PDA

View Full Version : Are we already in the Sweet 16....

TM27
03-15-2009, 09:35 PM
I guess I am Debbie Downer or maybe I am afraid of the jinx or maybe this is a BZ doom thread...either way I am somewhat surprised by the confidence on this board. We are the fanbase of a team that has lost in the 1st rd each of the last two years, has advanced past the first weekend just once since 2002....and that one time was an 11 point collapse in less than 3 minutes (UCLA), and by seeding standards we have become notorious for underachieving during March.

I am a homer, but this team, and staff, have not proven much (lately) when it comes to March. These are not WCC teams we will play, and if I am an Akron coach I am telling my team that GU is fragile in March.

GU has a lot to prove...and the committee has finally rewarded them by not completely screwing them. GU must seize this opportunity. Focus on Akron.

Sorry for the doom and gloom but I dont see how, or why, we are penciling ourselves into the second weekend with talks of UNC, our easy path, etc? Doesnt WKU have more tourney experience than this team? Someone pump me up because right now I am apprehensive about GU's march approach, and I am not as sold on the easy path.

CB4
03-15-2009, 10:04 PM
I really don't think our previous tournament results are any indication of where this team is capable of going. Sure, we haven't been so hot in the last couple of years but I really doubt any of the coaches or players are thinking with that kind of mentality. I'm sure they are thinking more along the lines of "we have an opponent, Akron, that we are capable of beating and when we do beat them and we take on Illinois, we are capable of beating them too, if we play to the level we know we can."

So, since we all believe in our team on this board and know what they are capable of accomplishing, there is no reason for us not to pencil us in against Carolina in the Sweet Sixteen.

Ezag
03-15-2009, 10:07 PM