PDA

View Full Version : What Happened to Gray?



Ezag
12-05-2009, 03:05 PM
While I acknowledge his contributions in Maui and the end of Wazzu game and have no criticism of his defense, his lack of offense is the past 2 games is disturbing.

MississppiZag
12-05-2009, 03:09 PM
Return to old form.

Just A Zag
12-05-2009, 03:17 PM
cut the hair!

JosephZags
12-05-2009, 03:57 PM
His inability to make big shots in high-pressure moments is disappointing. Two missed 3's at the end of the Mich St game...two more tonight, as well as the free throw misses.

TM27
12-05-2009, 03:58 PM
I am more concerned about Sacre? His D effort tonight was a step slow. Same with 3/4ths of WSU. We finish the second straight game with 2 starters on the bench? Cmon Meech, cmon Sacre....

Very impressed with the moxy of this team.As good as Bol is from behind the arc he as bad on the other end of the floor.

1973Zag
12-05-2009, 04:56 PM
Think we might be seeing a lot more Bol& Manny

SpokastSports
12-05-2009, 06:12 PM
He's been collecting some nice little bruises the last two physical game. He was holding his groin and man-region during WAZZU after a guy incidentally knee-d him in the area. He also fell harshly in the second half tonight on his back. Let alone the lack of flow this game had.

Puddy
12-05-2009, 06:17 PM
Steven is a huge disapointment to me this season. For all reasons stated above. And im tired of seeing him dribble into the lane with his loose handles and nowhere to go. he either pulls up for an akward shot or turns it over. Ive seen same thing all season long. Like any shooter he can hit a hot streak but they to have been so far and few between. I really want to see more Manny and less Gray. Manny to me can play so many positions with his length and athletic ability. He is so much more versatile on defense then Gray. He can gaurd the point up the floor, he lock down any gaurd, and i saw him match up very well with Aminu (future 1st rd. pick). We need that. Take notice of Manny's abiltiy to get rebounds on missed free throws both offensive and defensive. I really hope Gray can get his game together. If not i believe Manny or even Kong are waitng to pick up the slack.

jim77
12-05-2009, 06:30 PM
I think the guy has played outstanding defense. I look at defense this way: If he prevents a bucket, its one less the team needs to make up. Neither klay nor Aminu hurt as bad as they have hurt others....Gray is a big reason why. The other teams had better respet his shot cause he's dangerous from the 3....slump or no slump. I also think the amount of energy he expends on defense probably costs him some leggs which can affect his shot. I'm glad we have him to "D-up" anymore "scoreres" we may encounter. Its great to have Kong to help fill the void.

surfmonkey89
12-05-2009, 06:33 PM
I think the guy has played outstanding defense. I look at defense this way: If he prevents a bucket, its one less the team needs to make up. Neither klay nor Aminu hurt as bad as they have hurt others....Gray is a big reason why. The other teams had better respet his shot cause he's dangerous from the 3....slump or no slump. I also think the amount of energy he expends on defense probably costs him some leggs which can affect his shot. I'm glad we have him to "D-up" anymore "scoreres" we may encounter. Its great to have Kong to help fill the void.

While I don't disagree, this team doesn't get very far with Gray as a defensive specialist. I'm glad he's developed this part of his game, but we need some O too.

ETA: I'm not saying Gray should be benched. We just need more O, that's all.

SpokastSports
12-05-2009, 06:34 PM
I strongly disagree that Steven should be taken out. Granted he's struggled the last two games, but look at his assist to turnover rate. These are two of the three games he's turned the ball over more than completed an assist. The other one was 3 TO's to 0 AST's and it was the game he scored 27. We jump off of players so quickly, it's ridiculous.

NEC26
12-05-2009, 06:36 PM
I think the guy has played outstanding defense. I look at defense this way: If he prevents a bucket, its one less the team needs to make up. Neither klay nor Aminu hurt as bad as they have hurt others....Gray is a big reason why. The other teams had better respet his shot cause he's dangerous from the 3....slump or no slump. I also think the amount of energy he expends on defense probably costs him some leggs which can affect his shot. I'm glad we have him to "D-up" anymore "scoreres" we may encounter. Its great to have Kong to help fill the void.

First off Gray wasn't guarding Aminu, second everyone else plays defense too how come they aren't missing shots and turning the ball over at alarming rates? You can't deny it he isn't playing great right now.

silsbee
12-05-2009, 06:37 PM
I'm a bit perplexed with Gray, myself, but even moreso with Meech and Sacre. Gray seemed out of place tonight, and, in my opinion, his defense wasn't enough to justify him being out there so much. Manny did a better job tonight both offensively and on D; I'd like to see more of him.

Meech is so frantic. He's fast, which is fun, but he just plays so haphazardly. And the technical? Yeah, don't do that. Maybe he's constantly paranoid that someone (GJ?) will take his spot and is trying to overcompensate, but it's just making him frazzled.

And Rob. He started out good, then fizzled. Maybe he's just having a slump, but I hope he pulls himself together. They need him to. I'm starting to feel bad for Matt, he's not getting much help from the three players he should most be able to rely on.

I'm not one to question Few and co, having played limited ball, and with absolutely no coaching experience, but I don't think it would hurt any to go with a different starting lineup on Wed, just for kicks. Preferably, I'd run with the group that made the comeback in the WSU game: Bouldin, Gibbs, Arop, Olynyk, and Harris (assuming he can play). They played calm, cool, and collected during a sizeable deficit. It wouldn't be permanent, obviously, but since this is just going to be a glorified exhibition game, why not? If nothing else, maybe Steven, Meech and Rob can regroup and recollect what made them starters in the first place.

bballbeachbum
12-05-2009, 06:37 PM
I don't see him squaring up with his shots all that often. Would make a BIG, BIG difference.

Mal, mark it down...I agree. His feet are too close together underneath him, not squared under his shoulders imho...seen this for awhile, didn't want to say anything

very correctable, in fact, one of the easiest things to address with a shooter I'd say

also, because he is absolutely selling out on the D end, squaring up soundly is even more important since he's using his legs crazy like on D

rijman
12-05-2009, 06:38 PM
We miss Gray's offense, but Manny and Bol stepped up. Gray could have turned his game around by hitting all 3 FT's in the end, but he only hit one. I have higher expectations for Gray on the offensive end then he delivered the past 2 games. Gray's O was disappointing and so were FT's, which could have changed the outcome of this game. Where is Raivio when you need him?

dim4sum
12-05-2009, 06:42 PM
Like I said in the long game thread, it looks like both Steven and Meech will be losing playing time to Kong and Arop.
Why not this: rest Sacre, put Arop in the middle, Kong and Harris on the wings and use Bouldin as the one pure guard with Kong occasionally dropping back (handles permitting) to occasionally bring up the ball. Olynik replaces Meech as a sometimes guard. Meech is simply not cutting it with any kind of consistency and Vilarino isn't ready.Ricky Bell, where are you now that we need you?
The lineup thus would be:
Harris
Arop
Olynik
Bouldin
Kong

That's a lineup that would score in the mid-eighties

jim77
12-05-2009, 06:51 PM
First off Gray wasn't guarding Aminu, second everyone else plays defense too how come they aren't missing shots and turning the ball over at alarming rates? You can't deny it he isn't playing great right now.

I'm saying everything he does doesn't show up in the boxscore...and you can chalk up a couple more "L's" without him. Please tell me who is the best 1 on 1 defender we have is?......Meech is also good as long as the other guy isn't too tall. Should he have hit his freethrows? YES. Should the coach substitue for him at times? YES. The body of his work and his KNOWN shooting abilites...as well as his ability to cover a scoring type guard dictate he play the minutes he does....the coach thinks so too.

Ezag
12-05-2009, 07:03 PM
Every year Few says Gray is the best shooter on the team and every year that is the Jinx

Frazzle
12-05-2009, 07:14 PM
Think we might be seeing a lot more Bol& Manny

Can't say I disagree. If Kong can figure out the system, he might be our best spot up shooter.

LongIslandZagFan
12-05-2009, 07:22 PM
Let see... ppg up from last year. 3pt% up from last year. FG% about the same as last year. Could he improve his shooting... yes. But I am floored that people are actually complaining about someone who plays stellar D and manages to average double digits. Nice set of priorities people. :mad:

bballbeachbum
12-05-2009, 07:24 PM
Let see... ppg up from last year. 3pt% up from last year. FG% about the same as last year. Could he improve his shooting... yes. But I am floored that people are actually complaining about someone who plays stellar D and manages to average double digits. Nice set of priorities people. :mad:

No ####...what a joke.

jim77
12-05-2009, 07:32 PM
Like I said in the long game thread, it looks like both Steven and Meech will be losing playing time to Kong and Arop.
Why not this: rest Sacre, put Arop in the middle, Kong and Harris on the wings and use Bouldin as the one pure guard with Kong occasionally dropping back (handles permitting) to occasionally bring up the ball. Olynik replaces Meech as a sometimes guard. Meech is simply not cutting it with any kind of consistency and Vilarino isn't ready.Ricky Bell, where are you now that we need you?
The lineup thus would be:
Harris
Arop
Olynik
Bouldin
Kong

That's a lineup that would score in the mid-eighties

Until you get up against another Cinncinati team (GATES). Having a big strong center pays dividends. Thats a good lineup I just think you're goona have to adjust depending on what the other guys have.

Meech is an intresting guy. Why would the coach even start him? He's not a great 3 shooter or an assist king, so why? I'll tell you why...cause he'll harass the sh$t out of the opposing player and he'll run you're tail end into the ground. This guy can wind another team and cause easy buckets because he pushes the ball so hard. How can you measure the fatique he causes to the other teams??? It isn't measured in the boxscore. He also disrupts the point of attack often...how do you measure that? Yes, he should have 3 shooting slumber paties in the kennel...and I think he'll get better at hitting them...I think he was 1 of 3 from 3 land.

Did you notice that quick guard that kept torching us in the 2nd half? You know why? Cause the coach benched Meech for the "T".....I think the coach erred in letting Meech sit till the end as it let that guy go off. Meech would have tackled that guy to slow him down ...not to mention he was the only player we had who was quick enough to slow him down. I kept hoping the coach would put him back in so that we could "d" that guard. We had already lost Elias.....losing meech punished the team....."L's" last forever...running "lines and or stairs""(after the game) cures ball slamming. The coach is consistent I'll give him that...he'll bench you're tail if you do something dumb.

surfmonkey89
12-05-2009, 07:34 PM
Anyone who remembers Anthony Hernandez knows that Few has an extremely short fuse when it comes to the stupid technical.

Few didn't screw up - Meech did.

jim77
12-05-2009, 07:48 PM
Anyone who remembers Anthony Hernandez knows that Few has an extremely short fuse when it comes to the stupid technical.

Few didn't screw up - Meech did.

He may have sacrificed a victory to teach Meech a lesson....and after what Elias was tossed for, He probably had had enough. Probably why he's won a bunch of games and I've won ZERO. Hope we got it all out of our system. EXPENSIVE LESSON.

dim4sum
12-05-2009, 08:28 PM
It still takes points to win. There's just a lack of offensive fluidity with Meech in there. This may come later in the season. In the meantime, Few should be considering some changes. The starting five should not be frozen in time and space from season start to season end. Try different starting scenarios--they may just work. Nonchalant play deserves space on the bench as does that dumb technical by Meech. What a momentum breaker.
As matters stand, Meech is not a double-double (points and assists) threat.
At the very minimum, try Manny for Meech. I think Manny got four assists today, Meech one. And Manny played under control, with a decidedly better
team orientation.

hondo
12-05-2009, 09:50 PM
Steven Gray is playing too many minutes. Just like Bouldin. And it's only a matter of time until Matty hits a wall as well.

I am hoping that the emergence of Kong and Arop can help give these guys some much needed rest.

kyle dixon
12-05-2009, 09:54 PM
The best break for the guys is Augustana and then the annual visit to Seattle for Davidson in the BIS. Good luck with finals boys and get some rest!

CaliforniaZaggin'
12-05-2009, 10:14 PM
More importantly, how will Steven ever regain his shooting form when the sky is clearly falling??

Two weeks ago people were blasting Bol Kong because of lack of 'toughness,' and tonight we're soliciting funds to build a statute in his honor. Maybe we should starting giving our guys the benefit of the doubt when they struggle individually and not rush to judgment.

TheMorrisonIsBack
12-05-2009, 10:16 PM
More importantly, how will Steven ever regain his shooting form when the sky is clearly falling??

Two weeks ago people were writing off Bol Kong because of lack of 'toughness,' and tonight we're soliciting funds to build a statute in his honor. Maybe we should starting giving our guys the benefit of the doubt when they struggle individually and not rush to judgment.

ok but Steven is a concern.. He was great in Maui, and borderline terrible offensively since. We KNOW he can be an offensive stud, so why can't he consistently find it? We need him to score if we want to be relevant this year in the college basketball world. Steven's last two games have been atrocious. Neg rep me if you want, but it's the truth.

FuManShoes
12-05-2009, 11:11 PM
Steven is a huge disapointment to me this season. For all reasons stated above. And im tired of seeing him dribble into the lane with his loose handles and nowhere to go. he either pulls up for an akward shot or turns it over. Ive seen same thing all season long. Like any shooter he can hit a hot streak but they to have been so far and few between. I really want to see more Manny and less Gray. Manny to me can play so many positions with his length and athletic ability. He is so much more versatile on defense then Gray. He can gaurd the point up the floor, he lock down any gaurd, and i saw him match up very well with Aminu (future 1st rd. pick). We need that. Take notice of Manny's abiltiy to get rebounds on missed free throws both offensive and defensive. I really hope Gray can get his game together. If not i believe Manny or even Kong are waitng to pick up the slack.

Apparently you didn't watch the Maui tourney. Otherwise, great post! :confused:

WallaWallaZag
12-05-2009, 11:34 PM
Apparently you didn't watch the Maui tourney. Otherwise, great post! :confused:

it's the person's first ever post...why even bother to respond???

anyways, yes we need steven to play more consistently on offense, but whether or not it happens he's not likely to lose playing time. if you went by some of the opinions on this board, we would have a different starting lineup every game. some people just tend to over-react and some people have no idea what they're talking about. and some people have short memories and forget that steven was mvp of maui and carried us against colorado...he's had two subpar games offensively...it happens. ask kobe or lebron. and it's not as if steven doesn't know his shot isn't falling...he took it aggressively to the hole in the 2nd half to try and compensate...you don't shoot 11 free throws on accident. yes, he choked on the free throws at the end, but unless you've made three in a row to even up the score at the end of a game before, well...

UberZagFan
12-05-2009, 11:42 PM
Remind Uber, GU has played 2 games since Maui, correct? Gray (note the "a" after the "r" and before the "y") was MVP of Maui? In the first game after Maui, Gray guarded the leading scorer in the nation for a large part of the game and held him to 12 or so points under his season average? Just trying to make sure Uber remembers this correctly.

Stache
12-06-2009, 10:15 AM
I tend to disagree about meech. I think there is some development left to do. Teams don't have to respect his shot, and the resulting sag is making Rob struggle with double teams. If the reason to have Meech out there is shut down defense, then I still have some questions. The point guards for WSU and WF penetrated and scored with great regularity. I don't know if Meech's defense is reason enough to trade off the offensive challenges. He is best in the open court and the delayed break for lay ups, but some opponents aren't go let us get into that sort of game. This is particularly true when we are getting outrebounded and not getting out in transition. Perhaps out point guard will be dictated by how our bigs are boarding?????

Xin Loi 67
12-06-2009, 05:13 PM
His inability to make big shots in high-pressure moments is disappointing. Two missed 3's at the end of the Mich St game...two more tonight, as well as the free throw misses.

I thought it was Bouldin who blew up in high pressure situations. Now I find out it's our stone cold, killer, 3 point shooter that can't handle the cooker.

He has been given specific assignments for the last couple of games. According to the team he's done his job. His offense well, every shooter has slumps as he has had several times here. He will tweak or just break out. He does his best free ranging hunting for a shot.

I think if there was 8 seconds left and Bouldin had the ball in hand with no shot he would look for Gray first. Steven will reverse the slump and will light up Puke. When, he breaks out, all will be well again. Anybody that's watched him play the last few years and read this board can vouch for that.

My observations are, if you criticize Gray's work one day you actually look bad the next, pattig him on the back. Bouldin wants him there, Few wants him there and I for one can't wait until the crow is served.

alldaye
12-06-2009, 06:09 PM
it's the person's first ever post...why even bother to respond???

anyways, yes we need steven to play more consistently on offense, but whether or not it happens he's not likely to lose playing time. if you went by some of the opinions on this board, we would have a different starting lineup every game. some people just tend to over-react and some people have no idea what they're talking about. and some people have short memories and forget that steven was mvp of maui and carried us against colorado...he's had two subpar games offensively...it happens. ask kobe or lebron. and it's not as if steven doesn't know his shot isn't falling...he took it aggressively to the hole in the 2nd half to try and compensate...you don't shoot 11 free throws on accident. yes, he choked on the free throws at the end, but unless you've made three in a row to even up the score at the end of a game before, well...

First off, it was a good post. Just because we haven't been on this board for a long time does not mean we don't know anything about Gonzaga Basketball.

I'm a huge fan of Manny, and I think we would be best with a starting lineup of Meech Matt Manny Elias and Rob. That said, I don't think demoting Steven to the bench is an option, because his confidence is obiously low at this point, demoting him to the bench might cause him to never regain his confidence. Also, I think Manny is a better defender than Steven. I thought Steven played well defensively against MSU, but since then his intensity has dropped a bit. Manny plays his heart out, rebounds, and defends, plus he has recently showed us his ability to score and pass. Bol also deserves some minutes (tho his defense is lackluster at times), especially when Matt and Steven finally need breaks from their 38 minute nights.

Though I am a critic of Meech offensively, I think his defense, heart and hard nosed football background is the catalyst for our team defensively. This year everyone has been talking about how our defense, grit and toughness has improved, and this is in large part because of Meech. His on ball d at the point of attack is what causes our defense to be better than years past.

tinfoilzag
12-06-2009, 06:25 PM
I remember the when I came to terms with the fact that Heytvelt was never going to be a conventional "back-to-the-basket" post player. Once I accepted it, I appreciated his play a lot more.

I've come to terms now with the fact that Gray is not a scorer. He's a utility guard who can go on offensive streaks.

My next hurdle with probably be accepting the fact that Kelly is best as a 3.

Birddog
12-06-2009, 06:27 PM
I thought Steven played well defensively against MSU, but since then his intensity has dropped a bit.
You're kidding, right?

alldaye
12-06-2009, 06:38 PM
no. To me Arop is the better defender. Though he played fairly well on Thompson, Arop played at least as well. It seems lso often that when someone scores and you look whos defending, its Steven. Maybe he has played decent defesnively and his just pure atrocious offense has blinded me. I would really like to see a plus minus stat on Gray since the Maui Invitational.

bballbeachbum
12-06-2009, 06:59 PM
no. To me Arop is the better defender. Though he played fairly well on Thompson, Arop played at least as well. It seems lso often that when someone scores and you look whos defending, its Steven. Maybe he has played decent defesnively and his just pure atrocious offense has blinded me. I would really like to see a plus minus stat on Gray since the Maui Invitational.

Judge Dredd has spoken. he did better, no he did better

peace

CaZagAlum
12-06-2009, 08:46 PM
I'm just curious as to how much someone's looks on the court help or hinder their play in basketball. Do you think someone with a hairstyle like, for instance, Turiaf/Gourd/Gray--even Matt--that catches your eye easily also allows the other team's defense to find them quicker or shut them down easier? The only 5-on-5 game I play is hockey and most people look the same with a helmet on, so I can't really relate.

CDC84
12-06-2009, 08:54 PM
Arop is not a better defender than Gray. His footwork isn't nearly as good, he has trouble containing the dribble drive, and he takes too many chances. What he does possess are more physical tools than Steven - a bigger wingspan and elite athleticism. Perhaps one day Manny will use those tools to becomes a better defender than Steven, but he's not there yet.

Zag79
12-07-2009, 03:22 AM
Steven is a huge disapointment to me this season. For all reasons stated above. And im tired of seeing him dribble into the lane with his loose handles and nowhere to go. he either pulls up for an akward shot or turns it over. Ive seen same thing all season long. Like any shooter he can hit a hot streak but they to have been so far and few between. I really want to see more Manny and less Gray. Manny to me can play so many positions with his length and athletic ability. He is so much more versatile on defense then Gray. He can gaurd the point up the floor, he lock down any gaurd, and i saw him match up very well with Aminu (future 1st rd. pick). We need that. Take notice of Manny's abiltiy to get rebounds on missed free throws both offensive and defensive. I really hope Gray can get his game together. If not i believe Manny or even Kong are waitng to pick up the slack.

zzz.zz.z.... gray is a must on the floor. best defensive player we have. great shooter, lock down d, mvp of MAUI, give it a break. he has to play, i think he may be tired from chasing every teams great player for 40 minutes, but he'll win us many more games this season.

Reborn
12-07-2009, 05:28 AM
I say it's better for the Zags to have it's fans pull for Steven to get through this slump quickly than it is to suddenly want to throw him under the bus and run over him. Steven's in his 3rd year as a Zag and has been a huge contributer to Gonzaga's program. He's a great basketball player and a great human being. Those of you who don't think he is don't know as much about basketball as you think you do. And if you believe that when a guy is struggling offensively you just bench him, you may never have played in a great basketball program, and imo, you are not a good team mate.

I know that there are a good number of ballplayers and coaches here on the GUboard, and most have had shooting slumps, or have coached players who have. I know I had a couple in my life and, believe me, they are not fun. The exact same thing happend to me in my last game in the state tounament my senior year in highschool, and it WAS NOT fun believe me. I had one my Junior year as well a few weeks prior to the state tournament. My coaches confidence in me is what got me through it, but I had to also spend time every night after practice shooting until I figured out what it was. It was mechanical. It usally is because shooting is so mechanical. You just need to do certain things right. My problem was that my shooting elbow was sliding out, and I had to get it back in.

I simply suggest that we, as fans, try a lot harder to support our guys when they have tough outings. Steven needs our support right now more than our criticisms. Oh and by the way, Steven has become a great defender. And he is a very good scorer. Don't give up on him. Please.

The same goes for Harris and Meech.

mgadfly
12-07-2009, 07:23 AM
Arop is not a better defender than Gray. His footwork isn't nearly as good, he has trouble containing the dribble drive, and he takes too many chances. What he does possess are more physical tools than Steven - a bigger wingspan and elite athleticism. Perhaps one day Manny will use those tools to becomes a better defender than Steven, but he's not there yet.

Does anyone know what Manny's Zag-measured vertical was this season, or mile time, or any of the other stuff they measure.

I think Gray is one of the best defenders we've had in quite awhile. We give him the toughest assignment every game and since a lot of fans only watch the ball (and scoring) don't notice what a good job he is doing. That said, I'm not sure he is the inferior athlete as they are our two most athletic players. Arop has an advantage where he can go all out for 12 minutes a game, take risks because we don't need him on the court and foul trouble isn't a concern, and is often times matched up with the other teams slower "3" or "4" (depending on who is in with him). Gray gets the other team's fastest/biggest scorer every game.

What I really love about Arop is how aggressive he is on the glass. He is always moving for an open position closer to the glass. Which is more of a mindset/skill than athleticism thing. Gray, more often stands and watches a rebound, or properly blocks out his man.

cjm720
12-07-2009, 10:23 AM
Nonchalant play deserves space on the bench as does that dumb technical by Meech.

This is another reason why I believe Coach Few has made brilliant decisions this season. You screw up, you're out (except Bouldin and Gray, up until this past game). There have been very few exceptions, and the players will either get it or they'll get passed up.

Go Zags!!!!!!!

EngineerZag
12-07-2009, 11:35 AM
Part of Meech's problem in the last couple games is that the team has not been "running with him". If you watch our first few games, including MSU, when the defensive rebound was collected and Meech got the outlet pass, the entire team would sprint down the floor and catch the defense off guard. This provided a ton of good, easy scoring opportunities. That style of play hasn't happened in the last couple of games for some reason.

seasontixholder
12-07-2009, 12:07 PM
Fans forget the funks that some of our best players went through at various times. Matt Santangelo struggled a little bit to adapt to sharing PG responsibilities early in his junior year. Derek Ravio the same when Pargo arrived. Steven's "lull" is picayunish by comparison. (Truth be told, Matt Bouldin arrived brimming with confidence, and played aggressively for a few early games as frosh. Then he cooperatively embraced a "defer" mentality that he didn't shed until a few games into this season, and it curtailed the full use of his multi-talents.)

Let's give these wonderful players more time to make adjustments. There's so much talent here.

Xin Loi 67
01-20-2010, 09:37 PM
I thought it was Bouldin who blew up in high pressure situations. Now I find out it's our stone cold, killer, 3 point shooter that can't handle the cooker.

He has been given specific assignments for the last couple of games. According to the team he's done his job. His offense well, every shooter has slumps as he has had several times here. He will tweak or just break out. He does his best free ranging hunting for a shot.

I think if there was 8 seconds left and Bouldin had the ball in hand with no shot he would look for Gray first. Steven will reverse the slump and will light up Puke. When, he breaks out, all will be well again. Anybody that's watched him play the last few years and read this board can vouch for that.

My observations are, if you criticize Gray's work one day you actually look bad the next, pattig him on the back. Bouldin wants him there, Few wants him there and I for one can't wait until the crow is served.

Please erase the Duke part from your memory if haven't already. The good part is Gray is bringing his game now and is having fun.

alaskazagnut
01-20-2010, 11:14 PM
Shave and a haircut... two bits!! It's not the hair on his head or his face. I would bet that if we track 90% of all the players in the NCAA we would see a similar trend. 66% of their games are average games where the athlete does his job, 16.5% of the games where the athlete is on fire and far surpasses his averages and 16.5% of his games he is far under his averages and is in a slump. So roughly, out of a 30 game schedule, 20 average games, 5 above great games and 5 below bad games. If we tracked the G-units and the Goats of each Zag game we would probably find Bouldin or Harris on 66% of them and some other guy on the other 33%. Not everyone can compete consistently every game to the best of their ability, especially kids who chase tail, drink, eat, study, and are involved in community, church or extra curricular activities. Its not easy to be their age. I am impressed that they can do all that they need to do AND make practices and perform at a level high enough to be a DivI athlete.

I don't ask "What happened to Grey", I ask "what happened to me!!":lmao:

Gray is amazing, they all are!!!