PDA

View Full Version : Verbal From Bell!!!!!!!!



northsidezagfan
04-26-2010, 06:23 PM
Slipper Still Fits is reporting Gary Bell Jr. has given Gonzaga a verbal commitment today. Huge news!!!

spotucky
04-26-2010, 06:26 PM
I just got an e-mail from the old scout board stating new commit and a link. And it was Bell NICE!!!!!!!!!

Ekrub
04-26-2010, 06:26 PM
beat me to it :) Very exciting news!!!

Twitter link:

http://twitter.com/JoelFran4

cggonzaga
04-26-2010, 06:31 PM
Huge Huge get. Way to go staff!!! Now we finish it up with Wiltjer and we've got a possible top 10 recruiting class for 2011!

btzag
04-26-2010, 06:31 PM
That is freaking huge! The funny thing is that it's also huge because we got an elite Seattle-area player. Long overdue!

MDABE80
04-26-2010, 06:32 PM
http://washington.scout.com/a.z?s=147&p=9&c=8&toinid=634&cfg=bb&yr=2011

john montana
04-26-2010, 06:34 PM
Woo hoo!

Zagatak
04-26-2010, 06:35 PM
WOW!!!! Freaking huge!!!!

Nevtelen
04-26-2010, 06:36 PM
Nice! Now I'll really have to go watch him play this coming season!!

That is HUGE!!

alldaye
04-26-2010, 06:37 PM
Yes! Seen him play live, and on TV. Great player!

Radbooks
04-26-2010, 06:38 PM
Meehan already has stuff up on his blog:

http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2010/apr/26/bell-jr-verbally-commits-gonzaga/

LMUZAG
04-26-2010, 06:46 PM
My wife just wondered why I was screaming!

spudzag
04-26-2010, 06:49 PM
Welcome Gary, you're going to love it here.

MDABE80
04-26-2010, 06:49 PM
http://rivals.yahoo.com/washington/basketball/recruiting/player-Gary-Bell%20Jr.-94884


Looks like an extreeeeeeeme get for our program.

ZagNative
04-26-2010, 06:54 PM
Speechless! Just Speechless!

zagfan24
04-26-2010, 06:55 PM
Awesome news! I have heard nothing but great things about Bell Jr. and I figure this can only increase odds of getting Wiltjer as he knows it'll be a team absolutely loaded with talent.

JohnOGU
04-26-2010, 06:57 PM
This is incredible news. If we also land Wiltjer, I'll probably lose it.

IronLions
04-26-2010, 06:59 PM
Congrats zags! I know he has been a top target for a long time.

kitzbuel
04-26-2010, 07:01 PM
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!

Jedster
04-26-2010, 07:05 PM
I can't believe it! Just what we all wanted to hear, but expected (hoped) to hear in about 5 months. That is an incredible get for Few and Co. Wonder what effect, if any, Coach Daniels had in helping to seal the deal since he was also recruiting Gary at UCLA.

I am soooo excited for this! Wooohooo!!!

CDC84
04-26-2010, 07:08 PM
This kid maybe the most important recruit that Mark Few has landed since he took over the program. I know a guy like Austin Daye was more highly rated, but he wasn't as important as Bell Jr. is.

Gonzaga just busted through a major glass ceiling.

Gary is the first top 100 player from the Seattle area to commit to GU who was offered and heavily pursued by the University of Washington. It's a very big deal.

Jedster
04-26-2010, 07:11 PM
So, when is he able to sign a LOI? It's sometime in the fall isn't it? I want to get his name signed as soon as we can!

sdzag
04-26-2010, 07:15 PM
Where would Bell fall on the biggest get in Gonzaga history?

I know that when Andy gave his verbal he was top 20 in the nation.
Austin was a highly rated player. maybe josh and gray but besides that is he one of the top ten highest rated recruit we have ever gotten or is he #3 after Andy and Daye?

1. Andy
2. Daye
3. Bell or.....

d2zag
04-26-2010, 07:16 PM
Screamed as loud as I could for 5 straight minutes. Gary Bell Jr!!!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

ZagAddict
04-26-2010, 07:18 PM
WOW :D Great news... I can't ever remember being this happy to have a verbal from a recruit. Congrats to the coaching staff... this is a major victory in terms of taking this program to the next level. Congrats to the Gary Bell Jr. and the entire Bell family on becoming a part of the GU family.

:cheers:

CDC84
04-26-2010, 07:23 PM
So, when is he able to sign a LOI?

November.

Bouldin was 43 at Rivals, Heytvelt 50 at Scout, Gray something like 62 at Rivals. Bell is currently at 74 with Rivals, but he should probably be higher and probably would be if he played for an AAU team that wasn't as talented where he could get more shots.

It should also be noted that like Kyle Wiltjer, Bell is very good in the classroom.

MDABE80
04-26-2010, 07:25 PM
Where would Bell fall on the biggest get in Gonzaga history?

I know that when Andy gave his verbal he was top 20 in the nation.
Austin was a highly rated player. maybe josh and gray but besides that is he one of the top ten highest rated recruit we have ever gotten or is he #3 after Andy and Daye?

1. Andy
2. Daye
3. Bell or.....


MOST Important..not the highest rated. CDC's right.. this opens some doors to a nice 4 year future. Wiltjer might just come...him and Bell are pretty well acquainted with each other.

Dranginis, Wiltjer, Pangos, ...this event today serves some "notice".
He picked GU over a huge list of pretty decent programs. We'll need some talented BIGS but Daniels knows how to recruit them. Speaking of Notice....he's got a few more years of HS....this timing might be sweet.

GUDan07
04-26-2010, 07:33 PM
Where would Bell fall on the biggest get in Gonzaga history?

I know that when Andy gave his verbal he was top 20 in the nation.
Austin was a highly rated player. maybe josh and gray but besides that is he one of the top ten highest rated recruit we have ever gotten or is he #3 after Andy and Daye?

1. Andy
2. Daye
3. Bell or.....

Who is Andy?

ZagsObserver
04-26-2010, 07:33 PM
Great news!...especially nice that we nabbed him from the west side of the state, and agree that this bodes well for the GU program. I know that things have a way of working themselves out, but if Keegan commits, we don't have enough scholarships for both Wiltjer and Pangos do we? Also, IF we lose Harris next year and Sacre the following year, won't we (ideally) need two post players after Sacre graduates?

Just A Zag
04-26-2010, 07:56 PM
Who is Andy?

andy poling...He was rated pretty high before he got an illness that made him lose a bunch of weight.

sdzag
04-26-2010, 07:56 PM
Who is Andy?

When Andy Poling committed as a Soph he was a top twenty recruit in the nation. This was before all the weight loss stuff and it was a HUGE get for Gonzaga. Then his disease thingy kicked in and sunk his game.

Please note there are not specifics because I did this by memory.

GUDan07
04-26-2010, 08:00 PM
Ahhhh. Thanks, I forgot that he was ever even on the team lol

sdzag
04-26-2010, 08:03 PM
To a certain someone on this board:

Be sure to contact a doctor if you have an erection lasting more than 4 hours.

Actually first call to brag to your friends then a doctor!:D

Just A Zag
04-26-2010, 08:04 PM
no prob. Welcome Mr.Bell!
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/ABPub/2009/02/28/2008797972.jpg

this thread needed a pic

Zagatak
04-26-2010, 08:14 PM
Scout.com says.....

Bell Jr. - 17th best shooting guard
Bouldin - 15th best shooting guard
Gray - 29th best shooting guard
Gibbs - 31st best shooting guard

MickMick
04-26-2010, 08:17 PM
Speechless! Just Speechless!

Me too!

Bell, Dranginis, and.........C'mon Wiltjer!

Join the party!


Ohh...I forgot to add.......welcome aboard Gary! We are absolutely ecstatic about your decision. A very, very wise decision indeed.

Dranginis and Bell. Zags are stacked at guard in 2011.

GU32
04-26-2010, 08:38 PM
:) :) :)

MickMick
04-26-2010, 08:48 PM
Scout.com says.....

Bell Jr. - 17th best shooting guard
Bouldin - 15th best shooting guard
Gray - 29th best shooting guard
Gibbs - 31st best shooting guard

Bell dropped 55 on a team this year. I would like to see the 16 shooting guards that are better.

Make no mistake.....this young man is elite. I also read that he has a 3.2 GPA. Nice!


I just can't get over the scoring potential of Dranginis and Bell together. Seriously, the Kennel might need a pinball mechanisim attached to the scoreboard.

ZagNative
04-26-2010, 09:00 PM
Great Bud Withers story (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/2011710406_bell27.html).
With few exceptions, the Puget Sound area has been a hard place for Gonzaga basketball recruiters to crack. But the Zags scored a significant breakthrough Monday with a commitment from Kentridge High guard Gary Bell Jr. for the 2011 freshman class.

"They really didn't have to pitch it; we felt it," said his father, Gary Sr., after the family took an unofficial weekend visit to the GU campus in Spokane.

As a junior, the 6-foot-1 Bell averaged 22.6 points, 5.3 rebounds and 3.5 assists for the Chargers and was named to The Seattle Times all-state first team. He had a 55-point game in a December loss against Auburn Riverside.

Bell shot 46.2 percent from the field, including 41.8 percent on threes, and hit 75.3 percent on free throws.

...

Kentridge had been to Gonzaga's camps, and the Zags became one of Bell's early favorites. The family trip there cinched it.

"Everything fit right in place for him," said the senior Bell. "It was a family atmosphere, but the program's big enough to where he could play and get exposure.

"The academic part was just a no-brainer 15, 16 kids to a class, it just fit perfectly for him."

...

Bell Sr. said the family got a good feeling about what he called Gonzaga's low-key approach.

"Mark Few didn't beat it on us," he said. "He let the actions of the people we saw, the coaches and staff, speak for themselves. All those guys were not really pushing and pressuring."More good stuff on Bud's post here. (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/2011710406_bell27.html)

surfmonkey89
04-26-2010, 09:08 PM
West side Zags should attend Kentridge games in full GU regalia next year, just to prepare him :)

ZagNative
04-26-2010, 09:29 PM
Tad bit more from Meehan (http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2010/apr/26/bit-more-bell/):

He was getting tired of everybody calling and trying to figure out what he wanted to do. It just felt right and everything fell into place, Bell Sr. said. Were all excited. Its definitely a good day for Gonzaga and a good day for Gary Bell Jr.

Attempts to contact Bell Jr. were unsuccessful. His father said he was practicing with his AAU team Monday night.Couldn't agree with you more, Mr. Bell!

zagsfanforlife
04-26-2010, 10:43 PM
What is Gary Bell's position? PG or Sg?

If a pg, looking to the 2011-2012 season looks like we have about 5 pgs, all who are very talented.

Carter will be a sr, Goodson will be a sr, Vilarino Jr, Bell Fr, and not sure if Draginis is a pg, but he will be a frosh as well. Gibbs can also fill in at the 1, but my god... for all the talk about a lack of a good pg this year.. two years from now we will be saying there are too many pg's on the team.

RockandRollJames
04-26-2010, 11:05 PM
Shooting guard for sure.

ZagNative
04-26-2010, 11:06 PM
BobZag describes him as a combo guard. Scout and ESPN both have him as a SG, Rivals says PG. Sounds like a combo to me.

deathchina
04-26-2010, 11:15 PM
oh happy day!

maynard g krebs
04-26-2010, 11:18 PM
Combo, but plays pg for his hs team. Looks to me like he's completely capable of being a high level pg if needed. A while back CDC compared him to a more athletic Raivio.

Spectacular news. Evaluators are wrong on him. Top 50 talent for sure imo.

thespywhozaggedme
04-26-2010, 11:56 PM
For the more "senior" posters here, does GBJ remind you of Jason Terry, as far as an undersized high scoring 2 guard, but definitely not a pg? Thanks

Zag79
04-26-2010, 11:58 PM
A while back CDC compared him to a more athletic Raivio.

if thats the case he will be a tremendous player here.

810Suited
04-27-2010, 02:19 AM
For the more "senior" posters here, does GBJ remind you of Jason Terry, as far as an undersized high scoring 2 guard, but definitely not a pg? Thanks

ugh you qualify as "senior" if you remember jason terry. sigh hate getting old. so excited about gary bell jr.

JohnOGU
04-27-2010, 03:02 AM
Yeah, I'll take a point guard that can score.

skan72
04-27-2010, 03:36 AM
Cannot wait to watch this kid at Gonzaga's team camp this summer and see how he scrimmages with the guys. Very excited, knew BZ was hinting at it when he posted the Meehan blog thread ;)

Birddog
04-27-2010, 04:20 AM
Can you name these regular posters?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysIzPF3BfpQ

misszigzag
04-27-2010, 05:00 AM
Very cool! Pleasant news to wake up to :)

MikeGallego
04-27-2010, 05:09 AM
Nook: "Can't you even let me enjoy the moment?"
Crash: "The moment's over."

cjm720
04-27-2010, 06:27 AM
I know it's not April 1 but is this real?

Welcome aboard Gary!

I have a feeling that Donny Daniels may have put us over the top...

Lloyd Bonafide
04-27-2010, 06:28 AM
:000tens:

Zagquette
04-27-2010, 06:54 AM
http://blog.seattlepi.com/huskies/archives/203497.asp


In other recruiting news, the Spokesman-Review is reporting that Kentridge junior Gary Bell Jr. verbally committed to Gonzaga today. Bell Jr. is regarded as one of the top recruits on the West Coast and in the class of 2011.

It's an interesting pluck for Gonzaga from Washington's backyard, should Bell Jr. maintain his commitment to Gonzaga. Bell Jr. was being recruited by Washington among other Pac-10 schools.

I love how this little remark follows an article about a UW recruit who has had a pretty strange high school career:


Ross has been school hopping since. He withdrew from Montrose Christian on Feb. 2 and was heading to Westwind Academy in Phoenix, according to the Washington Post. Instead of going to Westwind, Ross ended up re-enrolled at Jefferson.

The Oregon School Activities Association did not grant him eligibility to play basketball for Jefferson at the end of the 2009-10 season.

Ross previously made a verbal commitment to play basketball at Maryland, which he rescinded in December of 2009.

I think Bell made the right choice.

Welcome

NotoriousZ
04-27-2010, 06:57 AM
Welcome! We just keep getting better.

NotoriousZ
04-27-2010, 07:03 AM
Screamed as loud as I could for 5 straight minutes. Gary Bell Jr!!!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

Me too, but on the inside--there are sleeping people in the house.

Jakester425
04-27-2010, 07:16 AM
West side Zags should attend Kentridge games in full GU regalia next year, just to prepare him :)

I work in Kent...I will definitely be checking out some Kentridge games now.

Ziggy
04-27-2010, 07:18 AM
I was all ready for Keegan's commitment but not this! This is HUGE, I hope it sticks!

Jakester425
04-27-2010, 07:23 AM
I work in Kent...I will definitely be checking out some Kentridge games now.

I just mapped it out...Kentridge is 5 miles from my place of business...Sweet!

gamagin
04-27-2010, 07:52 AM
Can you name these regular posters http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysIzPF3BfpQ

hilarious ! we are at the very edge of wetness, here.

I hope, otoh, it all comes true. And am enjoying the enjoyment of it all.

Congrats to the coaches for continuing to add to the Zag program and our hopes for continued success for as far ahead as we are able to see.

CDC84
04-27-2010, 08:11 AM
There is a large feeling among recruiting analysts that Terrence Ross may not academically qualify. Then again, they said the same thing about Jeremy Pargo as well.

Kiddwell
04-27-2010, 08:11 AM
Anyone know? How tall, really, is Gary Bell, Jr.? One site lists him as 6'0". The other, 6'2".


:]

roxdoc
04-27-2010, 08:17 AM
Although there undoubtedly will be some mixing and matching going on in game situations, with Draginis at 6-4 or 5, and Bell at 6-2, I see Bell as a point guard. At this juncture I would think we would want both of these sharpshooters on the floor at the same time. Probably do his apprenticeship lap under Goodson or Carter.

gozagswoohoo
04-27-2010, 08:25 AM
Amazing

hockeyzag
04-27-2010, 08:34 AM
Nothing new to add, just wanted to say WELCOME GARY BELL JR!!!!!!

UberZagFan
04-27-2010, 09:09 AM
This is a great great get. As to whether he's a PG or SG, all Uber knows is that in the few times Uber has seen Bell Jr. play, he is definitely a scorer.

SWZag
04-27-2010, 09:09 AM
All thumbs up!!

Welcome Gary!!!

SWZag

ZagKing09
04-27-2010, 09:18 AM
:) :) :) :)
Another solid PG to continue the solid tradition here at Guard U!

Bocco
04-27-2010, 09:22 AM
nice ............. the future is bright

Reborn
04-27-2010, 09:36 AM
As is well known, Mark Few prefers combo guards. Welcome to Zag Nation Gary Bell. The Best is Yet To Come! Keep on a comin.......

dpouley
04-27-2010, 09:39 AM
Spectacular news. Evaluators are wrong on him. Top 50 talent for sure imo.

Wrong on him? I think that there is a ton of time left in the evaluation process before it can really be seen where he will end up. And I think that when all is said and done, he will be a top 50 player next year.

But I don't think that its as much that the evaluators are wrong, as it is still somewhat early in the process.

Great get for GU. As a UW fan I wanted him over Wroten.

dim4sum
04-27-2010, 09:46 AM
don't be surprised to see Bell with a dazzling assists to turnover ratio. He is
simply the most grounded combination of court intelligence and athleticism we have ever recruited in the backcourt. With him in there, there will be no such thing as a stagnating offense, such as we witnessed this past season.
I think of him as a new, improved Gary Payton .

former1dog
04-27-2010, 09:49 AM
I think of him as a new, improved Gary Payton .

Um, #1 - I'm happy that you're happy we have verbal from Gary Bell, Jr. I am also happy he is on board.

#2 - Gary Payton was a multiple time NBA all star and a borderline Hall of Famer. Payton was a great, great player by any measure. Lets not oversell young Mr. Bell just yet.

TacomaZAG
04-27-2010, 09:50 AM
My niece attends Kentridge and says Gary is a good kid, as well as a great basketball player. Can't wait to see this kid as a Zag, and I just got an excuse to wear my Zag jersey to a couple of high school games this year.

Go ZAGS

maynard g krebs
04-27-2010, 03:00 PM
Wrong on him? I think that there is a ton of time left in the evaluation process before it can really be seen where he will end up. And I think that when all is said and done, he will be a top 50 player next year.

But I don't think that its as much that the evaluators are wrong, as it is still somewhat early in the process.

Great get for GU. As a UW fan I wanted him over Wroten.

Wrong on where they have him rated NOW. Currently underrated imo. Based on my opinion that he's overall pretty close to Stuckey, Crawford, Ridnour, Brooks etc. as a hs player.

If you think he'll end up top 50, that means one of 2 things: 1) He's currently underrated, or 2) He's rated correctly as of now but will improve. Which is it?

BroncoZAG615
04-27-2010, 03:12 PM
Wrong on where they have him rated NOW. Currently underrated imo. Based on my opinion that he's overall pretty close to Stuckey, Crawford, Ridnour, Brooks etc. as a hs player.

If you think he'll end up top 50, that means one of 2 things: 1) He's currently underrated, or 2) He's rated correctly as of now but will improve. Which is it?

It is probably more of a word choice thing than anything. Most scouts have only seen Bell play in AAU ball and since he was on the loaded Seattle Rotary team a year ago, scouts have only seen little of what he can do. With that being said, his rating seems about right. I'd call him largely undiscovered at this point. With Wroten and Co. on his team a season ago, Bell would have had to bring his own basketball to get as many shots up as he gets in a typical Kentridge game.

This summer should be much different with Smith out of the picture. Bell will be a major focal point of a very solid Seattle Rotary team.

ellenvega
04-27-2010, 05:27 PM
Awesome!

Finally something to smile about today.