PDA

View Full Version : Jeremy Pargo Man of the Hour - Israeli Basketball League Cup pre-season tournament



ZagNative
10-15-2010, 10:10 AM
From Eurobasket - preseason tournament (http://www.eurobasket.com/Israel/basketball.asp?NewsID=206088):
Maccabi Electra Tel-Aviv Win First Israeli Title - Oct 15, 2010 (by David Pick)

After winning two European training camp titles in Poland and Italy, Maccabi Electra Tel-Aviv came hungry to the Israeli League Cup competition and managed to live up to the high expectation, as they win their first Israeli title, after a hard fought battle, overcoming Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem in the finals 87:77, with an MVP performance by former local champion, Jeremy Pargo, who finished with 20 points and 5 assists.

...

MVP of the night, Jeremy Pargo, said after the game: 'I always play to win and it doesnt matter to me how many points I score, as long as we get win. We have a good and strong team. I learn a lot from our coaches and I just try to enjoy myself'.

Box Scores
Maccabi: Pargo 20 points and 5 dimes, Blu 17 (5 threes), Hendrix 11 points and 6 reb', Eliyahu 10,Pnini 8, Eidson 7, Burstein 6, Sharp and Perkins 5 points each.
...
Maccabi jumped ahead to an early 10:2 lead thanks to a dominant performance by Pargo. A beautiful Maccabi fast break ended with a jam by the human highlight real, Lior Eliyahu, that gave maccabi a 24:8 advantage, and sent Hapoel coach, Oded Katash, to talk things over.
Israeli national sharp shooter, David Blu, entered the game and immediately took charge with back to back threes from way out, and put Tel-Aviv up, 30:17, after one.

...
Hapoel completed its amazing comeback twice with a 71:68 and 73:72 lead, but again Pargo, with a cross court pass found Perkins in the right wing for a big three, and a strong dominant finish by the young Gonzaga representative, who scored 9 straight points, secured the W, and gave Maccabi its first 2010/11 Israeli title, as they were named League Cup champs with an 87:77.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TLiPPPcJzVI/AAAAAAABL7k/ez5k12aCbpQ/2010-09-20%20Jeremy%20Pargo%20tournament%20Maccabi.jpg
I couldn't find a photo of Jeremy from the tournament, but every thread should have one!

Video from Macabi Tel-Aviv site (http://www.maccabi.co.il/News.asp?ID=2540&language=english) (Youtube link here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-OvvoDHDe4))

Jeremy was also MVP of the game preceding the finals, with 12 points and 12 assists. Game story and video here (http://www.maccabi.co.il/News.asp?ID=2539&language=english).

Zag79
10-15-2010, 11:23 PM
dude just has a sweet game, regardless of where he is playing. wouldnt be surprised if he gets a shot at the L soon.

stretchlimo
10-17-2010, 03:21 PM
Fun youtube highlights that ZN posted - esp. at the 3:25 mark when Jeremy knocks down the clutch 3 (i'm assuming that's his mom celebrating in the stands).

btw, http://www.maccabifans.co.il/ is a good source of photos and the like...

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac153/stretchlimo1/pargo4.png

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac153/stretchlimo1/pargo5.png

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac153/stretchlimo1/pargo3.png

Congrats to Jeremy on a great tournament.

RenoZag
10-17-2010, 05:39 PM
Thanks for the updates on Mr. Pargo. Hope he continues to do well.

ZagNative
10-17-2010, 06:17 PM
Thanks for finding that great Maccabi fan site. I just started to explore it and found this great video interview with Jeremy (http://www.maccabifans.co.il/videos2_iframe.asp?youtube_id=92), where he reveals he did get invited to an NBA team camp but decided on Maccabi Tel-Aviv for now, and he reveals his most heartfelt wish - that the Israelis learn to say his name as "Pargo" instead of "Fargo!" (I liked the full screen view.)

Photo from Magazine cover on that site ...

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TLudpepl7bI/AAAAAAABL-c/hGri8yXisfg/2010-10-18%20Jeremy%20Pargo%20MaccabiFans%20Magazine%20sto ry.jpg

ZagNative
10-20-2010, 03:48 PM
I should have titled the thread differently, because I'd like to have the links above handy and continue to post here. Oh, well.

Jeremy's Maccabi-Tel-Aviv team plays in its first Euroleague game tomorrow, when they face Caja Laboral. There are ten Euroleague games scheduled, in addition to the Israeli Premier League's regularly scheduled games. Their Euroleague games are all scheduled for Thursday.

Here is the Euroleague site where results and live stat tracking (http://www.euroleague.net/) will be posted.

Here is a Euroleague TV video previewing the Euroleague Group A teams (http://euroleague.infrontams.tv/index.php?id=3255) that Jeremy will be competing against. (Quick mention of Jeremy.)

And for other obsessive-compulsives among us ...


http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TL9v1IPRsUI/AAAAAAABMCk/oZwWwIVg9SY/s512/2010-2011%20Pargo%20Schedule.jpg

Radbooks
10-20-2010, 10:19 PM
Thanks for this info, ZagNative!!

ZagNative
10-21-2010, 07:59 AM
You're welcome, Radbooks! Since I was researching for me, I figured I might as well share what I learned.

Today's game will be played at Vitoria-Gasteiz in Basque country in Spain, at 20:30 C.E.T., 11:30 Pacific. It's supposed to be streamed live on Stream2watch.com (http://www.stream2watch.com/).

ZagNative
10-21-2010, 11:48 AM
Live scores here (http://live.euroleague.net/games.aspx?ig=euro_2&st=20&dp=CUTPCF167AE22Q27N5MW54C4C&z=0). Caja Laboral leads 24-6 after about 7 minutes. Yikes!

ZagNative
10-21-2010, 12:24 PM
At the half, Caja Laboral ahead 57-32, Jeremy with three points. Ugh. Maccabi Electra getting hammered.

Pretty good crowd for an early-season game, at 9,700 (capacity 9,900).

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TMCS4Wv5JaI/AAAAAAABMDY/uJz-yHWAfqY/Fullscreen%20capture%2010212010%20115153%20AM.bmp. jpg

ZagNative
10-28-2010, 11:14 AM
Maccabi Electra meets Zalgris at noon today in Tel-Aviv, for Maccabi's second Euroleague game, after the drubbing they took from Caja Laboral last week.

Live Video should be available at stream2watch (http://www.stream2watch.com/). I'm hoping it's a more enjoyable game for a Pargo fan to watch than last week's game.

Live Stats should be available here (http://www.euroleague.net/main/game-center).

Pregame report from Slam's Euroleague Adventure (http://www.slamonline.com/online/other-ballers/international/2010/10/euroleague-weekly-preview-12/):
Maccabi Electra (0-1) vs. Zalgiris (1-0)

If Peyton Manning threw 4 TD’s in a losing effort, he probably wouldn’t be named the AFC’s Week MVP. In the Euroleague, however, index rating (similar to John Hollinger’s PER but much, much less complex) is the lone determinant of the weekly MVP honors. So while Maccabi lost 94-78 in Vitoria last week, Chuck Eidson’s brilliant 14 point, 8 assist, 7 board performance earned him the weekly hardware with an index rating of 30. And though the former Gamecock looked lithe as ever in the second half, it might have been because all of his teammates were standing still, simply watching. Maccabi should have the most physical backcourt in the EL with Doron Perkins and Jeremy Pargo running things, yet Chucky Threes was the lone catalyst for Maccabi’s offense. That can’t happen again this week against a Zalgiris team which suddenly has depth after some very solid pick-ups and off-season revelations from guys like Arturas Milaknis and Mirza Begic. Former Duke Blue Devil Martynas Pocius orchestrated last week’s win over Partizan with 17 and I would expect fellow Lithuanian Bronze Medalist Mantas Kalnietis to be more assertive in week two. Ultimately, playing an angry loser in Tel Aviv will prove too difficult. Maccabi Electra. I believe I read some place in the last couple of days that Eidson is a point-forward and that he ran the point the last half of the Caja Laboral game. It will be interesting if he continues in that role today. Hoping, for Jeremy's sake, that he doesn't need to.

Story on the importance of the game, from yesterday's Jerusalem Post (http://www.jpost.com/Sports/Article.aspx?id=193029):


All of a sudden, Mac TA faces must-win

Blatt believes yellow-and-blue ready to deliver Euroleague conquest at home vs Kaunas.

Maccabi Tel Aviv’s Euroleague campaign may only be one game old, but the yellow-and-blue already finds itself facing an encounter it cannot afford to lose on Thursday night.

After being thoroughly outplayed and thrashed 94-78 at Caja Laboral Vitoria in its Euroleague opener last week, Maccabi hosts Lithuania’s Zalgiris Kaunas at Nokia Arena knowing a second straight defeat will leave it in deep trouble.

With road games at Partizan Belgrade and Khimki Moscow coming up, Tel Aviv will be in serious danger of falling to 0-4 in Group A should it fail to get the better of Zalgiris on Thursday, something coach David Blatt clearly understands.

“This is an extremely important game,” Blatt said. “Zalgiris has got the season off to an excellent start and has quality players, including some from the Lithuanian national team. They also have effective foreigners and a very good coach, meaning this is not just an important game, but a very tough one.”

ZagNative
10-28-2010, 12:23 PM
Just spotted Omar Samhan on the bench for Zalgris, #50! Wow! I hadn't made that connection! Has not entered the game yet.

Maccabi T-A up 25-11 at the end of the first quarter.

ZagNative
10-28-2010, 12:53 PM
Just as Samhan entered the game ...

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TMnTJ39742I/AAAAAAABML4/6zOAirOFw0E/Fullscreen%20capture%2010282010%20124312%20PM.bmp. jpg

Jeremy sat with his second foul, but he's looked like he's playing well.

At the half, Maccabi-TA leads by 20, 47-27.

Video quality this game is great.

ZagNative
10-28-2010, 02:00 PM
All is happiness in Tel-Aviv. Maccabi T-A wins 86-70. Box Score (http://live.euroleague.net/gamesjs.aspx?ig=euro_14&st=20&dp=CUTPCF167AEB2Q284GYM74C39&z=0).

Love the yellow shoes, JP!

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TMnx0R2xFgI/AAAAAAABMMU/sRZDl6CRIvU/2010-10-28%20Jeremy%20Pargo%20Zalgris%20small.jpg

ZagNative
10-31-2010, 12:43 PM
Jeremy is playing right now v. Hapoel J-M, live online TV here now (http://www.basket-tv.com/default.asp?cat=1).

I haven't found live stats yet. Drat. It's a regular Israeli Premier League game.

ZagNative
10-31-2010, 04:58 PM
Jeremy played well in the 75-55 win over Hapoel J-M. (Eurobasket box score (http://www.eurobasket.com/boxScores/Israel/2010/1031_159_434.asp)).

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TM3_Ygri7II/AAAAAAABMRI/6AlSe53iPnE/Fullscreen%20capture%2010312010%2044310%20PM.bmp.j pg

And, of course, w get a nice pic for our trouble ...

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TM3_uY3yAEI/AAAAAAABMRQ/LzOE_FAR3Tg/s512/2010-10-31%20Jeremy%20Pargo%20Jerusalem.jpg