PDA

View Full Version : Giacoletti to GU?



EJLAtlanta
03-24-2007, 07:56 PM
Andy Katz on ESPN.com writes that sources indicate Few will replace Bill Grier with Ray Giacoletti. Any local confirmation? Or is it just speculation?

Bocco
03-24-2007, 07:58 PM
can't confirm, but it makes sense and would be a good addition to the staff

CDC84
03-24-2007, 08:10 PM
http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=2811618

SpudDawg
03-24-2007, 10:13 PM
nm

4EVERaZAG
03-24-2007, 10:36 PM
Seems to have a good resume...http://utahutes.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/mtt/giacoletti_ray00.html

I like this part:
"He was pivotal in assembling the school's 1994 recruiting class that was rated among the top 20 in the nation." Imagine what he, Lloyd and Rice could do together.

cggonzaga
03-24-2007, 10:38 PM
I really like this choice. Great match for the University. Clearly Few isn't going anywhere otherwise Grier wouldn't have left.

GonzagaLove
03-24-2007, 10:48 PM
here's a link for more info. on Grier's possiible replacement.

http://www.boston.com/sports/colleges/mens_basketball/articles/2007/03/02/coach_ray_giacoletti_to_leave_utah/

TR11Zag
03-25-2007, 04:59 AM
I would love to see Ray on the bench.

Here's hoping it's true.

brasszag
03-25-2007, 08:00 AM
I don't know that Ray fills the need we have - for a Defensive coach.

I still think this guy (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showpost.php?p=16724&postcount=21) would give us a more rounded coaching team.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 08:59 AM
I don't know that Ray fills the need we have - for a Defensive coach..

This doesn't thrill me either but it doesn't surprise me if true. It looks to me more like Mark being loyal to a friend who needs work than choosing what is best for the program. I was really hoping for someone newer to the program who is a defensive genius. Is Ray that? I don't know... :confused:

NJZag
03-25-2007, 09:14 AM
This doesn't thrill me either but it doesn't surprise me if true. It looks to me more like Mark being loyal to a friend who needs work than choosing what is best for the program. I was really hoping for someone newer to the program who is a defensive genius. Is Ray that? I don't know... :confused:

I'd judge Ray G. on his entire body of work, including putting EWU into the NCAAs, rather than just his final year with the Utes. I have to believe he's learned a lot from where things went right and where things didn't work out. And he's been upfront in showing introspection in media interviews.

This past year, Utah suffered because he opted to bring in a lot of freshmen and groom an entire squad that would pay off long-term in "program rebuilding" fashion over the years. In hindsight, in an interview he gave in mid-March, he was reported to have said that if he had known just how very short-term the expectations of the AD at Utah were, he would have opted for a mix of experienced JuCo's and freshmen.

Given talent, the man can coach. No doubt about it. And he's been the head coach of two teams that have gone to the NCAAs as proof. What GU provides is the talent of what's on the squad and what's coming in. I think he's going to work out very well.

BobZag
03-25-2007, 09:33 AM
Andy Katz on ESPN.com writes that sources indicate Few will replace Bill Grier with Ray Giacoletti. Any local confirmation? Or is it just speculation?

;)

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 10:02 AM
Given talent, the man can coach. No doubt about it. And he's been the head coach of two teams that have gone to the NCAAs as proof.

I don't question that he can coach but can he coach defense? Getting to the NCAA's is not proof of that. Few has already proven that he can get a team to the NCAA's but until we add lock-down defense to the mix we won't consistently get deep into the tournament. This should be so patently obvious to anyone looking at the teams who made it to the Elite 8 this year alone.

I'm willing to reserve judgment and hope for the best but this choice looks, well, a tad incestuous so to speak when diversity may benefit the program the most. I hope Mark hasn't put loyalty to a good friend ahead of what is best for the program. Time will tell.

ZagAddict
03-25-2007, 10:12 AM
Successful programs not only have great head coaches but great coaching staffs. This has been one of the keys to the GU success over the past 10 plus years. Giacoletti adds to the strength of this coaching staff with his experience. Not many programs are fortunate enough to have the level of Giacoletti's experience on the bench. I'm all in favor of this move and welcome Giacoletti with open arms...

From what I have seen, Che Dawson seems to be a bright talent that will benefit any program that gives him a spot on the bench. In my dream world I guess we would have a place for both Giacoletti and Dawson on the GU bench for many years to come...

Now lets focus on solidifying that 2008 recruiting class:)

NJZag
03-25-2007, 10:15 AM
What he did at Utah with a talented team his first year, according to his coaching bio:

After cracking the Top 25 on Jan. 24, Utah was ranked the last nine weeks of the season and finished No. 14 in the ESPN/USA Today coaches' poll and No. 18 in the Associated Press poll. The U. climbed as high as 12th in the coaches poll on Feb. 21. Utah was in the NCAA's top 20 in four statistical categories, ranking second in field goal percentage (51.7), third in rebound margin (+10.8 rpg), seventh in scoring defense (57.1 ppg) and 17th in scoring margin (+11.3 ppg).

gamagin
03-25-2007, 10:45 AM
As long as Few has respected bkb friends who have managed and grown successful programs themselves, or added value within the Zag umbrella, he will always chose coaches from inside that circle, imo.

For many reasons. All of them good.

Instantly, the coaching chemistry is there. They agree on the fundamentals of the game and what they want to achieve and how they want to achieve it. They trust, respect and know each other inside and out. They have each other's backs.

Just like they want our teams to come together, work together and meld, these fellows are already in synch etc.

I think you would do the same. I know I would.

I know your thing is defense. My thing is chemistry on the floor, the mix. I suggest the athletes are there just waiting for the management to set the priorities.

I am positive these coaches know what they would like to see and it likely includes both defense and chemistry.

Frankly, i think those are minor adjustments compared to putting and keeping this winning system and team together in a small, private school and continuing to return to the NCAA's to the bafflement of programs whose budgets are 10 to fifteen times greater than ours.

Meantime, I enjoy the micromanagement on this blog for the chat involved.

I also want to see us climb higher in the NCAA's and maybe one day take on the world and see how it looks from the top.

But the only way to get that chance is to continue to grow the structure inside the program, from the ground up.

This move, to me, is clear evidence (and great news) that Few not only plans to stay, but make the program better, too, in the process.

RG has been mining the same territory for EWU and Utah for the past several years. He has as many student-athlete connections as Grier and Few, so how do you beat that for starters? All great news to me.

I don't know if you were around then, but EWU gave us our absolutely scariest two games in that school's history with RG at the helm. In the end it was our horses who pulled us out. RG showed me all I needed to see when his teams met ours.

If this move were a stock tip, I would sell the farm and load up for a multi-year run of continued growth and a chance for prosperity as well.

In one motion, the stability that Grier brought to GU for many, many, productive, successful years, is replaced by his equal. WOW !
Everything is in place for a run.

To be continued.

Bocco
03-25-2007, 11:06 AM
The next few weeks will be interesting. With Billy Grier leaving and if Ray Giacoletti joins the GU staff would either Leon Rice or Tommy Lloyd possibly join Grier at USD? If so that would leave room for the addition of another coach, perhaps a defensive specialist. Also do any players decide to leave? Not counting Mast and Sorensen there are 11 returning, 4 coming in with 13 scollies available. We can speculate all we want, but it will be interesting over the nest few weeks/months to see how it all actually sorts out.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 11:10 AM
I hope your take is correct, gamagin but I'm reserving judgment until I see how it plays out and what changes we see on the floor. But I have say from an executive management perspective this is a questionable hire. In my line of work, if I need a programmer I hire a programmer. I don't hire a good manager because one is available. I hire a manager when I need a manager.

What this hire LOOKS like to me (I hope I'm wrong) is that Mark wants more help with his head coaching duties--hence hiring an additional head coach--than he does a defensive coach. I cringe to think that this might mean he still doesn't see the need to improve on the defensive end and we can expect more of the same.

Again, I hope I'm wrong.

MDABE80
03-25-2007, 11:20 AM
Ray's a great recruiter too! He's a known quantity for us and Coach Few. But one thing to remember is that he had Andrew Bogut at Utah....POY and a 20 and 12 kid.....so of course Ray had a stellar first year.
I like Ray for this job. He's a team player type coach which carries on that traditon here at GU. I honestly can't remember his teams being defensive demons but it might a perfect time to find such a coach who does focus on defense.

gamagin
03-25-2007, 11:43 AM
for defense.

but my point is there is a helluva lot more to this program & it's success than one note. A big part of it is the lifting of all those boats.

All those thousands of hours these coaches have put into the system (40-50 years just between Few and RG for starters) that is in place, seems to be the envy of all but a very few colleges in the united states. That is not an accident.

without that talent pool, the perception of continued success and growth among parents and the athletes, faith in the coaches and the program -- read stability -- your one dimensional demand would simply not be enough, I suggest.

I agree with your analgy re a programmer. To a point. But this involves people. raw recruits. kids in some cases.

I suggest further that even a programmer who is intimately familiar with the program he is coming to work on has a head start, and an advantage, over one who does not.

It remains to be seen, as you say, whether this will all work out to the satisfaction of you and the Zag Nation. That is fair.

It also remains to be seen whether defense is the most important aspect of future Zag teams, too.

I think it all depends on who you are playing against and what their strengths and weaknesses are versus ours.

To me, that has as much to do with chemistry -- matchups -- as anything. To you, it's all about defense.

One of the easiest ways to have a genius as a coach is a 7-2 (or more) center like Wooden did at UCLA (in Lew) and Phil had at LA (w/Shaq).

we'll see.

RenoZag
03-25-2007, 12:08 PM
Does anyone have an opinion on what Coach G. brings to the table as far as developing "bigs" ? Not that I expect him to turn Sacre and others into Andrew Boguts. . .

MDABE80
03-25-2007, 12:20 PM
We'll have shotblockers/rebounders and intimidaters galore with Josh, Theo Sacre and Kuso. No doubt we're solid underneath... among the best in the country next year. All mobile big men who've already shown it won't be safe in the lane for other teams next year and beyond.

It's the on ball defense the Zags need help with. Defensive schemes to fit other teams. My opinion is this: we won't get to the FF or even win one without hard defense. Thus I do emphasize defense. We score well.....always have......but it's the defense that's failed us. Just look who's headed toward the FF this year and you'll have no doubt how important defense is.

Ray's hire is good one for multiple reasons. Among the biggest is that HE Just Fits so well. I do think that unless and until Few hires someone who can train defense into the brains of the players, the Zags will be lucky to get to the Elite 8 level. Lots of team generate high powered offense. Very few combine offensive output with lock down defense. It's how teams get far in the tournament. Abe

Bocco
03-25-2007, 12:26 PM
I do think that unless and until Few hires someone who can train defense into the brains of the players, the Zags will be lucky to get to the Elite 8 level. Lots of team generate high powered offense. Very few combine offensive output with lock down defense. It's how teams get far in the tournament. Abe

MDABE I could not agree with you more. Offense may get you to the dance, but ultimately defense wins it. If teams could win it with offense then LMU would have had two NCAA championships in the early '90s....I cannot remember a more offensively oriented team than those LMU teams.

ZagNick
03-25-2007, 01:06 PM
Personally I like the idea of Ray coming to GU.....Good friends with Mark, they will be on the same page....has recruited the area for both UW and EWU....surely has knowledge of Rocky Mountain area......I think Leon will be next in line...Zags generally reward loyalty.....If Ray comes, look for Tommy L to move....he would still be a restricted earning coach at GU, I think...

spudzag
03-25-2007, 01:27 PM
It's the on ball defense the Zags need help with. Defensive schemes to fit other teams. My opinion is this: we won't get to the FF or even win one without hard defense. Thus I do emphasize defense. We score well.always have......but it's the defense that's failed us. Just look who's headed toward the FF this year and you'll have no doubt how important defense is.

Very few combine offensive output with lock down defense. It's how teams get far in the tournament. Abe

Couldn't agree more. Defense isn't having a guy on the bench who can play defense that you call your defensive stopper! It requires the mindset that both ends of the court are of equal importance.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 01:35 PM
As it's already been alluded to by others, there may be other pieces of the staff departing with Grier. Perhaps a defensive coaching hire is still in the offing. If so, Ray's hire would look like even more of a staff upgrade to me.

Fit is important when filling a position but first and foremost a candidate has to bring the skill set to fill the opening. If this proves to be the only new staff hire it doesn't look like it addresses the greatest need.

Nevtelen
03-25-2007, 02:02 PM
I think this is a great hire, for a lot of the reasons mentioned - won't create a lot of friction, keeps up the "stability" of the program, and brings a really really talented coach onto the staff. While it is possible for the team to play better D, I don't think it was as abysmal this year as everyone is making it out to be. Yes, some improvements are necessary - like being able to get defensive stops as key possessions late in the game without fouling - but overall, I think the D was much improved this year. Considering we're getting a coach of Giacoletti's caliber, I'm certainly willing to wait and see how things develop.

BobZag
03-25-2007, 02:21 PM
RayG will be hired for defense. Few, Rice, Lloyd love this guy. And Lloyd is staying. The staff is giddy to have RayG.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 02:46 PM
From USA Today (http://www.usatoday.com/sports/college/mensbasketball/mwest/utah.htm):


Then Bogut left for the NBA, and Giacoletti's faults became exposed. All one needs to do is look at the decline in the school's defense to see how pronounced the fall has been. A school that regularly played stellar defense under Majerus finished last in the Mountain West in field-goal defense (50.0) and 3-point shooting defense (46.3) this season. And it was last by a wide margin — New Mexico (46.6) was eighth in field-goal defense and Colorado State (37.9) was next to last in 3-point defense.

Sounds like just what the doctor ordered! ;)

BobZag
03-25-2007, 03:01 PM
I'd like to have Bergum or Blanchette ask him about that. I hope they do. It is opposite of what he did at EWU.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 03:11 PM
I don't really care what his explanation is to be honest. I want to see him prove it was an anomaly in the performance of this team on the floor next year. Until then, I'm not celebrating the notion that he is the the guy to cure our long-standing defensive deficiencies. Enough said.

ZaggyStardust
03-25-2007, 03:15 PM
Geez, too bad Coach Few didn't have the decency to consult with all the experts on here before he made a decision! I, for one have a lot of faith in Coach Few and would rather see how it all pans out before I bury the guy. SHEESH!!!!!!

BobZag
03-25-2007, 03:30 PM
I don't really care what his explanation is to be honest. I want to see him prove it was an anomaly in the performance of this team on the floor next year. Until then, I'm not celebrating the notion that he is the the guy to cure our long-standing defensive deficiencies. Enough said.

"long-standing defensive deficiencies"

Then I hope you don't think Grier staying would've changed anything. Nobody is celebrating anything. Enough said.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 03:44 PM
Nobody is celebrating anything.

I wonder where I got that idea?


The staff is giddy to have RayG.

Hey, if he does a great job with the defense I'll be the first to congratulate him. It just looks to me that he was hired more for his recruiting prowess than defensive prowess.

BobZag
03-25-2007, 04:19 PM
They do feel happy/giddy/fortunate that they could get someone they all like and respect, yes. I don't know the deal at Utah but I felt lucky to have eked out wins against him when he had GU dead to rights two straight years, with about half the talent. I thought he game-planned for GU as effectively as any coach ever has.

But we'll see how he does for GU.

Grier staying = long-standing defensive deficiencies.

imo.

ZagDaddy
03-25-2007, 04:26 PM
They do feel happy/giddy/fortunate that they could get someone they all like and respect, yes. I don't know the deal at Utah but I felt lucky to have eked out wins against him when he had GU dead to rights two straight years, with about half the talent. I thought he game-planned for GU as effectively as any coach ever has.

But we'll see how he does for GU.

Grier staying = long-standing defensive deficiencies.

imo.

Agreed.

Birddog
03-25-2007, 04:33 PM
The thing that stands out for me about the Giacoletti hire is that he really doesn't need the job, at least he shouldn't. I don't remember reading what his buyout was, but it had to be a decent sum. For him to come to GU tells me a couple of things. He is impressed with the "incoming" and feels they have the chance to really make a splash in the next couple of years and he wants to be a part of it. Also, that it would be fun to help out an old friend in that regard and certainly wouldn't hurt ones chances for a springboard back in the HC ranks. It's win, win, win, win IMO, and it will be WIN if he can coach some "D".

Birddog

CDC84
03-25-2007, 04:37 PM
First of all, Ray got a raw deal at Utah. Outside of Bogut, he came in with little on the table, and I think he did a terrific coaching job to even get the Utes to the sweet 16 a couple of years ago.

The Utah job has a glass ceiling. Majerus took it as far as it could go. He couldn't even get high level U.S. recruits to go there after the final 4 run. It was unfortunate that the Utah admin didn't understand that, and allow Ray more time to get the thing rolling again.

As for the defense, I think we all should give Ray the benefit of the doubt. For one thing, do you realize how rare it is for a non-BCS program to land an assistant with as much head coaching experience as Ray has? Gonzaga is very fortunate....he's the kind of guy that likely could've gotten an assistant position at a factory school this spring.

Also, for the first time in ages, Ray will just have to concentrate on one thing - defense - instead of having to focus on the whole picture. That's Few's job. Ray now just has to focus on the defense, leave the offense to Leon and Mark, and do his share on the recruiting trail. I think we might be pleasantly surprised by what happens as a result of Ray being able to narrow his focus. He's a terrific basketball mind, and well respected within the coaching fraternity.

Zagguy
03-25-2007, 04:38 PM
Could be another step in succession planning as well. Maybe Few wants to leave it in the hands of someone who has head coaching experience should Oregon come calling. Just wondering, that's all, on why a head coach would take an assistant position with no pressing need to take any job, let alone a step down the coaching chart.

CDC84
03-25-2007, 05:06 PM
The only D-1 head coaching job that Ray would likely get at this point is a low major one. Part of the reason why GU has been able to retain their assistants for so long is that taking such jobs in the past would've involved a pay cut. It's likely that any head job Ray would get would pay him as much as or less than what he's going to get at Gonzaga as an assistant.

I think Birddog is right. The guy went through a lot of hard times at Utah, and now he gets to come back and coach with two of his best buddies who are like basketball minds, and be a part of a team that has got way more talent and potential than anyone he's ever been a part of. It's a great opportunity...the chance to be a part of something special. I suspect he will eventually want to be a head coach again, but for now, the Gonzaga gig is a good one....probably a big relief for him.

That's what the whole thing comes down to. It has nothing to do with Few and his future. His future is at Gonzaga.

BobZag
03-25-2007, 05:17 PM
Billy Donovan brought in this former head coach for a defensive specialist--

http://www.gatorzone.com/billydonovan/?sub=staff&bio=shyatt

--And the Gators haven't looked back since.

Let's hope RayG does for Few what LShy has done for Donovan. Sometimes all it takes is one change.

Nevtelen
03-25-2007, 10:33 PM
I checked out the Utah site on Rivals - not a lot there, but at least one interesting bit about Giacoletti's defensive philosophy:


Coach Giacoletti on the importance of sound defense - "We don't talk about winning and losing. We focus on the things that we can control. We can control our defensive effort, and if you're able to keep opponents under 30 points per half then you're going to win a majority of the time if you do that one thing."

gamagin
03-26-2007, 07:50 AM
birddog wrote: <<I don't remember reading what his buyout was, but it had to be a decent sum. >>

i think i read it was $800k.

Nevtelen
03-26-2007, 09:09 AM
Can't find it now, of course, but I read that it was $175,000/yr for 4 years, IIRC. So that would make it about $700K. None too shabby.

Just read the Spokesman article on Giacoletti coming to GU and loved his quote:
Giacoletti, when reached at his home in Salt Lake City, said returning to Spokane to work for Few was the “best situation” he and his wife, Kim, “could have hoped for.”

“My wife and I are really excited,” he explained. “We love the people in that area of the country and, obviously, Mark and I are really good friends.”

Birddog
03-26-2007, 10:35 AM
The Utes agreed to pay him the $700,000 buyout he would have been due had he been terminated, and Giacoletti stumbled enough around
questions about the decision to strongly suggest he was pressured into it.

For anybody that REALLy wanted to know.

Birddog

kyle dixon
03-26-2007, 10:56 AM
I think one thing that has not been mentioned in regards to Ray G. and coaching is the game plan he executed in leading his Utes to a convincing victory over Wazzu earlier this year. I absolutely love this hire and I am so glad we have him on our sideline now--

kylasdad
03-26-2007, 11:10 AM
maybe he can keep our guys out of trouble in Cheney too!!!

OregonZag5
03-26-2007, 11:21 AM
TO me the issue is, is he a good hire. THey are experts on the board that can answer this but I have see coaches in the past hire their 'friends;' which has been their downfall - they are blinded by their loyalty.- hope that is not happening here

sonuvazag
03-26-2007, 11:32 AM
TO me the issue is, is he a good hire. THey are experts on the board that can answer this but I have see coaches in the past hire their 'friends;' which has been their downfall - they are blinded by their loyalty.- hope that is not happening here

Only time will tell for sure, but others have stated here that Giacoletti, based on his qualifications, could get hired as an assistant at other quality programs. Might also be a case of getting while the getting's good.

jayray
03-26-2007, 11:45 AM
This seems awful suspicious. Within two days Grier is gone and a new assistant coach is all lined up and ready to go. And its Ray Giacoletti?? Why would he take a step down instead of sideways? Don't these things take time? Like weeks instead of days. When I first heard Grier was gone it led creditability to Few not planning on leaving GU for the foreseeable future. This new news casts doubt on that assumption.

former1dog
03-26-2007, 11:47 AM
This seems awful suspicious. Within two days Grier is gone and a new assistant coach is all lined up and ready to go. And its Ray Giacoletti?? Why would he take a step down instead of sideways? Don't these things take time? Like weeks instead of days. When I first heard Grier was gone it led creditability to Few not planning on leaving GU for the foreseeable future. This new news casts doubt on that assumption.


Ohhhhh, here we go with the conspiracy theories.

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

jayray
03-26-2007, 11:50 AM
Ohhhhh, here we go with the conspiracy theories.

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

If you were president of a company and your vice president quit on Sunday would you have a new vice president lined up and get the approval of the board of directors by Monday at noon? You can laugh your a** off all you want - there is more to it than meets the eyes.

former1dog
03-26-2007, 11:51 AM
If you were president of a company and your vice president quit on Sunday would you have a new vice president lined up on Monday by noon. You can laugh your a** off all you want - there is more to it than meets the eyes.

Thanks, I think I will!

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

sonuvazag
03-26-2007, 11:59 AM
Ususally conspiracies are harder to figure out because effort is made to cover up the truth.

Why is it surprising that we already lined up a replacement? It's been all over these boards that Grier was interviewing for head coaching positions.

jayray
03-26-2007, 12:06 PM
Why is it surprising that we already lined up a replacement?

Well first off because what is the rush? Its been one day. Second off, aren't Llyod or Rice qualified? Just saying it is suspicious the way it went down. But I suppose GU has money to throw at the problem - so maybe it is totally normal the way it went down.

former1dog
03-26-2007, 12:08 PM
Well first off because what is the rush? Its been one day. Second off, aren't Llyod or Rice qualified? Just saying it is suspicious the way it went down. But I suppose GU has money to throw at the problem - so maybe it is totally normal the way it went down.

Do you think the CIA had something to do with it?

Or maybe it was the mob?



Little green men?


:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

jayray
03-26-2007, 12:30 PM
Do you think the CIA had something to do with it?

Or maybe it was the mob?



Little green men?


:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

Gee, can't even ask questions around here I guess. I think it is totally reasonable to ask why it happened so fast or why Llyod or Rice were overlooked.

JLGutrocks
03-26-2007, 12:38 PM
LLoyd and Rice are staying, right? What makes them overlooked?

(I bet they been cookin this up for a long time.... i just know it!!)

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

brasszag
03-26-2007, 12:38 PM
Gee, can't even ask questions around here I guess. I think it is totally reasonable to ask why it happened so fast or why Llyod or Rice were overlooked.

Huh?

I'm sure Few has known for a while that Grier was eventually going to move on... and having a good friend (and good former D1 head coach) available made the decision easy once Grier announced he was leaving.

I highly doubt that Few is capable of "overlooking" Rice or Lloyd after the years they've put in together. But when you can get a fairly successful former D-I head coach as a head assistant, that's a pretty big experience advantage over our two remaining assistant coaches.

former1dog
03-26-2007, 12:41 PM
Gee, can't even ask questions around here I guess. I think it is totally reasonable to ask why it happened so fast or why Llyod or Rice were overlooked.

Didn't you just ask the question? No one hid your keyboard. Although, if I were there, I would have been tempted. :D

Sorry Jayray, I just get a kick out of the conspiracy theory stuff. Its called timing and opportunity. Happens all the time. I would imagine it has happened to you and I hope in a positive way it happens many more times for you in life.

Who told you Rice and Lloyd were overlooked? We're down an assistant. They hired another one.

Peace, brother. And I hope you don't mind me having a little fun at your expense. :)

jayray
03-26-2007, 01:04 PM
Huh?

I'm sure Few has known for a while that Grier was eventually going to move on... and having a good friend (and good former D1 head coach) available made the decision easy once Grier announced he was leaving.

I highly doubt that Few is capable of "overlooking" Rice or Lloyd after the years they've put in together. But when you can get a fairly successful former D-I head coach as a head assistant, that's a pretty big experience advantage over our two remaining assistant coaches.

I guess I just kind of figured Grier was the top assistant and Ray would take that top spot. I guess I jumped to that conclusion not thinking that Llyod and Rice have the official title of 'assistant coach'.

beatProgram
03-26-2007, 01:17 PM
This seems awful suspicious. Within two days Grier is gone and a new assistant coach is all lined up and ready to go. And its Ray Giacoletti?? Why would he take a step down instead of sideways? Don't these things take time? Like weeks instead of days. When I first heard Grier was gone it led creditability to Few not planning on leaving GU for the foreseeable future. This new news casts doubt on that assumption.

I think the easier explanation would be that Few probably knew of Grier's intent long before the media got wind of everything, and the result is that there was time to put out feelers to try and secure a replacement.

So, while it looks like everything happened in a New York minute to us, the reality is more likely that the actual timeline wasn't nearly as compressed as the media coverage and press releases.

brasszag
03-26-2007, 01:25 PM
I guess I just kind of figured Grier was the top assistant and Ray would take that top spot. I guess I jumped to that conclusion not thinking that Llyod and Rice have the official title of 'assistant coach'.

I understand the thinking that Grier was a bit more "the man" since he was Few's designated successor, but I get the impression sometimes that Few is basically "First among equals" and less a CEO with his board - watch the timeout huddles and see how often the other coaches were taking charge.

GonzagaLove
03-26-2007, 04:34 PM
Totally legit comment. Interesting observation.

ZagDaddy
03-26-2007, 04:48 PM
Gee, can't even ask questions around here I guess. I think it is totally reasonable to ask why it happened so fast or why Llyod or Rice were overlooked.

I'd be guessing it only seems fast and that this whole thing played out over the past week or 10 days behind closed doors and that it only went public in the last couple. I can understand why you might think things look fishy but we aren't seeing the whole picture I'm sure.