PDA

View Full Version : Open to Public! October 15 Midnight Madness!



BobZag
09-17-2010, 10:34 AM
http://www.espnmediazone3.com/us/2010/09/espnu-opens-2010-11-ncaa-college-hoops-season-with-four-hour-midnight-madness-special/

See newcomers Marquise Carter, Keegan Hyland, Mathis Monninghoff, Mathis Keita, along with all the returning Zags Elias, Rob, Steven, Mangisto, Kelly, Sam, et al.

Make arrangements and mark your calendars now.

Be there or be square.

Details coming soon.

Salsageek
09-17-2010, 10:43 AM
Yay. Can't wait. I will be there.

Pargo the Destroyer
09-17-2010, 12:06 PM
yeah, ticket punched.

gozagswoohoo
09-17-2010, 12:17 PM
I will be there in spirit, and in truth......





(and on tv via ESPNU)

Idahomie
09-17-2010, 12:26 PM
Shoot, I wish Tennessee wasn't 36 hours away from Spokane :( I wanna go so bad!

BobZag
09-17-2010, 01:54 PM
Gonzaga University and the McCarthey Athletic Center will be the site of “Kraziness in the Kennel” presented by the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, one of six venues showcasing their basketball talents for the upcoming season as part of a four-hour “ESPNU Midnight Madness” special featuring extensive whip-around coverage Oct. 15, at 6 p.m. Pacific Time on ESPNU HD.

ESPN platforms have been covering Midnight Madness events since 1993, with this season marking the fifth consecutive year on ESPNU. Gonzaga was last part of Midnight Madness in October, 2008.

“This is a great opportunity to showcase a great facility, an outstanding team and an elite program,” Gonzaga athletic director Mike Roth said. “We are excited about ESPNU returning to campus to highlight the start of the collegiate basketball season.

Teams are not permitted to start their in-season practice until Oct. 15.

“We are excited to be a part of the start of the basketball season on ESPNU,” Gonzaga head coach Mark Few said. “This is something our players have had fun with in the past and it gives fans across the country a chance to get a different look at the personalities of not only Gonzaga but some other outstanding programs around the country.”

The doors to the McCarthey Athletic Center will open at 5:30 p.m. with festivities beginning at 6:30 p.m. Seating is free and available on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Fans will get their first chance to see the 2010-11 version of the Bulldogs, the new Gonzaga University Fight Song will be unveiled and several contests promoting student involvement will also be part of the evening’s festivities.

One lucky fan will have a chance to win $10,000 that night. To be eligible for the $10,000, fans must visit the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory at 506 N. Sullivan in the Spokane Valley and pick up a coupon to be deposited in the drop box at “Kraziness in the Kennel.” One name will be drawn with that fan getting the chance to win $10,000.

“We are excited to be involved with such a high-profile event,” said Aaron Blackmer, owner of Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory in Spokane. “The ability to showcase premium basketball and premium chocolates together will hopefully leave Zag fans hungering for more.”

The Gonzaga radio network, 1510 KGA in Spokane, will also air a 90-minute season preview show from 6-7:30 p.m. live from the McCarthey Athletic Center. Sports talk show host Toby Howell will also broadcast “The Locker Room With Toby Howell” from 4-6 p.m. from the McCarthey Athletic Center.

zagsmyboys
09-20-2010, 06:56 AM
Well, looks like I will be there 3 hours early to get good seats!! I CAN'T WAIT!!! :D

U Zig, I Zag
09-21-2010, 03:49 PM
I will be there in spirit, and in truth......





(and on tv via ESPNU)

I will do a WooHoo Jr dance in your honor...

EuroZag2010
09-22-2010, 03:06 PM
i am so ready for midnight madness :D !! im really excited for the newcomers and the new season, should be a blast. I better pitch my tent in the next week or so :)

bigblahla
09-23-2010, 05:35 AM
Mrs.blahla, mini-me and myself will be in line by 4:45pm, can't wait to see the new lads and the emergence of Sudden Sam Dower. As good as LMU is going to be I believe Sam is a game changer and I really don't think the rest of the WCC has a clue yet, but they will. :D

Go!! Zags!!!

gozagswoohoo
09-23-2010, 08:18 AM
I will do a WooHoo Jr dance in your honor...

Ok, but I HAVE to see video of that. Have the camera phone ready.

ZagNative
09-24-2010, 06:54 PM
My fingers are crossed that Zagregious will be there again this year and put together another killer video like he did last year. Zagregious is an Artist with a video cam!

ID ZAGFAN
09-24-2010, 07:25 PM
My fingers are crossed that Zagregious will be there again this year and put together another killer video like he did last year. Zagregious is an Artist with a video cam!


Here's hoping flattery will get you results!!! :)

ZaGranny

ZagNative
09-28-2010, 12:56 PM
ZN passing some time and working herself into a preseason frenzy ..


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-09-28CountdowntoMidnightMadness.jpg

Looking forward to the first chance to see in a Zag uniform ...


#25 - MATHIS KEITA

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Mathis%20Keita/2010-08-01MathisKeitavCroatia-1.jpg

Class: Freshman
6'5" 190 lb. guard from Thionville, France
HS: Insep

From The Spokesman-Review's Jim Meehan (http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2010/aug/24/zags-officially-add-french-guard-to-mix/):
“He’s an aggressive guard,” GU assistant coach Tommy Lloyd said. “He’s got a ton of international experience and he’s played with the French junior national team. He’s very good defensively, a good all-around player.

”Keita is capable of playing any of the guard positions. He attended Insep, the French national institute of physical education that includes ex-Zag Ronny Turiaf among its graduates.

#22 - Mathis Mönninghoff

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Monninghoff/2010-04-15MathisMnninghoffl.jpg
Class: Freshman
6'7" 189 lb. forward
Hometown: Ibbenbüren, Gemany
HS: Landrat-Lucas-Gymnasium

From the Jim Meehan post linked above:
The 6-foot-7 German is an athletic wing with perimeter shooting ability, somewhat in the mold of ex-Bulldog Micah Downs. Monninghoff has extensive international experience and served as captain of Germany’s U-18 national team this summer.

#33 - Keegan Hyland

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S9nIZ_AmI4I/AAAAAAAAwxA/Qois_OnP0Dc/2010-04-29%20Keegan%20Hyland%20commit%20story-1.jpg

Class: Freshman
6'4" 192 lbs
Hometown: Portland, ME
HS: South Portland

KREM 2 video interview with Keegan (http://www.krem.com/video/raw/Keegan-Hyland-talks-about-committing-to-Gonzaga-92372519.html)about his commitment.

ZagNative
09-28-2010, 01:10 PM
#2 - MARQUISE CARTER

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TKJORHH59tI/AAAAAAABIwA/pR3d4GbHf8U/2010-08-25%20Marquise%20Carter%20fro%20the%20Bulletin-2.jpg
Class: Junior
6'4" 178 Lb. guard
Hometown: San Diego, CA
Last College: Three Rivers CC

From Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2010/8/2/1598902/a-key-piece-to-the-puzzle-checking):
Slipper Still Fits: What position are you most comfortable playing in the back court? Would you categorize yourself as a scoring PG or as more of a combo guard?

Marquise Carter: Coming up in high school, I really played both positions and was sort of a combo guard. My senior year, I kinda got moved to the PG, and became really comfortable at that position throughout senior year and my Juco years. I would categorize myself as a point guard and that's it. I feel I can score when I need to, but I love to get my teammates buckets, and I love to have guys around me who can really finish and make plays. I'm not really use to having that, but when I was on my visit I noticed that these guys were really good at that and I loved it.

Marquise Carter JUCO Basketball Highlights 2008-2010 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGR_E3zd7Bs) (linked on SSF)

Salsageek
09-28-2010, 01:42 PM
I want that shirt. That's the Maui Invitational team shirt!!!



#2 - MARQUISE CARTER

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TKJORHH59tI/AAAAAAABIwA/pR3d4GbHf8U/2010-08-25%20Marquise%20Carter%20fro%20the%20Bulletin-2.jpg
Class: Junior
6'4" 178 Lb. guard
Hometown: San Diego, CA
Last College: Three Rivers CC

From Slipper Still Fits (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/2010/8/2/1598902/a-key-piece-to-the-puzzle-checking):

Marquise Carter JUCO Basketball Highlights 2008-2010 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGR_E3zd7Bs) (linked on SSF)

ZagNative
09-28-2010, 02:03 PM
Wouldn't you rather have this one, worn here by the tournament Co-MVPs?

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TKJnl4O7IqI/AAAAAAABIxU/ZOgSK45kAtc/2009-11-25%20Steven%20Gray%20Cinci%20celebrates%20Matt%20B ouldin%20MVP.jpg

Come to Gonzaga, young man. Your fashion sense will never be quite the same ... Is that look on Steven's face a cry for help?

BobZag
09-28-2010, 04:36 PM
Steven Gray is our Johnny Depp.

;)

Oregon Zag
09-30-2010, 10:50 AM
Can't wait for Kraziness to begin. We will be there!

ridgebackzag
10-06-2010, 11:59 AM
The doors are opening at 5:30.. when is everyone planning on getting there? Has all seating been taken in previous years?

I work that day, so I'm trying to arrange for ample time to get in line and such.

NontradZag
10-06-2010, 01:24 PM
The doors are opening at 5:30.. when is everyone planning on getting there? Has all seating been taken in previous years?

I work that day, so I'm trying to arrange for ample time to get in line and such.

Actually, seating is fairly easy to find if you arrive a little early. In years past I have been in somewhere in the middle of the first tier, across from the student section.

Does anyone know if they will be signing autographs this year?

BobZag
10-06-2010, 04:28 PM
I'd be surprised if there was not an autograph session afterwards.

Get there as early as possible. It was packed last year.

newzag16
10-07-2010, 03:34 PM
There will be an autograph session after the event.

I would get there early. Last year they had to turn people away...as far as atmosphere it should be more like the 2008 event I heard when it was on ESPNU...lights out...fog..tons of great energy!

For those on facebook here is the event page - http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=156871407672138

MickMick
10-07-2010, 05:11 PM
It is gonna be packed.

Worth the stand in line. Even the waiting in line wasn't all bad. I got a free piece of pizza (was hungry at the time....thanks Pizza Hut :) ) and watched some kids play an entertaining game of sandlot football. The people in line around me were friendly and knowledgeable of Zag basketball. Stopped at a packed "Chilis" resteraunt afterwards and drove home to the Tri Cities that night.

A nice experience and my first impressions of Harris were memorable. I drove home thinking we had an extremely good player that no one in the country knows about except for the 6000 that watched that night.

ridgebackzag
10-07-2010, 05:54 PM
Are we talking an hour to be safe or more, for the line?

MickMick
10-07-2010, 08:44 PM
Are we talking an hour to be safe or more, for the line?

The line will be long at an hour before, but you will likely get in. Then again, the ESPN thing will probably make more people aware of it. Who knows?

I don't plan on pitching a tent but I'll probably get there sooner than an hour before hand just to make sure.

ZagNative
10-09-2010, 06:55 PM
This has been the quietest buildup to Midnight Madness and Kraziness in the Kennel I've ever seen!

So I had to put some photos and music together (http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/NDjfyMBDCjYxLJo4xiiuegXEuRm-pyB63zIF1E6MpQI?feat=directlink) for m my own preseason warmup.

Radbooks
10-09-2010, 08:03 PM
Great little video! Wish I could be at the Midnight Madness next week.

rijman
10-10-2010, 11:32 AM
I'm pleased to hear I can catch some of Midnight Madness on ESPNU, since I won't be able to be there. I also have to watch my "The Decade of Excellence" DVD, which is going to be my new ritual around Midnight Madness to get me fired up for the upcoming season.

gamagin
10-10-2010, 11:52 AM
YOU Da (WO)MAN ! ! !

HillBillyZag
10-10-2010, 05:46 PM
Hopefully my daughter Sarah and I will be in line by 4:00 PM , wearing our Zag gear and ready to rock !

EuroZag2010
10-10-2010, 07:00 PM
Hopefully my daughter Sarah and I will be in line by 4:00 PM , wearing our Zag gear and ready to rock !

I'm thinking three hrs should be enough to get good seats =}

zagamatic
10-11-2010, 06:34 PM
I was just wondering if there was a paint the kennel theme for the kraziness? Would be kinda nice to look organized for national tv and all.

EuroZag2010
10-11-2010, 08:31 PM
I hope they sell some craziness in the kennel t-shirts , I'm not sure about the official Color

Robzagnut
10-12-2010, 07:39 AM
and watched some kids play an entertaining game of sandlot football. The people in line around me were friendly and knowledgeable of Zag basketball.

That was me and my three boys. They get bored in line, so the last two years I've brought a football. We play I'm the QB with one WR against two DBs. Four downs to get a TD, then rotate.

Last year a couple of kids starting inching closer and I could tell they wanted to play too. Soon we had a pretty good sized group playing.

Stop by and say hello next time. Or I could always use a good blocker. :)

The509sfinest
10-12-2010, 02:27 PM
Im so confused it starts at 6? so should i be their at like 4? and is it free like last year?

BobZag
10-12-2010, 05:07 PM
Starts at 6:30. Doors open at 5:30.

Tailgate! http://www.facebook.com/#!/event.php?eid=154383611266552

NotoriousZ
10-12-2010, 07:15 PM
This has been the quietest buildup to Midnight Madness and Kraziness in the Kennel I've ever seen!
So I had to put some photos and music together (http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/NDjfyMBDCjYxLJo4xiiuegXEuRm-pyB63zIF1E6MpQI?feat=directlink) for m my own preseason warmup.

Very nice! I can't wait to see these guys again.

:000tens:

zagsmyboys
10-13-2010, 10:45 AM
I took the day off work this year!! I need the day to prepare!! Last year I got there about an hour and a half early and had pretty good seats. This year with ESPN being there and all I will be standing by the front door at 1:30 (Hopefully no line yet) I want good seats!!!! Luckily the students have their own entrance!! So where do you think the best seats would be?

ZagNative
10-13-2010, 06:21 PM
Chocolates! How many of you have visited the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory to pick up your coupons for the chance to win $10,000? Does ZN still have a chance to be part of a slim lottery pool if she hustles out pronto and picks up some lovely truffles?

Radio Shark: Also, going down my checklist, I have duly programmed my Radio Shark to record Toby's show Friday from 4:00 - 6:00 and Huddy Buddy (and Matt Santangelo?) from 6:00 to 7:30.

ESPNU HD - Comcast 621 in Spokane: DVR space cleared, recording set up!
Life is good!

One lucky fan will have a chance to win $10,000 that night. To be eligible for the $10,000, fans must visit the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory at 506 N. Sullivan in the Spokane Valley and pick up a coupon to be deposited in the drop box at “Kraziness in the Kennel.” One name will be drawn with that fan getting the chance to win $10,000.

“We are excited to be involved with such a high-profile event,” said Aaron Blackmer, owner of Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory in Spokane. “The ability to showcase premium basketball and premium chocolates together will hopefully leave Zag fans hungering for more.”

The Gonzaga radio network, 1510 KGA in Spokane, will also air a 90-minute season preview show from 6-7:30 p.m. live from the McCarthey Athletic Center. Sports talk show host Toby Howell will also broadcast “The Locker Room With Toby Howell” from 4-6 p.m. from the McCarthey Athletic Center.

Pargo the Destroyer
10-14-2010, 06:37 AM
taking tomorrow off as well. Gonna get warmed up by playing a little golf in the AM, then relaxing for a bit and then off to the MAC at around 3 or so. I hate this time of year :D

DCZag83
10-14-2010, 09:23 AM
So whats this about a new fight song? We already have a fight song and personally I love it. Maybe theyre just changing the words around?

Pargo the Destroyer
10-14-2010, 09:37 AM
its kinda cool, it has the go gonzaga g-o-n-z-a-g-a chant in it....

MickMick
10-14-2010, 06:22 PM
That was me and my three boys. They get bored in line, so the last two years I've brought a football. We play I'm the QB with one WR against two DBs. Four downs to get a TD, then rotate.

Last year a couple of kids starting inching closer and I could tell they wanted to play too. Soon we had a pretty good sized group playing.

Stop by and say hello next time. Or I could always use a good blocker. :)


OK Robo...here is the deal. I used to be a starting linebacker for Kamiakin High. I'm a little cocky at 52, so I took up a bet with a 21 year old kid that started at offensive tackle for Connell High School. The bet was that I could beat him in a 40 yard dash on the condition that he wore cowboy boots.

Here is the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aP-iLc_s874).

As you can see, I could still run with that youngin for a bit. I peaked over and saw I was ahead, tried to kick it into second gear, and fell forward (ate a little gravel but linebackers are tough!).

Moral of story: No more second gear at 52 and the forward lean is gone.

But I'm not shy about blocking. Put me at left tackle so I can protect your blind side. I'll make up for my absent athleticism with technique. I used to coach football. Like riding a bicycle. I got yer back.

GoZAGsMang
10-15-2010, 11:37 AM
DUNKIN and DANCIN!!!!!!!!!!

and one more thing.......

GoZAGsMang!