PDA

View Full Version : Sam Dower Tabbed for Reebok All-American Game



ZagNative
04-08-2009, 06:27 AM
At American University in Washington, D.C. April 18, 2009.

Per Scout (http://pittsburgh.scout.com/a.z?s=141&p=2&c=854135):


Reebok has an impressive list of prospects competing in their All-American Game in Washington, D.C. Their rosters were released on Monday.

The McDonald’s All-American game, Jordan Classic and Derby Festival Classic have been recognized as the top all-star games the past few, and now we have one more event to add to the equation, the Reebok All-American Game.

Reebok’s event will feature a number of highly touted prospects that will play in a pair of all-star games. The National game includes a pair of McDonald’s All-Americans – Dante Taylor and Dexter Strickland – to go with a number of highly touted prospects.

Both games will be played on April, 18th at American University's Bender Arena. The Preview game will tip at 5:30, while the National Game is set to begin at 7:00.

dnj116
04-08-2009, 08:28 AM
I notice some of the names on those teams as players we were recruiting as well. I suppose I assumed wrong that Joe Burton was in the class of '10...guess not.
Regardless, congrats Sam!! From everything I've read, you certainly deserve the honors.

BobZag
04-08-2009, 08:30 AM
I thought I saw where this event was on TV.

Anybody know?

MississppiZag
04-08-2009, 11:16 AM
Bump. I hope this on T.V.

BobZag
04-17-2009, 02:04 PM
ill be at this. does anyone know if dower is playing in the preview game?? i dont see his name on the rosters for the national game. ill try to write up a recap for it afterwords.

Yes, he is. It's called the "Futures" game, I believe.

We'd all enjoy reading your report.

Thanks.

kitzbuel
04-17-2009, 05:54 PM
I thought I saw where this event was on TV.

Anybody know?

I do not see it on Dish even locally here in the DC area.

cjm720
04-20-2009, 12:21 PM
Anyone able to find a box score? I've seen a few articles on the Net but no mention of Dower.

ZagNative
04-20-2009, 01:28 PM
Anyone able to find a box score? I've seen a few articles on the Net but no mention of Dower.Here you go (http://www.ballercircuit.com/?p=515).

jazzdelmar
04-20-2009, 02:24 PM
hmmmmm....

GUZagDenver
04-20-2009, 02:31 PM
Lowest scorer in the game......... don't know what to make of that

theothegreat21
04-20-2009, 02:42 PM
Its a meaningless all-star game....there is nothing to make of it. These guys probably practiced together once or twice, and lt was likely a glorified street ball game.

Keep in mind that some UW fans have come away unimpressed by Abdul Gaddy because of his play in the McD's game, which is utterly ridiculous. Don't base your thoughts on Sam because of this game, instead remember that he averaged 25 and 12 and led his team to the Minnesota state championship game

Ziggy
04-20-2009, 02:43 PM
How many minutes did he get? That answer will help with other questions.

cjm720
04-20-2009, 02:47 PM
The stats don't show minutes either. Dower contributed to almost every statistical category, which in itself is a good indication to me.

go sam and go zags!!

and thanks to ZagNative

SageOfZagville
04-20-2009, 02:48 PM
Games like this really favor the guards. The art of feeding a low post player is diminishing year by year. Nothing more frustrating than working hard to pin your opponent and call for the ball - the wing gives a quick glance and then passes the rock back around the perimeter. I would'nt read to much into this. He did get 6 boards and got to the free-throw line, two things we really need next year.

The sage.

BobZag
04-20-2009, 04:41 PM
2 points for Kansas-bound G Elijah Johnson tells me all I need to know about these games. But it does make fans feel good if their guy scores big. :) I like the rebounds, tho.

wazZag
04-20-2009, 09:09 PM
After this year, I care very little about the 5 guy scoring. For example, what a guy like Kuso could have provided for this year's squad...

Angelo Roncalli
04-21-2009, 08:32 AM
The loneliest guy in the world is a post player in a HS all-star game. The rebounding figures tell me he was working hard.

4AmericasTeam
04-22-2009, 04:56 PM
Lowest scorer in the game......... don't know what to make of that

Probably no need to get wrapped to tight about it.