PDA

View Full Version : Spokane Can, Jewel Can't



Ekrub
08-14-2010, 11:00 AM
say Gonzaga :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qq8L5m0V7Iw

near the end.

JohnOGU
08-14-2010, 01:36 PM
That was brutal.

Kiddwell
08-14-2010, 04:48 PM
That was brutal.

Au contraire! That was great! Especially the part about Gonzaga University! :)

:]

lv2hoop
08-14-2010, 09:14 PM
Was that really Jewel? If so, can I ask why? She seems above that.....I even went to her concert a year ago in the Atwood Concert Hall in downtown Anchorage and thought she was terrific, but this was weird.

MedZag
08-14-2010, 10:15 PM
Not as good as the best song about Spokane (http://twiturm.com/iyn8q).

sonuvazag
08-15-2010, 10:14 AM
Not as good as the best song about Spokane (http://twiturm.com/iyn8q).
True.

kitzbuel
08-15-2010, 12:53 PM
Was that really Jewel? If so, can I ask why? She seems above that.....I even went to her concert a year ago in the Atwood Concert Hall in downtown Anchorage and thought she was terrific, but this was weird.

She also did a Fargo song;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-5qngKSjvA&feature=related and a Missoula song;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZbpGAoNUtw&feature=related.
I think I also saw a Colorado Spring song.

d2zag
08-15-2010, 03:09 PM
Why Is It So Hard For People To Pronounce Gonzaga!!!??? I Don't Understand!!! It's So Frustrating!!!

Spike94
08-16-2010, 04:27 AM
It looks like she does an improv song for just about every city she plays in. If you go to her website you can actually get a free download of it.

http://www.jeweljk.com/tour

Drew
08-16-2010, 06:09 AM
Not as good as the best song about Spokane (http://twiturm.com/iyn8q).

This is totally offensive. Everybody knows it is pronounced "Spokompton," "SpokeVegas," or "Spokaloo."

Duh!!

webspinnre
08-16-2010, 07:41 AM
Why Is It So Hard For People To Pronounce Gonzaga!!!??? I Don't Understand!!! It's So Frustrating!!!

Its like Notre Dame. We use a #######ized (edit: heh - b@st@rd is apparently on the sites no-no list)pronunciation of the name, which throws people when they see it and automatically pronounce it like the saint's name. Gon-zog-uh is the saint, Gon-zag-uh is the school (kind of like No-truh Dom is the cathedral and Noter Dame is the school).

FlyZag
08-16-2010, 09:00 AM
Do you Zag or Zog? I don't get it. Zig-Zag. Not, Zig Zog... Gon-ZAG-a!!! Not that hard Mr. Jiuliani and Jewel.... Come on people!!!!

dazags
08-16-2010, 09:21 AM
I say to-may-to, Jewel says to-mah-to.

d2zag
08-16-2010, 10:16 AM
I just tell people, "Would you say 'GO ZOGS,' or 'GO ZAGS?" GO ZAGS, RIGHT!!!??? When you're saying Gon-ZAG-a, think of ZAGS. I know the Notre Dame thing, might have seen it before on here? But why are people so inclined to say Gon-ZOG-a??? I was thinking it was because of the name Gonzales? Easy name to associate Gonzaga with, and it's pronounced Gon-ZOL-as. Could be. I try not to make too big a deal out of it when I'm talking to people, but it's just terribly frustrating. Just get online, and do some simple research people.

JPtheBeasta
08-16-2010, 11:25 AM
"What's in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet."
-Juliet

I don't think it's a disrespect thing. Just a thing. My unsolicited advice would be to lighten up on this, because it isn't going to change any time soon. I've met many well-meaning people who actually root for the team who pronounce it wrong, and continue to after being corrected. If you tell yourself that, by definition, half of the people of this world are of below-average intelligence you will spend less time trying to make sense of people that don't speak good.

Drew
08-16-2010, 11:48 AM
Its like Notre Dame. We use a #######ized . . . pronunciation of the name, which throws people when they see it and automatically pronounce it like the saint's name. Gon-zog-uh is the saint, Gon-zag-uh is the school (kind of like No-truh Dom is the cathedral and Noter Dame is the school).

When I lived in DC, I thought they were pronouncing their prep school like the Saint . . . at least per your explanation.


My unsolicited advice would be to lighten up on this, because it isn't going to change any time soon.

I agree completely. There is no chance we will correct the world here. It should not be a big deal.

Rangerzag
08-16-2010, 01:24 PM
There is only one "O" in Gonzaga.

webspinnre
08-16-2010, 01:36 PM
When I lived in DC, I thought they were pronouncing their prep school like the Saint . . . at least per your explanation.


I'm not sure I understand this. Are you saying that they follow the pronunciation of the saint's name? Or that they use the version that we use for the university?

sonuvazag
08-16-2010, 02:00 PM
I always thought this was a way for provincials to identify the outsiders.

Drew
08-16-2010, 02:40 PM
I'm not sure I understand this. Are you saying that they follow the pronunciation of the saint's name? Or that they use the version that we use for the university?

Like the Saint, per your explanation.

JoeZag
08-17-2010, 09:33 AM
I think I also saw a Colorado Spring song.

It is almost an exact copy of her Denver song with a few lyric changes; a little disappointing to those of us in the lower half of the state. Jewel, Jewel, Jewel......

MDABE80
08-17-2010, 09:42 AM
She sounds like my dogs when a fire truck drives by with sirens blaring.

Dogtownkid
08-18-2010, 08:53 PM
That's a great song. He's got us nailed, right down to the bones in the furnace.

Pargo the Destroyer
08-20-2010, 11:55 PM
Spoklahoma, spokanistan etc....



This is totally offensive. Everybody knows it is pronounced "Spokompton," "SpokeVegas," or "Spokaloo."

Duh!!

ID ZAGFAN
08-23-2010, 08:30 AM
See S-R article:

http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2010/aug/23/law-would-mend-nevada-rift/

"Law would mend Nevada pronunciation rift"

Maybe we need a law about "Gonzaga" and "Spokane"!!:D

ZaGranny