PDA

View Full Version : The official GU Boards 2010 FIBA World Championship thread



OZZY
08-26-2010, 12:38 AM
Well less than 48 hours before the start of the Men's Basketball World championships in Turkey.

Zag fans will be following with interest the three current Zag players suiting up for their countries, but followers on this board could be cheering on up to any of five different (if not more) teams. We certainly have board particpants from at least five countries.

As the incomparable Zagnative has already provided us with links in the other threads, and she is much cleverer than I am, I'll let her repost below for the contacts and schedules. Needless to say that I'm going to have to stay up until the early hours if I want to watch any of it live........

IMO Spain over Greece in an all European final, with USA and Argentina playing for Bronze (USA to win).

My quick analysis on the Canadian team and its Zag players (for those interested)..

The Canadian Team is banged up and suffers from lack of depth. What they do have is a team-first mentality and a will to win for each other as France found out mid-summer. For all the criticism's aimed at him, Leo has been able to get the players to "buy" into the system and work together.

The lack of depth is especially noticable at the point guard position as none of the three players left are true point guards.....In five years different story, but for now they have to rely on Jermaine "The Rock" Anderson to run the team, with either X-Ute Tyler Kepkay or defenisive specialist Ryan Bell helping out

Shooting guard is more solid with Andy Rautins (if he recovers from injury), X-Connecticut Husky Denham Brown and Jevohn Shephard able to be productive and provide reasonable defence. Brown has returned from team exile to provide some needed experience and backbone.

Wings Olu Famutimi, Aaron Doornkamp and Jermaine Bucknor are all European pro's who have shown in preliminary games that they are capable of providing good team defense and scoring when needed.

Front court relies on un-drafted NBA Centre Joel Anthony who is a strong defensive player in the mold of Ben Wallace, and European pro Power Forward Levon Kendall who is a solid allround player who can score, rebound and play some defense, but is not a specialist at any of them. Backing these two frontcourt players up should be the following Gonzaga Bulldog players;

Canada - Robert Sacre backup Centre.
Coach Leo Rautins loves Rob's athletic ability and his
never say die attitude. As some articles/videos have shown
Rob is everyone's favorite teamate and keeps the team
loose. On court Rob will be relied on to provide off bench
energy and a strong physical presence. Don't expect big
numbers from him, but 3-4 rebounds and a block per game
in 12-15 mpg is realistic.

Kelly Olynyk Backup Power Forward.
For someone who wasn't even on the FIBA U18 Canadian
initial invite list two summers ago, this young man has
certianly moved up the depth chart rapidly. His initial guard
skills give him an advantage against most his size, but he is
still learning to fit into an almost 7' body. From most reports
he is filling out nicely but is not yet a "banger". His basketball
IQ, handle and shooting ability is much more typical of a
European big, and he has shown he can play against the
Euro's in the preliminary games. Kelly could explode and
score 8-12 points in a given game, but will not be relied upon
to get large rebound numbers or blocks.

The question is where will the team finish......

If Andy Rautins and Jermain Bucknor can take the court, then the Canucks might could make it through to the second round. If they can't, then I see a big struggle to win even against Lebanon who beat them earlier this week.

I will leave the analysis of the Elias and the German team to one of my fellow German posters to take up.

Go Canada, Go Germany, Go Zags!
:D

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 02:02 AM
Hey, Ozzy! Thanks!

We just got news a couple of days ago that former Zag great JP Batista was just called up a few days ago to join his Brazilian teammates for their games starting in Istanbul.

It's looking very Zaggish out there!

I was temporarily excited about the prospect of them meeting up in Turkey, but they're pretty widely scattered, all in different groups and cities, so a Zag reunion will have to wait for Istanbul, after they've all hopefully performed well enough to advance after the preliminaries:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/ZagsintheWorlds.jpg

Following is a consolidated schedule for the coming week through the preliminaries. (It also includes Kyle Wiltjer's games at Venice Beach at the Boost Mobile Elite 24 event (http://rise.espn.go.com/boys-basketball/articles/2010/08/16-Elite-24-teams.aspx), which will be broadcast live on ESPNU in the States on ESPNU Friday and Saturday.)

Watch the World Championships Live: ESPN3.Com (http://espn.go.com/espn3/index) will provide online streaming for us here in the US for all FIBA games. Canadian fans will be able to watch Canada's games on TSN2, as announced on basketball.ca (http://www.basketball.ca/en/hm/inside.php?sid=1&id=4420).

I'm jacked!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-08-25ScheduleforWCpreliminaries.jpg

deathchina
08-26-2010, 07:22 AM
I think you have to make USA the favorite, albeit a slight favorite. We are essentially sending our junior varsity team (other than Durant), but I still think we have enough to get it done. Just comes down to whether we hit enough shots against the zone...

Colbyspapa
08-26-2010, 11:19 AM
It is such a shame that our best players (USA) don't feel the pull or desire to represent their country on the world stage.

Where is Lebron, Kobe, Dwane Wade, Dwight Howard, Joe Johnson, Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, Chris Bosh, Derrick Lee, Carmello Anthony, Amare Stoudamire, or Mike Miller.

None of these guys are on the team and they were all allstars. Of the FIBA team, only Durrant, Rose, Billups and Rhondo were allstars.

How could these multi multi millionairres tolerate the US sending our JV squad?

It seems all the international players want to play for their home countries. I did notice Steve Nash wasn't playing for Canada, but he's older and I can't fault Tim Duncan for not playing as he has played so many years on the US team.

soccerdud
08-26-2010, 11:40 AM
cp, almost all those players you listed represented our country extremely well leading up to (a 3-year commitment was required of all) and during the 2008 olympics. in the particular case of kobe bryant (who was a regular in the NBA finals), this meant something like 4 weeks of offseason a year. total.

i agree with you that between 1994 and 2006 that was a big issue... but since then we've generally seen the stars step up, represent us well, and put in time and effort well beyond what's expected of any other big-4 sport athletes. using kobe as another example, he put off recommended hand surgery for more than 2 years so as to represent his country, and is currently out because of knee surgery. the others, i'd imagine, are taking a well-earned break, and i'm very much hoping we'll see a similar team back building toward 2012. the fact is that being an nba player and a full-time member of team usa is unsustainable.

i'm sorry for going off, but complaining about the stars not being in this tournament because of a lack of caring or willingness to sacrifice is outdated and cliche.

thespywhozaggedme
08-26-2010, 11:48 AM
Well less than 48 hours before the start of the Men's Basketball World championships in Turkey.

Zag fans will be following with interest the three current Zag players suiting up for their countries, but followers on this board could be cheering on up to any of five different (if not more) teams. We certainly have board particpants from at least five countries.

As the incomparable Zagnative has already provided us with links in the other threads, and she is much cleverer than I am, I'll let her repost below for the contacts and schedules. Needless to say that I'm going to have to stay up until the early hours if I want to watch any of it live........

IMO Spain over Greece in an all European final, with USA and Argentina playing for Bronze (USA to win).

My quick analysis on the Canadian team and its Zag players (for those interested)..

The Canadian Team is banged up and suffers from lack of depth. What they do have is a team-first mentality and a will to win for each other as France found out mid-summer. For all the criticism's aimed at him, Leo has been able to get the players to "buy" into the system and work together.

The lack of depth is especially noticable at the point guard position as none of the three players left are true point guards.....In five years different story, but for now they have to rely on Jermaine "The Rock" Anderson to run the team, with either X-Ute Tyler Kepkay or defenisive specialist Ryan Bell helping out

Shooting guard is more solid with Andy Rautins (if he recovers from injury), X-Connecticut Husky Denham Brown and Jevohn Shephard able to be productive and provide reasonable defence. Brown has returned from team exile to provide some needed experience and backbone.

Wings Olu Famutimi, Aaron Doornkamp and Jermaine Bucknor are all European pro's who have shown in preliminary games that they are capable of providing good team defense and scoring when needed.

Front court relies on un-drafted NBA Centre Joel Anthony who is a strong defensive player in the mold of Ben Wallace, and European pro Power Forward Levon Kendall who is a solid allround player who can score, rebound and play some defense, but is not a specialist at any of them. Backing these two frontcourt players up should be the following Gonzaga Bulldog players;

Canada - Robert Sacre backup Centre.
Coach Leo Rautins loves Rob's athletic ability and his
never say die attitude. As some articles/videos have shown
Rob is everyone's favorite teamate and keeps the team
loose. On court Rob will be relied on to provide off bench
energy and a strong physical presence. Don't expect big
numbers from him, but 3-4 rebounds and a block per game
in 12-15 mpg is realistic.

Kelly Olynyk Backup Power Forward.
For someone who wasn't even on the FIBA U18 Canadian
initial invite list two summers ago, this young man has
certianly moved up the depth chart rapidly. His initial guard
skills give him an advantage against most his size, but he is
still learning to fit into an almost 7' body. From most reports
he is filling out nicely but is not yet a "banger". His basketball
IQ, handle and shooting ability is much more typical of a
European big, and he has shown he can play against the
Euro's in the preliminary games. Kelly could explode and
score 8-12 points in a given game, but will not be relied upon
to get large rebound numbers or blocks.

The question is where will the team finish......

If Andy Rautins and Jermain Bucknor can take the court, then the Canucks might could make it through to the second round. If they can't, then I see a big struggle to win even against Lebanon who beat them earlier this week.

I will leave the analysis of the Elias and the German team to one of my fellow German posters to take up.

Go Canada, Go Germany, Go Zags!
:D

hey Oz,
I love ya man, but I gotta be honest; I think Leo has done a terrible job of assembling this team, they are really devoid of any talent at all, and now I'm hearing rumors that if Andy is a go he might cut Olu, what a dumb dumb move that would be. Add to that the fact that players like Manny Arop, Andrew Nicholson, Bol Kong, Hersnt Laroche and Harouna Mutumbo weren't even invited to try outs makes me wonder if Leo is truly in over his head. Being as objective as possible, I can easily see Canada going winless, but on a brighter note he appears to be in love with Kelly and can't stop saying good things about him. Hopefully Leo will go balls to the wall and bring up a ton of the young guys for the Olympic qualifying tourney next season, i.e Wiltjer, Kabongo, Birch, Manny, Cojo, Pangos, etc. This current Canadian senior team is really, really bad, but the future is fantastic.

thespywhozaggedme
08-26-2010, 11:51 AM
Hey, Ozzy! Thanks!

We just got news a couple of days ago that former Zag great JP Batista was just called up a few days ago to join his Brazilian teammates for their games starting in Istanbul.

It's looking very Zaggish out there!

I was temporarily excited about the prospect of them meeting up in Turkey, but they're pretty widely scattered, all in different groups and cities, so a Zag reunion will have to wait for Istanbul, after they've all hopefully performed well enough to advance after the preliminaries:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/ZagsintheWorlds.jpg

Following is a consolidated schedule for the coming week through the preliminaries. (It also includes Kyle Wiltjer's games at Venice Beach at the Boost Mobile Elite 24 event (http://rise.espn.go.com/boys-basketball/articles/2010/08/16-Elite-24-teams.aspx), which will be broadcast live on ESPNU in the States on ESPNU Friday and Saturday.)

Watch the World Championships Live: ESPN3.Com (http://espn.go.com/espn3/index) will provide online streaming for us here in the US for all FIBA games. Canadian fans will be able to watch Canada's games on TSN2, as announced on basketball.ca (http://www.basketball.ca/en/hm/inside.php?sid=1&id=4420).

I'm jacked!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-08-25ScheduleforWCpreliminaries.jpg

How do you do this stuff? You are a hoops goddess. :D

CanadianZagFan
08-26-2010, 12:21 PM
hey Oz,
I love ya man, but I gotta be honest; I think Leo has done a terrible job of assembling this team, they are really devoid of any talent at all, and now I'm hearing rumors that if Andy is a go he might cut Olu, what a dumb dumb move that would be. Add to that the fact that players like Manny Arop, Andrew Nicholson, Bol Kong, Hersnt Laroche and Harouna Mutumbo weren't even invited to try outs makes me wonder if Leo is truly in over his head. Being as objective as possible, I can easily see Canada going winless, but on a brighter note he appears to be in love with Kelly and can't stop saying good things about him. Hopefully Leo will go balls to the wall and bring up a ton of the young guys for the Olympic qualifying tourney next season, i.e Wiltjer, Kabongo, Birch, Manny, Cojo, Pangos, etc. This current Canadian senior team is really, really bad, but the future is fantastic.

There is not a guy on your list ready to play at this level yet. Wings are our deepest position, and as much as I like Arop he would not bump anyone on this team, Kong is not even close to being a National team player right now. Nicholson would duplicate what Anthony brings, but at a lesser skill set, I think he will play with big team, but not yet. Laroche and Mutumbo, come on?

deathchina
08-26-2010, 01:22 PM
"I did notice Steve Nash wasn't playing for Canada, but he's older"

Nash hasn't played for Canada since 2004.

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 01:40 PM
So, is there no way we can keep this thread fun, rather than degenerating into yet another rehashing of who should have made the Canadian roster and what an idiot Rautins is?


http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/THbWs0JWbII/AAAAAAABCPk/6BLmK2G2BhI/Canadian%20barroom%20brawl-1.jpg

Sorry to offend, but much of the talk about Canada basketball here strikes me as one big soap opera, a more polite version of Jersey Shore, but without the booze and sex ... or the fun and humor, for that matter.

thespywhozaggedme
08-26-2010, 02:03 PM
There is not a guy on your list ready to play at this level yet. Wings are our deepest position, and as much as I like Arop he would not bump anyone on this team, Kong is not even close to being a National team player right now. Nicholson would duplicate what Anthony brings, but at a lesser skill set, I think he will play with big team, but not yet. Laroche and Mutumbo, come on?

Nonsense. This team very well could go winless, so why not go winless with the guys that will be your future. Wings may be the deepest position, but depth doesn't equate talent; Kong and Manny are both waaay better than Doornekamp and Bucknor right now. I wouldn't replace Anthony with Nicholson, but I'd surely replace Kendall with him. Laroche was WAC roy a few years ago and is a true pg, has court vision and can actually make an entry pass, something neither Anderson, Kepkay or Bell can do. This current team may be one of the three worst teams in the entire WC, and I place the blame squarely on the shoulders of Leo Rautins.

cjm720
08-26-2010, 02:08 PM
I love our Foreign Zags but when these threads turn into a Canadian basketball discussion, I stop reading. It would be the same if it was USA basketball. That's it.

Reborn
08-26-2010, 02:20 PM
I love our Foreign Zags but when these threads turn into a Canadian basketball discussion, I stop reading. It would be the same if it was USA basketball. That's it.

Great post. I totally agree!

sittingon50
08-26-2010, 02:20 PM
Apparently not, Native.

;)

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 02:50 PM
Canada story on FIBA (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/news/p/eid/4728/nid/43410/sid/4728/article.html), mostly about injuries, with a team pic:


http://turkey2010.fiba.com/images/web/News/Photos/2010/08/26/_483x332/team.jpg

From what I've read, team chemistry remains good, and this pic of Jermaine Bucknor and Robert Sacre heading to practice in Izmir (blown up here from a tiny photo on basketball today) makes it look like they're having some fun. I do hope, for Rob's mama's sake, that Buknor isn't trying to tell us Rob picked up a new tattoo in Turkey .... Rob said in an interview a while back his mama said no more tattoos and no more dogs. Mothers can be such killjoys ...


http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/THbl5dhi77I/AAAAAAABCQY/bG6wMhSK36E/2010-08-26%20Robert%20Sacre%20and%20Jermaine%20Bucknor%20h ead%20to%20practice.jpg

Colbyspapa
08-26-2010, 03:42 PM
I hear you Soccer. Your post makes sense. It's still a shame we can't get our best to go against other nation's best on the World scale. I love team USA beating everyone!

I will throw one jab, Lebron must be too busy counting his contract to play. :-) Had to do it.

OZZY
08-26-2010, 03:52 PM
Spy, the team is what the team is, now let's get behind them and cheer them on. This is supposed to be a thread about the team we have please let's keep it that way. BTW Doornekamp played significant minutes off the bench for one of the top European teams, he is better than most people give him credit for.

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 04:10 PM
As far as I know, Canada's 12-man roster won't be officially determined until tomorrow, but this Toronto Sun story (http://www.torontosun.com/sports/basketball/2010/08/26/15153366.html) says:
Bubble guys' make FIBA roster

IZMIR, Turkey -- All those injury problems are going to mean a lot more Bulldog in the Team Canada roster.

Both Kelly Olynyk and Robert Sacre, two players headed back to join the Gonzaga Bulldogs following this summer, were initially considered bubble guys to even make the roster for the FIBA world championships which open Saturday with Canada taking on Lebanon.

Their status had more to do with inexperience than actual ability but with both relatively healthy, that inexperience is going to get overlooked.

Less than 24 hours before Canada had to declare its 12 man roster for the tournament, Sacre and Olynyk appear locks to make the team.

"Both guys look like they're going to be part of the program for the next 10 years so it will be nice to see them getting an early start on things," head coach Leo Rautins said.

"I think Kelly is a future NBAer and I'm not the only one here who thinks so," Rautins said adding long-time NBA assistant Jim Todd shares those feelings. Sacre also appears destined to make a living in the NBA, but for now both would be happy just contributing to any success Team Canada enjoys here.

OZZY
08-26-2010, 05:07 PM
Its quite interesting that it's not just a few "overzealous" Zag posters think that Kelly could make the NBA.........................but those with NBA coaching experience as well.

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 05:10 PM
Germany: Germany plays Argentina the first game saturday at 11:30 AM PST (21:30 local time), and I just saw this posted on FIBA WC site (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/news/p/eid/4728/nid/43431/sid/4728/article.html), and I'm hoping it makes Elias' and Germany's chances better:
KAYSERI (2010 FIBA World Championship) – Argentinian National Team forward Andres Nocioni will miss the 2010 FIBA World Championship due to a left ankle sprain suffered in the last stage of practices prior to the tournament.

A very affected Nocioni, who will play next season in the NBA for the Philadelphia 76ers, gave the announcement in a press conference held at the Kayseri Hilton.

“It is with a lot of pain in my soul that I have to announce that I won’t play in the FIBA World Championship,” said a teary Nocioni.

“The Philadelphia 76ers exercised an option in my contract that when I get injured during national team activities they can prevent me from playing,” he added.

At the end of July, Nocioni suffered a left ankle sprain during a practice and he started a rehabilitation process under Dr. Diego Grippo and he returned to action at the Efes Pilsen World Cup in Ankara where he played two of the three games, missing the last one against Turkey.

“I told everyone that I was playing 100% in the FIBA World Championship and the team (76ers) and the doctors advised me to not play because of the risks. A second MRI was made where damage was shown and I will have to be without doing any physical work for 4-5 weeks,” said the forward.

The last time Nocioni played for the Argentinian National Team in an official competition was at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing where he and his team won the Bronze medal.

“It is sad because this was going to be my last FIBA World Championship playing at a high level. It broke my dream of playing here for my country.”

Now the head coach of the Argentinean team, Sergio Hernandez, will have to make the tough decision to call another player and some of the candidates include Marcos Mata (Peñarol Mar del Plata) and Matias Sandes (Fuenlabrada). The decision will be announced in a couple of hours.Nocioni didn't put up a lot of numbers when Argentina the Efes Pilsen Cup, where Canada played them, perhaps because he was injured and got limited minutes.

ronh_pm
08-26-2010, 05:29 PM
I love our Foreign Zags but when these threads turn into a Canadian basketball discussion, I stop reading. It would be the same if it was USA basketball. That's it.

I'm Canadian and it drives me nuts as well. I like to hear about Rob and Kelly but the rest of the would haves, could haves and should haves I could hear on hooplife.com.

Rangerzag
08-26-2010, 05:31 PM
http://turkey2010.fiba.com/images/web/News/Photos/2010/08/26/_483x332/team.jpg

Kelly is looking nicely tall in this pic!

Final4Zag
08-26-2010, 05:33 PM
Is he taller then Rob? Sure looks like it in that pic.

ronh_pm
08-26-2010, 05:35 PM
http://turkey2010.fiba.com/images/web/News/Photos/2010/08/26/_483x332/team.jpg

Kelly is looking nicely tall in this pic!

And still has the oddball uniform...might have to facebook him on that...

ZagNative
08-26-2010, 05:55 PM
Of interest to Germany, which plays Serbia Sunday, this from FIBA (http://ht.ly/2vh7M):
GENEVA (2010 FIBA World Championship) - FIBA, the world governing body of basketball, today announced that four players are to be suspended, and their national federations fined, after recent fighting at a friendly tournament in Greece.

On 19th August, at a game between Greece and Serbia, a fight broke out towards the end of the game involving two players - Antonis Fotsis (GRE) and Milos Teodosic (SRB). This resulted in a wider, violent brawl between several players of both teams.

The game was stopped immediately and never resumed.

FIBA started an official investigation after the game and has now announced its findings.

Serbian player Nenad Krstic is suspended with immediate effect for three games in main official FIBA competition which include the World Championships, Olympics and Continental Championships. The player is also fined a total of CHF 45,000.

His teammate, Milos Teodosic, is also suspended with immediate effect for two games in main official FIBA competitions.

The Serbian Basketball federation will be fined a total of CHF 20,000.

Greek players Antonis Fotsis and Sofoklis Schortsanitis are suspended with immediate effect for two games in main official FIBA competitions.

The Hellenic Basketball Federation will be fined a total of CHF 20,000.

webspinnre
08-26-2010, 06:03 PM
Is he taller then Rob? Sure looks like it in that pic.

Rob appears to be heavily slouching, but still, he does look tall. If he can come up big with 15 or so minutes a game to start the year, I could definitely see him playing himself into more time. He's definitely one of the 6 (or maybe 7) guys that I would expect to see getting the bulk of the playing time, with smaller chunks basically up for grabs.

bballbeachbum
08-27-2010, 07:43 AM
Go Team USA!

and Kelly looks like he's added some beef to his frame from these shots to me...is that true? or just the photos adding fake weight? this experience for him, Rob and Elias will really help them mature, help them develop.

ZagNative, how do you do it? thanks for all the info.

sanders
08-27-2010, 07:54 AM
Still no word on the FIBA or Basketball Canada sites re the final roster.

Re the uniforms, maybe they only brought 12 official jerseys to Europe (numbered 4 through 15), one for each roster spot, so the 'extra' guys - Landry and Olynyk - had to use uniforms from previous years. Once Olynyk makes the team I assume he will get the uniform (and number) of whomever was assigned one of the 4 through 15 official jerseys but did not make the final squad.

ZagNative
08-27-2010, 08:17 AM
Canada: Posted a few minutes ago on Doug Smith's Raptors blog (http://thestar.blogs.com/raptors/2010/08/greetings-from-izmir-and-some-news-about-canada.html), posting from Izmir:
Speaking of Canada – and this is more news after a long slog to get here – they’ve finalized the roster and made what I think are some wise decisions.

They decided to cut point guard Tyler Kepkay and forward Kyle Landry, which means they’ll have both the young kids Kelly Olynyk and Robert Sacre and guard Andy Rautins on the 12-man roster that cannot now be changed.

Kepkay barely played and the thinking was that they’d maybe get more out of Rautins later in the week if his knee improves than they’d get from keeping the veteran point guard around.

But the experience that Olynyk and Sacre will get is immeasurable and it’s a wise, wise move to keep them. He headlines the story with the news that Canada basketball has picked up a major sponsor.
Ran into some Canada Basketball folks on the final leg of the journey and they report some very good financial news.

Seems Bell Canada is coming on as a major sponsor – you’ll see the company name on the jerseys when the team plays tomorrow – and that’s huge news.

It’s a multi-year deal that’s “very lucrative” according to the poohbah I spoke to and covers both the men’s and the women’s teams, which is significant.

I’ve been saying all along that organization seems headed in the right direction and some smart company would jump at the chance to get on board early.

It’s welcome news and even though I have issues with Bell (don’t get Super Wife and her cellphone plan started!), it’s good they’re ponying up some cash.

ZagNative
08-27-2010, 08:26 AM
Canada: From Slam (http://slam.canoe.ca/Slam/Columnists/Ganter/2010/08/27/15159551.html):
IZMIR, Turkey – When it came right down to it, the Canadian coaching staff did the only thing they could.

They went the logical route.

Kyle Landry, the Calgary native who was already on a plane headed back to Canada on Thursday was joined by point guard Tyler Kepkay as the final two cuts getting the Canadian roster down to 12 on the eve of the FIBA World Championships.
What the cuts mean for Canada is a likely heavy workload for the nine or 10 fully healthy players and a hope that those who are injured will be able to contribute along the way.

It’s not ideal, but that is the hand the team has been dealt.

The final roster is as follows: G Jermaine Anderson, C Joel Anthony, G Ryan Bell, G Denham Brown, F Jermaine Bucknor, F Aaron Doornekamp, F Olu Famutimi, F Levon Kendall, F Kelly Olynyk, G Andy Rautins, C Robert Sacre, and F Jevohn Shepherd.

Go Canada! Go Zags!

ZagNative
08-27-2010, 08:48 AM
Canada: Nice piece on Kelly from a Kamloops hometown site (http://www.kamloopsnews.ca/article/20100827/KAMLOOPS0201/308279984/-1/KAMLOOPS02/olynyk-ready-to-help-canada-at-worlds):
Olynyk ready to help Canada at worlds

Kelly Olynyk is ready to do whatever he can to help Canada at the FIBA world men’s basketball championship in Izmir, Turkey.

He might be asked to do a lot, considering the adversity the Canadians have gone through over the last two weeks.

Olynyk, a 19-year-old South Kamloops grad, was to learn last night whether he will be on Canada’s 12-man roster for its world championship opener, scheduled for Saturday against Lebanon.

Canada currently has 13 players with it in Turkey, but can only name 12 to its roster. Olynyk was considered a longshot to make the team a month ago.
....
“I have been playing better the last couple games,” Olynyk wrote, noting that getting to start, “was amazing.”
....

sanders
08-27-2010, 10:34 AM
Gutsy move bringing only 2 PGs. I like the call, even if it puts a lot of pressure on Anderson and Bell. Look for Anderson to play close to 35 minutes a game (aside from blow outs).

This should be a real good development opportunity for Sacre and Olynyk. They will both see meaningful minutes against the world's best.

Bogozags
08-27-2010, 10:37 AM
ZN, once again THANKS for all you do!

I'm so happy that KO made the squad. He will get some real good experience playing against top ranked talent. This will make him so much tougher this year and against collegiate players, not saying he is a super star but rather will have played so much more this summer and it is like having played nearly a half season!

We have three players at FIBA and all will get a good number of quality minutes. It is a shame that the networks don't think they can sell Ads for this tournament or enough to put the games on TV.

I am pretty stoked for this season and barring injuries, we will have a very, very good season!

ZagNative
08-27-2010, 10:50 AM
Thanks, Bogo! I might switch over to the previous "Elias Harris and German National Team on the Road to 2010 FIBA World Championships" (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=585157#post585157) thread to post about the German team, since this one has been so much about Canada.

I love hearing from our friends in Germany, and with the language challenges, seems like it might be easier for them not to have to wade through as much stuff aside from what they're really interested in ....

ELIAS HARRIS AND TEAM GERMANY!

ronh_pm
08-27-2010, 12:12 PM
http://basketball.ca/en/hm/inside.php?sid=1&id=4445


The Road Warriors also feature fresh new faces in Robert Sacre (Vancouver, B.C.) and 19-year old Kelly Olynyk (Kamloops, B.C.), both former Junior Men’s National Team stars and current members of NCAA’s Gonzaga Bulldogs.

Rautins added, “We have different objectives when you put a team together: One is to put together the best team you can to win; two is to build chemistry and balance positions, and three is to follow our plan for the long-term development of our elite program. To be able to bring two players into the mix like Kelly and Robert, who can be a part of our program for the next 10 years, is a huge asset for Canada Basketball. Seeing them play for the Road Warriors is an inspiration for other young players who dream to play for the senior team.”


http://www.ronhole.com/blog/images/smnt.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
08-27-2010, 12:26 PM
Gutsy move bringing only 2 PGs. I like the call, even if it puts a lot of pressure on Anderson and Bell. Look for Anderson to play close to 35 minutes a game (aside from blow outs).

This should be a real good development opportunity for Sacre and Olynyk. They will both see meaningful minutes against the world's best.

I think with a healthy Andy, his dad was able to cut Kepkay. Andy has excellent court vision and passing skills and can bring up the ball like Bouldin did for us last year. There were several games last season for Syracuse where Andy had 6 + assists in a game. I'm really happy for Kelly and Rob and looking at another picture today, it does indeed appear that KO is now slightly taller than Rob.

ZagNative
08-27-2010, 09:06 PM
Okay, folks - Less thn 12 hours for the first FIBA 2010 World Championship preliminary game in Turkey! Finally!

Live Stats: It looks to m like live stats for the FIBA site can be found here (http://live-statistic.fiba.com/). I had previously registered with the FIBA site, and it prompted me to enter my e-mail address and password, so you might also be required to register to access the liive stats on that site.

8:30 AM (11:30 ET): Canada v Lebanon - I'll watch on ESPN3.com (http://espn.go.com/espn3/index). Folks in Canada can watch on TSN TV.


11:30 AM (2:30 ET): Brazil v. Iran - ESPN3.com


11:30 AM (2:30 ET): Germany v. Argentina - ESPN3.com


Good luck to all our Zags!

ZagNative
08-28-2010, 07:26 AM
Greece-China:at 7:31 in the fourth, Greece leads 71-66. Game live at ESPN3.com.

ronh_pm
08-28-2010, 07:40 AM
It looks like most the games are listed at http://atdhe.net/index.html

Canada - Lebanon at 8:30am PST (http://atdhe.net/19335/watch-canada-vs-lebanon)

USA - Croatia at 9:00am PST (http://atdhe.net/20216/watch-usa-vs-croatia)

Should add...I have no idea of the validity or "safety" of the links....

Zerogame
08-28-2010, 07:48 AM
Rob is not slouching in this pic. I think it is the hair, by a hair that shows Kelly is taller!
http://www.ronhole.com/blog/images/smnt.jpg

CanadianZagFan
08-28-2010, 07:50 AM
1/2 hour till Canada's first game!

sanders
08-28-2010, 07:56 AM
Greece-China:at 7:31 in the fourth, Greece leads 71-66. Game live at ESPN3.com.

I am surprised that China kept it that close (they ended up losing by 8).
Jordan giving Australia a good run in another early game.

MickMick
08-28-2010, 07:56 AM
Watched some of Australia vs Jordan using ZagNative's link. Very nice video quality. Patty Mills still doing his thing but Jordan is playing the Aussies tough.

ZagNative
08-28-2010, 08:17 AM
Oh Canada! National Anthem on.

ZagNative
08-28-2010, 08:20 AM
Andy Rautins gets the start.

BroncoZAG615
08-28-2010, 08:50 AM
this game has been utterly awful to watch. we want kelly!

CanadianZagFan
08-28-2010, 09:04 AM
this game has been utterly awful to watch. we want kelly!

Rob saw the floor and picked up some quick fouls, I would like to see Kelly early in the 3rd quarter to spread the floor a bit, we have had had very much success driving the lane in the half court.

MickMick
08-28-2010, 09:48 AM
Lebanon is just quicker to loose balls. Combine that with Canada turning the ball over and questionable calls by the refs (like the blocking foul on Rautins)and it isn't looking so good for Canada. One thing is evident, the Canucks are seriously impaired with Rautins on the bench in foul trouble.

ronh_pm
08-28-2010, 10:59 AM
this game has been utterly awful to watch. we want kelly!

Pretty disappointing to see Kelly get all of 7 seconds in a game where it became increasingly obvious as the clock ran that the players he had on the floor could no longer run his offence against the zone Lebanon put up.

I guess Rautins (Sr.) figured if he kept on doing the same thing Lebanon would adjust from what was working to something else.

ZagNative
08-28-2010, 12:18 PM
Germany leads Argentina at the half, 42-39. Live Stats from FIBA (http://live-statistic.fiba.com/) must be overwhelmed by users, as I haven't been able to get them to work reliably this whole game. :(

Lots of other distractions today, so my attention has been fragmented. Hope focus steps up for both me and Germany in the second half.

Zerogame
08-28-2010, 01:08 PM
Harris played the first half of the fourth before getting a rest. Had a dunk and a block against Scola!

deathchina
08-28-2010, 01:10 PM
USA beats the crap out of Croatia.

Teaze
08-28-2010, 01:28 PM
Harris had 2 nice dunks and played awesome defense.

ZagNative
08-28-2010, 02:13 PM
Harris had 2 nice dunks and played awesome defense.Thanks, Teaze!

Box Score here (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/p/eid/4728/gid/3/grid/A/rid/6944/sid/4728/game.html).

ZagNative
08-29-2010, 04:49 PM
Brazil: JP Batista had a nice game today as Brazil beat Tunisia 80-65. Box Score, game story, etc. here. (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/p/gid/6/grid/B/rid/6944/game.html?nID=43703)


The solid interior play of Joao Paulo Batista, the hyper activity of Alex Garcia on defense and the timely shooting of Marcelinho Machado helped the Brazilians pull away.

JP's FIBA Profile Page with stats for the first two games of the preliminaries here. (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/player/p/eid/4728/orderby//pid/58462/rid/6944/sid/4728/tid/250/profile.html)


http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/THrz0qt3O9I/AAAAAAABC2k/LOhLAnBqdZQ/2010-08-29%20JP%20Batista%20Tunisia-3.jpg

Bogozags
08-29-2010, 04:59 PM
Brazil: JP Batista had a nice game today as Brazil beat Tunisia 80-65. Box Score, game story, etc. here. (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/p/gid/6/grid/B/rid/6944/game.html?nID=43703)



JP's FIBA Profile Page with stats for the first two games of the preliminaries here. (http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/player/p/eid/4728/orderby//pid/58462/rid/6944/sid/4728/tid/250/profile.html)


http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/THrz0qt3O9I/AAAAAAABC2k/LOhLAnBqdZQ/2010-08-29%20JP%20Batista%20Tunisia-3.jpg


Think Brazil will be live vs USA tomorrow...wanna tape that game and watch Batista play. His offensive game in the paint is so fundamentally sound. I have always liked his game and hope he plays well tomorrow.

ZagNative
08-29-2010, 05:13 PM
The Brazil USA game will be televised at 11:30 AM PDT on ESPN. Yeah, that will be a good one to watch.

ID ZAGFAN
08-29-2010, 05:16 PM
Think Brazil will be live vs USA tomorrow...wanna tape that game and watch Batista play. His offensive game in the paint is so fundamentally sound. I have always liked his game and hope he plays well tomorrow.


What time is that game? On TV here?

ZaGranny

Bogozags
08-29-2010, 05:27 PM
What time is that game? On TV here?

ZaGranny

The game is scheduled for ESPN at 1430 EST, sorry 2:30PM EST 11:30am PST and Germany plays Austrialia at 9am PST on the NBA channel.

The announcers are "wanna bees" but still the games are good!

JAT

OZZY
08-29-2010, 05:41 PM
So close and yet so far for the Canadians who where not expected to beat Lithuania. They led by as many as 17 during the game, but could not close it out losing 70-68. They had a chance to win it but Andersons (who played well) 3 lipped out. The Canadians should be proud that they took the game to the Lithuanians. Kelly did not get a chance to play which is unfortunate, but I am led to believe that he is the secound youngest player in the tournament, and will most likely get some minutes over the next week. Without Famutimi playing the Canadians really have a less experienced bench than most. Anderson and Kendall are playing quite well up front, Rob got some minutes (8) but picked up two fouls while attempting only one shot.

Great to see Elias getting meaningful minutes for the victorious German side!

ZagNative
08-29-2010, 05:48 PM
Thank you, OZZY, for keeping it real.

And nice to see Rob is looking good, per this pic from the Lithuania game ... though I don't think even Billy Crystal's Frnando Lamas would say looking good is better than playing good ...

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/THsFUCUISzI/AAAAAAABC3k/XaA9JeKaltI/2010-08-29%20Robert%20Sacre%20Lithuania.jpg

sanders
08-30-2010, 03:07 PM
So close and yet so far for the Canadians who where not expected to beat Lithuania. They led by as many as 17 during the game, but could not close it out losing 70-68. They had a chance to win it but Andersons (who played well) 3 lipped out. The Canadians should be proud that they took the game to the Lithuanians. Kelly did not get a chance to play which is unfortunate, but I am led to believe that he is the secound youngest player in the tournament, and will most likely get some minutes over the next week. Without Famutimi playing the Canadians really have a less experienced bench than most. Anderson and Kendall are playing quite well up front, Rob got some minutes (8) but picked up two fouls while attempting only one shot.

Great to see Elias getting meaningful minutes for the victorious German side!

The bench really did Canada in against Lithuania, especially at PG.
For the game, Anderson was +13 while Bell was -15.

I realize that Leo is trying different things to see what will work, but I am not sure how Doornekamp goes from not playing against Lebanon to starting and playing 28 minutes against Lithuania.

EBE
08-30-2010, 10:17 PM
The substitution patterns were to say the least interesting......

sanders
08-31-2010, 08:46 AM
Olynyk getting some meaningful minutes early in the second - just had a layup after a nice move.

Canad up 20-16.

sanders
08-31-2010, 09:11 AM
Olynyk with another good inside move and bucket right before the buzzer, 28-28 at the half. KO with 6 points in 7 minutes.

titopoet
08-31-2010, 09:42 AM
Oh no, Kelly O is right now the second leading scorer (3 QR) playing against NBA bigs. He is developing into a great Euro 4.

Go, Kelly O, Go

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 09:43 AM
Kelly is playing amazing against France, finally Leo is giving him pt. Kendall is playing well too, Canada hanging tough.

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 09:52 AM
Kelly is freakin' awesome, just took Diaw off the bounce.

ronh_pm
08-31-2010, 09:54 AM
I never thought I would say this...but Olynyk is a beast...posting up Diaw last play for two and should have been an and one!!

sanders
08-31-2010, 09:57 AM
Come on Leo, get Kendall back into the game (for Doornekamp).

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 10:17 AM
Canada loses by 5, sadly some sheer boneheaded plays by Anderson and Denham Brown during the final minutes of the game. On a side note, Kelly was simply amazing, showing he belonged. I've been yelling like a maniac for Leo to give him some burn, and he finally did. Kelly finished with 13 points, second on the team. Rob was a non factor out there in his limited minutes, missed a layup, fumbled a pass; he just looked a bit nervous. I guess Canada can take consolation in the fact that they're the best winless team in the tourney, lol

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 10:18 AM
Come on Leo, get Kendall back into the game (for Doornekamp).

On the Rators board, everyone was utterly stupefied as to why Doornekamp and Bell are even on the team.

bballbeachbum
08-31-2010, 10:22 AM
quite the performance by Kelly, really stepped up to the opportunity, big stage

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 10:34 AM
Oh no, Kelly O is right now the second leading scorer (3 QR) playing against NBA bigs. He is developing into a great Euro 4.

Go, Kelly O, Go

Kelly will be in the NBA.

sanders
08-31-2010, 11:02 AM
Olynyk played great. And he played in a variety of roles. For the start of the fourth Q, Canada had a lineup of Bell, Shepherd, Bucknor, Doornekamp, and Olynyk, so Olynyk was the nominal C.

He also had time at the three and the four.

Also a very solid game for Kendall. For much of the game, he and Oylynk were the only guys scoring.

The team is still shooting very poorly - especially the guard/wings.
Doornekamp 9%
Anderson 28%
Shepherd 37%
Rautins 39%
Brown 40%


Re the end of the game, I am not sure what Brown was thinking, but the bigger issue was missing four 3-point attempts just prior to that (2 by Anderson, 2 by Kendall), any one of which would have tied the game.

Re Doornekamp, I am not sure how a guy can play 27 minutes and have a line of 0 points, 1 assist, and 1 rebound. The only time he was noticed was when he committed those 2 fourth Q turnovers, and when he passed up a couple open threes Gun shy from his poor shooting performance in the previous game? I thought he deserved a spot on the team, but as the 11th or 12th guy, not starting and playing 25+ minutes.

Re Bell, I thought the new blood wouldn't be ready to challenge for spots for a few more years, but at this point I don't care how young they are - I want to see Laroche, Joseph, and Cadougan in camp next summer competing for the backup point spot for the team for the Tournament of the Americas (qualifying for the 2012 Olympics). For 2013 qualifying for the 2014 worlds, maybe Kabongo and Pangos will be in the mix as well.

All is not lost for this tournament. With NZ beating Lebanon this morning, if Canada beats NZ tomorrow it is quite likely that all 3 teams would end up at 1-4, in a three-way tie for the 4th and final playoff spot. All three would be 1-1 in head-to-head games. I am not sure if the next tie breaker is overall point differential, or just differential in the head-to-head games. If Canada can beat Spain (who have looked no better than France or Lithuania), then Canada would be easily in at 2-3.

A final note, Canada has been ahead or tied after the first quarter, after the second quarter, and after the third quarter of every game.

thespywhozaggedme
08-31-2010, 11:20 AM
Olynyk played great. And he played in a variety of roles. For the start of the fourth Q, Canada had a lineup of Bell, Shepherd, Bucknor, Doornekamp, and Olynyk, so Olynyk was the nominal C.

He also had time at the three and the four.

Also a very solid game for Kendall. For much of the game, he and Oylynk were the only guys scoring.

The team is still shooting very poorly - especially the guard/wings.
Doornekamp 9%
Anderson 28%
Shepherd 37%
Rautins 39%
Brown 40%


Re the end of the game, I am not sure what Brown was thinking, but the bigger issue was missing four 3-point attempts just prior to that (2 by Anderson, 2 by Kendall), any one of which would have tied the game.

Re Doornekamp, I am not sure how a guy can play 27 minutes and have a line of 0 points, 1 assist, and 1 rebound. The only time he was noticed was when he committed those 2 fourth Q turnovers, and when he passed up a couple open threes Gun shy from his poor shooting performance in the previous game? I thought he deserved a spot on the team, but as the 11th or 12th guy, not starting and playing 25+ minutes.

Re Bell, I thought the new blood wouldn't be ready to challenge for spots for a few more years, but at this point I don't care how young they are - I want to see Laroche, Joseph, and Cadougan in camp next summer competing for the backup point spot for the team for the Tournament of the Americas (qualifying for the 2012 Olympics). For 2013 qualifying for the 2014 worlds, maybe Kabongo and Pangos will be in the mix as well.

All is not lost for this tournament. With NZ beating Lebanon this morning, if Canada beats NZ tomorrow it is quite likely that all 3 teams would end up at 1-4, in a three-way tie for the 4th and final playoff spot. All three would be 1-1 in head-to-head games. I am not sure if the next tie breaker is overall point differential, or just differential in the head-to-head games. If Canada can beat Spain (who have looked no better than France or Lithuania), then Canada would be easily in at 2-3.

A final note, Canada has been ahead or tied after the first quarter, after the second quarter, and after the third quarter of every game.

Good post. Bell and Doornekamp have no business being, in fact a CIS player should never be on the team, unless it's a really talented bone head like Bol Kong, lol. A lot of fans, myself included are calling for Leos head. I'd love to see Greg Francis, the junior team head coach be promoted; he's young, the kids love him, he's won medals in almost all of the tourneys his team has played in and he loves to run.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greg_Francis
http://www.canoe.ca/2000GamesBiosA2M/francis.html

My ideal team for the near future:

PG: Myck Kabongo, Corey Joseph, Kevin Pangos
SG: Andy Rautins, Devoe Joseph, Denham Brown
SF: Kris Joseph, Jevhon Shephard, Bol Kong, Manny Arop
PF: Kendall, Olynyk, Wiltjer, Birch
C: Anthony, Sacre,

OZZY
08-31-2010, 05:43 PM
To start with it was a great game by Kelly who showed earlier in the summer that he can take his play up to this level of competition. Do not underestimate the support that Leo (and Canadian staff) have given Kelly. Leo's biggest handicap is his in-game coaching experience but he has some some very good attributes that get ignored by his detractors.

Stop with the bagging of players because where they played university ball. It is how/where they are playing now that is important. Doornekamp has been retained by Euroleague team Pepsi Caserta after (as a rookie) appearing in all 38 games that the 2nd placed Italian team played this year. FYI when seeing Doornekamp play against his team during an exhibition game a few years ago, a prominant D1 coach said that Doornekamp would have starred if he played D1 ball. Bell on the other hand has not had a great pro career, but is needed more for his size and defense than anything else.

The team without Rautins and Famutini is really hamstrung, both can score 15-20 points in a game at this level. Keep in mind that Doornekamp is also playing injured and frankly I am surprised they are making the games as close as they are.

It is great to see Kendall getting praise from some quarters as I do recall some saying that he shouldn't even be on the team. He, like Shephard really never got the encouragement to develop at the D1 level.


Lets hold Penney to a small score and beat New Zealand!

BRAY88
08-31-2010, 06:47 PM
Good post. Bell and Doornekamp have no business being, in fact a CIS player should never be on the team, unless it's a really talented bone head like Bol Kong, lol. A lot of fans, myself included are calling for Leos head. I'd love to see Greg Francis, the junior team head coach be promoted; he's young, the kids love him, he's won medals in almost all of the tourneys his team has played in and he loves to run.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greg_Francis
http://www.canoe.ca/2000GamesBiosA2M/francis.html

My ideal team for the near future:

PG: Myck Kabongo, Corey Joseph, Kevin Pangos
SG: Andy Rautins, Devoe Joseph, Denham Brown
SF: Kris Joseph, Jevhon Shephard, Bol Kong, Manny Arop
PF: Kendall, Olynyk, Wiltjer, Birch
C: Anthony, Sacre,

I would like to include tristan blackwood in the mix for the point guards, also guys like andrew nicholson, harouna mutombo, olu ashaolu, junior cadougan, marvell waithe, dwayne smith, alwayne bigby, ryan wright, marc trasolini, papa oppong, jared mintz, kyle johnson, jason hannibal, murphy burnatowski, maurice walker, duane notice, anthony bennett, dylan ennis, martin dixon green, grandy glaze, kevin thomas, naz long, tevin findlay, andrew wiggins, junior lomomba, nik stauskas, brandon bos, kemy osse, sim, tanveer bhullar, negus webster chan, olivier hanlan, jabs newby, kadeem green, melvin ejim, manny sahota, emerson murray, julian clarke, richard peters, nic lewis, jon alexander, kevin zabo, mikyle mcintosh, so much talent its unbelievable in a few years canada will be very very good and much improved mark my words


not to mentions guys who have played on the national program in the past and who somehow have disappeared, guys like patrick tatham, sefton barrett, tristan martin, jeffrey ferguson, tyrone mattison, chretien lukusa, kevin francis, kevin massiah, donrick thomas, steve sir, jr patrick, many more which i cant think of, but alot of these guys can still really play

OZZY
09-01-2010, 04:45 PM
Another loss, this time to a team that we would normally beat. It appears that Famutimi is in the doghouse as he did play some minutes this game. Kelly, who didn't shoot much, had 6 points and 4 rebounds, an assist and a steal in 22 minutes. Rob had a 2 points and 3 rebounds in 7 minutes.

I've had trouble with the FIBA site boxscores so here is a link to the Eurobasket one.

http://www.eurobasket.com/boxScores/World%20Championships/2010/0901_CAN_NZL.asp

We seem to play better against the tougher teams........

BTW, Here is an interview that features Kelly and young French point guard Andrew Albicy who is now playing 1st division for Paris-Levallois.

http://turkey2010.fiba.com/pages/eng/fe/10/fwcm/news/p/eid/4728/nid/43965/sid/4728/article.html

BobZag
09-01-2010, 05:18 PM
Losing to New Zealand?

Ouch.

bigblahla
09-01-2010, 06:02 PM
Canadian guard play is just awful, watched the game against France, decent guard play and they could have easily won. Our lads looked good but the offensive scheme, if there is one, for Canada doesn't seem to involve their bigs.

Go!! Zags!!!

OZZY
09-02-2010, 04:36 PM
Canada as expected loses aganst Spain 89-67. Spain dominated the boards and had 15 more assist than Canada.

Kelly has another excellent game and led Canada with 14 points in 22 minutes. Rob had his best game numerically with 8 points and 3 rebounds and a steal in 14 minutes. Both players where playing against seasoned professionals from Euroleague and NBA teams.

http://www.eurobasket.com/boxScores/World%20Championships/2010/0902_ESP_CAN.asp

I am not surprised that they did not make it out of the preliminary round and the only real dissapointment was the loss to Lebanon. Those questioning Canada's loss to New Zealand only have to look at the France's loss to the same team to realise that New Zealand is better than the sum of its parts.

Remember that Canada was the youngest team in the tournament. From Zag prespective Kelly and Rob got great experience and should start the year full of confidence in their games.

GoZags
09-02-2010, 05:04 PM
Canada as expected loses aganst Spain 89-67. Spain dominated the boards and had 15 more assist than Canada.

Kelly has another excellent game and led Canada with 14 points in 22 minutes. Rob had his best game numerically with 8 points and 3 rebounds and a steal in 14 minutes. Both players where playing against seasoned professionals from Euroleague and NBA teams.

http://www.eurobasket.com/boxScores/World%20Championships/2010/0902_ESP_CAN.asp

I am not surprised that they did not make it out of the preliminary round and the only real dissapointment was the loss to Lebanon. Those questioning Canada's loss to New Zealand only have to look at the France's loss to the same team to realise that New Zealand is better than the sum of its parts.

Remember that Canada was the youngest team in the tournament. Fronm Zag prespective Kelly and Rob got great experience and should start the year full of confidence in their games.

Plus, they should make it to school close to on time -- which was a major bone of contention via a vis Elias on another message board last year.