PDA

View Full Version : Looking at updating the prospect list



ZagNative
04-21-2010, 08:41 AM
I've been eying that January prospect list and thinking for a while that it should be updated, but things have been in such a state of flux I decided to wait a while. However, there have been so many great kids popping up listing the Zags on Rivals, ESPN, and in Scout and other stories that I've decided to share some tidbits I've gleaned.

We all know who the priorities are - kids like Bell, Wiltjer, Pangos, and Tebbutt. However, it's nice to know that the staff apparently isn't putting all its eggs in those few baskets. Competition is going to be tough for them, and we likely won't know much about the Zags' chances until fall at the earliest. In the meantime, it's nice to know the cupboard isn't bare.

So here's a rough draft of a new prospects table. If I missed anyone who (a) Has expressed interest in the Zags in a published report, note here with a link to the information source. I'll run it by BZ and see whether he thinks the prospect should be included in the next chart. (Note: I haven't included Keegan Hyland because I don't know whether he'll be 2010 or 2011, and he could conceivably commit within the next few days if the visit works out to the satisfaction of all.) Note also: I make little effort to keep up with school lists, since they vary source to source and change so often.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/2010-04-21Prospectschart2011and2012.jpg

In the following posts on this thread, I'll include some info I've found about recent additions to the list we haven't talked about before and then offer some thoughts about those we've discussed previously here.

For example, the table shows LeBryan Nash crossed off. I've always thought the listing of the Zags was a mistake by Scout, and I eventually stopped following up on him after he failed to mention the Zags as a school of interest for over a year now. He's a stud, but I think he's not seriously considering the Zags.

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 08:53 AM
2011 Jaleel Williams, 6'5", 190# F, Ellison HS, Killeen, TX


Zag connection: Recently listing Zags in a Rivals story linked on his Rivals page (http://rivals.yahoo.com/mosports/basketball/recruiting/player-Jaleel-Williams-111829).

Recent photo from Killeen Daily Herald Story (http://www.kdhnews.com/news/story.aspx?s=39775), "Ellison's Williams named 12-5A's top newcomer":

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S80-ZoZ2U9I/AAAAAAAAq_g/ZeoQruMFMJc/Jaleel%20Williams%20Newcomer%20of%20the%20Year-1.jpg

Over the past several years, Jaleel Williams has moved back and forth between Texas and Washington.

As a sophomore, he helped lead Federal Way (Wash.) to its fifth 4A boys state championship.

As a junior, the 6-foot-5 wing came home, helping Ellison to the Region II-5A area round in its 16th straight postseason appearance.

"It felt good to reunite with the team that I first started playing with. ... It made it a lot easier because the chemistry was already there," Williams said.

For his effort with Ellison, Williams was named the District 12-5A Newcomer of the Year, which is voted on by the district coaches.

"It means a lot that the coaches believe that I'm really the top newcomer this year," Williams said. "But I still feel like there are areas that I can improve on and I'm looking forward to doing that this offseason and coming back stronger for my senior year.

"I don't feel like I dominated like I know I could (have) this year."

Williams averaged around 15 points and seven rebounds per game for the Eagles.

"I thought his numbers qualified him for (the honor), I thought he had pretty good numbers for a first-year varsity player," said Ellison coach Alberto Jones. "He has a lot of God-given ability."

AAU: Texas D-1 Ambassadors

No Scout or ESPN Pages: In my experience, when kids change schools (here from Federal Way, WA, to Killeen, TX), the recruiting reporting services lose track. With solid performance with his AAU team, they should catch up.

Update: Rivals report from the Double Pump Tournament (http://redflagsports.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1075768) Jordan Tebbutt played in recently:


A big time jumping jack from the Lone Star State is Jaleel Williams. Williams is a 6-foot-5 forward with incredible bounce, and he loves to finish above the rim with authority. For the Texas D-1 Ambassadors he was a force scoring above the rim thanks to his great elevation. Also while his shooting wasn't going in, the rotation and release looked solid, and he could be a reliable shooter with more reps. As would be expected for such an athletic freak, Williams also is very good rebounding the basketball for a player his size.
....
Jaleel Williams lists Gonzaga, Portland, Seattle, San Francisco, Washington, Washington State, and California as schools with interest. At this point Washington is showing him the most love.

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 08:59 AM
2011 Hikeem Stewart, 6'2" 180# G, Rainier Beach, Seattle

Zag connection: Blurb in a Scout Dave Telep subscription story (http://gonzaga.scout.com/2/961627.html) highlighting players at 2010 Boo Williams:
Hikeem Stewart, CG, FOH Seattle: The younger brother of twins Lodrick and Rodrick, we liked his game. He seemed to have a serious approach and is a combo guard with a dose of toughness and athleticism.

....
Hikeem Stewart indicated Washington, Washington State, Seattle had offered with interest from Santa Clara, UCLA and Gonzaga. …
Nifty photo:

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S80WIzSciaI/AAAAAAAAq5g/12UlFti47pU/2011%20Stewart%2C%20Hikeem-1a.jpg

Video: (http://www.king5.com/sports/high-school/Academic-achiever--84151462.html) Great King 5 video about Hikeem as an all-honors-class student with a 3.65 GPA and dreams of being an architect, as well as being captain of the RB team as a junior!

YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeHRyRzQOU4&playnext_from=TL&videos=mq2Bobil-lA): Recently uploaded highlight video - Hikeem is #32

AAU: Friends of Hoop (played at Boo Williams)

No scout, Rivals, or ESPN pages

Seattle-Times stat page (http://community.seattletimes.nwsource.com/sports/highschool/basketball/boys/index.html?site=default&tpl=Player&ID=35113&season=current)

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 09:07 AM
2011 Ross Travis, 6'7", 205# SF, Chaska, MN


Zag connection: Recent listing Zags in Rivals (http://rivals.yahoo.com/Iowa/basketball/recruiting/player-Ross-Travis-99240)

Recent Photo from the Comets Invitational, where he was reported to have "thrown down one of the most incredible high school dunks of all time," while playing for the 43 Hoops team against Joe Hanstad, per this Rivals story on the Minnesota Preps board (http://basketballrecruiting.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1073219).
It was a great play when ECI Prospects guard Joe Hanstad whipped a no-look pass to a teammate for a score. It was an eye opening finish when Roosevelt Scott threw a pass off the board to himself and smashed emphatically with two hands. It was one of the most sensational plays of all time when Ross Travis took off from just inside the free throw line, cocked the ball, and dunked over a Wrath player.

The Travis dunk will be talked about forever. The look on the face of teammate Marquel Curtis said it all as he just turned around with eyes wide and mouth open. People throughout the gym had similar looks as the overly athletic Travis had just done the amazing. From just outside the wing the ball was rotated to Ross who had a nice running start before taking off just inside the free throw line elbow. Soaring through the air Ross cocked the ball in his hand and when he met a Wrath player at about where the NBA charge semi-circle would be. From there Travis smashed the ball through the rim with big time force while also making contact with an opponent. It was an example of that explosive athleticism that so many high majors around the country are following.http://lh6.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S80xeSN328I/AAAAAAAAq88/UB9ooXulkzs/2010-04-10%20Ross%20Travis%20Comets%20Invitational.jpg

Video: Youtube highlights, Part 1 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BO1Hv3w_590), and Part 2 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4VmBvDavWzI&feature=related)

AAU: 43 Hoops

Scout Page (http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=4330371)


ESPN: (http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/tracker/player?recruitId=104734&season=2011) 92 Scout, Inc., grade

Update: Travis is coming off a back injury, which kept him from playing for several games and may have taken him off some people's radar. It will be interesting to see what he does this summer on his 43 Hoops AAU team

Kiddwell
04-21-2010, 09:07 AM
ZN, for your informative and carefully researched contributions to this forum, you get Kiddwell's highest honor: three smiley faces...:) :) :) ...and a great...big...hug!

Oh! And a thousand thanks! (And Kiddwell's vote, should you ever choose to run for public office!)

:]

JLGutrocks
04-21-2010, 09:11 AM
Wow Native! that is a lot of work. Thank you so much for all of your diligence. What a treat.

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 09:11 AM
2011 Forrest Robinson, 6'9" 210#, C, Eastland HS, Eastland, TX


Zag connection: Zags listed in Rivals (http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Forrest-Robinson-93769) and in a good story linked by SLOZag on guboards in January (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=26065), where Robinson mentions interest from Gonzaga.

Photos to break your heart:


http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S8z5UjLJk8I/AAAAAAAAq0s/Ap2mSQv50OM/2010-02-25%20Forrest%20Robinson%20Wall%20playoff%20smile-1.jpg

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S8z5Zxo_c3I/AAAAAAAAq00/Exzyru2PjOM/2010-01-22%20Forrest%20Robinson%20v%20Clyde-2a.jpg

AAU: Dunno

ESPN: (http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/tracker/player?recruitId=103161&season=2011) Currently unrated

No scout page

Update: Robinson had a very good year. This from Reporternews.com (http://www.reporternews.com/news/2010/apr/10/eastlands-big-man-takes-top-honors/)
He is not only regarded by many as the best player in the Big Country, but some will say he is the top high school prospect in the entire state of Texas.

In fact, so good is 6-foot-9 Eastland center Forrest Robinson, that nearly every major collegiate program in the country has him on the radar screen.

Already chosen as the Reporter-News' Big Country 2A MVP, Robinson can now add Super Team MVP to a growing résumé.

A dominating presence both inside and outside, Robinson tallied 22.6 points and 9.6 rebounds per game, leading the Mavericks to a 28-4 overall record and a second-straight trip to the Region I semifinals.

"With the combination of his size and shooting touch, he's just a rare talent to have the opportunity to coach," Eastland coach Doug Galyean said. "We like to use him inside because of his height, but it's more difficult to defend him outside. It was nice to utilize that combination."

A Texas Association of Basketball Coaches all-state pick, Robinson was the MVP of District 6-2A, and drew attention from several high-profile programs, including Texas, Arizona and Alabama.

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 09:16 AM
2011 Jonathan Davis, PF, 6'7, 210#, Simi Valley, CA

Zag connection: Zags listed in Scout (http://gonzaga.scout.com/a.z?s=130&p=8&c=1&nid=4026731) and Rivals (http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Jonathan-Davis-107135), and a great article posted by SLOZag from the end of January, Davis puts Pioneers on his back (http://www.simivalleyacorn.com/news/2010-01-29/Sports/Davis_puts_Pioneers_on_his_back.html) - "He has attracted interest from many universities, including Utah. Gonzaga, Arizona State, Pepperdine and UNLV have also contacted Davis about playing college hoops."


http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S8zkltrKFHI/AAAAAAAAqxo/Xaoc-cuAGcs/2010-02-09%20Jonathan%20Davis%20Westlake-1.jpg



Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwSv3Hx0SX4), uploaded January 14, 2010

AAU: Double Pump? (He listed Double Pump as his AAU in 2008. Not sure if he's still playing for Double Pump, no recent mentions)


ESPN: (http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/tracker/player?recruitId=65668&season=2011&action=login&appRedirect=http%3a%2f%2finsider.espn.go.com%2fncb %2frecruiting%2ftracker%2fplayer%3frecruitId%3d656 68%26season%3d2011) Scout, Inc., Grade of 84 from a Sept. '09 eval.

Update: Semi Valley's season didn't live up to Jonathan's expectations (MaxPreps team page (http://www.maxpreps.com/high-schools/evQar7ONLU2qJ73VNxwEGA/simi-valley-pioneers/basketball/home.htm)), but he was named to the all-county first team, averaging 16.2 points and 10.2 rebounds, blocking 53 shots, with 38 steals. His best game of the season was a 30-point, 12-rebound performance against Calabasas. He also had 27 points and 15 rebounds against Moopark. Don't know if the Zags are still interested, but, IMO, that pic merits the post!

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 09:28 AM
2012 Chris Harrison-Docks, 6'0", 155# PG, Okemos, Okemos, MI


Zag connection: Listing Zags in Rivals (http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Chris-Harrison-Docks-98346). (Found in other reading, Chris was observed as a prospective Michigan State recruit in attendance at the Zags-Michigan State game in East Lansing. Must have liked what he saw!)

Recent photo from the Lansing State Journal (http://www.lansingstatejournal.com/article/20100409/ELANSING03/4110395/1021/SPORTS02): "Towne Courier's Dream Team"

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S81NNpdPRyI/AAAAAAAArBc/uwezjZz_x9U/2012-04-09%20Chris%20Harrison-Docks.jpg

Chris Harrison-Docks - Okemos (Player of the year)

5-11 sophomore guard

• Harrison-Docks averaged 18 points, 3.5 assists and 2.5 steals per game while leading the Chieftains to a third place finish in the CAAC Blue. The sophomore point guard shot 82 percent from the free-throw line in earning all-state honorable mention.

AAU: Indiana Elite

Mention of Chris's play for the Indiana Elite at the recent Double Pump Tourney
Joining Kaminski with solid performances were Hanner Perea, Chris Harrison-Docks, and D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera. Perea was simply an animal for Indiana Elite. He finished with thunderous dunks, blocked shots, and rebounded the ball out of his area and above the rim. Also, unlike last year, Perea showed reliable hands down low, and that allowed him to make more plays. Smith-Rivera and Harrison-Docks were the engine behind the Indiana Elite squad. Both of them created for their bigger teammates and found people for wide open shots. Harrison-Docks was a pest on defense converting defense into offense, while Smith-Rivera struggled shooting the ball, his feel for the game is simply off the charts.
Scout (http://scouthoops.scout.com/a.z?s=75&p=8&c=1&nid=4014945)

ESPN: (http://insider.espn.go.com/ncb/recruiting/tracker/player?page=evaluation&recruitId=102783&action=login&appRedirect=http%3a%2f%2finsider.espn.go.com%2fncb %2frecruiting%2ftracker%2fplayer%3fpage%3devaluati on%26recruitId%3d102783) 83 Scout, Inc., grade

ZagNative
04-21-2010, 09:37 AM
Alrighty then. I feel better, relieved of the concern my overstuffed recruits notebook might explode from a spontaneous nuclear chain reaction.

I just think those are some intriguing-looking kids and should be fun (for me, at least) to follow over the AAU season. Almost all of them play for big-time AAU teams.

Jedster
04-21-2010, 10:31 AM
ZagNative, Thanks for the great info! I love following all the recruiting, and your efforts make is so easy for me (and others) to follow. Appreciate all your time and effort in putting this together!

sittingon50
04-21-2010, 10:49 AM
Thanks Native.