PDA

View Full Version : What do you want the guys to change/practice in the offseason?

Zagdawg
03-21-2010, 09:26 PM
My top items:

Free throws (66.5% will not cut it-- I would like to see us north of 70% by the start of the season).

Ability to guard the 3

Rebounding--Arop will shine with extended minutes

Others:

Passing? Strength?
Put on some weight?--Who and how much?

deathchina
03-21-2010, 09:50 PM
I think I have been hoping for improved perimeter defense for around 10 years.....

GorgeZag
03-21-2010, 10:08 PM
Not being able to guard the 3 ball is classic Gonzaga.
I'd like to see them bring in a point guard who is a threat to score.

MedZag
03-21-2010, 10:18 PM
Not being able to guard the 3 hurt us much less when we were actually able to HIT the 3. Frontcourt needs reps, big time.

Harris just needs work on his game in general. He's got a great foundation, just needs polish. Would love to see him add a dribble fake when he catches the ball 15 ft out. His "drive, lower shoulder, spin move" became a bit too predictable by mid-January and you could tell. If he makes his moves a little less predictable and polishes his outside game, he's an All-American.

Sacre simply needs practice dealing with the double team, and practice getting position on the block so he doesn't pick up those 1-2 offensive fouls a game. He's got fairly good fundamentals for a big man at this point, and his mid-key jump hook is really looking great, but I want him to be able to function even when defenses are focused on denying him. That's what separates a serviceable big man from a great big man.

I love the dimensions Gray added to his game this year. At times, he looked really unstoppable. Don't know what he needs besides a big boost of confidence juice. He needs to learn to trust his game more. He needs to be able to throw up a shot and "know" its going in, even if he's been 0-10 up to that point.