PDA

View Full Version : 20 seconds left on shot clock, before end of half or game

ZagsGoZags
03-22-2009, 10:04 PM
and we want to get the last shot.

WHY DO I DREAD THIS?

It seems like Few used to run set plays. I would love to see the stats on this for the last three years. Pargo or Matt (lately) will start the play with 9 seconds on the clock, and pretty much telegraph they are going in hell or high water, into two or three defenders, and take the shot.

Yes, I know, recently there has been the occassional pass. I wonder if we would be better to just run our usual offense with 15 seconds left, if we are not going to run a set play.... better than what we do.

I am not an expert, I am probably not understanding something here, but I do know my guts get tight when we are in this situation, and it seems like we seldom get a good shot. We did get one recently when Matt bounce passed to Gray cutting for the bucket.

Am I alone on this?

DoMieD
03-22-2009, 10:31 PM
I'd rather Matt or Pargo drive than Pargo pull up a 35 footer..

but running a play would be a good idea, especially since we do NOT convert on so many last possession opportunities..

MJ777
03-22-2009, 11:39 PM
I'd rather Matt or Pargo drive than Pargo pull up a 35 footer..

but running a play would be a good idea, especially since we do NOT convert on so many last possession opportunities..

Right; either drive and shoot or dish or run the regular offense for 1-15 seconds until a decent shot develops.

Pargo scored at the half against Akron, and that is the only time I remember the Zags scoring in a situation like that in the past few years. If I am mistaken, please correct me.

Zagpower
03-23-2009, 05:51 AM
Ball needs to be in Matt's hands in those situations.

krozman
03-23-2009, 07:23 AM