What Football Program do the Zags Compare to?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BobZag
    Dark Lord of the Zag
    • Jan 2007

What Football Program do the Zags Compare to?

Boise State?
    Utah?
    BYU?
    West Virginia?
    Virginia Tech?
    Oklahoma State?
    Texas Tech?
    Oregon?
    Oregon State?
    Wake Forest?
    Ole Miss?
    Auburn?
    Iowa?
    UCLA?
    Montana?

Okay, what football programs do you think Gonzaga's basketball program compares to the most? State your case.
    The Kennel: "You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."
  • nonzagzag
    Kennel Club
    • Mar 2007

I'm no football expert but I heard a host on Mad Dog Sports on XM last night say that Boise State is becoming "the Gonzaga of college football"

Comment

• MickMick
      Zag for Life
      • Apr 2007

I would compare them to Boise State/BYU/Utah.

The Zags have been in place for a decade now. You don't see the fans pulling out the respect card nearly as often as they used to.

Until the BCS becomes more inclusive, I would expect the Boise State fans to complain about respect on a national stage (and rightfully so) indefinitely.

I think the original question would have been more suitable in the form:
      "What football program is most like Gonzaga?"

Then again, it is that line of thinking that drives our WCC brethren nuts.

Who cares? It is a long summer and it beats another Bol Kong thread.
      I miss Mike Hart

Comment

• Martin Centre Mad Man
        Administrator
        • Apr 2009

Notre Dame

Gonzaga's rise to national prominence as a university has closely followed the similar arc that Notre Dame followed almost a century ago.