PDA

View Full Version : Slipper Still Fits with an update on Gonzaga Elite Campers from the Midwest



ZagNative
06-05-2009, 09:21 AM
SSF (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/) hasn't been sleeping or focusing exclusively on the draft and has a newsy piece up about guys out of Net Gain country (Sam Dower's turf) who are projected to attend the Zags' elite camp:

Joe Hanstad, Dickinson, N. Dak.
Cole Stefan, Minnetonka, MN
Chanse Creekmur, Marshalltown, IA
and possibly Kevin Noreen, Minneapolis (MN

All play for Net Gain Sports (Sam Dower's team) except Kevin Noreen (who attended the elite camp last year and plays for the Minnesota Magic Elite).

We've talked about each of the projected campers here except 6'6" 205lb. SF Chanse Creekmur (Rivals profile (http://www.chicagosports.rivals.com/viewprospect.asp?pr_key=84323&sport=2#ticker)).

The other camper we've also learned is going to be representing Net Gain at the elite camp is Doug McDermott, out of Ames, Iowa.

Links to posts here about some of the guys mentioned in the SSF post:

Joe Hanstad (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=19366)
Cole Stefan (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=15020)
Doug McDermott (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=21087)

So, SSF guys, do you have a call in to Marquis Watts?

BobZag
06-05-2009, 09:40 AM
Kyle Wiltjer will be there, and I'm thinking Kingma and possibly Bell, too. 2011 guys.

Baldwinzag
06-05-2009, 10:07 AM
SSF (http://www.slipperstillfits.com/) hasn't been sleeping or focusing exclusively on the draft and has a newsy piece up about guys out of Net Gain country (Sam Dower's turf) who are projected to attend the Zags' elite camp:
[INDENT]Joe Hanstad, Dickinson, N. Dak.
Cole Stefan, Minnetonka, MN
Chanse Creekmur, Marshalltown, IA
and possibly Kevin Noreen, Minneapolis (MN


Good to see Chanse Creekmur on the list. I had no idea Gonzaga was potentially recruiting this kid. I had the unexpected opportunity to watch an all-star game he participated in a few months ago and came away very impressed. He's a smooth player, highly efficient, and an excellent shooter from all over the court. I've seen Cole Stefan play a handful of times and was actually more intrigued by Chanse Creekmur as a D1 prospect than Cole Stefan.

It appears the Zags have been diligently scouting the Mid-West region for recruits i.e. Dower, Gibbs, etc. Gonzaga has taken a unique approach to their recruiting trail and hopefully it pays off. We are mining over-looked areas such as Canada, Mid-West, and even Europe. Talk about getting creative and finding diamonds in the literal rough.

BobZag
06-05-2009, 10:16 AM
Good to see Chanse Creekmur on the list. I had no idea Gonzaga was potentially looking at this kid. I had the unexpected opportunity to watch an all-star game he participated in a few months ago in the Twin Cities and came away very impressed. He's a smooth player, highly efficient, and an excellent shooter from all over the court. I've seen Cole Stefan play a handful of times and was actually more intrigued by Chanse Creekmur as a prospect than Stefan.

It appears the Zags have been diligently scouting the Mid-West region for recruits. Gonzaga has taken a unique approach to their recruiting and hopefully it pays off. We are mining over-looked areas such as Canada, Mid-West, and even Europe. Talk about getting creative and finding diamonds in the literal rough.

Ever since Creekmur de-committed, I've been curious. Also, Joe Harris will be at this camp.

Baldwinzag
06-05-2009, 10:25 AM
Ever since Creekmur de-committed, I've been curious. Also, Joe Harris will be at this camp.

I was under the impression he was Iowa bound. I didn't see us on his original school list, yet I wonder who reached out to whom in this instance?

I only watched this kid for about 30 minutes against some of the best players in the Mid-west and he couldn't miss a shot. Turn-around jumpers, mid-range, 3 pointers, etc. The game looked easy for him. Actually, when I first saw him his play reminded me of Micah Downs in practice or pick up games. While a little less athletic than Micah, he played just like Downs, yet in a game situation.

I hope we court Creekmur while he's visiting, because he's one of the best, if not the best of the 2010 prospects above.

ZagNative
06-05-2009, 10:30 AM
Few & Co. have seemed to establish some strong ties with particular AAU coaches. I know he's mentioned the coach of Houston Select (Meech's AAU team) as a good one. A Houston Select guy who's listed the Zags is Jamel Outler, for 2010, out of Belaire HS in Houston. Wonder if he might be there.

And Wiltjer looks like is is coming, per this story I just found on Kansas Rivals board (http://www.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=950328) about Kyle accepting an invitation to the Jayhawks' elite camp.
Wiltjer, who helped deliver a state championship to Jesuit High School (25-3) this past season, will likely be one of the more heavily recruited players from the 2011 class.

Aside from Kansas, programs like Arizona, Arizona State, Florida, Maryland, Oregon, Oregon State (offer), Stanford, UCLA, Gonzaga (offer) and San Francisco (offer) have expressed an interest.

According to Wiltjer, several favorites have emerged in his recruitment.

"I am just trying to keep things open, because a lot can change in two years," said Wiltjer. "I'm not trying to single anyone out, but I do have a couple of favorites. I like Kansas. I don't know what the school is all about, but hopefully going to the elite camp, I can get a feel for what the school is like.

"I am planning to attend Gonzaga's elite camp," he added. "I definitely like Stanford, too. Arizona State has been talking to my coaches for awhile."Yay!!!!

BobZag
06-05-2009, 10:36 AM
I've always liked the sounds of Creekmur but didn't see GU recruiting him...until now. If he's anything like Micah, sign him up. :)

Getting Wiltjer won't be easy but the Zags love him and will go all-out for him.

Baldwinzag
06-05-2009, 10:42 AM
I've always liked the sounds of Creekmur but didn't see GU recruiting him...until now. If he's anything like Micah, sign him up. :)


BZ, while we're on the Chanse train, here's a random video clip of him jumping over a car for a dunk. After watching him in person, I can assure you he's the real deal. He'd be a great Zag and worth one of the few schollies we have available in 2010.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6s1KfPld1r4