PDA

View Full Version : One Zag's Thanks and Reflection

TeachforZagNation
03-28-2009, 07:00 AM
I don't post much but I read often. Probably too often.

I just want to thank the team, especially Andrew, Ira, Jeremy, Josh, and Micah, for a great year and for great careers of dedication, renewal, passion...

Each year means something different to all of us. It is hard to believe that in the 10 years since 99 I have gone from a high school junior at LC to a professional on the other side of the country. But the Zags have been a constant in the changes of my (our) lives and I want to thank them for always being there.

I remember the early years with a blissful youth. I dont think the program or I knew what was in store for us in the coming years. Excitement and hope carried us to places we weren't sure we were supposed to be (3 straight Sweet16s/ college in Virginia?!?!) and through it we gained identities.

The 05/06 year was the hardest of my life. I graduated from college, was teaching in the inner-city in the mid-Atlantic and failing, trying to do a long-distance relationship. Sometimes the only thing that felt consistent in my life was the team, especially with it's additional Spokane roots. As Morrison cried at center court, I was wandering the streets of Baltimore crying too. I didn't know how to deal with the loss probably because I didn't know how to deal with my life. Were things really supposed to turn out this way, be this tough?