PDA

View Full Version : FoxSports Announces - Pierre Leaving



ZagNative
04-17-2007, 08:20 AM
http://msn.foxsports.com/cbk/story/6696954

It was buried in a blog list before, but here it is in a full article.


Junior Altidor-Cespedes leaving Gonzaga

Jeff Goodman / FOXSports.com
Posted: 38 minutes ago

Gonzaga junior guard Pierre Marie Altidor-Cespedes is leaving the program, according to a source close to the Bulldogs program, and will be eligible to play for another school immediately.

The 6-foot, 180-pound Canadian, who started 14 games this past season and averaged 3.2 points and 1.2 assists per game, has been grandfathered into the rule that allowed a player to transfer and play immediately if they graduate and still have a fifth year of eligibility remaining.

It was a rule that UNLV's Kevin Kruger took advantage of this past season to leave Arizona State and play his final season for his father, Lon.

The 22-year-old Altidor-Cespedes started 30 of 32 games as a sophomore and averaged 4.2 points and 2.6 assists per game.

Gonzaga will also lose David Burgess, a 6-foot-10 center who transferred in from BYU after his freshman season. Burgess suffered a knee injury this season and appeared in just six games, averaging 1.0 point and 1.3 rebounds per game.

Best of luck to Pierre.

Nevtelen
04-17-2007, 08:28 AM
Wow! That raises a ton of questions - the most obvious being how did he get to use the rule? I am correct in thinking that it's no longer valid, right? Also, where is he going?

Whatever the answers, best of luck to Pierre wherever he lands!

wazZag
04-17-2007, 08:30 AM
that was my first reaction too Netleven.

Whatever the case I wish him well, seems like a great guy.

omahazag
04-17-2007, 08:35 AM
Too bad, i really like Pierre and think he could really help us next year despite the incoming talent. I think he got a raw deal this last year in that he never had a chance to prove himself. I wish him the best, he will be a great transfer for some school.

Nevtelen
04-17-2007, 08:36 AM
Good luck to Burgess also. His transfer was a little more expected, maybe, but I still hope he lands on his feet somewhere. An interesting idea - if he's thinking about going the D-II route, transfer to Seattle U. Then if they go D-I, he'd be right back in it with no extra time sitting out. Plus, if he's healthy, he could be a real impact player there.

J-Lo
04-17-2007, 08:42 AM
I'll be a bit disappointed to see Mos Def go.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/slideshows/122204/2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/slideshows/122204/photo2.asp&h=512&w=348&sz=42&hl=en&start=2&tbnid=_zgheARZYqq7kM:&tbnh=131&tbnw=89&prev=/images%3Fq%3DPierre%2BMarie%2BAltidor%2BCespedes%2 6gbv%3D2%26svnum%3D10%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://artfiles.art.com/images/-/Mos-Def-Photograph-C12035695.jpeg&imgrefurl=http://www.art.com/asp/sp-asp/_/pd--12035695/Mos_Def.htm&h=425&w=340&sz=25&hl=en&start=18&um=1&tbnid=YHyIARZIzxIyJM:&tbnh=126&tbnw=101&prev=/images%3Fq%3DMos%2BDef%26svnum%3D10%26um%3D1%26hl% 3Den%26sa%3DN

thickman1
04-17-2007, 08:59 AM
wow - too bad. For whatever reason Pierre just couldn't get himself rolling in GU's system. I really hope he flourishes at whatever school he chooses.

EL MUSTACIO
04-17-2007, 08:59 AM
Is it feasible that either will follow Grier and Bankhead to USD?

thickman1
04-17-2007, 09:01 AM
I was thinking it'd be great for Pierre to go USD and have a great year with Coach Grier. I'd be nice to lay a smackdown on GU too when they play (but not at the expense of a GU loss).

GonzagaGurl08
04-17-2007, 09:04 AM
I'm pretty sure that the rule applies to Pierre becuase this May he will have technically graduated. The year of prep school he did in Canada, gave him enough credits so that combined with the summer school he has taken he can graduate this May, in three years. I hope that makes sense, please correct me if I'm wrong.

lothar98zag
04-17-2007, 09:04 AM
Good luck next year PMAC!



I'm glad I'm not the only one that saw the similarities...


http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/slideshows/122204/2.jpghttp://artfiles.art.com/images/-/Mos-Def-Photograph-C12035695.jpeg



The rule mentioned in the article was only active for 1 year. Not sure how it would work w/ PMAC this year...

Still odd that his name was kept on the GU roster (& Burgess was dropped) when they updated it a few days ago...

:confused:

UberZagFan
04-17-2007, 09:12 AM
I was thinking it'd be great for Pierre to go USD and have a great year with Coach Grier. I'd be nice to lay a smackdown on GU too when they play (but not at the expense of a GU loss).

I suspect the only way PMAC ends up at USD is if USD has a grad program he is interested in. Only a guess, but PMAC probably will put his grad work ahead of any desire to "lay a smackdown" on GU.

Either way, good luck to him.

brasszag
04-17-2007, 09:15 AM
While it's disappointing PMAC and David will not complete their college careers as Zags, they'll always be "one of us," and I wish them the best where they end up - and beyond college.

Someone will be getting a very talented point guard this year though.

zagster318
04-17-2007, 09:21 AM
At least we're no longer over the scholarship limit.

mtzaga
04-17-2007, 09:35 AM
Mos Def?

Who the hell is he? I have never heard of him. I must be old.

lothar98zag
04-17-2007, 09:40 AM
Mos Def?

Who the hell is he? I have never heard of him. I must be old.
(intellectual) rapper & actor:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mos_Def

D Hark 2003
04-17-2007, 10:21 AM
Its too bad that PMAC is leaving, I liked his game when he was playing well but he seemed to have some confidence issues on offense. I hope he lands somewhere he can be comfortable and fullfill his potential.

UberZagFan
04-17-2007, 10:44 AM
(intellectual) rapper & actor:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mos_Def




When yall was askin permission I just stepped up and took it
What!? the kids better buy my rookie card now
Cause after this year the price aint comin down


token characters

LargeWilliam
04-17-2007, 11:03 AM
If you haven't seen it watch 16 Blocks, on HBO a ton right now. Mos Def is the witness Bruce Willis is trying to protect.

Kaduce
04-17-2007, 11:10 AM
If you haven't seen it watch 16 Blocks, on HBO a ton right now. Mos Def is the witness Bruce Willis is trying to protect.

GREAT movie.

drnoe
04-17-2007, 11:13 AM
Could PMAC end up at Long Beach State?

LongIslandZagFan
04-17-2007, 11:14 AM
If you haven't seen it watch 16 Blocks, on HBO a ton right now. Mos Def is the witness Bruce Willis is trying to protect.

He is GREAT in that movie. Plot is kind of silly and it gets unbelievable in spots. But Mos Def and Willis both did excellent jobs playing their roles.

NorthWestZag
04-17-2007, 12:08 PM
Can you really blame him though? PMAC was in the doghouse this year and with Pargo-Bouldin coming back and the talented freshman/transfers coming in his situation would not change.

This is a good move for both GU and Altidor-Cespedes. I'm not blaming Few for not playing PMAC more because Pargo and Bouldin stepped up big. But at the same time PMAC knows he is a good player and doesn’t want to spend his senior year sitting on the bench.

Best of luck to both Pierre and Burgess.

thickman1
04-17-2007, 12:28 PM
Mos Def was also in The Italian Job. Another good flick.

Godzilla
04-17-2007, 12:41 PM
Is PMAC leaving becuase he didnt play that many games this season and he wants to go to another school where he can get some playing time?

LongIslandZagFan
04-17-2007, 01:00 PM
SPOKANE, Wash. (April 17, 2007 – http://www.gozags.com (http://www.gozags.com/)) – Gonzaga University junior Pierre Marie Altidor-Cespedes and sophomore Dave Burgess will not return to the Bulldogs men’s basketball team next season, head coach Mark Few confirmed Tuesday.

“Both are going to pursue opportunities elsewhere. We wish them the best in their future endeavors,” Few said.

Altidor-Cespedes, who came to the Bulldogs from Montreal, Quebec, where he prepped at Champlain St. Lambert, appeared in all 34 games for the Bulldogs this past season with 14 starts. He averaged 3.2 ppg, 1.6 rpg and 1.2 assists/game. He scored a season-high 14 points against Baylor University, his lone double-digit output of the season. His career high was 17 points at Pepperdine University as a sophomore. He will graduate in May with a degree in broadcasting and electronic media. He has told members of the Gonzaga coaching staff he may pursue a professional career overseas.

Burgess, who came to the Bulldogs in January of 2005 from Brigham Young University, wasn’t eligible under NCAA transfer rules until the end of the first semester last December, and his debut was delayed while rehabilitating a knee sprain suffered early in fall camp. His first appearance for the Bulldogs was Jan. 3 at the University of Virginia. He appeared in six games, averaging 1.0 ppg and 1.3 rpg.

gozagswoohoo
04-17-2007, 01:14 PM
Did Burgess expect to come in and get tons of PT? He didn't give it much of a chance, IMO...

gamagin
04-17-2007, 05:04 PM
<<Wow! That raises a ton of questions - the most obvious being how did he get to use the rule? I am correct in thinking that it's no longer valid, right? Also, where is he going?
Whatever the answers, best of luck to Pierre wherever he lands! >>

excellent points.

this implies to me that PMAC planned this option ahead of time.

way ahead of time.

In time to qualify and get retroactive permission, or to get grandfathered into this should it arise. Also portends perhaps it was part of a deal between Pmac and Few, or the staff, should things not work out last year.

sort of a pre nup, only in sports. apply to get in under the deadline and then if a breakup occurs, theres an option available. smart minds, imo, huddled over this. in advance.

as someone who is very smart, finished undergrad in three years and so forth, my guess is PMAC is/was also planning for the rest of his bkb career and thus covered his options as intelligently as a student (and parents, too) would plan and decide to qualify for grad school, or a career away from sports.

Or, in this case, a way to continue to play and advance educationally.