PDA

View Full Version : "Canada's NCAA tournament team"



ZagNative
03-15-2010, 05:30 PM
Nice story from the Globe and Mail (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/basketball/canadas-ncaa-tournament-team/article1501293/):
Canuck quartet has made a strong impact on Gonzaga Bulldogs

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_UkLNCxT74w4/S57iASR9okI/AAAAAAAAV0M/GO5bc6Ttqcs/s512/2010-03-15%20Team%20Canadian.jpg

...

Also rooting for Gonzaga is Greg Francis, the head coach of the University of Alberta men’s team. He has coached all four of the players through the national junior team, and Few credits him for much of their development.

Francis attributes much of their success to their international experience with the junior national team.

“They’re able to produce as first-year players in a major program and you don’t see a lot of Canadians doing that,” Francis said. “They’ve competed at more of a pro level and with that comes more respectability, not worried about hype but about training and practice. When they see other international kids being trained the same way, they run with it, and they’ve done really well.

“It’s a special group,” Francis said of the four Canadians. “I think they’ll all meet up and make our senior [national] team that much better.”

It turns out Gonzaga isn’t finished recruiting Canadians; it already has its eye on another player or two for next season. Given the success it’s having, why not?

“When we look at a kid from Canada, it’s not because we couldn’t get kids in the U.S.,” said Gonzaga assistant coach Tommy Lloyd, who helped recruit the four Canadians. “We think those kids will keep us at the level we expect to play at.

“They’re already getting lots of minutes and they’ve already had moments when they’ve been great. The future is going to be bright for all of them.”

skan72
03-15-2010, 05:39 PM
Nice story from the Globe and Mail (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/basketball/canadas-ncaa-tournament-team/article1501293/):

'Cuse should be getting a story too http://guboards.com/showthread.php?t=27692.

Heck, they should do profiles on all the Canadians in the Dance. There are a lot of Canuck contributors.

skan72
03-15-2010, 05:54 PM
What Canadians might they be looking at?

Class of 2010 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=61)
Class of 2011 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=60)
Class of 2012 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=59)

OZZY
03-15-2010, 06:07 PM
Great find ZN, nice to see such a positive piece on basketball from "hockey central".

Looking at the photo, Bol seems taller than the 6'6" he is listed at. If Manny is 6'5" then Bol is more like 6'8"....

And by the way, welcome back Skan.

One of the comments said that the Syracuse/GU game (I know lets beat Fl. State firstwould have 5 Canadians, obviously not that well informed as there would be 6 Canadian players (Kris Joseph) on the benches.

skan72
03-15-2010, 06:19 PM
Great find ZN, nice to see such a positive piece on basketball from "hockey central".

Looking at the photo, Bol seems taller than the 6'6" he is listed at. If Manny is 6'5" then Bol is more like 6'8"....

And by the way, welcome back Skan.

One of the comments said that the Syracuse/GU game (I know lets beat Fl. State firstwould have 5 Canadians, obviously not that well informed as there would be 6 Canadian players (Kris Joseph) on the benches.

You are correct! Whoever made that comment needs to give there head a shake haha. But seriously, with Onuaku out, which seems to be the case, I read a solid report today from SU that says KrisJo will be starting.

thespywhozaggedme
03-15-2010, 10:05 PM
What Canadians might they be looking at?

Class of 2010 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=61)
Class of 2011 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=60)
Class of 2012 (http://www.hoopstarscanada.com/news.pl?nid=59)

2010: Cojo and Emerson Murray

2011: Wiltjer, Khem Burch, David Wagner (Kelly's high school teammate)

2012: Pangos

Keep in mind, there's a huge difference between "looking at" and really trying to get. Wiljter and Pangos are obviously at the head of the class when it comes to really going after. Landing Corey Joseph would be a huge upset and rival, if not, surpass Austin as our biggest recruit ever, plus the inside buzz is that he's going to go to 'Nova; if we make a big run, and guarantee him that he could start at the point asap, combined with all of our canadians, hat might sway him our way; that being said, I highly doubt it.

skan72
03-15-2010, 10:14 PM
2010: Cojo and Emerson Murray

2011: Wiltjer, Khem Burch, David Wagner (Kelly's high school teammate)

2012: Pangos

Keep in mind, there's a huge difference between "looking at" and really trying to get. Wiljter and Pangos are obviously at the head of the class when it comes to really going after. Landing Corey Joseph would be a huge upset and rival, if not, surpass Austin as our biggest recruit ever, plus the inside buzz is that he's going to go to 'Nova; if we make a big run, and guarantee him that he could start at the point asap, combined with all of our canadians, hat might sway him our way; that being said, I highly doubt it.

Wagner, if he actually ever lifted a weight or worked hard on his game...he'd be high-major D1 material for sure. As it stands, mid-major maybe. He's just too big and talented at that age and he gets by on it, he doesn't have to push himself yet.

CanadianZagFan
03-16-2010, 03:54 AM
Great find ZN, nice to see such a positive piece on basketball from "hockey central".

Looking at the photo, Bol seems taller than the 6'6" he is listed at. If Manny is 6'5" then Bol is more like 6'8"....

And by the way, welcome back Skan.

One of the comments said that the Syracuse/GU game (I know lets beat Fl. State firstwould have 5 Canadians, obviously not that well informed as there would be 6 Canadian players (Kris Joseph) on the benches.

There will only be 5 Canadians playing in the game with Arop out, that coul dbe where they were going with it!

skan72
03-16-2010, 11:21 AM
In terms of athletic ability (out of this world) and potential - Nakai Luyken of Yale should be looked at. Is grade 11 this year, and I know the hoopstars site says he is 6'2"...but I've seen him play a few times this year, he is definitely 6'4"+

And from 2012, while Braxston Bunce and Cameron Smythe may be huge, they're not that great. Mitchell Goodwin of Pleasant Valley is the best grade 10, this year, in BC in my opinion. 6'1" - 6'2" combo guard, ridiculous athlete, does everything very well offensively, a bit lazy and prone to foul on defense. He should be up there on the 2012 list.