's the complete list for a little side-by-side comparison

http://www.cbssports.com/collegebasketball/rankings

CDC84
10-28-2010, 10:46 AM
GU opponents in AP Poll:

#1 Duke (possible)
#3 Kansas State
#13 Illinois
#16 Baylor
#19 Memphis
#25 SDSU

GUDan07
10-28-2010, 11:22 AM
GU opponents in AP Poll:

#1 Duke (possible)
#3 Kansas State
#13 Illinois
#16 Baylor
#19 Memphis
#25 SDSU

That schedule looks like suicide. There has to be an expectation that we will drop a couple of those games. It will be interesting to see as the season goes along how loses to these tough teams will affect out standing in the polls.

CDC84
10-28-2010, 11:33 AM
Yeah, but three of the five games that will happen for sure (SDSU, Illinois and Memphis) will be played on Gonzaga friendly courts. How many times have GU fans been able to say that in recent years? And if Gonzaga plays Duke, it will have meant a victory over Kansas State (Duke will most likely beat Marquette).

hooter73
10-28-2010, 12:00 PM
I want to play Duke.

MDABE80
10-28-2010, 12:06 PM
Hoots! lol...it would be quite an upset if we beat Duke. Pssst...played well..we have the talent to do that....if the stars align and all Jedi's would support it.

cggonzaga
10-28-2010, 12:16 PM
I want duke as well. Let's see where we are.

KillerDog
10-28-2010, 12:28 PM
Good to see GU getting the props it deserves. I don't see why a win over Duke is that much of a stretch. Generally, Duke plays the early season in the friendly confines of Cameron or on the road against lesser teams. They drop a few on neutral courts every pre-season so I think they are in range.

zagzilla
10-28-2010, 12:48 PM
It will already be an upset if we even play Duke. K State is #3 for a reason. Winning both probably puts us in Top 5 of the polls.

I'd be OK with that I suppose :)

ZZ

CDC84
10-28-2010, 12:51 PM
I think Kansas State could be as tough as Duke when you consider where the game is going to be played. Lots of KSU fans will be in the stands in Kansas City.

75Zag
10-28-2010, 01:02 PM
Being ranked 12 sounds good to me. Top 10 = having a target on your back from day 1 of the season and we do not need that.

But enough about basketball The important development in my life is that the smarter- than- me- people in the IT department where I work just handed me this iPad gadget and a power cord and gave me an hour long presentation about "cloud computing". I have absolutely no idea what they were talking about but i have figured out how to log in here and now I have a great new way to read this board and offer my priceless advice and comments to the unwashed masses while I eat my lunch in beautiful downtown Portland.

Go Bulldogs!

hooter73
10-28-2010, 02:38 PM
What are the stats on a 11-15 team going to final 4 vs 1-10? If its not unheard of I'd say you're right - stay out of that 1-10 area. Alot of targets and expectations and let downs when you drop a game with those 1-10 slots.

I cant quite decide if I'd rather see the Duke possibility in mid December instead of how soon it will be. IMO we peaked early near the Maui time last year so I'm thinking in December the team may be jiving a bit better with some games under their belts but right away in the first 5 or 6 games is a lot to ask for the new guys.

primal23
10-28-2010, 04:40 PM
I'd love a Duke rematch, but I'm not sure it will get there, KSU is going to be a brutal game. Hell even SDSU is going to be a rough one. Wife might make me move out till the season is over.... :o

ZagMan in Philly
10-28-2010, 06:32 PM
according to this ESPN writer, we have a good shot at playing Duke....

http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/preview2010/insider/news/story?id=5737465&action=login&appRedirect=http%3a%2f%2finsider.espn.go.com%2fncb %2fpreview2010%2finsider%2fnews%2fstory%3fid%3d573 7465

Regardless of where KSU is ranked, we will be the underdogs in Kansas City, no doubt, and we usually play well in that role, Go Zags!

ronh_pm
10-28-2010, 06:42 PM
Tough schedule indeed...but one that is needed to play with the big boys..

For example some of Duke's notables in 2010-11

12 Gonzaga/3 Kansas State
2 Michigan State
17 Butler
Miami (Fla.)(0-0) 4
Florida State(0-0) 28
North Carolina State(0-0) 10
North Carolina State(0-0) 10
8 North Carolina
Miami (Fla.)(0-0) 4
Georgia Tech(0-0) 1
22 Temple
21 Virginia Tech
8 North Carolina

ronh_pm
10-29-2010, 02:19 PM
Interesting musings from ESPN's John Gasaway

http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/preview2010/insider/news/story?id=5737465&addata=2009_insdr_mod_ncb_xxx_xxx


I'll be blunt: Who did Kansas State charm this summer? No. 3 in the country? I can see No. 3 in the Big 12 -- maybe -- and Jacob Pullen can play for my team any day of the week. But shouldn't the third-best college team in the United States do more than simply hack and be hacked?


I'm open to persuasion, and certainly K-State will have a fantastic opportunity to change my mind right away. By Thanksgiving the Wildcats will have played Virginia Tech, Gonzaga and either Duke or Marquette. But right now I'm seeing an offense that couldn't hold onto the rock or make 3s against Big 12 defenses last season. It just doesn't say "No. 3 in the nation" to me.