PDA

View Full Version : De-De-De-De-Fence



BobZag
02-12-2010, 11:12 AM
With an assist from CDC84--

SEASON AVERAGES:

Portland = 47.0% FG, 39.8% 3 PT, 72.5 PPG
Memphis = 45.0% FG, 37.5% 3 PT, 75.2 PPG
St. Mary's = 49.3% FG, 41.6% 3PT, 81.4 PPG


VERSUS GONZAGA:

Portland = 35.8% FG, 27.3% 3PT, 48 total points
Memphis = 39.6% FG, 28.6% 3PT, 58 total points
St. Mary's = 37.3%, 30.0% 3PT, 61 total points

Kiddwell
02-12-2010, 11:35 AM
Last night's second half "D" was...sweet. :boxing:

:]

U Zig, I Zag
02-12-2010, 11:40 AM
Looking good Zags. Keep it up!

lothar98zag
02-12-2010, 12:12 PM
http://kenpom.com/expsked.php?team=Gonzaga

Def Eff over the last 3:
Por 80.2
Mem 85.4
SMC 90.4

The only games this season w/ better Def Eff -
Aug, EWU, IUPUFW, USD


Also, here's the deff eff from the earlier games (home vs road affects it a bit, but still)
@ Por 120.2
@ SMC 116.2
2 of 3 worst of the year.



:clap: :clap:

VinnyZag
02-12-2010, 01:30 PM
http://kenpom.com/expsked.php?team=Gonzaga

Def Eff over the last 3:
Por 80.2
Mem 85.4
SMC 90.4

The only games this season w/ better Def Eff -
Aug, EWU, IUPUFW, USD


Also, here's the deff eff from the earlier games (home vs road affects it a bit, but still)
@ Por 120.2
@ SMC 116.2
2 of 3 worst of the year.



:clap: :clap:

Just for people who aren't familiar with defensive efficiency, getting in the mid- to high-90s in defensive efficiency is very good.

Jedster
02-12-2010, 02:24 PM
To add, from Meehan's Day after post:

Impressive


For the third straight game, Gonzaga held an opponent well under its typical scoring total. Portland managed 49 points, 23 under its average, and Memphis scored 58, 17 below its standard. Saint Maryís finished with 61 points, 20 below its average.

More impressive


shooting percentages: Portland 35.8, Memphis 39.6 and Saint Maryís 37.3

SMC's is even more impressive because they shot 49% in the first half.

Most impressive


Saint Maryís made only seven second-half field goals. Clint Steindlís 3-pointer came with 10:07 left and the Gaels didnít make another basket until 1:09 remained. They made five free throws during that stretch.

Way to go Zags!

Bocco
02-12-2010, 02:45 PM
De-De-De-De-Fence wins games, unfortunately there were a few games when it wasn't there, it's nice to see it back.

ZagNative
02-12-2010, 02:56 PM
I understand only about half of what I know about RPI and KenPom ratings, but I checked last night to see what effect the win over St. Mary's had on our RPI and KenPom rating.

Our KenPom rating rank went from 42 to 39, while St. Mary's rank went from 43 to 52, so while we went up three spots, St. Mary's fell nine.

Here's the comparison of the Zags' and Gaels' offensive and defensive efficiency rankings (http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AZS-nUo5WL0rZGZ3cWpqcHpfOGhwMjJkZmcz&hl=en) before and after our game last night. (First row = before, second row = after.)

For our RPI, we're currently #16. I believe we were #24 just before the game.

There's an absolute ton of information about our stats on statsheet.com (http://statsheet.com/mcb/teams/gonzaga). Fabulous site! Our projected strength of schedule seems to have "skyrocketed" from a lowly 131 at the start of the season all the way up to a "lofty" 130. ;)

ID ZAGFAN
02-12-2010, 03:40 PM
Rewatching the game on ESPNU. Bardo just said "Sant Mary's can't figure out the defensive juggernaut of Gonzaga."

:clap:

YESSSSSSS!

ID ZAGFAN

rijman
02-12-2010, 03:43 PM
Thanks for the stats. The Zags have really stepped up the D the last 3 games. It looks like the USF loss was for the best. The Zags play has since improved against even better teams. After USF I was concerned about the Zags going on a losing streak, it's happened this year to big time programs such as UConn, UNC and Texas, but instead they turned it around and appear to be playing their best. Big time kudos to the coaching staff for their efforts to get this team inspired and ready for their recent wins.