PDA

View Full Version : OT: The Stars Aligned Last Night (kinda long)

NontradZag
02-26-2010, 09:26 AM
First off, this story is going to be a little "WhooHoo-esque".

I graduated from GU in 2007 as a non-traditional student. I work in downtwon Spokane, so I would walk the centennial trial to class, walk back to work and drive to my home in Coeur d'Alene to do homework. Working a full-time job and having a wife and young son at home seemed to prevent me from using my student status to get a free ticket.

So, even though I went to and graduated from GU, I had never attended a game.

A couple of weeks ago, Angelo posted on the board that he had one ticket to the SMC game, and that "if you wanted it, to email him and convince him that you deserved the ticket." Well, I emailed him. The SMC game came and went. No such luck receiving the ticket.

On Wednesday the 24th, I received an email in my gonzaga email account saying that "you have been activated from the waitlist for the Santa Clara game." My first reaction was of shock. I never put my name on a waiting list for tickets. I assumed, for whatever reason, that even though I didn't get the ticket for SMC, that Angelo or someone had put my name on a waitlist for tickets.

Fast forward to last night's game. I get off work, kill an hour or so at REI, then drive over to the campus. I figure I will pick up my ticket, go over to Jack & Dan's for a quick brew, and head into the game. I have really no idea where I need to pick up my tickets, so I wander over to the South entrance and stand by the Will Call booths on the outside. This was at about 6:15 last night.

At 6:30, the Will Call booths open. I step up to the appropriate lane for my last name, hand them my ID and ask for my ticket.