PDA

View Full Version : President Obama picks Zags to advance to the.....

2k4knight
02-19-2010, 08:51 AM
So, I just wanted to relay to you all a little encounter I had yesterday with President Obama.

I live in Denver and the President came for a couple of fundraisers to support US Senator Michael Bennet. I have been working for one of Colorado's more prominent elected officials since I graduated from GU in 2007 and I was lucky enough to staff him yesterday for the events with the President.

I knew that there was a slim chance that I might get a few seconds with the President during a photo opportunity. Myself and my roommate (who works in the same office as me) brainstormed for a full 24 hours debating what I should say with my ten seconds with the President. Should I ask him what his favorite book is? Should I ask him how his meeting with the dalai lama went yesterday morning? No....I decided since he is such a hoops fan, as am I, that I would ask him how far my Zags were going to go in the tournament?

As the day wore on it looked like timing was not going to allow me to get my chance. But luck was on my side and I ended up in a room with a hand-full of high paying donors waiting to get there picture taken. As I neared the front of the line I was strangely not nervous at all. My time came, I shook hands with the President and Senator Bennet and as we smiled for the camera I said out of the corner of my mouth...."How far are you going to have my Zags in the tournament this year?"

........Silence..........Thoughts began racing through my head as seconds ticked by and the President was silent. Was I not supposed to ask questions with my few seconds of time with him? Did he somehow think the Zags were some nomad tribe causing problems in some far away country and I was trying to talk policy with him??