PDA

View Full Version : What do you think is more important for Sacre and this team???



gum797
10-25-2009, 02:34 PM
After reading everybodies summaries from last night (thanks by the way) it has been made clear that Sacre's offense looked shaky. My question however is whats more important for this team, an inside offensive presence or inside toughness that will rebound and be a defensive force? I would much rather have the latter for this years team. We should have plenty of offense from the guards who can score from the outside and in the paint secondary to their penetration and sounds like we'll have a good mid range game. If this is the case, I will be more than happy with our bigs rebounding and playing intimidating D. Obviously, it would be ideal to have both, but I think last years team lacked that inside toughness, which was very costly.

NorthwestsFinest
10-25-2009, 02:41 PM
We need Rob to Rebound, Defend, stay healthy, and stay out of foul trouble. We just need his big, strong body as a presence down low.

Ezag
10-25-2009, 02:51 PM
I agree. If Sacre can defend, rebound and just be a big body to block the lane, he doesn't really need to score much however, I anticipate foul trouble for him.

BobZag
10-25-2009, 02:51 PM
If Sacre can do everything but score a lot, that's fine, so long as Harris or Poling is in there with him to provide interior offense. For all of Rob's shortcomings on offense, he is a physical hulk who can do everything else quite well.

Btw, Foster has improved and made life miserable for other bigs like Dower and Sacre. It looked like Will now realizes what a defensive menace he can be with his height and wingspan.

NEC26
10-25-2009, 02:51 PM
You are absolutely correct Rob is going to be invaluable to this team. We talk about the leaders for this team and I think Rob provides it. He brings excitement and energy to the court like Turiaf did. He wont score like Turiaf but he does do a lot of important things well. He is our only player that will consistently keep the bigs out of the paint. He boxes out well and his defense looked to be solid. If he can be the beast on this team that will be something we haven't had for a while. I am so looking forward to watching this team develop and grow!

MickMick
10-25-2009, 02:53 PM
Too early to give up on Rob on offense. He has three more years to go.

NotoriousZ
10-25-2009, 02:54 PM
I see a lot of dunks, tip-ins, and free throws coming for Rob. I can also see that hook shot going in quite frequently also. He could have 14 points and 10 rebounds per game, and be just a beast on defense. I'm going with the coaches who said to watch out for this guy this year.

GUDan07
10-25-2009, 03:16 PM
Ideally, he would be able to serve both roles. But, if you have to chose one, like others have said before, you would want him to be a player that is controlling the paint. An inside really physical presence is something that has been sorely lacking since the departure of Turiaf. Batista was an extremely solid post player with fantastic hands and a soft touch, but was less physical that I would like. And Heytvelt was nothing more than a very big guard and was quite disappointing in terms of physicality. We need Sacre to simply be big. Make opposing players thing twice about bringing it into the lane, grab every rebound and lock down the opposition's inside threat. All that we really need from him on the offensive end is when he receives the ball deep in the post that he finish consistently and finish with some authority.

Nevtelen
10-25-2009, 03:48 PM
I think Batista was plenty physical. You just never noticed because the opposing post player had no chance to do anything against him.

If Rob averages 8-9 rpg, we won't need to worry that much about his ppg. He'll get some garbage points and that's all the team needs if Harris and/or Poling can hold up the offensive end of things.

BobZag
10-25-2009, 04:04 PM
Few was quoted saying Rob has been great (improved) in practices but it hasn't shown in the scrimmage. Just fwiw.

DADoZAG
10-25-2009, 04:12 PM
Few was quoted saying Rob has been great (improved) in practices but it hasn't shown in the scrimmage. Just fwiw.

Rob was the only thing close to a disappointment for me, but I keep telling myself to give him time and remember he was working against a guy that is now 7'9 (with the hair) and knows his every move.

Patience...

I was blown away with our ZAGS. They will loose, at first, but we will be very happy come March.

Go ZAGS!

zagamatic
10-25-2009, 04:47 PM
Keep in mind that between Rob, Dower, Poling and Foster we have exceptional height to rotate in. Rob's not gonna face a 6'11" guy every night, and he'll rarely go against someone who's 7'5". Let's see what he can do against other teams with average post height before we write off his offense.
I have to admit I was a bit hasty to write a bad review myself. SORRY

jim77
10-25-2009, 06:23 PM
Thanks for the first hand reviews.

I agree that Rob's defense and inside force are whats most needed. I'm sure his dunk shot its tuned up nicely and he has a nice stroke at the line. Taking it to the hole against him is NOT wise....in fact him and Will F pretty much got anything near the hoop covered. Thats a scary deal having those two waiting on ya.

75Zag
10-25-2009, 06:32 PM
I believe GU needs a major low post presence in the paint and am hoping that Sacre can provide same. I love the style of college basketball which has guards and wings taking intelligent jump shots and a monster on the order of Greg Oden or Kevin Love waiting under the basket to clean up the rebounds and put back the ball for 2 points and maybe a foul.

If Sacre does not have the skill set (yet) to be the low post monster, I have a lot of confidence that Few can coach Sacre and all the other GU plyers so as to maximize their individual skill sets and win a lot of games, even if that means GU has to go with 3 guards, a wing, and a less-than-dominant inside player. You might not beat Michigan State or Duke or Oklahoma with that sort of line up (maybe you can) but you can probably beat 6 out of 7 WCC opponents night after night as well as most of the other non-conference opponents GU will face this year.

I am happy to sit back, wait for the opening tipoff in the first regulation game, and see what Few can design for us. He has not let me down yet.

Go Bulldogs! Get Bigger!

#1zagfan
10-25-2009, 08:42 PM
I am happy to sit back, wait for the opening tipoff in the first regulation game, and see what Few can design for us. He has not let me down yet.
I'm sure Few will be as brilliant as ever mixing up cuncoctions with this squad of youngins. We might not be great but this team sure looks like there going to give A TON of effort out there.

GO ZAGS!

Zag79
10-26-2009, 01:10 AM
it has been made clear that Sacre's offense looked shaky.

i think this would be incorrect if anything. he didnt really try to score so it wasnt that he was shaky, as much as he didnt attempt much. im sure he will have his big games on O, just having a guy like him out there makes all the difference anyway.

titopoet
10-26-2009, 05:41 AM
I think we are giving up on Rob offensively too early, when the problem he had in the scrimmage was less about his offensive ability and more about spacing and post passes. Half the time Rob sealed off his man and was waiting for the pass. The pass came late and low (where guards hands can get in the way) and because the spacing was off, help defense could rotate (because the lane was congested because of poor spacing.) He would have to fight for the ball and was fouled when he got it or didn't have enough space to work on. It was telling that only one post player had a good game in the lane (Pooling had more success from the outside than posting inside) and that was Harris and his success came more from his slashing ability than posting. Looking at last year, Josh could have more success as the spacing was better and he had room to operate. Spacing will change, Few teams have always been known for their great spacing, and being together only one week I would expect players to follow their instincts and be closer to the basket than giving more space. Both Rob and Will sealed off the lane numerous times for drives by Meech, Bouldin, and GJ.

The team is raw, and as Few said the bigs are coming along. I believe him. Give Big Rob the space he needs before judging the improvement.

----
visit www.life-and-faith.org (http://www.life-and-faith.org)

JokerZag
10-26-2009, 07:26 AM
Rob's offense repertoire, or lack there of does not concern me. Foul trouble concerns me. Touch and feel cannot really be learned, but footwork, anticipation, and positioning can be. I think with Rob's well documented work ethic and with the tutelage of Calvery, his biggest improvement/contribution will be staying on the floor!!

zaguarxj
10-26-2009, 08:09 AM
With all the good passers on the team, the big guys have to be able to catch. Everyone expects Bouldin to be a great passer, but remember some of the laser passes that Gray threw last year? If the guys are ready for those kind of feeds, the finish will be the easy part.

Kiddwell
10-26-2009, 08:10 AM
Too early to give up on Rob on offense. He has three more years to go.

+1

gozagswoohoo
10-26-2009, 08:18 AM
Yeah it's a little frustrating to me that everyone is giving up so quickly on Rob....especially after a TEAM SCRIMMAGE!!!

My bro is 6'7, 320. He's huge...and he won a National Championship a few years back with a private christian D2 school. He now plays in some very competetive games in various Rec leagues. A year ago, he agreed to play with me in a much less competetive league. I figured he would DOMINATE. Turns out, he could hardly 'get up' for these games, because most of the time he was being gaurded by some fat 6'0 kid, or a 6'2 off-gaurd. There was no challenge to say the least. When it came time for the championship games, he would dominate because there was some importance there in the game. I'm not saying Rob was taking it easy or not trying, but what if it's just a little tougher for him to really focus when it's just a scrimmage against guys that you've been playing against for the last 'x' amount of weeks/months?

Just a thought atleast...

NEC26
10-26-2009, 09:22 AM
I don't think anyone has given up on Rob you guys are overreacting to some posts that just told the truth that he still struggles to score underneath. Is anyone saying he'll never score or get better? I think the point is that you cant expect him to be a Batista or Turiaf type scorer. He still has slow to develop moves which does not bode well for being a proficient back to the basket scorer.
Did you guys just want the reports only to be glowing about how we are going to dominate everyone without ever even being tested? Yes we are young and need to grow no one is giving up before the season started. We will struggle to have a consistent low post threat this year I think. I do think the potential is there especially with Poling and Dower to have some point production.

Edit: Rob could average anywhere from 5 to 8 points a game and still be a huge contributor to this team. Our guards will be where a lot of our scoring will come from anyway.

cjm720
10-26-2009, 10:09 AM
We will have good post play, it just won't all come from Sacre. Between Poling, Harris, Sacre, Will and/or Dower we should be set, as we have a different combinations of skill set that will be quite effective with proper coaching.

Go Zags!!!

Ezag
10-26-2009, 10:27 AM
I don't think anyone has given up on Rob you guys are overreacting to some posts that just told the truth that he still struggles to score underneath. Is anyone saying he'll never score or get better? I think the point is that you cant expect him to be a Batista or Turiaf type scorer. He still has slow to develop moves which does not bode well for being a proficient back to the basket scorer.
Did you guys just want the reports only to be glowing about how we are going to dominate everyone without ever even being tested? Yes we are young and need to grow no one is giving up before the season started. We will struggle to have a consistent low post threat this year I think. I do think the potential is there especially with Poling and Dower to have some point production.

Edit: Rob could average anywhere from 5 to 8 points a game and still be a huge contributor to this team. Our guards will be where a lot of our scoring will come from anyway.

+1

MickMick
10-26-2009, 04:31 PM
Centers historically take time to develop. Most blossom after 2-3 years.

Hibbert from Georgetown is a good example. He was also a first round pick. Thabeet had UConn fans concerned early as well. He was also a first round pick.

There are many nuances to be learned. There are several "big man specialists" that make a living tutoring centers. Then the jump is so large to the NBA, that the process has to start anew at a different level.

Rob has the physical tools and the willingness to learn. He demonstrated that by working with Casey last summer.

Give it time friends.

Once and Future Zag
10-26-2009, 07:30 PM
My perspective on his development is that if at the "minimum" he can put out Sean Mallon type numbers for points and boards, as a team they'll be in great shape since he's bigger, quicker, and more athletic than Sean was - and we did pretty well with Sean holding down the post.

Anything else above that is pure gravy IMO.

Stache
10-27-2009, 07:19 AM
A scoring threat inside is necessary for GU and any other program with high aspirations. A presence is better than no presence, but a scoring big man makes the defense play honest. Teams like Memphis, UNC and other athletic teams can extend their defenses when we don't have a big man to penalize them. Josh could not develop an offensive move to his right and was limited inside 10 feet to a fall away bank shot or hook. This allowed the other teams' athletes to harrass the perimeter.

Additionally, its all about FG percentages. A scoring big man can convert 50-60% of his shots, but a good perimeter FG percentage might be 40-45%.

This isn't anything new and it is why a scoring big man is the uber-prized recruit. You get one, and you have the threat that everyone wants/needs. This is why Rob's offense over time is a big deal to future success. EHarris may be answer?