PDA

View Full Version : Meehan's Wake Forest Pre-game and other Pregame Press Coverage



ZagNative
12-05-2009, 12:18 AM
From Jim's blog (http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2009/dec/04/zags-entertain-demon-deacons/) today:
“We have to get ready for big-time athletes who can really run,” Gonzaga coach Mark Few said. “We haven’t seen a team athletically like this ever come into the McCarthey Center. It’s high-level ACC talent and athleticism.”
Aminu is averaging a double-double (17.1 points, 11 rebounds). He’s joined in the starting lineup by point guard Ishmael Smith (12.2 points, 5 assists), 6-4 guard L.D. Williams (8 points), 6-11 Tony Woods (4.3 points) and 7-foot center Chas McFarland (6.3 points, 7 rebounds), who blocked six shots against Purdue. Guard C.J. Harris (12.2 points), forward Ari Stewart and 6-11 senior David Weaver have been the primary bench contributors.

“I played with Al-Farouq last summer and he’s a stud,” Bulldogs guard Matt Bouldin said. “We had two great players coming in here in (WSU’s) Klay (Thompson) and now Al-Farouq. We’re going to have to focus on him. I know they get it up and down. They’re definitely talented, fast-paced, athletic and well-coached. We’re going to have our hands full again.”
A statistic that has the attention of Gonzaga’s coaching staff is Wake Forest’s 83-9 edge in fastbreak points through its first five games.

“They’re long and fast and in transition they are a sight to behold,” Few said. “We have to do a better job on the boards than we did against (WSU) and get back in transition.”Lots more here (http://www.spokesman.com/blogs/sportslink/2009/dec/04/zags-entertain-demon-deacons/) in Jim's Blog.

MickMick
12-05-2009, 08:01 AM
Similar to the wishbone offense in football, a basketball team that adopts a running style can be characterized as "high risk-high reward".

Turning the ball over is a natural byproduct of the philosphy. The key for the Zags will be capitalizing on WF turnovers enough to compensate for their transition points.

Baldwinzag
12-05-2009, 08:20 AM
“We have to get ready for big-time athletes who can really run,” Gonzaga coach Mark Few said. “We haven’t seen a team athletically like this ever come into the McCarthey Center. It’s high-level ACC talent and athleticism.---They're long and fast and in transition they are a sight to behold," Few said.

Several posters were curious whether Wake Forest is as athletic or tough as teams like WSU, MSU, Cincy, etc. Looks like Coach Few thinks so...

As Bouldin eloquently put it, "we're going to have our hands full".

I've thought all along the Wake and Memphis game would give us the most trouble this season due to their superior length, athleticism, and being able to equal our height across the board and match-up toe-to-toe in the paint. Not many teams have the ability, yet teams like Wake certainly can...

Should be interesting how we handle a their transition game and talent in the post.

ZagNative
12-05-2009, 09:08 AM
Wake Forest-Gonzaga Preview (http://scores.espn.go.com/ncb/preview?gameId=293392250)


Since opening in 2004, Gonzaga is 65-3 on its home court of the McCarthy Athletic Center, otherwise known as "The Kennel." In front of the usual loud, sellout crowd, the Bulldogs have won 11 in a row there since being upset 77-70 by Portland State on Dec. 23.

Gonzaga should be in for another test in its first meeting with perennial ACC power Wake Forest (4-2), which is trying to avoid a third straight loss after falling 69-58 at No. 4 Purdue on Tuesday.

The momentum generated from their latest home win should have the Bulldogs ready. The fact that a team with little experience has overachieved early on could also help.
After committing 25 turnovers while being upset 78-68 at home by William & Mary last Saturday, the Demon Deacons turned the ball over the same number of times and were outscored 40-27 in the second half by the Boilermakers.

"The turnovers in the second half was the difference in the game," Wake Forest coach Dino Gaudio said. "I think our kids fought hard."

Though Wake Forest is shooting 38.1 percent over its last two contests, Gaudio has some talented scorers led by forward Al-Farouq Aminu.

The 6-9 sophomore leads the team with 17.7 points and 11.0 boards per game, but has scored a combined 36 points in his last three games. He's 7 of 29 from the field in the two losses.

C.J. Harris and Ishmael Smith each scored 14 points to lead Wake Forest against Purdue.

The Deacons have not lost consecutive games against ranked opponents since dropping five in a row from March 11, 2006-Dec. 5, 2007.

gamagin
12-05-2009, 09:15 AM
we have gone against nearly every kind of basketball team and we haven't even started our league play yet. What better way to test ourselves ?

As fans, we're getting two seasons, too.

The one that keeps us on the national scene and gets our stars big league exposure, and the league, which returns us to the dance and back onto the national scene. It's the circle of basketball life at GU.

What fun !

Go TEAM Zags !

ZagNative
12-05-2009, 12:25 PM
Wake Forest visits tough Gonzaga (http://www2.journalnow.com/content/2009/dec/05/wake-forest-visits-tough-gonzaga/sports/)

"We're a team that's going to have scoring droughts," Coach Dino Gaudio of Wake Forest said. "That's OK. That's all right. That's who we are.

"But we've got to keep defending during those times because it's not if it happens, it's going to be when. So we've just got to keep guarding and take care of the ball so that we can keep getting opportunities at the basket."
"I think this could be a springboard game for us if we're able to go out there and play like we're capable of playing," Gaudio said. Gonzaga is ranked surprisingly low for a team that has rebounded from its only loss, to Michigan State, to beat Wisconsin, Cincinnati and Washington State for its past three victories. The Bulldogs are outscoring their opponents by more than 10 points a game (76.9 points vs. 66.4) and outrebounding them by more than five a game (39 rebounds vs. 33.3). They're shooting 48 percent from the floor and 36 percent from 3-point range.
"Bouldin, I think the kid's an All-American," [Coach Dino] Gaudio said. "He does so many things well. They were down (against Washington State) and he just put them on his back. He hit big shots in the game.

"He does that."