PDA

View Full Version : 10 Years in the Making



Angelo Roncalli
09-10-2009, 09:13 AM
SPOKANE, Wash. (September 10, 2009 – http://www.gozags.com) – IMG College, Gonzaga University’s multi-media rights holder, and KHQ-TV, the official station of Bulldog basketball, have partnered to produce “The Decade of Excellence” which chronicles the historic rise of Gonzaga men’s basketball.

The only commemorative, full-length DVD showcasing this era of Bulldog basketball, “The Decade of Excellence” can be ordered now by calling (877) 281-4377 or online at www.GoZags.com. The cost is $20 plus shipping and handling and fans should allow 3-4 weeks for shipping. Clips of the 90-minute DVD are available at www.GoZags.com with an extended preview at Gonzaga’s athletic Youtube channel at Youtube.com/user/GUBulldogs.

The documentary, produced and narrated by Greg Heister, the television play-by-play voice for Bulldog basketball on KHQ-TV, follows the rise from obscurity of the small Jesuit university beginning with the Bulldogs run to the NCAA Elite Eight in 1999 through last year’s NCAA Sweet Sixteen appearance.

The 1999 team became America’s team with heroic victories over the University of Minnesota, Stanford University and the University of Florida. The run ended with an epic battle with eventual national champion University of Connecticut in the Elite Eight. Little did anyone realize that innocent beginning would put in motion a series of events that would transform not only that small university, but the world of intercollegiate basketball.

Over the course of the next decade, the name no one could pronounce would become the standard to which other programs would aspire. This is that story. It’s a story as American as apple pie. A story as old as David and Goliath. A story that inspires dreams. This is the story of Gonzaga and its rise to join the elite of the college basketball world. It’s a story of dedication, commitment and faith in something bigger than oneself. This is the story of excellence applied in a way that has transformed a university, a community and the culture of college basketball. This is the story of Gonzaga’s “Decade of Excellence.”

In creating this story Heister interviewed more than 40 key personalities from the past decade and got their personal reflections on what Bulldog basketball meant – and still means – to them. Among the people included in the DVD are former players Casey Calvary, Matt Santangelo, Dan Dickau, Adam Morrison and Derek Raivio. Current and former Gonzaga coaches Mark Few, Dan Monson and Bill Grier shared their memories. College basketball personalities such as Jay Bilas, Doug Gottlieb, Fran Fraschilla and Jud Heathcote talked about the transformation of the Bulldogs. Each person offers their commentary with never-before-told stories and personal reflections of the moments fans remember.

“The Decade of Excellence is the definitive historical narrative of the rise of Gonzaga basketball. Our fans will treasure the memories that have been captured and will laugh and cry along with those telling the stories. This is must have for any Gonzaga fan who has lived and died with this team over the years,” Few said.

IMG-College
IMG-College is the leader in developing integrated licensing, marketing, and multi-media opportunities for the nation's top collegiate brands across local, regional, and national platforms. IMG-College partners include the NCAA and its 88 championships, NCAA Football, leading conferences, and some of the most prestigious universities in the country. IMG-College is a division of global sports and entertainment company IMG. For more information, please visit www.imgcollege.com.

KHQ Television

KHQ Television has been locally owned by Cowles Company since 1952, reaching 24 counties in eastern Washington, northern Idaho and western Montana. During its 56 years of broadcasting, KHQ has provided viewers with quality local programming including local news, sports and entertainment. For more information, please visit our website at www.khq.com.

Oliver Pierce, SID
Gonzaga University
502 E Boone
Spokane, WA 99258

LynetteG
09-10-2009, 09:19 AM
<Clips of the 90-minute DVD are available at www.GoZags.com with an extended preview at Gonzaga’s athletic Youtube channel at Youtube.com/user/GUBulldogs>

I did not find the clip on the youtube page

Zaggin' it
09-10-2009, 09:26 AM
Check again...it's up now.

Also, here's the link to order.


http://store.cstv.com/marketplace/store_contents.cfm?store_id=436&product_id=155765

LynetteG
09-10-2009, 09:29 AM
Wow! I was crying along with the guys! Very moving!

Oregon Zag
09-10-2009, 10:53 AM
Thanks a lot for this info. I've been waiting for years for someone to do that. I just put in my order.

ZagNative
09-10-2009, 10:58 AM
I loved this story about Stockton in the Deseret News (http://www.deseretnews.com/article/705328795/Utah-Jazz-John-Stockton-did-his-own-thing-2-and-pulled-it-off.html?pg=1), which features a neat photo album, including this pic, captioned, "Jazz guard John Stockton drives against Chicago's Michael Jordan as Karl Malone, right, sets the pick during a game at the Delta Center on Feb 4, 1998. The Bulls and Jazz would later meet in the NBA Finals that year. (Chuck Wing, Deseret News)"

http://www.deseretnews.com/photos/midres/1749155.jpg

John Stockton did his own thing — and pulled it off
By Doug Robinson

ohn Stockton, who will be inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame this week, could be difficult to work with for the media.

The Utah Jazz's point guard hid out in the training room after games and gave only cursory answers to questions. He never would sit down for profile interviews. He reserved his great wit and warmth for teammates, friends and family only.

Still, watching him from a distance for years, I couldn't help but admire him, and here's why: John Stockton was and is his own man. He never ran with the herd. Like Clint Eastwood and Willie Nelson, he was an original.

Most crave fame; he genuinely didn't want or need it. He was Garbo in shorts, ducking cameras and interviews and publicity. He strived for normalcy and privacy for himself and his family (and pulled it off).Be sure to check out the linked video.

He wore short shorts when the crowd followed the Jordan-inspired, baggy knee-length style. He didn't care that he was out of fashion.

He didn't shave his head a la Jordan or start combing it to attention in that carefully disheveled look that became fashionable. He wore the same boyish, Opie Taylor hairdo he had always worn.
Story continues below

It's not because he was a rebel; he wasn't. He simply made up his own mind about what felt right to him and didn't care what everyone else was doing or what they thought.

He didn't hire an agent. He handled all his negotiations with owner Larry Miller face to face. Who does that?

Or this: He played for the same team during his entire 19-year career.

He didn't conduct his business in the newspaper a la Karl Malone and so many other stars; he never aired his gripes in public. We don't even know if he had any.

He was, above all else, remarkably self-contained.

He was not like most people. He didn't hunger for validation through awards, statistics, publicity or fame, although all of it came his way. He was the antithesis of Terrell Owens and Kobe Bryant and the rest of them.

Miller, the Jazz's late owner, marveled that Stockton never looked at the stat sheet — not at halftime, not even after the game. Miller knew this because he used to visit Stockton in his postgame training-room hideout as the latter iced his feet, and Stockton never looked at the stats. Most players check their points, rebounds, assists, etc., but this was of no interest to Stockton. The only stat he cared about was whether his team won or lost.
Many years ago, Lee Benson, the Deseret News columnist, asked Stockton to name his favorite moment from the Barcelona Olympics, where the first Dream Team romped to the gold medal. Stockton didn't miss a beat. Of all the memorable things he experienced there, the first thing that came to mind was this: One afternoon, he was out walking through a crowded street in Barcelona with Charles Barkley and other Olympic teammates when a female tourist tapped him on the shoulder and handed him a camera.

"Excuse me," she said, "would you mind taking a picture of me and Mr. Barkley?"

Stockton loved being mistaken for another tourist, just a face in the crowd.
Stockton was so guarded, if not a little uptight, that, in a way, fans never really knew him. The only time anyone can remember seeing him cut loose was when he sank the shot that beat Houston in the Western Conference Finals to send the Jazz to their first NBA Finals.

He was always the calm, steadying presence on and off the court. During a 1994 playoff game, Miller was steamed about the team's poor effort in the first half, at one point shouting at Sloan to bench Karl Malone. At halftime, Miller entered the locker room with steam coming out of his ears, only to be intercepted by Stockton, who told him, "If you're too mad to be here — don't."

Miller turned around and headed for the training room and cooled down. Miller later recalled, "After Stockton gave me his words of wisdom, I thought, 'I'm OK. I've got a grip.' "

Because of all of the above, Stockton won everyone's respect, even, or especially, the owner's.

"People ask me all the time what kind of person John Stockton is," Miller said last year. "I tell them he's exactly the kind of person you hope he is."

Vizagra
09-10-2009, 12:21 PM
Great find ZN. Printed out the article to give to teh folks. got chills reading it.

MickMick
09-10-2009, 04:18 PM
I immediately purchased one for myself. Now I am tallying up how many I need for stocking stuffers.

LynetteG
09-10-2009, 04:43 PM
I immediately purchased one for myself. Now I am tallying up how many I need for stocking stuffers.

I'll let you know where my stocking is ;)

TheBeast
09-10-2009, 05:22 PM
squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!