PDA

View Full Version : Is Ray in Texas Courting Kahlil McDonald, 2010 JUCO combo guard?



ZagNative
03-24-2010, 01:57 PM
This came up on the thread about Ray supposedly going to Toledo (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=557042#post557042).

Really, really looks good!

Rivals Page listing Gonzaga (http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/recruiting/player-Kahlil-McDonald-93901): It's a brand new addition, as it wasn't there when I searched the Rivals database this morning.

A story on the WKU Rivals site (http://jucojunction.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1066686) dated yesterday notes that he made an official visit to Gonzaga in October and he's ranked #12 on the JUCO Junction 150.

tinfoilzag
03-24-2010, 02:03 PM
Could someone with Rivals access post some tibbits from the article about Kahlil?

Angelo Roncalli
03-24-2010, 02:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6o4zZ4aLM4g

ZagNative
03-24-2010, 02:06 PM
Stuff copied from the other thread:

Speaking of Kahlil McDonald, his stats and attributes (http://www.njcaa.org/colleges_college_player.cfm?category=stats&sid=4&divid=1&slid=2&collegeId=1687&teamid=79239&athleteid=244348&seasonselect=426)fit the bill:

57% FG, 53% 3pt:eek:, and 83% FT. He'd be an outstanding pickup :drool: .
Thanks for the article, ZN. Could be interesting to see how this unfolds with KM. He was once a HS star and went the JUCO route. These last few posts re: Kahlil might deserve their own thread. Definitely board buzzworthy, especially with the recent Rivals' update and campus visit news.
Yep. In addition to his terrific stats mentioned(57% FG, 53% 3pt), he averaged 22 ppg, 4 apg, and 4 rpg.

Also, his ridiculously high 3pt% is even more impressive considering he shot 94/177 from beyond the arc on the season. That is Mickey McConnel #'s from 3pt land, plus he's an outstanding athlete. WOWSER!

Sign him up, quickly!

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 02:10 PM
He nearly committed to Marquette last year before a shortage of credits(& grades) in his first year at JUCO hindered his transfer. Both of these issues has since improves, yet Marquette is now overloaded with schollies for 2010 class. They can no longer "afford" to take Kahlil after his 2nd full year at JC.

Having said that, I'd be happy to take him off their hands. ;).

tinfoilzag
03-24-2010, 02:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6o4zZ4aLM4g

Definitely has a Brooklyn "playground" flavor in his game based on those highlights. We lost that attitude when JP left and might do us some good to get some of that swagger back.

Disclaimer: Speculation based on a 2 min clip.

ZagNative
03-24-2010, 02:28 PM
Could someone with Rivals access post some tibbits from the article about Kahlil?The story was footnoted with unusually strong warnings against copying and pasting any portion of the story, so I'll paraphrase what seems of interest to us.

Western Kentucky is the only school that's offered so far. He likes them a lot and said they take that program to the NCAA's a lot. He's looking for a school where he can come in and make an impact right away.

The story says that because of his versatility, he'd be a big addition to a program, can handle the ball and distribute but also create for himself. He averaged 23.7 points per game. He also shot 45.4 percent from three-point range and hit 79.1 percent of his free throws.

He led his conference in scoring.

In another story, his coach says:
“He’s still looking, but I know he was really impressed with what he saw up there,” Arnold said. “He’s in the process (of looking at other schools) and still waiting to see how some things pan out with coaching situations at certain schools.” It's going to be interesting to see how many kids hold off on committing until there is no longer any doubt about whether Mark Few will stay at Gonzaga this fall.

roxdoc
03-24-2010, 02:43 PM
How good is he playing at the point?

229SintoZag
03-24-2010, 02:50 PM
Is there some rule in this league that if you cross over your defender so brutally that he falls over, you have to pull back and let him get up? Kind of like when Lance Armstrong stopped if his chief adversary fell in the Tour de France to keep things sporting?

ZagNative
03-24-2010, 03:07 PM
How good is he playing at the point?What I want to know is if he has the requisite talent to keep him out of guboards' armchair coaches' doghouse his first season ... and still have Gonzaga Coeds want to kiss him?

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S6qbvicOTxI/AAAAAAAAbY4/xGK4IwVI7Tk/Jesus%20Lizard.jpg

BobZag
03-24-2010, 03:09 PM
How good is he playing at the point?

4 assists per game.

He appears to have a scorer's mentality. I'd call him a combo guard.

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 03:16 PM
I still can't get over the fact he shot 53% from 3pt(177 attempts) during his 1st season and 46% from the perimeter in his 2nd season(170+ attempts). He'd be ranked in the Top-5 perimeter shooters with those type of #'s in the D1 ranks. Talk about just what the Doctor ordered...:D

JohnOGU
03-24-2010, 03:18 PM
I really hope this is who he's courting.

This kid looks sick. Looks like a monster on the court.

Anybody have a highlight reel for Marquise Carter?

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 03:27 PM
http://www.blinn.edu/Buccaneer/athletics/mens_basketball/images/no3-kahlil%20mcdonald.jpg

http://www.blinn.edu/Buccaneer/athletics/mens_basketball/09images/khalil-mcdonald.jpg


March 9, 2010

Blinn’s McDonald earns top honors in Region XIV

Blinn College’s Kahlil McDonald was named to the All-Conference and All-Region First Teams. McDonald, a 6’4” guard from Brooklyn, NY, averaged 23.7 points per game in his sophomore season. He led the conference in three-point field goals percentage making 83 of 183 shots for 45.4 percent. McDonald was also 79.1 percent from the free throw line.

NYCZAG
03-24-2010, 05:16 PM
Kahlil McDonald March 24 at 9:20pm Report
I went on an official visit to gonzaga, and they feel like im not good enough to play there...so there no longer in the picture, appreciate it though.

hooter73
03-24-2010, 05:39 PM
great. can we stop shooting ourselves in the foot at some point?

Anyway if he wasnt invited he probably has questionable grades and not the attitude GU coaches are looking for. too bad with those numbers.

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 05:49 PM
Kahlil McDonald March 24 at 9:20pm Report
I went on an official visit to gonzaga, and they feel like im not good enough to play there...so there no longer in the picture, appreciate it though.

What? Really?

While I certainly believe your report, I can't believe he's not good enough to play at Gonzaga. I just don't buy it. His HS stats, JUCO stats, reports say it all. The kid can shoot and score at a high level-Marquette, Oklahoma St, Western Kentucky, all believe it as well. If Meech Goodson and his 13% perimeter shot(it was bad in HS as well) and 1.5 assists is good enough to start for us an entire season, I assure you Kahlil is more than skilled enough--even if he would be just a spot up shooter(which he is much, much more). Kahlil is ranked as the #11 overall JUCO prospect in the Country!! Other players ranked in the Top-20 are committing to big-time schools across the country. BTW, Kahlil's highlight video consisted of just TWO games last season. Unfortunately, it sounds as if our Coaches may pass on this kid. It might come to bite us in the proverbial arse, b/c this kid would fill a HUGE need--a perimeter presence who can shoot with the ELITE, score, and play PG/SG. Sheesh. He has averaged nearly 50% from 3pt with over 375 attempts at a respectable level of bball. How is he NOT good enough?!?!

Can anyone say Rotnei Clarke with the ability to dunk and defend. If true, we've grossly mistaken this kid's talent this time around.

tinfoilzag
03-24-2010, 05:52 PM
Anyway if he wasnt invited he probably has questionable grades and not the attitude GU coaches are looking for. too bad with those numbers.

We probably shouldn't speculate. Good luck to him wherever he plays.

NYCZAG
03-24-2010, 05:53 PM
Yeah I saw this post so I emailed him and he said just that-I can ask him to clarify not good enough but it seems WKU is where he is going-He's a really good guy very spiritual and a lot of fun-I can't believe he's not good enough really shocking when he wrote me that-But who knows?-

MickMick
03-24-2010, 05:56 PM
The bar has to be set high. Scholarships are precious and a Juco must be able to offer immediate returns. (As in contribute at some point in his first season)

No doubt the kid is very good to get an offer from WKU, but he has to at least seriously challenge the players that are already here.

Obviously, the staff didn't feel that was the case.

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 06:05 PM
The bar has to be set high. Scholarships are precious and a Juco must be able to offer immediate returns. (As in contribute at some point in his first season)

No doubt the kid is very good to get an offer from WKU, but he has to at least seriously challenge the players that are already here.

Obviously, the staff didn't feel that was the case.

Agreed.

If only our Coaches would have recruited with the same high standards the last time we visited Texas. ;)

Well, as always, In Few We Trust.

RenoZag
03-24-2010, 06:06 PM
Kahlil McDonald March 24 at 9:20pm Report
I went on an official visit to gonzaga, and they feel like im not good enough to play there...so there no longer in the picture, appreciate it though.

Sounds like the end of the story.

Goodnight, Chet.

Goodnight, David.

bigparb
03-24-2010, 06:10 PM
Ray's definitely in Texas....flew there this morning....if he's not recruiting McDonald, who is he recruiting?

Goshzagit
03-24-2010, 06:14 PM
But he wasn't playing in the D I ranks. . .

Very true, yet isn't it ironic that Meech shot around 20% from 3pt at the high school level and hasn't improved AT ALL since arriving @Gonzaga(13% from 3pt). My point is: I don't care whom you're playing against, shooting over 50% from 3pt at the HS and JUCO level is proof this kid can shoot with the best of 'em. Our Coaches must have known Kahlil was something special if he was asked to visit.

Anyway, the Coaches don't believe he's a fit for whatever reason and we must trust in who they believe is the best fit for our system. I will always defer to their judgement. Coach Mark Few is quoted as saying, "we need a perimeter presence to keep defenses honest and an ability to hit big shot in key moments". He must have been referring to GJ/Meech, the players he recruited over many others. If Kahlil isn't "GONZAGA MATERIAL", then so be it. I'm sure we'll find some other quicker guard who can't really shoot or score in the paint, but who really "pushes the tempo". We must play fast at Gonzaga.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2010, 06:16 PM
That double cross over at 1:01 is RIDONKULOUS :eek: :eek: :eek: I've seen dozens and dozens of highlight reels, so I've kind of become immune to video hyperbole, but this guy look s amazing; great shooter, and willing distributor as well, plus if I read the stat sheet right he had 19 assists in one game against Lonestar-Kingwood. I don't care who you're playing, 19 assists in one game is.....well, I feel like a highschool cheerleader gushing over the star qb right now. He has Ira's hops, Bankheads shooting range, combined with a pg mentality. Holy Cow! me likey. :D

ZagNative
03-24-2010, 06:20 PM
Sounds like the end of the story.

Goodnight, Chet.

Goodnight, David.
These aren't the droids we're looking for.
You can go about your business.
Move along... move along...

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S6rJBBslKuI/AAAAAAAAbd4/aj0bNTL9YY0/These%20are%20not%20the%20droids%20you%20are%20loo king%20for.jpg

surfmonkey89
03-24-2010, 06:20 PM
Ray's definitely in Texas....flew there this morning....if he's not recruiting McDonald, who is he recruiting?

Well...
(http://www.cbssports.com/mcc/blogs/entry/6271764/20600685?tag=comBlogEntryListCnt;entry20600685)

MickMick
03-24-2010, 06:21 PM
I'm sold on those Europeans. Austrailians and Canadians aren't bad either.

Billions of people in this world. One of them has to be a great shooter.

thespywhozaggedme
03-24-2010, 06:27 PM
I posted my post, prior to reading that he was told he's not good enough to play for us; just like the kid from Portland that signed with St. Mary's. I'm getting my stomach in knots here. Today in church our pastor talked about idols; i.e. things we put before God, I think I may be putting this team before God, because I got sooo excited at seeing his video clip, and that Ray was down there, combined with the fact that pg is far and away the weakest it's been since....well, forever, and then to find out it was a false alarm. I'm gonna have to take a breather for a while.

ZagNative
03-24-2010, 06:42 PM
There's got to be more to the story ... From a post from the Marquette board in August of '09 (http://www.muscoop.com/index.php?topic=15286.0):

Here's some more info...

http://hsnewyork.scout.com/2/610752.html



Shooting Guard's Stock Is On The Rise
By Brian Towey
Senior Reporter
Posted Jan 18, 2007

Upon moving from Wings Academy in the Bronx to American Christian School in Aston, Pennsylvania, Tony Bergeron inherited a number of players, one of whom was a New Yorker named Kahlil McDonald. McDonald, who had played at Bishop Loughlin in Brooklyn previously, was a player Bergeron was familiar with on some level, but he wasn't quite sure what to expect.

"I knew him coming in from Five Star Camp because Loughlin was one of our programs," said Bergeron. "I was told that he would be perfect for us. I was told that I'd have to adjust the attitude a bit, but when I got down there, I never saw the attitude. I found a kid who was dying to reinvent himself."

To some degree, that is exactly what McDonald has done. Which is not to say that the 6-foot-1, 187 pound shooting guard and native of Brooklyn completely overhauled his game. Instead, with the encouragement of Bergeron, he has fully embraced the one skill that sets him apart: his shooting ability.

"My game has changed, but what coach wants me to do is shoot the ball," said McDonald. "Here my role is to shoot, and I can do that pretty well."

"I said to him, if you go ahead and keep shooting those threes, it's going to lead to a Division I scholarship," said Bergeron.

McDonald has always been an exceptional shooter, going back to his days in the CHSAA. Originally a member of the class of 2005 coming out of Bishop Loughlin, he was one of the city's top marksmen, and a player who was nearly automatic off of the catch.

After leaving Loughlin, McDonald enrolled at Rise Academy in Philadelphia in the fall of 2006. He spent half the year at Rise before transferring to American Christian. But basketball was shelved for the remainder of the year as he focused on schoolwork.

For Bergeron, he has been a revelation, so much so that the coach characterized his 5-for-12 shooting performance from behind the arc in a 110-91 win over South Kent at the Nike Super Six last weekend as "a bad shooting day." Accordingly, schools are beginning to catch on.

"He's blowing up," said Bergeron. "When I came here, he had nothing. Iowa State was really intrigued. Iowa State, St. Peter's, Fordham, are interested.

"Everybody's basically waiting on the SAT score. He'll pass, I'm confident of that. He's a smart kid. He just hasn't taken the test since his junior year."

It is pretty heady stuff for a kid who was marginally a scholarship player coming out of high school. Physically, the 19-year old has matured. He was a wispy wing shooter at Loughlin, and a shade under six feet. He has grown a couple of inches since then and has improved his upper body strength appreciably, out of necessity.

"It's better competition here than in regular high school because guys are bigger and stronger," said McDonald. "Going into the paint, guys are physically so much bigger in prep school than in the CHSAA."

He has also embraced what he does well. A few years back, McDonald appeared interested in transforming himself into a point guard. Now, he knows where he fits.

"If he wants to go to the high major level, he has to be a specialist," said Bergeron. "He's certainly a secondary ball handler at a lower level."

http://oklahomastate.scout.com/2/857135.html


Hoops Recruiting: Will Juco Star Join OSU?
By Terry Tush

Posted Apr 16, 2009

The Oklahoma State basketball staff considers recruiting to be a 24-hour-a-day, seven-days-a-week, 52-weeks-a-year opportunity. The signing of Jarred Shaw on Wednesday gives OSU a full allotment of 13 scholarship players but that doesnt mean Travis Ford is finished with the 2009 class. Dont be surprised to see OSU add another player between now and the end of the signing period May 20.

One player who would like to sign with Oklahoma State, and could have an immediate impact on the 2009-10 team, is junior college guard Kahlil McDonald, a third team NJCAA All-American this past season at Blinn College in Brenham, Texas.

The 6-foot-4, 195-pound McDonald set the Blinn season scoring record as a freshman last season, averaging 21.4 points per game during the regular season. He helped the Buccaneers to a 23-9 record while earning first team All-Region XIV honors in his first season at Blinn.

It was pretty good season, McDonald said earlier this week. We broke a lot of records. We had the most wins in school history, we made the second round of the playoffs for the first time in school history, we swept San Jac (Jacinto) for the first time in a long time... I broke the record for most points in a season.

McDonald, who made 53.1 percent of his three-point shots (94 of 177 ) this past season, says he expected more of himself despite all of the postseason accolades.

(I didnt play) to my standards because I thought I could have played better, he said, but a lot of other people thought I had a great year because I was first team All-Region and all-conference and third team All-American. I just hold myself to higher standards, so I thought I could have played better.

Oklahoma State began recruiting the Brooklyn, N.Y., native late in the season, and McDonald said he plans to sign with the Cowboys before the signing period ends May 20. But he must first win an appeal with the NCAA regarding his eligibility.

McDonald says he played one year at a prep school in Pennsylvania before sitting out a year ago to attend a New Jersey junior college where he did not play basketball but worked to improve his grades. He then transferred to Blinn College where he was an immediate standout.

He must appeal to the NCAA because its rules state that a junior college player is not eligible unless he has completed three semesters of full-time classes (12 hours or more). McDonald, however, was only enrolled in 11 hours during his one semester at the New Jersey junior college.

McDonald was being recruited by numerous schools until they realized he may not be immediately eligible. Oklahoma State, Iowa State, South Florida and Marquette decided to continue in the pursuit of the All-American sharpshooter. Although he has yet to visit Oklahoma State, he says he will sign with the Cowboys if the NCAA rules that he is eligible, and does not have to return to junior college for another semester. He says that ruling may take a couple of weeks.

Im waiting to see whats going to happen with the appeal. Im just saying my prayers, said McDonald, who says he has a 2.7 grade-point average at Blinn. If they rule for me, then Im going to sign with Oklahoma State and be there this summer. Right now, I'm verbally committed to Oklahoma State.

"If they say Ill have to take another semester of junior college, I guess Ill have to come back (to Blinn) and then come to Oklahoma State in January. Im not thinking about the negatives. I dont know what Id do.
Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 05:30:59 PM by LastWarrior He was Class of '05 coming out of high school. I keep thinking of Theo Davis ... Definitely followed a twisting path. Good luck to him.

ZagAddict
03-24-2010, 07:42 PM
Wow... can recruiting for 2010 class get any more weird? This team needs plenty of help in the backcourt and we have zero committs. I think we have really put too many eggs in the 2011 class basket... sure hope it turns out the way they hope.

At this point, I am thoroughly confused and nothing surprises me anymore with this recruiting class :confused: Just tell me when it's over.

theothegreat21
03-24-2010, 09:03 PM
Why does there have to be more to this story? Should have been pretty clear when he visited and left without an offer that the coaching staff didn't think he was a fit.

cjm720
03-25-2010, 10:08 AM
Was it a "fit" issue or not good enough issue? I'm guessing the former.

jim77
03-25-2010, 11:35 AM
The coaches will make the right call.


IMO the guy is the missing piece. Those 3 #'s are rediculous and the kid looks smoooth. He also looks like he can pass too....he's also 6'4". We are 1 shooter away from the top. If we're gona get him..lets get him now.

Mr Vulture
03-25-2010, 11:47 AM
He probably wants to have the opportunity to start right away being a JUCO transfer. When he came to GU for the visit he probably saw that he would be behind Meech and Gray next season for sure and probably behind Arop as well although Manny will be playing the 3 mostly I would think. I think the Marquis is the better fit for the team being that he can handle the point and shoot...hope we get him as he can fill a void and contribute right away.

Reborn
03-25-2010, 11:55 AM
If the coaches have passed on McDonald they have a good reason. The best reason I can imagine is that they have someone in mind who is better, or who is a better fit for the program.

I think that there is one thing that may have been overlooked by us. Things were different back in October. Our needs have changed. What the staff once believed I think has changed. I imagine that the staff believed we were set at the guard positions, and that we had our "shooters." I think it has not turned out that way after a poor shooting year by the current Zags. So maybe the staff has re-evaluated McDonald and are going after him again. It's just a thought.

MDABE80
03-25-2010, 12:04 PM
As we should know by now, these videos put the best face on a player's skills. Further though, they don't measure what the kid is like. Nobody wants good players more than the coaches. If he looked sub par or if he didn't quite fit the mold of what they're looking for, sobeit. Coaches know more about where the programis going than we do. Ankle breakers aside, know that the staff continues to look... They'll find that special kid. It is quite clear that we need a PG who can excell and run the team...one who passes well, is a scoring threat and is quick. He's out there and he knows about us too. All things in time fellas.

bartruff1
03-25-2010, 12:12 PM
Sounds like the end of the story.

Goodnight, Chet.

Goodnight, David. goodnight grampa.....good night John Boy....etc...