PDA

View Full Version : Memories of Gonzaga vs WSU...

Reborn
11-30-2009, 06:16 PM
Is this still a rivalry to you? This game seems to have lost some of it's lustre over the years. I graduated from Gonzaga in 1970, and back then it was a true rivalry...the most important game of the year. The cougs, during those years 1966-70 were one of the best teams in America and had it not been for UCLA having Lew Alcindor (Kareem) they may have been the best team. They had Jim McKean, 6'11 center, Ted Wierman, 6'11 power forward (from Yakima), Lenny Wilkens 5'9 guard (from Yakima), Ray Stein, 6-0'' guard (from Richland), and I don't recall the small forward. In '66 the Zags had a great team. I believe they finished in the top 20 in the polls. That was GREAT FOR BACK in those days. The Zags had Leichman, 6'6" center, Brown, 6'4" power forward, Billy Suter, 5'8 point guard, and Paz Roacha, 5'9 guard. I've forgotten some of the others. I know John Daugherty played off the bench. I remember when the Zags beat WSU that year. Kennedy was packed to the brim. The student body had brought wooden blocks into the gym for their cheers. Instead of clapping hands the students would clap those wooden blocks together, and they made the coolest, loudest sound I had ever heard. It meant so much to Gonzaga to be able to beat the Cougs.