PDA

View Full Version : Seattle Times -- GU Preview on Thurs. (11/12)



Zag365
11-10-2009, 01:44 PM
Today, the Seattle Times began their series of previews of local college basketball starting with the Huskies. Gonzaga will be featured on Thursday. Not sure who will be doing the story. Would be nice if Bud gets the assignment. It will be interesting to see what angle they go with -- international players? rebuilding year? huge first year class?

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/huskies/2010237923_umen10.html

primal23
11-10-2009, 03:42 PM
Today, the Seattle Times began their series of previews of local college basketball starting with the Huskies. Gonzaga will be featured on Thursday. Not sure who will be doing the story. Would be nice if Bud gets the assignment. It will be interesting to see what angle they go with -- international players? rebuilding year? huge first year class?

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/huskies/2010237923_umen10.html

Probably the angle of, lets count the ways UW is so much better of a program then GU could ever be....:lmao: :jk:

Zag365
11-11-2009, 09:30 PM
Looks like Bud Withers, an astute observer of Zag basketball, will be doing the GU preview that will be in tomorrow's Seattle Times. He did the WSU preview in today's paper.

Here's his 5 keys to GU's season that was posted tonight on the Times' website.

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/2010251574_zagsbox12.html

SLOZag
11-11-2009, 09:35 PM
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/2010251592_zags12.html

Zag365
11-11-2009, 09:59 PM
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/2010251592_zags12.html

nothing new here that hasn't been discussed on this Board, although he did get Matt B. to clarify his "prima donna" comment (pretty much along the lines that seemed liked it was intended to begin with).

there was also this little tidbit in a Q & A with new SU coach Cameron Dollar that was just posted in the Times:

Q: Would SU consider a series against Gonzaga?

Dollar: I have had talks with Gonzaga ever since I got the job about starting a series with them. In the future, we will definitely play.

VaBeachZAG
11-12-2009, 04:14 AM
So, Dollar apparently is over the Heytvelt recruiting violation stuff and is ready and willing to play GU, but the montlake cry baby still runs from GU and hides in the shadows!

SWZag
11-12-2009, 06:34 AM
Seattle Times College Frontpage (http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/collegesports/)

SWZag

Colbyspapa
11-12-2009, 09:58 AM
On KJR yesterday. I really don't like Mitch Levy. Anyway, Mitch was pushing him to explain to him why UW and GU can't get a deal done. Even Levy, who is the biggest Mark Few basher around, shot down any reasons why this game hasn't happened. Dollar responded with "I don't know why they can't get it done. I'm no longer in the middle of the negotiations but this game should happen."

Mitch referenced that he asked Romar the same questions prior to when I turned on my radio, and Romar's responses were about business and money.