PDA

View Full Version : Diminishing Sacre



Angelo Roncalli
11-09-2009, 11:17 AM
Lots of people on this board and elsewhere have downplayed Rob Sacre's ability, importance and potential on the basis of his freshman production: Rob started 10/28 games, averaged just over 9 minutes per game, 1.9 rebounds and 2.9 points.

Consider the freshman production of a former Zag big man in his freshman season: started 0/34 games, averaged about 13 minutes per game, 1.7 rebounds and 2.8 points. In his sophomore season, this same player started 33/34 games, averaged about 24 minutes a game, 6.9 boards and 9.4 pts.

My prediction for Rob, provided he is healthy all season, is that he will have better numbers than the former Zag big man mentioned above (whose name is Calvary) had in his second season.

gozagswoohoo
11-09-2009, 11:20 AM
Lots of people on this board and elsewhere have downplayed Rob Sacre's ability, importance and potential on the basis of his freshman production: Rob started 10/28 games, averaged just over 9 minutes per game, 1.9 rebounds and 2.9 points.

Consider the freshman production of a former Zag big man in his freshman season: started 0/34 games, averaged about 13 minutes per game, 1.7 rebounds and 2.8 points. In his sophomore season, this same player started 33/34 games, averaged about 24 minutes a game, 6.9 boards and 9.4 pts.

My prediction for Rob, provided he is healthy all season, is that he will have better numbers than the former Zag big man mentioned above (whose name is Calvary) had in his second season.

Calvary........Calvary......not ringin a bell?
















:-) That's a pretty neat looking comparison now that you point it out. A healthy Sacre makes or breaks this team this year. I can't wait to watch him emerge in the national spotlight.

Did I spell "emerge" correctly?

SLOZag
11-09-2009, 11:27 AM
+1

Keep amping up the excitement factor and I'll bust a gut before our first tip-off! :D

ID ZAGFAN
11-09-2009, 11:31 AM
I think I should ask my doctor for stronger blood pressure meds! ;)

ID ZAGFAN

GoZags
11-09-2009, 11:48 AM
#14 03-24-2008, 06:53 AM
GoZags
Super Moderator Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle and Cape Horn - Hammersley Inlet


If Rob can make the "Cory Violette" jump from Freshman to Sophomore the Zags will be fine.

Cory -- 11.7 mpg -- 3.6 ppg -- 2.9 rpg
Rob -- 9.9 mpg -- 3.0 ppg -- 2 rpg

Cory jumped to 26.3 minutes -- 12.8 points -- 8.3 rebounds as a soph..

If Sacre can do that next season -- again, IMHO the Zags will be just fine.

MDABE80
11-09-2009, 11:52 AM
Obviously I'm the one Angelo's talking about. ME! Yes it's ME! I hope that pointing out that Rob had a lightweight 1st season and a non existent 2nd year doesn't spell doom for anyone's expectations. But to the point, who (raise one hand on this board) would think Robert would be putting up 30 and 10 against Texas?? Someone? Anyone?? Not me...that's for sure. Apparently his time with Casey has transformed him.

Nonetheless, kids do improve. Robert seems like one of those huge improvement stories based on what we've seen this year. Nobody questioned Robert's potential or importance.. It's just that we haven't seen him grow into much prior to this past week or so. I saw him play in July with those pickup games. He looked much better but not 30 and 10 better. I think we're all behind Robert. He's an unexpected pleasant surprise. It happpens...as the pope points out.

Angelo Roncalli
11-09-2009, 12:04 PM
Obviously I'm the one Angelo's talking about. ME! Yes it's ME! I hope that pointing out that Rob had a lightweight 1st season and a non existent 2nd year doesn't spell doom for anyone's expectations. But to the point, who (raise one hand on this board) would think Robert would be putting up 30 and 10 against Texas?? Someone? Anyone?? Not me...that's for sure. Apparently his time with Casey has transformed him.

Nonetheless, kids do improve. Robert seems like one of those huge improvement stories based on what we've seen this year. Nobody questioned Robert's potential or importance.. It's just that we haven't seen him grow into much prior to this past week or so. I saw him play in July with those pickup games. He looked much better but not 30 and 10 better. I think we're all behind Robert. He's an unexpected pleasant surprise. It happpens...as the pope points out.

Actually, Abe, I was truly thinking of others who have been harping on Rob's freshman production for a long time rather than your single isolated comment (which was taken with the intended grain of salt). At the start of the school year, I felt 8 + 8 would be a solid season for RS. Rob has put in the time and his work with Casey has apparently paid off. Based on the comments Coach Giacolleti made about Rob in Seattle last month, his quick start against Alberta and his performance on Saturday (confirmed by a completely neutral observer) Rob looks to be better this season than 8 + 8. The presence of Elias Harris in the front court is going to be very beneficial to Rob. Focus on one and the other will kill you.

007Zag
11-09-2009, 12:05 PM
The thing that surprised me the most has been Rob's improved hands. His freshman year, I remember cringing every time the ball was pushed into the post to him or a rebound went his way and watching his hands turn into bricks. If he did receive the pass, he typically kept the ball too low where it could be slapped at by even the smallest of guards collapsing in on him. My dad always referred to him as "the shortest 7-footer I've ever seen", crouching down in the post.

This year (and granted, I only saw the one game against Alberta, so it's not a very big sample size) he seems to be receiving both passes and rebounds more strongly. He makes intentional and committed moves down low to the basket and he makes them quickly. He keeps the ball up where he won't lose it and is standing up tall.

I was a Sacre doubter his freshman year, if for no other reason than you rarely see a big man's hands improve, the most recent exception being Hasheem Thabeet. If Rob can have that kind of improvement, then his size becomes HUGE.

Nevtelen
11-09-2009, 12:22 PM
I must say I was certainly part of the 8 + 8 crowd until the recent reports, but I have always thought Rob would get a lot better. I remember reports from his freshman year about his staying after games to get in extra practices and doing other extra work outside of practice to improve his skills. I think anyone willing to put that kind of work in over and above practices and games is going to improve no matter what. I just wasn't sure if it'd be this season or not, considering the foot injury last year, etc. I'm VERY glad to hear it sounds like it will be this year.

It seems like every year there's at least one player who is an absolute revelation, who seems to come out of nowhere (or at least improve very signficantly) - I remember Heytvelt post-Ammo, for example, just exploding in the Eastern game beyond anything I thought he'd do. Maybe this'll be Sacre's year.

Ezag
11-09-2009, 01:20 PM
I was also one of the naysayers and probably jumped the gun like most. He has not really had the opportunity to play much in his college experience at all so it is unfair to say he will or will not be a good player until we see him play more than 1 exhibition and 1 practice scrimmage.

CDC84
11-09-2009, 01:21 PM
While Rob's skills have clearly improved, as well as his overall toughness, he also lost some weight during his redshirt year that has made him quicker. He just has the look of someone you wouldn't want to mess with in the post. I also think the staff has done an excellent job of emphasizing to the guards that they need to feed Rob early on in the shot clock or when he has his defender sealed so that he can take the ball right to the rim. He's not the kind of big who can get the ball, dribble a bit to set up his defender and then make a move. He needs to get the ball and make his move right away.

SteeleMan
11-09-2009, 01:46 PM
I agree with this team assessment and am looking for Rob to be productive down low on both ends of the court.
http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=23333

ID ZAGFAN
11-09-2009, 02:08 PM
I have a feeling we'll be saying that a lot this year, even though they don't use that expression in France anymore!
;)

ID ZAG FAN

cjm720
11-09-2009, 02:16 PM
Lots of people on this board and elsewhere have downplayed Rob Sacre's ability, importance and potential on the basis of his freshman production: Rob started 10/28 games, averaged just over 9 minutes per game, 1.9 rebounds and 2.9 points.

Consider the freshman production of a former Zag big man in his freshman season: started 0/34 games, averaged about 13 minutes per game, 1.7 rebounds and 2.8 points. In his sophomore season, this same player started 33/34 games, averaged about 24 minutes a game, 6.9 boards and 9.4 pts.

My prediction for Rob, provided he is healthy all season, is that he will have better numbers than the former Zag big man mentioned above (whose name is Calvary) had in his second season.

If he puts up another 28 point performance, I will never think or say anything about his hands of stone. I think this will be a classic case of making a case for a redshirt, although Rob's due to injury. The extra year he'll have in a Zag uni is going to pay huge dividends (although, we could have used him last year...better seeding, not having to face UNC....but that is moot obviously).

Go Rob!!!

Go Zags!!!

BobZag
11-09-2009, 02:50 PM
If Rob can equal Cory (as sophomore), it would excede my expectations and be a huuuuge help for this team. I hope he can.

alaskazagnut
11-09-2009, 03:04 PM
Sacre has improved in every way except one; when he has posted up or when he is in the key after a fast break he tends to put the ball on the ground before he shoots. He seems to always want to dribble the ball after he receives the pass and that gives the opponent time to set up and steal or block the ball. He needs to shoot on the fly more often a gain the court awareness of where the basket always is. There are times when you need to dribble to set up the shot, but Rob needs to know the difference and the confidence to execute the play quicker.

MickMick
11-09-2009, 04:51 PM
I'll admit that after watching Rob in the Kennel scrimmage, I was at the forefront of questioning his improvement. This in the face of people in the know telling us how much he had improved over the summer. I just didn't see it.

I will eat a little crow now. After hearing the results of the Texas scrimmage I feel two emotions:

Giddy in knowing that Rob has arrived.

Embarrased for being one of the people doubting him and declaring my dissapointment on this forum.

My apology to Rob.

Sorry...you da man!

I was wrong.

StocktonZag
11-09-2009, 05:03 PM
Sacré bleu, but that is unacceptable language for a Jesuit educated catholic. That probably won't stop opponents from saying it after they witness Robert's game this year!! :D

ZagNative
11-09-2009, 05:10 PM
This board has just been weird this fall, IMO. It's as if roving gangs of statistic-weilding skeptics and competing gangs of wild-eyed kool-aid drinkers are taking turns rousting each other.

Right now ... this very minute, I mean, it's the thugs in red who are in the ascendancy, calling out the skeptics to throw down their stat books and come out with their hands up ...

http://img682.imageshack.us/img682/6904/koolaidmanshotgun1.gif

Soon enough, the "Sadder-But-Wiser" Cabal will have their "I-told-you-so" moment in the square of public opinion.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Junk/25950.gif

I have strong kool-aid-drinker tendencies, but that doesn't prevent me from feeling a need to sleep in my helmet ...

I like Rob but have no problem waiting to see what he does in the next few weeks before handing him the Casey Calvary scepter.

Ezag
11-09-2009, 05:34 PM
If Rob can equal Cory (as sophomore), it would excede my expectations and be a huuuuge help for this team. I hope he can.

Cory Violette is sometimes one of the forgotten big men. You always hear about Turiaf, Batista and Calvary but Violette was solid and tough as nails and it really started to show beginning his sophomore season. I can see Sacre as a bruiser like Cory.

GU69
11-09-2009, 05:38 PM
Methinks Sacre is hunky. Mmmmmhmmmm. Very excited to hear about his hands.

Way too funny.

Nice job correcting the tone of a thread that is too serious with not much real information.

MedZag
11-09-2009, 05:50 PM
I have strong kool-aid-drinker tendencies, but that doesn't prevent me from feeling a need to sleep in my helmet ...

Haha! Well said ZN

75Zag
11-09-2009, 05:59 PM
Maybe we have some secret weapons in our Frosh / Redshirt folks, but my perspective is that the success or failure of this season rests primarily on Sacre. If he is as good as advertised and as good as the "leaks" from the Texas scrimmage indicate, the sky could be the limit for this year's team.

Here's hoping that everything goes as planned and that young Mr. Sacre has a fantastic season.

Go Bulldogs! Get Bigger!

LongIslandZagFan
11-09-2009, 06:03 PM
Methinks Sacre is hunky. Mmmmmhmmmm. Very excited to hear about his hands.

:D


Nurse, she is out of the foo again and off her meds... please escort her back. ;)

Vanzagger
11-09-2009, 06:08 PM
Sacre has improved in every way except one; when he has posted up or when he is in the key after a fast break he tends to put the ball on the ground before he shoots. He seems to always want to dribble the ball after he receives the pass and that gives the opponent time to set up and steal or block the ball. He needs to shoot on the fly more often a gain the court awareness of where the basket always is. There are times when you need to dribble to set up the shot, but Rob needs to know the difference and the confidence to execute the play quicker.

Don't do it. Chin the pill.

Zagatak
11-09-2009, 09:33 PM
As i have said before...... 13+8. And im sticking with it.

zag67
11-09-2009, 09:37 PM
So Zag, what is 13+8? Thanks. I think it is 13 in conference and 8 Out. Correct?

MedZag
11-09-2009, 09:48 PM
So Zag, what is 13+8? Thanks. I think it is 13 in conference and 8 Out. Correct?

13 ppg, 8 rpg

thespywhozaggedme
11-09-2009, 09:52 PM
I can't believe that I, Mr. Hyperbole, am going to be the voice of reason here, but let's all take a collective deep breath and let Rob be Rob. What's gonna happen when he puts up 5 and 7 and fouls out of a game? Are we all going to declare him a colossal bust? The Texas game, as of now, is an anomaly; hopefully it will eventually become the norm. That being said, I fully expect him to eventually be a lottery pick and the starting center of Canada's national team for the foreseeable future. (gotta bring some hyperbolic optimism to the thread) :D

jim77
11-09-2009, 11:32 PM
I seem to remember a game against UCONN 2 years ago when Rob was mixing it up with their bigs. We barely pulled that one out...the difference was Rob's size and strength. He really doesn't need a lot of skills because he's BIG...and I'm kinda surprised with his weight. You add quickness to his already athletic ability and he's gonna be big trouble for folks. I could see him averaging 14 and 10...just by hanging around the hoop cleaning up. The lighter weight should also take some pressure off of that foot.

TheZagPhish
11-10-2009, 01:18 AM
Sacre = Baryshnikov Tank

Nice sense of humor, too.

gozagswoohoo
11-10-2009, 07:16 AM
My knuckle is SERIOUSLY killing me, and I'm not kidding. It feels like growing pains. But can you really get growing pains in just one of your knuckles...??

ID ZAGFAN
11-10-2009, 07:43 AM
Woohoo check you PM

ID ZAGFAN

BobZag
11-10-2009, 08:31 AM
Speaking of diminishing Sacre... He's now 6'6".

And mee, behave yourself. :p

NotoriousZ
11-10-2009, 09:35 AM
pbriz did some math in another thread (glad someone's crunching the numbers around here):

"According to the report on the scrimmage Sacre had 26 pts, Elias had 22, Matt had 15, and Gray had atleast 9. This adds up to 72 points and according to Bob's report Sacre had 28 points so that would account for all the points scored (74)..."

I'm willing to bet Sacre didn't play much if at all in the "third half" to keep him from getting an injury and to work with the other bigs. But anyway it's something to consider. I've been a Rob fan from day one, so you won't see me diminishing him. If he didn't get hurt last year, I don't think anyone would be questioning or limiting what he could bring to this team now.

Mantua
11-10-2009, 05:34 PM
This board has just been weird this fall, IMO. It's as if roving gangs of statistic-weilding skeptics and competing gangs of wild-eyed kool-aid drinkers are taking turns rousting each other.

Right now ... this very minute, I mean, it's the thugs in red who are in the ascendancy, calling out the skeptics to throw down their stat books and come out with their hands up ...

http://img682.imageshack.us/img682/6904/koolaidmanshotgun1.gif

Soon enough, the "Sadder-But-Wiser" Cabal will have their "I-told-you-so" moment in the square of public opinion.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Junk/25950.gif

I have strong kool-aid-drinker tendencies, but that doesn't prevent me from feeling a need to sleep in my helmet ...

I like Rob but have no problem waiting to see what he does in the next few weeks before handing him the Casey Calvary scepter.

We're experiencing some ups (ex; Sacre's health and performance) and some downs (ex: doubts about Bol and the nagging worries about free-throw shooting and turnovers) before we have played one serious game. I am more on the optimist side, but is it too soon to address weaknesses? There is a slight dark cloud that hovers due to the utter lack of faith in the Zags by the press. (Katz has us in the top 30, but clearly means close to #30.)I ask everyone and BZ in particular: Is there a statistical correlation between defensive effectiveness and turnovers?

snebzag
11-10-2009, 07:16 PM
Never questioned Rob's importance. Otherwise quilty as charged.