PDA

View Full Version : Gonzaga vs Alberta Game predictions



Reborn
10-30-2009, 06:14 AM
Okay! I know it's a little early for this but I just can't hold myself back. I'm just too excited for Monday. It's time to make our predictions about who wins our first game and by how many. I also thought it would be fun to predict who our top 3 scorers will be and how many points each makes.

Gonzaga 102
Alberta 62

Matt 17 points
Harris 15 points
Meech 13

azzagfan
10-30-2009, 07:18 AM
Zags 83
Alberta 65

gozagswoohoo
10-30-2009, 08:04 AM
Zags- W
Alberta- L

MickMick
10-30-2009, 08:10 AM
I don't know anything about Alberta. Heck....I don't know a whole lot about the Zags. :)

sittingon50
10-30-2009, 08:21 AM
Lot's of Canadians

(on both sides).

Drew
10-30-2009, 08:41 AM
Everyone gets to play.

cjm720
10-30-2009, 08:50 AM
Does anyone know if Seattle residents will be able to watch the game?

pbriz
10-30-2009, 09:02 AM
http://www.bears.ualberta.ca/Basketball/Men/

Link to the university of alberta's mens bball page. They are re-building also and are 2-4 on the year so far. Nice to see that their 6'10" post players are both freshmen.

uCANdoit
10-30-2009, 09:34 AM
Alberta has got some nice young players. Two of their freshman, Jordan Baker, and Robert Dewar, played on the junior Nats with Kelly and Manny. Baker had some nice preformances for Canada. But should be an easy win for Gonzaga.

cjm720
10-30-2009, 09:37 AM
Who's the little baby who keeps rating Reborn's post with low stars? Man up you little sissy.

zagfan1281
10-30-2009, 10:37 AM
Who's the little baby who keeps rating Reborn's post with low stars? Man up you little sissy.

You act like it's just one person who does it. I've definitely done it in the past, but not this time. The prediction threads arent one or two star bad...they're probably a 3, in general.

LongIslandZagFan
10-30-2009, 11:07 AM
Alberta in a major league blowout... Zags will be lucky to break 50. :D

Nevtelen
10-30-2009, 11:09 AM
DOOM!!

... oh, wait. Is it too early in the season to start predicting doom? My bad.

Colbyspapa
10-30-2009, 11:33 AM
GU won't give up 55 points in this game. We have the makings of great defense with our length. Especially if Bol plays.

thespywhozaggedme
10-30-2009, 12:13 PM
Their coach, Greg Francis is also the coach of the junior nats, so Rob, Kelly, Manny and Bol are very familiar with him. As someone else mentioned they've all been teammates of Dewar (who we were once looking at) and Jordan baker,. so it'll be a reunion of sorts.

ZagNative
10-30-2009, 12:30 PM
Bill Swerski's Superfans (http://www.hulu.com/watch/4171/saturday-night-live-bill-swerkskis-super-fans) are predicting Zags 402, Alberta Zero, but conceding Bol Kong will be held to under 200.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Junk/Misc/dabullsdabears.jpg

Regarding the passive-aggressive Reborn stalker who routinely one-stars all Reborn's threads, I usually counter the one-star with a five-star ranking as a matter of principle. However, it's hard to deny a one-star ranking on this thread. If we're going to be predicting the outcome of this game, we should at least demonstrate that we have a clue about the Alberta team, which I doubt any of us really have.

CB4
10-30-2009, 12:35 PM
Zags - very, very much
Golden Bears - Very little.

It will be strange having the Canadian National Anthem in the MAC, they should consider doing it before all games for the Canadians on the team.

primal23
10-30-2009, 02:30 PM
GU 75
Alberta 60

Youth shows, Alberta leads for 5-10 minutes in first half due to turnovers.

gamagin
10-30-2009, 02:33 PM
Lot's of Canadians (on both sides).

hockey. Suddenly.

1973Zag
10-30-2009, 04:12 PM
all of our Canadian players will defect and we will have to forfeit due to lack of numbers-you heard it here first!

Reborn
10-30-2009, 04:21 PM
You act like it's just one person who does it. I've definitely done it in the past, but not this time. The prediction threads arent one or two star bad...they're probably a 3, in general. At least we know it's not a lone stalker. It sounds like a group of "babies" running around the board with their "two stars."

You should see what this guy writes to me in private. And he tells me, in private, and he tells me that he speaks for the MAJORITY of the board when he says to me what he does.

We do know a little about Alberta. They are 2-4. That says a lot to me. We also know that Gonzaga usually does not schedule a heavy in their first game (which really isn't a real game, but more of a live practice). In these kinds of games in the past GU usually wins by about 40 and goes over 100 points or comes close to it (this is called predicting on the history of a certain kind of game). You can also make a prediction based on how you feel about your own team. If you're afraid to make a prediction, don't. For some of us I think it's fun. Why can't WE have fun too?

I like the guy who called them "little babies"....well put, cjm720

primal23
10-30-2009, 04:25 PM
Your PM stalker needs a life is what it sounds like Reborn lol

Drew
10-30-2009, 05:24 PM
Does anyone know if Seattle residents will be able to watch the game?

My TiVo doesn't show any games scheduled to record yet, so I am guessing no.

dim4sum
10-30-2009, 07:32 PM
Looks like no TV in Seattle. What about radio? Any luck there?
Desperate in Seattle

The509sfinest
10-30-2009, 09:35 PM
Looks like no TV in Seattle. What about radio? Any luck there?
Desperate in Seattle

simple soultion....move to spokane...lol. im just joking i wouldnt i miss western washington *sigh:(

MickMick
10-30-2009, 10:03 PM
Their coach, Greg Francis is also the coach of the junior nats, so Rob, Kelly, Manny and Bol are very familiar with him. As someone else mentioned they've all been teammates of Dewar (who we were once looking at) and Jordan baker,. so it'll be a reunion of sorts.

Alberta beat Lethbridge by 10 points tonight (10/30/09).

Boxscore (http://www.bears.ualberta.ca/stats/O30LEABM.HTM)

Baker and Bradford look like their scorers.

ZagsGoZags
10-31-2009, 12:18 AM
GU - 93
Alberta - 76

CB4
10-31-2009, 02:17 AM
I'm gunna go with the same score as the South Carolina Upstate game: 90 to 40.

The509sfinest
10-31-2009, 10:43 AM
i had a dream last night that alberta beat gonzaga 74-86! but im gonna have to go with the oppisite and say gonzaga wins 86-74

outrunu
10-31-2009, 03:40 PM
If we're going to be predicting the outcome of this game, we should at least demonstrate that we have a clue about the Alberta team, which I doubt any of us really have.
The Foo is useful. BKYO. (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=23116)

dim4sum
11-01-2009, 05:32 PM
Gonzaga 125, Alberta 67. Coincidentally, that's my blood pressure.

OZZY
11-01-2009, 08:02 PM
The Lethbridge team is one of the weakest in The CIS, I believe that the Alberta team will struggle to keep up with the pace and athleticism of the Zags.

GU 100 (every player scores a point, Harris has a memerable dunk, Kelly makes 3 3 pointers..)
Alberta 45 (Baker, Bradford and Bucknor the only players who make any impression, Leigh is going to have a tough time against Meach and GJ.).

Reborn
11-01-2009, 08:52 PM
The Lethbridge team is one of the weakest in The CIS, I believe that the Alberta team will struggle to keep up with the pace and athleticism of the Zags.

GU 100 (every player scores a point, Harris has a memerable dunk, Kelly makes 3 3 pointers..)
Alberta 45 (Baker, Bradford and Bucknor the only players who make any impression, Leigh is going to have a tough time against Meach and GJ.).

Thanks for posting. It's nice to hear from someone who sounds like they know about what is going on with Canadian basketball. I feel better about my prediction. Less than 20 hours now. Go Zags!