PDA

View Full Version : Fr. Hightower



zagalum93
01-13-2010, 08:13 PM
I'm a first time poster, but read frequently. I love hearing all the opinions and links y'all post. On a non-basketball related note, please pray for Fr. Craig Hightower, who sits at the end of the bench for every game. His niece, Molly, works in an orphanage in Haiti. She has not yet been accounted for. Please keep Fr. and his family in your prayers.

Kiddwell
01-13-2010, 08:32 PM
Yes, God's blessings and miracles for that whole situation. May God be with the rescuers, those trapped in rubble, the seriously injured, those displaced from their homes.

:]

Zaghawk shock
01-13-2010, 08:46 PM
I pray that the Lord shows himself strong and merciful in this ugly situation. I pray that they turn to his care and trust in Him. And that he strenthens those who have suffered lose or those awaiting news. Amen

sullyzag66
01-13-2010, 10:53 PM
Molly Hightower is a recent graduate of the University of Portland. The campus has been holding prayer vigils all day, and, according to local news there is still no word on her whereabouts.

Prayers and best wishes for her and her family and friends.

Zagineer
01-13-2010, 11:33 PM
For 12 years from 1992 to 2004, my work required me to spend over 25% of my time in the Caribbean and Central America on trips ranging from 2 to 4 weeks each. (Not in resorts, but with the blue collar workers.) In that time I have found that underneath the burden of poverty and the publicity of crime and violence, there is a substantial base of wonderful, faithfilled, beautiful people. As such, I have been praying for them since I first heard of the earthquake.

And now we find out that this disaster has hit closer to home than geography would first lead us to believe.

My prayers will continue.

PilotNut
01-14-2010, 09:26 AM
Thoughts and prayers continue for Molly, and everyone else touched by this tragedy.

Here is the related thread/information on PilotNation: http://pilotfans.users-board.net/general-discussion-f3/pilots-in-haiti-t2929.htm

Here is a picture of Molly from the Oregonian:
http://i17.servimg.com/u/f17/12/07/77/08/highto10.jpg

http://www.oregonlive.com/news/index.ssf/2010/01/post_85.html

LongIslandZagFan
01-14-2010, 09:52 AM
:pray:

For Fr. Hightower, Molly and her family, and everyone else in Haiti.

PiliotNut... would you mind crossposting any news you get over here?

gamagin
01-14-2010, 09:58 AM
For 12 years from 1992 to 2004, my work required me to spend over 25% of my time in the Caribbean and Central America on trips ranging from 2 to 4 weeks each. (Not in resorts, but with the blue collar workers.) In that time I have found that underneath the burden of poverty and the publicity of crime and violence, there is a substantial base of wonderful, faithfilled, beautiful people. As such, I have been praying for them since I first heard of the earthquake.

And now we find out that this disaster has hit closer to home than geography would first lead us to believe. My prayers will continue.

there but for the grace of god . . .

mendiant
01-14-2010, 11:29 AM
thank you for the info...

prayers for all who are in Haiti now and their friends and relatives.

Salsageek
01-14-2010, 12:35 PM
Prayers to all those who are affected by this.


For those who wish to donate you can text "Haiti" to 90999
This goes to the Red Cross and you will see $10 on your next phone bill.

American Airlines is handing out bonus miles for every $50 donation so you might able to score extra bonus miles.

http://american.redcross.org/site/PageServer?pagename=corp_evergreen&s_company=americanairlines-pub&s_companycontent=americanairlines-pub&s_active=1&s_dis1=0&s_dis2=0&s_dis3=1&s_genops=0&s_national=0&s_military=0&s_international=1&s_local=0&s_match=0&s_src=FZZWGW00&s_subsrc=americanairlines-pub


No matter who you go through just beware of scams.

lothar98zag
01-14-2010, 12:40 PM
:pray:

sullyzag66
01-15-2010, 07:25 AM
Sadly, Molly Hightower did not survive this tragic ordeal. Oregonian article here. (http://www.oregonlive.com/news/index.ssf/2010/01/family_says_remains_of_up_grad.html)

ZagMan in Philly
01-15-2010, 07:27 AM
Rest in peace Molly, you are a true hero.

LongIslandZagFan
01-15-2010, 07:33 AM
RIP Molly... my prayers to the Hightower family and the UP community as well.

75Zag
01-15-2010, 07:52 AM
Peace to the extended family. Molly Hightower sacrificed her life to help orphans.

What can we do today to help the poor and suffering of the world?

GoZags
01-15-2010, 08:31 AM
Rest in peace, Molly Hightower. You are an inspiration.

kitzbuel
01-15-2010, 08:49 AM
FWIW, it is the Urban Search and Rescue team from my county, Fairfax County, that is searching the school. They are one thing that I do not mind my county taxes going to, they are the best in the world.

cjm720
01-15-2010, 08:50 AM
So sad. RIP.

HillBillyZag
01-15-2010, 08:54 AM
Our prayers are for her family & friends. SERVICE & LOVE are the key words here.

PilotNut
01-15-2010, 08:55 AM
What can we do today to help the poor and suffering of the world?

http://www.up.edu/shownews.aspx?id=3937


University establishes Haiti Relief Fund to assist those affected by earthquake

The University of Portland community’s response to the devastating earthquake in Haiti this week has been one of prayerful solidarity, hopeful petitions for the safety of our alumnae and all others there, and offers to provide financial assistance. The University is accepting donations for relief efforts and will split all money received evenly between Catholic Relief Services and the Holy Cross Community.

“We pray for the people of Haiti and those whose lives were devastated by the earthquake,” said University President, Rev. E. William Beauchamp, C.S.C. “We pray for those who have lost their lives and for those who grieve their loss, we pray for the injured and for those who have lost everything. This is a people who will need our prayers and our assistance for months, if not years, to come.”

Catholic Relief Services has been excellent at providing immediate, short term assistance in disaster situations overseas. CRS staff is already in place in Haiti providing food and relief supplies . For over 60 years, Holy Cross Priests, Brothers and Sisters have been ministering, teaching and caring for the people of Haiti. Many of their buildings have been destroyed in the earthquake.

To donate to the Haiti Relief Fund , please make checks payable to the University of Portland and note “Haiti Relief Fund” in the memo. Checks can be sent to the Development Office, which will collect funds until Jan. 22, 2010. In addition, donations can be given online on the secure University website. Please follow this link and look for the fourth category listed, “Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund”: https://webster.up.edu/giveonline/ (https://webster.up.edu/giveonline/)

The University will also be celebrating a special Mass on Saturday, January 16 at noon in prayer for the safe recovery of 2009 graduate Molly Hightower, who was working in Haiti at an orphanage and who has been missing since the earthquake struck. All members of the community, especially young alumni of the University, are invited to attend.

In addition to the work already being done in Haiti, Catholic Relief Services is helping coordinate efforts to collect additional necessities such as plastic sheeting, hygiene kits, mosquito nets and water purification tablets. These supplies are being loaded in the Dominican Republic for distribution in Haiti.

"Search and rescue will have to find people in the rubble, treat people who are injured, secure food and water, and set up shelter for the homeless," said Bill Canny, CRS director of emergency operations. "We will be working hard to bring help to these people who have suffered so much."

Holy Cross missionaries first came to Haiti in 1944 to direct an existing secondary school in Cap Haitien. That initial mission, now called College Notre-Dame, sparked the establishment of other Holy Cross educational, social and parochial ministries throughout Haiti, now organized as the Province of Notre-Dame du Perpetual Secours with 70 religious, including two Holy Cross bishops.

“As a University community we pray in a special way for the safety and well-being of members of our community who live and work in Haiti, as well as the Holy Cross religious who make that place their home,” Beauchamp said.

Lurknomore
01-15-2010, 09:29 AM
My heart breaks for the family. Peace and prayers.

BobZag
01-15-2010, 09:47 AM
This is incredibly sad. RIP, Molly, and best thoughts to Fr. Hightower and family.

sittingon50
01-15-2010, 10:10 AM
The word "superstar" is used way too much in athletics.

Molly was one.

Heaven got a great one. RIP.

titopoet
01-15-2010, 10:54 AM
Father,

We thank you for gift of Molly. Her life of service humbles us. May peace be with her family. May we never forget her smile, her passion, or her faith. Her life, cut horribly short, blessed us

Amen

wazmix
01-15-2010, 04:54 PM
The UP site is where I think my donation will go.
I regret that I didn't hear about her before this week.
I love people who DO SOMETHING.

(The blog and video is powerful stuff.)

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=25683

TheBeast
01-15-2010, 05:25 PM
:(

KitsapZag
01-15-2010, 06:18 PM
I was surprised to find this connection to the Zags.

Molly was from Port Orchard.

Here is the article currently in our local paper website:





Hightower's sister, Jordan, wrote of the death of Molly this morning on her Twitter account.

"We love you Molly more then you will ever know or understand. We know you are watching us and smiling your brilliant smile," she wrote shortly after reporting that her family learned Molly's body had been found.

Her alma mater, Belarmine Prepatory School in Tacoma, is honoring her this morning with an hour-and-a-half long memorial service that began at 9:30 a.m., according to a school staffer.



Read more: http://www.kitsapsun.com/news/2010/jan/14/port-orchard-woman-still-missing-in-haiti/#ixzz0ck35GzL9

LynetteG
01-15-2010, 06:25 PM
Wow, so sad. Many blessings and prayers to Fr Hightower and family in this difficult time.

MedZag
01-15-2010, 09:30 PM
Reading her blog brought me nearly to tears. What a special woman.

wazmix
01-15-2010, 10:25 PM
When people pass away, their greatness becomes exaggerated, and it's like they never did a bad thing or had a bad thought in their life..........
..............but that blog reads like documentation of an angel who lived on Earth for a short time.

I'm just having trouble with her work stopping so abruptly, like it was for nothing.

But it can't be for nothing.

If you believe in anything, you have to believe that work for handicapped children in poor countries is the highest pursuit possible.
Molly's success in Haiti can't be measured by "525,600 minutes."
Just each day with the children.
I guess that's all any of us have, whatever we do.

The current outpouring of support will inspire other Molly Hightowers, throughout the world.

Today, we also celebrate the "Miracle on the Hudson," from last year.
Let's hope there are some miracles in Haiti in the next few days as well.

MJ777
01-15-2010, 11:44 PM
It might sound cliche to say Molly is in a better place now, but I truly believe she is. May God provide comfort to her family and friends for their loss. And yes, may there be many miracles in Haiti in the coming days and weeks.

Rangerzag
01-16-2010, 04:42 AM
From the News Tribune, Saturday, Jan 16
http://www.thenewstribune.com/merryman/story/1030744.html



http://media.thenewstribune.com/smedia/2010/01/16/01/16HIGHTOWER_P.standalone.prod_affiliate.5.jpg

Hightower family courtesy photo
Molly Hightower wanted to work in international adoptions, to help connect families with kids, just like the ones she cared for at Pediatrique Saint Damien in Haiti. Her body was found in the rubble of the building after Tuesday’s quake. Hightower family courtesy photo.

Hope lost, but not faith
KATHLEEN MERRYMAN; THE NEWS TRIBUNE
Published: 01/16/10 12:05 am | Updated: 01/16/10 1:51 am
Molly Hightower backed her faith with her work.
As Haiti crumbled Tuesday, that work cost the 22-year-old her life.
Her father, Mike Hightower, sent an e-mail message early Friday to friends who had been hoping against time and physics for Molly’s survival in a collapsed building.
“We received the call we did not want,” Mike Hightower wrote from the family’s home in Port Orchard. “Molly’s body has been recovered. Thank you for the prayers you all offered and the respect you have shown my family.”
The family learned Thursday that a search-and-rescue team from Fairfax, Va., had arrived at the building where Molly lived in Petionville, a hilly, affluent suburb of Port-au-Prince. They hoped to bring news of Molly’s rescue to a Friday morning mass for her at Tacoma’s Bellarmine Preparatory School, from which she graduated in 2005.
Instead, Molly’s family and the Bellarmine community prayed for Molly’s soul.
Her body had been found in the rubble of the Friends of the Orphans building where she worked and lived. The seven-story building pancaked in the quake.
On Thursday, while the Fairfax crew searched for Molly, Bellarmine teachers and two of Molly’s uncles met with media at the school. Defying the odds, they spoke of Molly in the present tense.
“Molly does physical therapy with the kids,” said her uncle, the Rev. Craig Hightower, a Jesuit priest at Gonzaga Univeristy. “Some of them are abandoned because of their handicaps. Some are dying. She holds some as they get better, and some as they die.”
Molly graduated from the University of Portland last spring, and headed for Haiti to work a year before attending graduate school.
She kept a blog in which she wrote of attending too many children’s funerals. The nearby pediatric hospital, she told friends, loses two to three children a day.
She did not understand how a mother could abandon a 7-year old with a cleft palate.
She loved a quirky girl with Down syndrome who demanded to borrow Molly’s sunglasses.
Molly’s plan was to work in international adoptions, finding families for kids.
“She wanted to make it her life’s work,” the Rev. Hightower said.
Molly had come home for eight days before Christmas, taken her graduate record exams, attended a friend’s wedding and started two shoe drives. One was in Port Orchard and one in Naselle, where her aunt and uncle Christina and Mark Zimmerman live.
“They collected 422 pairs,” Mark Zimmerman said Thursday at Bellarmine. “That’s how dedicated she is to the orphans.”
On her blog, Molly wrote about her break back in Washington, and about enjoying the comfort foods of home.
“I ate at 10 different fast-food places and drank copious amounts of grande peppermint mocha frappachinos. For Christmas, I then received a frappachino maker which I sadly had to pack away.”
It was hard for Molly to return to Haiti before Christmas, and be away from her family for the first time for the holiday. Still, she managed to keep one tradition: On the evening of Dec. 24, she watched “Christmas Eve on Sesame Street” on television.
After the holiday, she went back to her routine of physical therapy in the pool and on horseback, working with autistic children, translating documents from French to English, teaching moms to do embroidery.
“She is patient, kind and strong, all the Jesuit principles,” said Shannon Casey, who teaches English at Bellarmine and coached Molly in cross country. “She is exactly the kind of student we try to produce at Bellarmine.”
Molly earned places in honors and Advance Placement classes.
“She seeks challenges, and enjoys challenges,” Casey said.
One of those was playing catcher on the Bellarmine fast-pitch team, said her coach, Craig Coovert.
Her tall, lanky body didn’t naturally fit the position, and standard catcher’s equipment didn’t fit her, but she was determined to play it and played it well.
“She’s one of those infectious personalities,” Coovert said. “She brightens up a room.”
Until Friday morning, extended family at the Hightower home in Port Orchard held firm to the hope that Molly would be found alive.
“Keep on praying everyone! Keep on praying!! We know good things are on the way!” Jordan Hightower, Molly’s 24-year-old sister, wrote to hundreds of Facebook friends Thursday evening. “HOPE AND FAITH ARE THE WORDS. Miracles happen and Molly Mackenzie Hightower is a miracle waiting to be found!!!”
Now, instead of a miracle, Molly’s family is seeking comfort in their faith.
“This morning we received word that they have recovered Molly’s body,” her big sister wrote. “She is now with our Lord and we take peace in this. We love and miss her with all of our hearts.”
Kathleen Merryman: 253-597-8677

SUSpokanative
01-16-2010, 09:08 AM
Father Hightower and all of your family - I heard your eloquent words at Bellarmine yesterday, and all of our thoughts and prayers are with you. We thank Molly and yourself for your devotion and spirit that makes us all humble and thankful. Those of us who have benefited from the Jesuit tradition are particularly appreciative of all that you have sacrificed for and provided to our community.
We will continue to pray for your family and for the victems of the tragedy in Haiti.

BobZag
01-16-2010, 09:26 AM
Reading her blog brought me nearly to tears.

Wait till you get older, MedZag. Wait till you get older.

surfmonkey89
01-16-2010, 10:03 AM
If you are considering making a donation, they've set up a page in Molly's honor at www.friendsoftheorphans.com/molly.

BTW, not only was Molly the niece of Fr Hightower, she was also the niece and goddaughter of Therese Hightower, part of the Gonzaga family, class of '89 (my class).

U Zig, I Zag
01-16-2010, 10:32 AM
So sad. That whole situation is sad. I don't question my faith but I question the ways of the world often.

The ONLY thing that comes from these situations is a coming together by the world's people, tribes and countries.

Before I get all teary-eyed from seeing reports of the massive outpouring to this devastated area I pause for a second and think that people like Molly were there all along - helping long before most of us bothered to care.

Godspeed, Molly.

77Zag
01-16-2010, 01:04 PM
:pray: :pray:

Such a sad story. Our prayers for Molly, family, the Reverend and all the people of Haiti.
Pray for all that are aiding the rescue and a speedy recovery to normalcy for this entire country.

Rangerzag
01-20-2010, 12:08 AM
ref: http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/tribnet/obituary.aspx?n=molly-hightower&pid=138696377

MOLLY HIGHTOWER

http://mi-cache.legacy.com/legacy/images/Cobrands/Tribnet/Photos/13891991_20100119.jpg

Molly Mackenzie Hightower March 29, 1987 - January 12, 2010 Our darling Molly was tragically taken from us by the Haitian earthquake doing the thing she loved the most - helping and caring for disabled children. Molly was born in 1987 and lived in Pacific until 1994, when the family moved to Port Orchard. She graduated from Bellarmine Prep, where she participated in cross-country and fastpitch softball, playing catcher. She was a talented flautist. Molly attended the University of Portland, studying abroad in Paris one summer. She graduated in May 2009 with a triple major, French, Sociology and Psychology. In her 22 years on this earth, Molly accomplished more than most people do in a lifetime. She loved traveling and visited Las Vegas, Disneyland, New York, Paris, Rome, and London. Yet, most of all, Molly wanted to make a difference in children's lives. She made the decision to volunteer in Haiti, working with abandoned and disabled children. This was her passion. Molly will forever remain in the hearts of her family and those who were touched by her friendship and compassion. She is survived by her parents Mike and Mary of Port Orchard, her beautiful siblings, sister Jordan and brothers Zach and Sean, who she loved with all of her heart, grandparents John and Annette Hightower of Renton, and Barney Barkshire of Gig Harbor, aunts and uncles Paul and Margot Hightower of Federal Way, Therese Hightower of San Francisco, Christina and Mark Zimmerman of Rosburg, Craig Hightower S.J. of Spokane, Jeff and Kiko Hightower of Chinook, Jerry Barkshire of Olalla, Pam and Mick Deines of Gig Harbor, great aunts and uncles Earl Zuelke of Helena, Rev. Lee Hightower of Lakewood, Marshall Lewis of Seattle, Art and Mary Fran Barkshire of Seattle, and Marie O'Neill of Tri-Cities, cousins Matt, Meg, Katie, Dominique, Meghan, Travis, Ali, Brady, Nicholas, Olivia, Isabel, Broghan, Hailey, Mick and Jake. Molly will forever remain in the hearts of her family, friends and those who were touched by her compassion and dedication for children. May her life be an inspiration to volunteer and make a difference in our World. Funeral Mass will be celebrated Wednesday, January 20, 2010 at 11:00am at St. John Bosco Catholic Church in Lakewood. Memorial donations can be made to Molly's Passion, the children. www.friendsoftheorphans.org/molly (http://www.friendsoftheorphans.org/molly). Please leave online condolences at www.GaffneyCares.com (http://www.gaffneycares.com/). Arrangements by Gaffney Funeral Home, 253-572-6003.


Published in News Tribune (Tacoma) on January 19, 2010