PDA

View Full Version : The Official FIBA Americas U18 thread 2010



OZZY
06-23-2010, 10:49 PM
Well, only a few days away from the fun in San Antonio.

With only 8 teams, it will be a quick torunament...

Fortunately Canada isn't in the same pool as the US (although they probably wished they could swap places with Argentina). The powerful US team is a lock to make it through to the semi-finals, but Canada does have some work to do to get through, needing to beat Uruguay and at least one of Brazil or Puerto Rico. In the past these two teams have given Canada trouble especially at the senior level, but with Kabongo, Wiltjer and Birch starting, and a fairly deep bench, I think that the team should be able to beat both and place first in their pool. The only concern I have is that they have not played a lot together.

We should know how they are meshing together when we see the results of the two exhibition games.

Lets hope that Kyle has a great tournament and that it is a Canada USA final on the 30th.

Any Zag fans going to be attending??

what the heck lest add a poll for the tournament. Obviously the USA team is teh rd hot favorite, but who do you think will end up 2nd....

CanadianZagFan
06-24-2010, 07:56 AM
The Canadian team is not a deep as I would like, but my homer pick has them taking the silver medal. Kabongo will put up huge numbers on not the greatest percentages but he will be big in the crunch. Kyle will post close to a double double and be a rock for players to lean on.

thespywhozaggedme
06-24-2010, 08:15 AM
Why isn't USA an option? :confused:

BobZag
06-24-2010, 09:10 AM
I voted for Argentina so not to jinx Canada.

sanders
06-24-2010, 02:02 PM
Wasn't Canada supposed to have played an exhibition game yesterday? And another today? Nothing on the Basketball Canada site. Four new articles posted there today, but nothing re the U-18 men's team exhibition game(s) or the Cadet team roster.

ZagNative
06-25-2010, 07:36 PM
Reminder to watch the Camada-Uruguay game live Saturday morning on the FIBA Americas site (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=TNEWHLCKCZ&t=SWMYGHIDOX) at 11:00 AM Spokane time (13:00 hrs San Antonio time.)

Roster on the FIBA site (for player numbers) is here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=BSDCGSXCTF&t=SWMYGHIDOX).

Sanders, I haven't seen a peep, despite diligent searching. No clue.

OZZY
06-25-2010, 08:24 PM
Reminder to watch the Camada-Uruguay game live Saturday morning on the FIBA Americas site (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=TNEWHLCKCZ&t=SWMYGHIDOX) at 11:00 AM Spokane time (13:00 hrs San Antonio time.)

Sanders, I haven't seen a peep, despite diligent searching. No clue.

Works out that all three Canadian preliminary games start at 4:00 am my time!

Hopefully they make the semi's I can watch live then.

BTW here is a preview that has been posted on Basketball BUZZ. FWIW.

http://basketballbuzz.ca/international/2010-fiba-americas-u18-mens-championship-preview/

Kinda summarizes what I was thinking too

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 09:42 AM
Reminder to watch the Camada-Uruguay game live Saturday morning on the FIBA Americas site (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=TNEWHLCKCZ&t=SWMYGHIDOX) at 11:00 AM Spokane time (13:00 hrs San Antonio time.)

Roster on the FIBA site (for player numbers) is here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=BSDCGSXCTF&t=SWMYGHIDOX).

Sanders, I haven't seen a peep, despite diligent searching. No clue.

Bump. Sucks though, it's the same time as the US/Ghana game. :(

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 09:54 AM
Are they actually showing the game? All I see is an update thingy. :confused:

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 09:57 AM
Wiltjer hit s 3.

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 10:00 AM
10-canada. I thought there was a live stream? :confused:

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 10:03 AM
I'm so dumb, I was clicking right above it. DOH

ZagNative
06-26-2010, 10:06 AM
Spy, I did a test run yesterday and found tI had to download JW flashplayer from this site (http://www.longtailvideo.com/players/jw-flv-player/).

The online video is working fine for me now.

Live stats here (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/02/08/63/37kv9SaCHGHs/).

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 10:07 AM
15-0 Canada. Wiltjer aka Canadian Keith Van Horn, according to Ha! is on fire.

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 11:15 AM
Wiltjer with 14/7 after 3. They're starting to call him CKVH on the raps board. lol If anyone thinks he's a prototypical pf, they're gonna be surprised. he camps out at the 3 point line, but he really hits em. Watching this game he actually reminds me of Austin a lot.

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 11:23 AM
Khem Birch is a stud.

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 11:43 AM
Great win, sloppy 2nd half. Most impressive players in no particular order: Birch, Wiltjer, Thomas, Scrubb. Most disappointing: Bhullar, Kabongo, Ossme. Puerto Rico tomorrow. If Canada plays to their ability I expect a Canada/US final.

ZagNative
06-26-2010, 11:55 AM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-26Canada-Uruguay.jpg

BobZag
06-26-2010, 02:45 PM
Those are very nice stats for Kyle. Canada should have very few problems with Puerto Rico.

U Zig, I Zag
06-26-2010, 05:58 PM
Those are very nice stats for Kyle. Canada should have very few problems with Puerto Rico.

All the games streamed online?

thespywhozaggedme
06-26-2010, 06:18 PM
All the games streamed online?

Yup, all of them. USA is beating the Virgin Islands by about 40 as we speak.

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 10:08 AM
Game's on. TV here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos1_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX). Stats here. (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/02/08/67/39Y50nkLpho/)

Wiltjer with 9 of Canada's 24 points, vs. Puerto Rico's 10, about 3 mins. left in the first.

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 10:16 AM
Wiltjer playing great again; he, Scrubb and Birch are all very, very good. Bhullar ha sa block, 2 rebounds and 3 points in about 6 minutes.

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 10:28 AM
I can't say enough good things about Wiltjer. That kid can flat out play.

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 10:47 AM
Canada up by 10 at the half 55-45, but to be honest they're playing so sloppy. The thing is, they're so talented that their talent overcomes their mistakes. Who would've ever thought that we'd say a Canadian bball team was so talented they could play through their mistakes? lol Wiltjer is far and away the best player on this team, is is flat out awesome. Kabongo is so frustrating, he's so talented, but only knows how to play at one speed, thus making him a turnover machine, but he does take it to the rack. Big Bhullar is a giant, and is playing reasonably well, 4 boards, 3 blocks and 3 points. Ossee good, Birch, Thomas and Scrubb their usual game. If they stopped making stupid careless mistakes they'd win by 20 plus.

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 10:50 AM
Wiltjer amazing ... At the half:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-27Canada-PR.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 10:53 AM
Wiltjer with 20/4 at the half!

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 11:48 AM
Canada wins 100-83 to go to 2-0, Wiltjer is a freak: 27/9. This team played so sloppy, yet still destroyed their opponent, that tells you just how much talent is on this team. Brazil tomorrow @ 2pm eastern.

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 11:54 AM
Final box score:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-27Canada-PRFinal.jpg

31 points, 10 rebounds ..

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 03:06 PM
Canada-Puerto Rico Game story (http://www.fibaamericas.com/noticiasread4_us.asp?r=LTNSLJHPCH&t=SWMYGHIDOX) on FIBA Americas U18 site:

CAN/PUR - Canada Earns 2011 FIBA U19 World Championship Berth After Its 100-83 Win Over Puerto Rico:
6/27/2010

AN ANTONIO (FIBA-Americas U18 Championship for Men) - Canada continued to roll with a 100-83 victory over a scrappy Puerto Rico team Sunday in a preliminary round game of the FIBA Americas U18 Championship for Men at Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio, Texas.

"We have always had tough games with Puerto Rico whether it's the senior men's, or the junior team, we know each other pretty well, and we play the same style," said Canada head coach Greg Francis. "We really try to get after it. I take my hat off to them. We have some pretty good players, but they [Puerto Rico] played really hard."

The Canadians (2-0) wrap up group play Monday by taking on Brazil at 1 p.m. Central Time. Puerto Rico (0-2) meets Uruguay at 3 p.m. With the win Canada assured itself a place in this tournament's semifinal round and a trip to next summer's FIBA U19 World Championship as the top four finishers in San Antonio get to punch their ticket to the U19 Worlds.

Kyle Wiltjer of Canada led the game with a double-double, scoring 31 points and pulling in 10 rebounds. Wiltjer shot 80 percent (12-15) from the field, and made 5 of 6 in 3-point range, while accounting for three steals.

"Overall all we did well," said Wiltjer. "They made some runs and but we went right back at them and got the win. They're a very scrappy team, very physical. They were in it the whole game, pressing us, so we responded well."

Two other players recorded a double-double, including Myke Kabonga (22 points, 10 rebounds). Kabonga, an effective playmaker, dished out eight assists to his teammates. Khem Birch scored 14 points, and also grabbed 10 boards. Kemy Osse came off the bench to score 20 points, and starter Phil Scrubb added 17.

"We knew it was going to be a hard game," said Kabongo, who has made a verbal commitment to attend the University of Texas in 2011-12. "As a team, everyone contributed and that's why we won today. We're taking it one game at a time, and hopefully, we'll continue to play well."

Puerto Rico was paced by Gary Browne's 19 points, and Matias De Leon had 12. Luis Joel Quinonez rounded out the double-figure scorers, with 10 points. Christopher Ortiz (nine points) was the leading rebounder, with seven. Carmelo Betancourt made seven assists and six points.

Canada, which beat Uruguay 76-52 Saturday, held a 55-45 advantage over Puerto Rico at halftime. In the first half, Canada shot 51 percent (19-37) to 42 percent (19-45) for Puerto Rico. The second half was tighter, as Puerto Rico pulled to within seven points, 66-59, on two free throws by Ortiz Andujar at 2:49 in the third period. The closest Puerto Rico would get after this point was eight points, 74-66, at 9:16 in the fourth.

In the game, Canada hit 49 percent (33-67) and 47 percent (8-17) of 3-pointers. Puerto Rico, which fell 78-53 to Brazil Saturday, shot 38 percent (33-88) against Canada, including 28 percent (5-18) beyond the arc. Canada led 46-34 in rebounding.

"I just think Myck is getting comfortable with these guys, just like they are getting used to him," added Francis when asked about Kabongo's play. "And I know Myck is going to get his points, it's just a matter of time for him, and he gives us a lot of confidence against a tough Puerto Rico team."

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 03:41 PM
Fran Fraschilla was at the game and tweeted (http://twitter.com/franfraschilla/statuses/17188654467):

Canada-Puerto Rico in opener: rising 6'9" Kyle Wiltjer from Portland is big time shooter for big man! Texas' PG recruit Kobongo quick.
about 4 hours ago via Echofon

franfraschilla
Fran FraschillaCompetition for that kid is going to be so, so tough ...

MickMick
06-27-2010, 03:44 PM
He is "blowing up" a little too much for my liking. There is going to be more than just the PAC and Kansas after him.

OZZY
06-27-2010, 04:01 PM
After looking at these results,I think that Canada will have a real winnable (though tough) game against Brazil. The key matchups will be Kabongo against Neto and Birch/Wiltjer up against their centre Nogueira. Of course if Wiltjer keeps up raining 3 pointers with the same accuracy, they could very well give the Americans a run for the Gold Medal......

ZagNative
06-27-2010, 04:10 PM
He is "blowing up" a little too much for my liking. There is going to be more than just the PAC and Kansas after him.My thoughts exactly, Mick.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-27CanadaStandingsl.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 05:33 PM
After looking at these results,I think that Canada will have a real winnable (though tough) game against Brazil. The key matchups will be Kabongo against Neto and Birch/Wiltjer up against their centre Nogueira. Of course if Wiltjer keeps up raining 3 pointers with the same accuracy, they could very well give the Americans a run for the Gold Medal......

Oz, I've watched both games in their entirety and if they don't clean up their sloppiness USA will beat them by 30. That being said, they're so talented that they can over come their mistakes. On a side note, I can't believe how good Scrubb is, he's basically relegating Murray, a Cal signee to mop up duty. Scrubb may be the best player to ever turn down D1A for CIS when all is said and done, he is high major talent.

OZZY
06-27-2010, 07:36 PM
From what I hear Scrubb didn't get much interest from D1, it could be because he was intending on going to Carlton all along.
Ever hear of Aaron Doornekamp?? I recall one of the U.S. college team coaches that he played against said that he would have been a star playing D1 ball. He is currently playing well in Italy with #3 Italian team, Pepsi Caserta.

thespywhozaggedme
06-27-2010, 08:10 PM
From what I hear Scrubb didn't get much interest from D1, it could be because he was intending on going to Carlton all along.
Ever hear of Aaron Doornekamp?? I recall one of the U.S. college team coaches that he played against said that he would have been a star playing D1 ball. He is currently playing well in Italy with #3 Italian team, Pepsi Caserta.

Yeah, Nate's younger brother. He's a poor mans Wiltjer. lol

Reborn
06-28-2010, 07:01 AM
I remember Manny Arop playing with these guys from Canada last summer. Manny was the best player on that team. They lost to the USA team in the finals, and Arop had a great game. Kabongo wouldn't pass Manny the ball at the end. I thought Canada would have beaten the USA if they had gone to Manny at the end. No one could check Manny's pull up jumper. We didn't get to see that shot much last year, but believe me he has a great 10-12 foot pull-up jumper that's difficult to check. Actually we saw very little of Mannys game last year. I was impressed by how patient Arop is. He's just waiting his turn I think. Now that Matt has graduated I expect to see a little more from Manny next year. Because it's the recruiting season right now most of the focus on the Zags has been with the incoming players but let's not forget what Manny brings to the team. And he has a year of experience now. The same could be said for Kong.

By the way, what are Manny and Bol, and Olynyk doing this summer? Are they playing for any of the Canadian teams?

Bogozags
06-28-2010, 08:26 AM
My thoughts exactly, Mick.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-27CanadaStandingsl.jpg

Good Morning...

Does anyone know at what venue they are playing here in San Antonio?

Would appreciate that information...Thanks

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 08:39 AM
Here you go (link to venue info (http://www.sanantoniosports.org/fiba/arena.htm)).

Bogozags
06-28-2010, 08:50 AM
Here you go (link to venue info (http://www.sanantoniosports.org/fiba/arena.htm)).

ZN, thank you for the research...its about five miles from hom...

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 08:55 AM
ZN, thank you for the research...its about five miles from hom...$5 for an all-day pass. Hope you go,Bogozags, and take your trusty digital instamatic with you!

Edited to Add: Going into game three, Kyle among the leaders in several categories (link to leaders page to see more Canadian leaders (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos_lideres_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX)):


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-28U18SanAntonioleadersbefor.jpg

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 10:12 AM
Brazil leads 20-16 end of the first. Live video here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos1_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX). Live stats here (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/02/08/71/23Uo4T8OxD1Dg/). Kyle with five points and 2 fouls.

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 10:14 AM
Bhullar with six points. Canadians shooting at 33% right now, per the announcer.

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 10:37 AM
At the half:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-28CanadavBrazilhalftime.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 10:42 AM
Canada down by 8 at the half. Poor defense, poor 3 point shooting, plus Brazil is very good. Better pick it up in the second half if they wanna remain undefeated.
As talented as this team is, if they play as sloppy as they have been throughout the tourney the US will win by 25+. Gotta cut down on the t.o.'s and learn how to handle the press.
kabongo is extremely frustrating to watch because he's so talented but knows how to only play at one speed, and is very turn over prone and forces a lot of shots. That being said, I think a lot of his mistakes are correctable and will improve with maturity. The first game he shot a putrid 17% from the field and then yesterday he shot in the 50's; talk about inconsistent, but he is a pure pg.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 11:17 AM
Myck kabongo is single handedly costing Canada the game. he is so selfish and has no bball iq whatsoever.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 11:39 AM
Insane play by Wiltjer. Makes the basket, get's fouled, intentionally misses and gets his own rebound and scores. Pretty awesome.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 11:40 AM
Final score; Brazil 83-78. Disappointing loss. USA most likely tomorrow; UH OH. :o lol

cjm720
06-28-2010, 11:51 AM
Myck kabongo ... has no bball iq whatsoever.

Okay, now the bashing of Meech makes a little more sense LOL :confused:

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 12:10 PM
Okay, now the bashing of Meech makes a little more sense LOL :confused:

What does Mecch have to do with kabongo, and vice versa? I've watched all 3 games, Kabongo plays at 1 speed all of the time, like GJ, not Meech. Kabongo pounds the ball into the floor for 20 seconds and then either takes an off balance jumper of takes it to the rack 1 on 3. The first game he shot an astonishingly awful 17% from the field and today he was 7/21, no pg should ever take 21 shots. One play in particular he was driving to the basket, Bhullar was alone underneath on the other side; 7'4 Bhullar, I might add; Kabongo decides to force it 1 on 3 and has his shot blocked, this happened the entire game. He would run a fast break and then pull up for a 3, missing most of them. As of now he has waaaay to much street ball in him, and AAU has clearly messed up his game.

That being said, you can see his talent, and when he went off the ball as the 2 guard late in the game he played better, hitting some nice jumpers and playing more in control, and he has a great motor. As another poster on the Raptor's board astutely put it, Kabongo and Texas are an awful fit, he really needs to mature and get some sense into his head. Still not getting the Meech/Kabongo reference. :confused:

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 12:17 PM
Really? Zero assists for Kabongo?


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-28BrazilCanadaFinal.jpg

BroncoZAG615
06-28-2010, 12:32 PM
Loving these numbers from Kyle. You'd have a hard time finding many kids that have had better summers thus far than him.

As far as Kabongo goes, he's outstanding. I've watched him play a few times and the stat line I am looking at is completely different than what I am used to seeing from him. He's one of the better floor managers in this recruiting class and will be an outstanding point guard at the next level. It seems like he was frustrated today and let it affect his game. He's young and will learn. His on-court leadership and voice on the court is something that will be very welcome at Texas.

Reborn
06-28-2010, 12:48 PM
I am not a big Kabongo fan. Glad he's going to Texas, and I hope we play them while he's there. I would like to see Manny and him match up.

cjm720
06-28-2010, 12:48 PM
Spy, just pointing out the fact that if you can't be happy with a 5 star kid like Kabongo, it makes sense why you're not happy with a 3 star player in Meech. Just an observation. I'd be happy to detail it out more.

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 02:05 PM
Game story from FIBA, posted on basketball.ca (http://basketball.ca/en/hm/inside.php?sid=1&id=4261).
Foul trouble hurt Canada early as their leading scorer for the tournament, Kyle Wiltjer (West Linn, OR), was forced to sit after committing two early fouls. Despite the early foul trouble, Wiltjer continued his strong play by finishing with 18 points. Kevin Thomas (Ajax, ON) also had a strong game by contributing 9 points and 10 rebounds.

“I thought today’s game was well fought by both teams,” said Thomas. “We played with our hearts and left everything on the floor. The team that wants it more will win. You might not get everything your way, but you have to play through it.”

Brazil led as many as 10 in the second quarter, but Kenny Fred-Cherry (Montreal, QC) and Sim Bhullar (North York, ON) were sparks off the bench that helped Canada cut the lead to 6 at halftime. Cherry finished with 14 points off the bench, including 3 3-pointers to chip away at Brazil’s lead.

With the win, Brazil finishes atop Group A; while Canada finishes second. Both teams, along with USA and Argentina have all qualified for the 2011 FIBA U19 World Championship for Men in Chile.

Despite the loss, Canada has qualified for the semi-finals, where they will play the winner of Group B tomorrow at 5:00 pm CT (6:00 pm EST), which can be watched live at FIBAamericas.com.
P.S. Despite no assists today, Kabongo is still among the assist leaders at the tournament thus far, thanks mostly to his eight assists in yesterday's game v. Puerto Rico.

OZZY
06-28-2010, 02:43 PM
Ouch! Neto had a much better game than Kabongo. Although I didn't watch the game, it looks like a bit more passing would have put the Canucks over the line. How did Birch look?

The biggest concern is that while Canada has already qualified for the Worlds, finishing 3/4th may hurt their seeding for that tournament.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 05:46 PM
Spy, just pointing out the fact that if you can't be happy with a 5 star kid like Kabongo, it makes sense why you're not happy with a 3 star player in Meech. Just an observation. I'd be happy to detail it out more.

I'm thoroughly confused by this comment. I actually watch the games, y'now, with my eyes, I'm not gonna slobber over someone simply because he has 5 *'s after his name, I'm gonna comment on his actual play. Please do detail it more.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 05:48 PM
Loving these numbers from Kyle. You'd have a hard time finding many kids that have had better summers thus far than him.

As far as Kabongo goes, he's outstanding. I've watched him play a few times and the stat line I am looking at is completely different than what I am used to seeing from him. He's one of the better floor managers in this recruiting class and will be an outstanding point guard at the next level. It seems like he was frustrated today and let it affect his game. He's young and will learn. His on-court leadership and voice on the court is something that will be very welcome at Texas.

lol, Try actually watching the games. I pretty much disagree with everything you just wrote.

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 05:50 PM
Ouch! Neto had a much better game than Kabongo. Although I didn't watch the game, it looks like a bit more passing would have put the Canucks over the line. How did Birch look?

The biggest concern is that while Canada has already qualified for the Worlds, finishing 3/4th may hurt their seeding for that tournament.

Neto destroyed him, the difference between the two pg's was night and day, I'm really interested to see how MK will match up against Austin Rivers. As most of you know I'm a Candian homer, but I'm also a straight shooter and call 'em as I see 'em. Kabongo has been awful in this particular tourney thus far.

Birch was outstanding, someone on the Raps board compared him to Tyrus Thomas during his time at LSU. He's an awesome defender and rebounder and has a great motor, I love watching him play. Wiltjer is in a word; AWESOME.

BroncoZAG615
06-28-2010, 06:56 PM
lol, Try actually watching the games. I pretty much disagree with everything you just wrote.

lol, we disagree. Maybe we should watch games together so I can learn to be a better fan, man, and citizen of planet earth

thespywhozaggedme
06-28-2010, 07:26 PM
lol, we disagree. Maybe we should watch games together so I can learn to be a better fan, man, and citizen of planet earth

How big's your screen?

MDABE80
06-28-2010, 09:42 PM
Any and every kid will have a bad game defined as poor shooting, turnovers and passes that don't work out. We'd like to have a perfect player but they don't exist.
I'm happy we have a good chance with Kyle and another pair of pretty good guards. let's not be hasty or overcritical. These kids aren't finished products.
We'd like to see them develop further...and I'm betting they all will. GET PANGOS!

ZagNative
06-28-2010, 10:29 PM
Game times tomorrow. Watch here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos1_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX).

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-29GameTimes.jpg

So we're looking at 3:00 pm tomorrow Spokane time for the USA-Canada game, or maybe 8:00 AM Sydney time? (You there, OZZY?)

OZZY
06-29-2010, 12:05 AM
Game times tomorrow. Watch here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos1_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX).

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-29GameTimes.jpg

So we're looking at 3:00 pm tomorrow Spokane time for the USA-Canada game, or maybe 8:00 AM Sydney time? (You there, OZZY?)

I'll try to steal a few minutes away and watch before a sales meeting:(

cjm720
06-29-2010, 06:29 AM
I'm thoroughly confused by this comment. I actually watch the games, y'now, with my eyes, I'm not gonna slobber over someone simply because he has 5 *'s after his name, I'm gonna comment on his actual play. Please do detail it more.

Well if you can't be happy with the play of one of the better point guards in all of high school, who's headed to Texas, it makes sense that you're very critical of Meech. You're not alone on this forum that's for sure and you have every right to cite your personal opinion. As an active reader and contributor to this board, I now have some perspective based on your comments about Kabongo. That's it. I like most of your posts.

Go Zags.

thespywhozaggedme
06-29-2010, 08:52 AM
Well if you can't be happy with the play of one of the better point guards in all of high school, who's headed to Texas, it makes sense that you're very critical of Meech. You're not alone on this forum that's for sure and you have every right to cite your personal opinion. As an active reader and contributor to this board, I now have some perspective based on your comments about Kabongo. That's it. I like most of your posts.

Go Zags.

I just don't understand your correlation between Meech and Kabongo.; their struggles are entirely different. Kabongo is a high major talent, but he has way too much street ball in him and only knows how to play at one speed, thus forcing a ton of shots, getting said shots blocked when he has no where to go and making a lot of turnovers. That being said, against lesser competition, his talent will overcome his flaws because he has a great motor and will to win, and he is very talented. Meech is the opposite, he just is not talented enough to be a starter for a high major D1 school, he has no discernible pg skills whatsoever, can't make an entry pass to save is life and has no court vision. He's better suited as a change of pace guard that can come off the bench for 10 minutes and give a spark (hopefully that's what happens this season.) We can agree to disagree, that's what a message board is for, your opinion is as valid as mine.

Gufan
06-29-2010, 12:23 PM
Anyone been able to read what the ESPN insider article has to say about Wiltjer? The headline on the college b-ball page says "Rumors: Wiltjer impressing at U18 tourney." Maybe this is an old article and I just missed the discussion.

thespywhozaggedme
06-29-2010, 12:29 PM
Anyone been able to read what the ESPN insider article has to say about Wiltjer? The headline on the college b-ball page says "Rumors: Wiltjer impressing at U18 tourney." Maybe this is an old article and I just missed the discussion.

Not sure I understand your post. The U18's are currently going on in San Antonio. Wiltjer is playing amazing, possibly the best player in the entire tourney. You can watch all of the games live on fibaamericas.

dim4sum
06-29-2010, 12:36 PM
this tournament makes me think that where Batista came from there lie some hidden gems, Neto being one of them. Maybe we can recruit JP to do some discrete scouting for us.
From what I read, Texas can keep Kabongo. When I read that he pounds the ball 20 times before deciding to shoot, it was strangely reminiscent of Meech, with the exception that Meech pounds the ball 20 times and doesn't shoot. Hopefully with Carter starting, we'll get a PG with the ability to create, dish, score and make the rest of the team better.

Gufan
06-29-2010, 12:42 PM
Not sure I understand your post. The U18's are currently going on in San Antonio. Wiltjer is playing amazing, possibly the best player in the entire tourney. You can watch all of the games live on fibaamericas.

Sorry, I just saw a headline and wondered if the article had anything of note in it, and wasn't sure if it had already been discussed. I do not have insider access. I have looked at the stats so far and would agree that he is playing extreeeeeemely well.

Angelo Roncalli
06-29-2010, 12:44 PM
Anyone been able to read what the ESPN insider article has to say about Wiltjer? The headline on the college b-ball page says "Rumors: Wiltjer impressing at U18 tourney." Maybe this is an old article and I just missed the discussion.

From Fran Fraschilla:


UPDATE: Wiltjer showed why his skills are so coveted in a U18 game yesterday. The forward, who has dual U.S. and Canadian citizenship, scored 18 points in a June 28 loss to Brazil's junior team. He also shot 50 percent inside the arc, 40 percent behind it, and threw in five rebounds and a blocked shot. If there were was a weakness evident in his performance, it would be foul trouble, which often had him on the bench when his team needed him.

***

As for his recruitment, we know Gonzaga, while not the first school to offer a scholarship (according to Wiltjer, Oregon State was the first), has been heavily involved in recruiting the prep. Although the Zags are a little crowded in the frontcourt, there is the possibility that Elias Harris is in Spokane for one more year which would mean coach Mark Few needs a big who can step out and not clog the lane for Robert Sacre and Sam Dower.

ZagNative
06-29-2010, 12:58 PM
Sorry, I just saw a headline and wondered if the article had anything of note in it, and wasn't sure if it had already been discussed. I do not have insider access. I have looked at the stats so far and would agree that he is playing extreeeeeemely well.No apology necessary, Gufan. Nice find! Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

thespywhozaggedme
06-29-2010, 01:18 PM
No apology necessary, Gufan. Nice find! Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

Hey Native,
Are you sure about the game time tonight? Because Ha! on the Raps board is saying it's 7pm local, 8pm eastern. Just wanna make sure I don't miss it. Thanks

ZagNative
06-29-2010, 01:39 PM
Gee, Spy ... that would have been so sad to see you sitting at your computer all night, patiently, patiently waiting ... And I know how you hang on ZN's every word, not making a move until she says, "Ready, Set ... Okay, Kabongo's on the floor! Set your hair on fire, Spy!"

Obviously, the folks in San Antonio thought better of the time slot for the USA-Canada game.

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TCpnFfMvfSI/AAAAAAAA30c/aleF91QwiX0/2010-06-29%20Game%20Times%20revised%20.jpg

thespywhozaggedme
06-29-2010, 01:51 PM
Gee, Spy ... that would have been so sad to see you sitting at your computer all night, patiently, patiently waiting ... And I know how you hang on ZN's every word, not making a move until she says, "Ready, Set ... Okay, Kabongo's on the floor! Set your hair on fire, Spy!"

Obviously, the folks in San Antonio thought better of the time slot for the USA-Canada game.

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/TCpnFfMvfSI/AAAAAAAA30c/aleF91QwiX0/2010-06-29%20Game%20Times%20revised%20.jpg

What the hell was that all about? :confused:
Since you're so diligent at posting all of the info, I consider you my "go to gal" and this is your response?

sittingon50
06-29-2010, 01:56 PM
This board is going to be a lot of fun when the 'ol thermometer approaches 100!

OZZY
06-29-2010, 03:40 PM
Nogueira, Nogueira, Nogueira.

Someone should talk to JP about him.

6'10, leading the tournament in blocks and stepping up in the Brazil vs Argentina game.

OZZY
06-29-2010, 04:39 PM
Canada getting pounded, but Rivers hitting 5/5 3s in one quarter is amazing!

OZZY
06-29-2010, 04:49 PM
Rivers now 6/6 from downtown. I think that Canadioan teams in genmeral psyche themselves out when playing against the US teams (with one exception the FIBA worlds U21 bronze medalists from a few years ago). By the time they wake up, they are too far behind to do anything about it.

OZZY
06-29-2010, 05:24 PM
Rivers ends up hitting 9 in a row before missing! Kabongo appears to be playing better, Wiltjer sitting on the sideline with 4 fouls.:(

OZZY
06-29-2010, 05:57 PM
122-89......

The score looks not so bad in the end, courtesy of two decent quarters by the Canadian players. SCU's recruit Clarke came in and hit 2 straight threes.

Irvings 35 pints in 20 minutes must have been amazing.

The centre combination of Birch/Bhullar actually put up some decent numbers, 21 points 11 rebounds and 5 blocks.

I can't see Brazil having the athleticism to take on the Americans. It will be intersting to see how Nogueira will handle the American bigs.

Canada gets an opportunity to play Argentina for the Bronze. on paper it looks like an even contest, but what effect will the hurricane they just experienced have on their psyche? we will know this time tomorrow.

I think that Kyle will bounce back and Clarke may end up getting more pt. Scrubb can't help but have a better game, but as I said before, he is a streaky shooter.

The USA by 15 for the Gold.
Canada by 4 for the Bronze in a tight game.

thespywhozaggedme
06-29-2010, 06:18 PM
Ozz, someone made a dedicated thread for the game, if I knew you were posting in this one, I wouldn't have forced myself to watch it. lol

OZZY
06-29-2010, 07:36 PM
Ozz, someone made a dedicated thread for the game, if I knew you were posting in this one, I wouldn't have forced myself to watch it. lol

The information as to where the game could be found had already been posted on this thread beforehand. The other poster just wanted to start another thread to see his name in front of it.....

ZagNative
06-30-2010, 02:04 PM
Game for the bronze ready to tip off here (http://www.fibaamericas.com/torneos1_us.asp?t=SWMYGHIDOX). Live Stats here (http://www.fibalivestats.com/matches/18/02/11/79/93OclbyCkmurw/).

ZagNative
06-30-2010, 03:39 PM
Tied 71-71 with 21 seconds, Canada with possession of the ball.

ZagNative
06-30-2010, 03:41 PM
Going into overtime, Kyle with 20 points.

ZagNative
06-30-2010, 03:53 PM
Canada wins and repeats for the bronze! Kyle hits a three at the buzzer for the win! 27 points for the big guy!

Player
06-30-2010, 03:55 PM
Nice finish!

BobZag
06-30-2010, 03:58 PM
Way to go, Kyle!

ZagNative
06-30-2010, 04:04 PM
Wow. Considerable screaming and clapping was heard here in Casa ZagNative!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-06-30CanadaArgentinaFIBA.jpg

Man! I wanted a nap about midway through that game. Glad I resisted the urge!

sanders
06-30-2010, 04:22 PM
Some clutch shooting by Julian Clarke down the stretch. Nice to see him take advantage of the opportunity to play.

Kabongo committed two completely unforced 8 second calls down the stretch. Nearly cost them the game. On offense, he frequently looks out of control. But he gets a lot of calls. Not sure if he will at Texas.

Wiltjer and Birch both impressed me this tournament, and Bhullar looked a little better than I expected.

Canada's shooting guards/wings - not so much (at least not until Clarke stepped up today).

Anyway, 3rd place isn't bad. But if Canada's young guns really are that good, and are going to lead the senior team to medal contention in future years, you would think that they would be able to do better than 3rd best in the Americas in these age-based tournaments.

thespywhozaggedme
06-30-2010, 06:44 PM
This was the first game that I missed. On the Raps forum in the game thread they said CKVH, Birch and Clarke were the best and Kabongo was his usual outta control self, but I didn't see it, so don't know. Anyway, good "W" for 3rd place.

OZZY
06-30-2010, 07:52 PM
Well Kyle did bounce back and Clarke did get more pt (fortunately for Canada). Myck had his usual heart stopping performance, and Khem showed the consistency that the team needed on the back end.

Not having a NEDA group like last year to draw from, I think that their performance was commendable.Other than the loss to the US team, Canada played very well over the five days and they could easily have finished second as most of us had hoped for.