PDA

View Full Version : Akron



rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 02:54 PM
2009 basketball schedule for Akron
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pomeroy Rank: 91
Record: 23-12
Conference: Mid American Conference


Date Result Site Record Conf Prediction*
Sat Nov 15 Akron 56, (222) Canisius 46 Home 1-0
Tue Nov 18 Akron 72, (280) Winthrop 58 Home 2-0
Fri Nov 21 (6) Pittsburgh 86, Akron 67 Away 2-1
Tue Nov 25 Akron 81, (NR) Urbana 37 Home 3-1
Sat Nov 29 (166) Eastern Kentucky 69, Akron 57 Neutral (Hackensack, NJ) 3-2
Sun Nov 30 Akron 85, (332) Fairleigh Dickinson 41 Away 4-2
Wed Dec 3 Akron 63, (70) Niagara 59 Away 5-2
Sat Dec 6 (83) Dayton 54, Akron 50 Home 5-3
Sat Dec 13 Akron 78, (300) North Carolina A&T 61 Home 6-3
Wed Dec 17 (55) Virginia Commonwealth 73, Akron 69 Away 6-4
Sun Dec 28 Akron 77, (288) St. Francis NY 70 Home 7-4
Wed Dec 31 Akron 75, (320) NC Greensboro 53 Away 8-4
Sat Jan 3 (74) Rhode Island 79, Akron 50 Away 8-5
Sat Jan 10 (103) Miami OH 64, Akron 51 (OT) Away 8-6 0-1
Tue Jan 13 (118) Buffalo 63, Akron 61 Home 8-7 0-2
Sat Jan 17 Akron 62, (148) Bowling Green 52 Away 9-7 1-2
Tue Jan 20 (182) Ohio 70, Akron 65 (OT) Away 9-8 1-3
Sat Jan 24 Akron 68, (121) Kent St. 54 Home 10-8 2-3
Mon Jan 26 Akron 67, (219) Youngstown St. 53 Away 11-8
Wed Jan 28 Akron 70, (299) Toledo 61 Away 12-8 3-3
Sat Jan 31 Akron 64, (249) Central Michigan 43 Home 13-8 4-3
Tue Feb 3 Akron 78, (306) Eastern Michigan 41 Away 14-8 5-3
Sun Feb 8 Akron 87, (255) Western Michigan 63 Home 15-8 6-3
Wed Feb 11 Akron 63, (245) Ball St. 55 Home 16-8 7-3
Sun Feb 15 (290) Northern Illinois 83, Akron 79 Away 16-9 7-4
Wed Feb 18 Akron 53, (103) Miami OH 44 Home 17-9 8-4
Sat Feb 21 (217) Valparaiso 74, Akron 66 Away 17-10
Thu Feb 26 Akron 62, (118) Buffalo 57 Away 18-10 9-4
Sun Mar 1 (148) Bowling Green 50, Akron 46 Home 18-11 9-5
Thu Mar 5 Akron 60, (182) Ohio 51 Home 19-11 10-5
Sun Mar 8 (121) Kent St. 67, Akron 63 Away 19-12 10-6
Tue Mar 10 Akron 93, (299) Toledo 92 (OT) Home 20-12 11-6
Mid American Conference Tournament
Thu Mar 12 Akron 73, (103) Miami OH 63 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 21-12
Fri Mar 13 Akron 63, (148) Bowling Green 55 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 22-12
Sat Mar 14 Akron 65, (118) Buffalo 53 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 23-12
Projected record** 23-12 11-6

RenoZag
03-15-2009, 02:56 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3580/3358161604_a1a9861595_o.png

rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 03:03 PM
2008-09 Akron Zips - Men's Basketball
NO NAME POS HT WT CLASS HOMETOWN
1 Ronnie Steward G 5-10 175 Freshman Columbus, OH
2 Kyle Petersen G 6-4 180 Freshman Naples, FL
3 Alex Sullivan G 5-10 175 Freshman Painesville, OH
4 Steve McNees G 6-2 170 Sophomore New Castle, PA
5 Brett McClanahan G 6-4 185 Freshman Nitro, WV
12 Darryl Roberts G 6-0 165 Junior Toledo, OH
13 Nikola Cvetinovic F 6-8 230 Freshman Loznica,
14 Eric Coblentz G 6-2 185 Freshman Uniontown, OH
15 Tim Carroll F 6-3 215 Junior Akron, OH
23 Brett McKnight F 6-6 245 Sophomore Lancaster, OH
24 Anthony (Humpty) Hitchens G 5-9 168 Freshman Chillicothe, OH
30 Chris McKnight F 6-7 225 Junior Lancaster, OH
32 Jimmy Conyers F 6-5 220 Senior Baltimore, MD
33 Nate Linhart F 6-8 205 Senior Gahanna, OH
40 Steve Swiech C 6-9 250 Freshman Pittsburgh, PA
42 Andrew Parrish F 6-8 225 Freshman Dayton, OH
54 Mike Bardo C 6-10 240 Sophomore Cincinnati, OH

SageOfZagville
03-15-2009, 03:04 PM
They had three losses to NCAA teams.

Pitt 87-66 at Pitt.
Dayton 54-50 at home.
VCU 73-69 on the road.

I hope we don't overlook them.

rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 03:05 PM
Link to Akron stats:

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/teams/stats?teamId=2006

btzag
03-15-2009, 03:07 PM
Would like to see some analysis on their team from others who have seen them play. Based off their numbers they are a defensive-oriented team though they do not have much size at all. Front line looks to be 6/8, 6/7, 6/6 with a real short frosh pg. Maybe they press... Definitely not a team that lights it up from outside or anywhere on the floor.

Bottom line though is you better just bring your A game and bury this group that has to travel a LONG way to face a more talented Zags team in it's own backyard.

SWZag
03-15-2009, 03:07 PM
The link to AkronZips.Org (http://zipsnation.org/forums//index.php?showforum=2), the Zips' basketball forum.

Not much yet...

SWZag

thibaulm
03-15-2009, 03:17 PM
only 1 senior in their starting lineup. only 2 on their whole team.

i like this matchup, they will buckle under the portland cheers

surfmonkey89
03-15-2009, 03:20 PM
There are no excuses this year. Come in with the focus they had in the WCC tourney and execute to their ability.

TokyoZag
03-15-2009, 03:21 PM
Another poster mentioned their tourney game is on espn360.

Looking forward to watching that.

LynetteG
03-15-2009, 03:26 PM
from the zips board
http://zipsnation.org/forums//index.php?showtopic=13163

"#13 Akron vs #4 Gonzaga

Should be good"

"Playing Gonzaga in Oregon...no good"

"Not thrilled that it's in Portland, but otherwise i'm pretty happy to play Gonzaga, I hate them."

"here's our chance to be the "Gonzaga of the East""

"We've been calling for this game for a few years now. Too bad it's in Portland. Still, I think Akron has a great chance and I think it will be a great game."

"To become the Gonzaga of the East, we must first prove we can play with the Gonzaga of the West. I like the matchup, but not the location."

Grad Zag
03-15-2009, 03:28 PM
The McKnight brothers look like they can do some damage. Looks like a good matchup for us though. Here is a link on youtube of them playing. Click on the HQ for better quality. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fk0QcsZtfMs

vaboris
03-15-2009, 03:34 PM
2009 basketball schedule for Akron
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pomeroy Rank: 91
Record: 23-12
Conference: Mid American Conference


Date Result Site Record Conf Prediction*
Sat Nov 15 Akron 56, (222) Canisius 46 Home 1-0
Tue Nov 18 Akron 72, (280) Winthrop 58 Home 2-0
Fri Nov 21 (6) Pittsburgh 86, Akron 67 Away 2-1
Tue Nov 25 Akron 81, (NR) Urbana 37 Home 3-1
Sat Nov 29 (166) Eastern Kentucky 69, Akron 57 Neutral (Hackensack, NJ) 3-2
Sun Nov 30 Akron 85, (332) Fairleigh Dickinson 41 Away 4-2
Wed Dec 3 Akron 63, (70) Niagara 59 Away 5-2
Sat Dec 6 (83) Dayton 54, Akron 50 Home 5-3
Sat Dec 13 Akron 78, (300) North Carolina A&T 61 Home 6-3
Wed Dec 17 (55) Virginia Commonwealth 73, Akron 69 Away 6-4
Sun Dec 28 Akron 77, (288) St. Francis NY 70 Home 7-4
Wed Dec 31 Akron 75, (320) NC Greensboro 53 Away 8-4
Sat Jan 3 (74) Rhode Island 79, Akron 50 Away 8-5
Sat Jan 10 (103) Miami OH 64, Akron 51 (OT) Away 8-6 0-1
Tue Jan 13 (118) Buffalo 63, Akron 61 Home 8-7 0-2
Sat Jan 17 Akron 62, (148) Bowling Green 52 Away 9-7 1-2
Tue Jan 20 (182) Ohio 70, Akron 65 (OT) Away 9-8 1-3
Sat Jan 24 Akron 68, (121) Kent St. 54 Home 10-8 2-3
Mon Jan 26 Akron 67, (219) Youngstown St. 53 Away 11-8
Wed Jan 28 Akron 70, (299) Toledo 61 Away 12-8 3-3
Sat Jan 31 Akron 64, (249) Central Michigan 43 Home 13-8 4-3
Tue Feb 3 Akron 78, (306) Eastern Michigan 41 Away 14-8 5-3
Sun Feb 8 Akron 87, (255) Western Michigan 63 Home 15-8 6-3
Wed Feb 11 Akron 63, (245) Ball St. 55 Home 16-8 7-3
Sun Feb 15 (290) Northern Illinois 83, Akron 79 Away 16-9 7-4
Wed Feb 18 Akron 53, (103) Miami OH 44 Home 17-9 8-4
Sat Feb 21 (217) Valparaiso 74, Akron 66 Away 17-10
Thu Feb 26 Akron 62, (118) Buffalo 57 Away 18-10 9-4
Sun Mar 1 (148) Bowling Green 50, Akron 46 Home 18-11 9-5
Thu Mar 5 Akron 60, (182) Ohio 51 Home 19-11 10-5
Sun Mar 8 (121) Kent St. 67, Akron 63 Away 19-12 10-6
Tue Mar 10 Akron 93, (299) Toledo 92 (OT) Home 20-12 11-6
Mid American Conference Tournament
Thu Mar 12 Akron 73, (103) Miami OH 63 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 21-12
Fri Mar 13 Akron 63, (148) Bowling Green 55 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 22-12
Sat Mar 14 Akron 65, (118) Buffalo 53 Neutral (Cleveland, OH) 23-12
Projected record** 23-12 11-6


Is there a reason their RPI and SOS are not posted and this "Pomeroy Rank" is?

gu03alum
03-15-2009, 03:50 PM
I had to laugh at this on their board:


One very serious thing I hope the Zips coaching staff take into account is the change in elevation out west. This has been a big complaint from a lot of east coast teams that end up getting stuck out west. The change in elevation has very serious effects on a team. The oxygen level is different, and a number of other small things are off enough to throw performance of a player. Add in to the equation that this is going to be a home game for the Zags and the odds start looming over the Zips.

With it being spring break, I serious hope the Athletic Dept has the money to send the Zips out ASAP. The sooner they can get adjusted to the environment, the less outside factors will affect the game.

They must think Portland is in the rocky mountains.

rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 03:52 PM
Well, whoever built the Akron summary must know how good the Pomeroy rank is.

BTW, the current Pomeroy *overall* rank has Gonzaga as the number 5 team in the whole country. Here are the Pomeroy rankings for the better teams in the South region:

2 North Carolina
5 Gonzaga
12 Arizona State
15 Syracuse
17 Oklahoma
22 Clemson
23 Illinois
43 Butler
46 LSU
49 Michigan

Looks like a pretty good region.

LynetteG
03-15-2009, 03:53 PM
Is there a reason their RPI and SOS are not posted and this "Pomeroy Rank" is?

RPI 90

ZagMania
03-15-2009, 03:54 PM
I go to University at Buffalo and watched the Zips beat Buffalo in the MAC championship game. I wasn't that impressed, defensively oriented but Buffalo doesn't have much of an offense so its hard to judge. They have the MAC defensive player of the year.

It'll be nice to get revenge for my home school.

TokyoZag
03-15-2009, 03:56 PM
KenPom:
http://kenpom.com/team.php?y=2009&team=Akron

For those that don't know, Ken Pomeroy has the most *meaningful* stats. Most BB nerds defer to him.

Some highlights:

Akron has middle of the pack OffEff and tempo, but their defensive efficiency is pretty high at 50. ESPN360 replay announcers mention the stingy defense multiple times.

They are ranked 4th (!!) in defensive turnovers and their 3pt% defense is 8th. Stingy for sure.

That being said, they aren't a tall team. They have about 7 bad losses and are the mediocre offense is compounded by being terrible from the 3pt line. (227 out of 344 teams). Their worst stats are in offensive rebounding, getting to the line and getting the ball stolen from then on offense.

Honestly, it looks good for the Zags. Real good.

mgadfly
03-15-2009, 04:00 PM
Is there a reason their RPI and SOS are not posted and this "Pomeroy Rank" is?

Because the "Pomeroy Rank" means a lot more than RPI or SOS. Plus the Pomeroy fellow is helpful by putting up all the stats and information one would ever want (except the RPI).

BobZag
03-15-2009, 04:03 PM
Appears the Zips try to slow things down and want to grind out games. They may have scoring issues.

Play tough defense, be energized and execute the offense.

No excuses.

rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 04:07 PM
So, are the Zips a "little" WSU? Go Zags.

mgadfly
03-15-2009, 04:15 PM
I only saw them play for about 20 minutes this season, and had no idea that we'd be playing them, so didn't pay much attention. However, a quick look at their efficiency stats reveals the following:

Offense:
153rd offensive efficiency
227th shooting the three
305th in nation giving up steals
38th on percentage of threes taken

87th size in nation gives them good but not great size:
5'9"
6'4"
6'6"
6'7"
6'8"
Bench:
6'8"
5'11"
6'2"
6'5"
6'10"

average tempo (181st in nation)

Overall offense: Good at converting freethrows and avoiding blocks. Takes a high percentage of three point shots despite not converting very well on them. Has size and strength and will work the offensive glass (111th overall).

Defense:
50th most efficient defense
8th best against three pointers
42nd best field goal shooting defense
4th in the nation at creating turnovers
45th in creating steals
294th at preventing offensive rebounds

Overall defense: If they could keep teams off the offensive glass they'd probably have one of the best defenses in the country. They generate steals and create turnovers while also keeping opposing shooting percentages low.


Something has to give. Gonzaga is one of the finest ball control teams in the nation this year (7th in avoiding turnovers) while Akron is equally as good at creating turnovers. Gonzaga is one of the best three point shooting teams while Akron is one of the best three-point defending teams. Gonzaga is one of the best shot-blocking teams while Akron is very good at avoiding blocks.

If Akron can keep the tempo slow and keep Downs, JH, and AD off the glass they may make it a close game. If they try to run with GU or don't do very well on the glass things don't look to good for them, at least on paper.

KitsapZag
03-15-2009, 04:32 PM
I liked this quote from the Zips' Board:


This game is going to be a good test for the program. By the end of this game, we will know whether we are ever capable of being the Gonzaga of the east, or if we are just the best team in a bad conference.



Go Zags! Beat the Zips!

surfmonkey89
03-15-2009, 04:36 PM
KenPom Rank:

91. Akron
117. Portland St

Do not look past Akron.

No excuses.

SWZag
03-15-2009, 04:45 PM
A nice little write up (http://www.cleveland.com/marchmadness/index.ssf/2009/03/akron_vs_gonzaga_ncaa_tourname.html).

SWZag

Edited to add a head-to-head comparison (http://stats.cleveland.com/cbk/head2head.asp?gamecode=200903190233&home=233&vis=3).

drew6236
03-15-2009, 04:51 PM
Early line from vegas...

737 Akron
738 Gonzaga -12

Once and Future Zag
03-15-2009, 04:56 PM
Is there a reason their RPI and SOS are not posted and this "Pomeroy Rank" is?

Because RPI is semi-useless as a team quality indicator?

mainer6
03-15-2009, 05:09 PM
I watched Akron beat Buffalo yesterday, as I am sure many of you did. I thought their dangerous player was "Humpty" Hutchins--the quick guard off the bench. He was 6th man of the year in the conference. He is lightening quick. But, so is Goodson. Their other guard is a shaggy haired, poor man's Steve Nash (really poor). Pargo will eat that guy's lunch.
Akron executed really well, though. I was impressed by what I saw although Buffalo rarely went inside withe the ball. When they did they got good looks and missed. At first I was nervous about this match-up but I feel really good about the whole bracket now.
And, let's not forget about Portland's altitude.

kitzbuel
03-15-2009, 05:24 PM
A nice little write up (http://www.cleveland.com/marchmadness/index.ssf/2009/03/akron_vs_gonzaga_ncaa_tourname.html).

SWZag

Edited to add a head-to-head comparison (http://stats.cleveland.com/cbk/head2head.asp?gamecode=200903190233&home=233&vis=3).

They appear to defend the free throw a little bit better than the Zags. ;)

tps12
03-15-2009, 05:29 PM
I watched Akron beat Buffalo yesterday, as I am sure many of you did. I thought their dangerous player was "Humpty" Hutchins--the quick guard off the bench. He was 6th man of the year in the conference. He is lightening quick. But, so is Goodson. Their other guard is a shaggy haired, poor man's Steve Nash (really poor). Pargo will eat that guy's lunch.
Akron executed really well, though. I was impressed by what I saw although Buffalo rarely went inside withe the ball. When they did they got good looks and missed. At first I was nervous about this match-up but I feel really good about the whole bracket now.
And, let's not forget about Portland's altitude.

Akron fan checking in. Actually Humpty is our starting PG. We played 5 games in 7 nights. In the first round of the tournament on Tuesday night Humpty sprained his ankle and played the rest of regulation and overtime hitting the game tying 3 to send to OT. After 4 minutes the next game on Thurs he had to sit out as well as Friday, but he came back on Sat for the Championship and didn't know if he was going to play so sat on the bench. Our other PG got injured earlier in the year and is going for a Medical RS. The "poor man's steve nash" and another G filled in and we still won. The MAC 6th Man of the year was actually Brett McKnight (who went off for 23 vs Pitt). Our ONLY senior is Nate Linhart who is the MAC POTY.

gueastcoast
03-15-2009, 05:29 PM
So, are the Zips a "little" WSU? Go Zags.

Which may mean they're sort of like the Brandon Johnson-less Toreros.

We can't look past them, as our boys (despite two impressive grind-'em-out wins against SD) hate that tempo. Same with the first half against WSU.

My advice to the team for dealing with the Zips and all subsequent opponents (SWBSF):

Place foot on throat, for 40 mins. or as long as it takes. Apply consistent but firm pressure. Repeat six times and serve, cold as ice.

zippyrifle32
03-15-2009, 05:31 PM
I watched Akron beat Buffalo yesterday, as I am sure many of you did. I thought their dangerous player was "Humpty" Hutchins--the quick guard off the bench. He was 6th man of the year in the conference. He is lightening quick. But, so is Goodson. Their other guard is a shaggy haired, poor man's Steve Nash (really poor). Pargo will eat that guy's lunch.
Akron executed really well, though. I was impressed by what I saw although Buffalo rarely went inside withe the ball. When they did they got good looks and missed. At first I was nervous about this match-up but I feel really good about the whole bracket now.
And, let's not forget about Portland's altitude.

Hey guys, this is a very exciting match up for me. My mother is a Zag and former volleyball player, while I went to Akron on a rifle scholarship. So my Zips are playing my mom's Zags an hour away from my hometown (Salem).

Just thought I'd correct mainer a little. Hitchens is a freshman starter, but came off the bench because of an ankle sprain he suffered Thursday in the Miami (OH) game. Brett McKnight is our leading scorer and 6th man of the year. He has a brother Chris who is a year older and starts. The Zips are extremely young. They play with a lot of heart, but make some of those bonehead freshmen mistakes.

Finally, Portland is not at any significant altitude... but ticket prices are really going to hamper fans from being able to get out there to support the team. You guys definitely have the advantage there.

bartruff1
03-15-2009, 06:22 PM
The link to AkronZips.Org (http://zipsnation.org/forums//index.php?showforum=2), the Zips' basketball forum.

Not much yet...

SWZag That Gonzaga travels on a private jet...not a bus...

ZagLawGrad
03-15-2009, 06:32 PM
Assuming we don't melt in thin air, it looks like Akron will be a prefect warmup for Round 2.

TexasZagFan
03-15-2009, 06:34 PM
I had to laugh at this on their board:



They must think Portland is in the rocky mountains.

Reminds me of a Zag reunion I attended a long time ago, when I was residing in El Paso. I was asked more than once "you get to Dallas much"?

Had to laugh...El Paso is 600 miles from Dallas, 700 from Los Angeles, 700 miles from Houston.

How Don Haskins was so successful at UTEP, I'll never know. Bum Phillips coached there one year. His assessment, after viewing the Rio Grande from high atop Sun Bowl Stadium:

"You can't recruit here." :lmao:

surfmonkey89
03-15-2009, 06:35 PM
Akron is no warm up. USC Upstate was our last warmup.

Focus.

No excuses.

MedZag
03-15-2009, 06:43 PM
Reminds me of a Zag reunion I attended a long time ago, when I was residing in El Paso. I was asked more than once "you get to Dallas much"?

Had to laugh...El Paso is 600 miles from Dallas, 700 from Los Angeles, 700 miles from Houston.

How Don Haskins was so successful at UTEP, I'll never know. Bum Phillips coached there one year. His assessment, after viewing the Rio Grande from high atop Sun Bowl Stadium:

"You can't recruit here." :lmao:

Or this one:


Spokane is more than 350 miles from Portland. Spokane is located in the Eastern Mountains of the State of Washington and most of the trip from Spokane to Portland will not be on a major highway.

They may have a far shorter distance. But, the trip is not a piece of cake

If I had a dollar for every time I made the trek from Spokane to Portland I'd be going out for a nice steak dinner. And that 50 minute flight the team will take, should be a killer. Might not even get the chance to finish their in flight soda... the travesty! And I think there are more Zag alums in Portland than Spokane itself. A good number of us decided to leave to "Eastern Mountains."

Of course, I jest in good fun. I love this time of year!

ZagMania
03-15-2009, 07:03 PM
What are the chances the committee matched us against Akron just so it'd be the "Zips versus the Zags" and for all the alliterative headlines that will follow the game?

Pleasant Peninsula
03-15-2009, 07:04 PM
227th shooting the three

38th on percentage of threes taken

Hmm..So they shoot a lot of threes. But they don't make many threes. Interesting.

Well, like so many double-digit seeded teams, if they hit a bunch of their threes they have a chance to be in the game. If they don't, they probably won't be.

Pure
03-15-2009, 07:06 PM
this is only one letter away from being the

Zigs vs. The Zags


My ultimate dream matchup.


Go get them zigs

NJZag
03-15-2009, 07:27 PM
More game footage of the Zips from YouTube, with this from their conference tournament.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bMGXC1AcWA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLfAPuP2OQw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbmCKizW_VM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGmz-Py7WLI

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/clubhouse?teamId=2006

kitzbuel
03-15-2009, 07:34 PM
Hey guys, this is a very exciting match up for me. My mother is a Zag and former volleyball player, while I went to Akron on a rifle scholarship. So my Zips are playing my mom's Zags an hour away from my hometown (Salem).

Just thought I'd correct mainer a little. Hitchens is a freshman starter, but came off the bench because of an ankle sprain he suffered Thursday in the Miami (OH) game. Brett McKnight is our leading scorer and 6th man of the year. He has a brother Chris who is a year older and starts. The Zips are extremely young. They play with a lot of heart, but make some of those bonehead freshmen mistakes.

Finally, Portland is not at any significant altitude... but ticket prices are really going to hamper fans from being able to get out there to support the team. You guys definitely have the advantage there.
Welcome, Zips fans. Have to say that Akron was not at all on our radar in all the prognostications leading up to this. Looks like there is lots to learn about each other. Look forward to a well fought game and, of course, a Zag victory.

MotoZag
03-15-2009, 07:46 PM
Here's the sites for Akron Hoops...the first one seems to be very active, the other is down for maintenance at the moment.

ZipsNation (http://zipsnation.org/forums//index.php?showforum=2)
UofAZips (http://www.uofazips.com/)

SWZag
03-15-2009, 07:47 PM
This may be a wee-bit corny, but with the names so close, what would be a good newspaper headline if Gonzaga wins? I'll throw out one to start.

Zippity Do Day, Zags send Akron on their way.

B Wayne
03-15-2009, 08:05 PM
Last month an ESPN announcer advised the Gonzaga game was coming up next. He said stay tuned for our next game Gonzaga versus----, and went on to say something else about the Zags, calling them the Zips.

Perhaps the announcer had amazing abilities of ESPN, able to foretell the future much as the Amazing Criswell in Ed Wood, who once so deeply stated

"Greeting my friends, we are all interested in the future because that is where you and I are going to spend the rest of our lives"

Then again, perhaps the announcer merely had Spokane burgers on his mind.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Zips.jpg

MedZag
03-15-2009, 08:14 PM
Zippity Do Day, Zags send Akron on their way.

Guarantee the ESPN headline would be something mindless like "Zags Zap the Zips"

PortlandbasedZag
03-15-2009, 08:21 PM
We don't get to use the private jet for the tournament. All travel arrangements are made by a travel company out of Iowa, to ensure that the richer teams don't have an undue advantage. Also, any team within 400 miles is indeed required to drive (ie take a bus), that said, it isn't that hard of a drive.

http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/resources/file/eb43a84ebf1863a/D1%20policies.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&attachment=true

Zag365
03-15-2009, 08:27 PM
From what we are learning about Akron, it sounds like we are getting a team whose style of play won't be unfamiliar to us, unlike the recent past where GU has drawn teams with players or styles that we didn't face much during the season. Given there are only a couple of days to prepare for a game in the tourney, it really helps that we can simplify the prep by just concentrating on playing our game, making little adjustments, and not having to re-invent ourselves.

Assuming (as I do) the Zippy Zags get past the Zagging Zips, we will face another team (WKU or IL) that also does not present an unfamiliar style or type of player.

I like our match-ups in this pod. Staying in the same time zone and having a supportive crowd are just icing on the cake.

CDC84
03-15-2009, 08:31 PM
I expect to see the Zags try to punish Akron's guards. They are undersized. You're going to see Pargo and Bouldin quite a bit in the post.

MedZag
03-15-2009, 08:41 PM
We don't get to use the private jet for the tournament. All travel arrangements are made by a travel company out of Iowa, to ensure that the richer teams don't have an undue advantage. Also, any team within 400 miles is indeed required to drive (ie take a bus), that said, it isn't that hard of a drive.

http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/resources/file/eb43a84ebf1863a/D1%20policies.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&attachment=true

Done the Greyhound from Spokane to Portland before. Ain't bad, give the kids room to stretch out and they'll be just fine.

PortlandbasedZag
03-15-2009, 08:55 PM
Done the Greyhound from Spokane to Portland before. Ain't bad, give the kids room to stretch out and they'll be just fine.

Also, keep in mind that if we are playing in Memphis, we are also flying commercial there too...and i just noticed, it isn't 400, but 350 miles for basketball, but thats still a drive.

UberZagFan
03-15-2009, 09:36 PM
The Rose Garden 108 feet above sea level

University of Akron 1070 feet above sea level

Gonzaga University 1883 feet above sea level*


Looks like GU should be the ones to show up early to get used to the change in altitude.


*Admittedly, GU's number is probably altitude at the AD bldg so take off 75-100 feet for K2. :D

zagirl2k
03-15-2009, 09:42 PM
Also, keep in mind that if we are playing in Memphis, we are also flying commercial there too...and i just noticed, it isn't 400, but 350 miles for basketball, but thats still a drive.

I used Yahoo maps just because I was curious and it puts 502 E. Boone to the Rose Garden as 354.99 miles so we might just be able to squeak a flight out of this one. I am sure that would be much preferred for the team.

Vanzagger
03-15-2009, 09:44 PM
rides. Phil Jackson took the Chicago Bulls on a couple. He liked the change of pace. Little zen.

B Wayne
03-15-2009, 10:12 PM
A few months ago a team from Portland had their flight to Spokane cancelled because of a blizzard. They almost cancelled the game, telling their kids to go home. Then Gonzaga arranged a (gasp) bus that left Portland at 7pm the night before the game. They drove the long way to Spokane, up I-5, stopping overnight at a Snoqualmie Pass truckstop at 1230am. They arrived in Spokane at 130pm, did a quick walk through before the game and did just fine.

rawkmandale
03-15-2009, 10:30 PM
Yeah, Portland State played loose and with no fear - just like GU did in the WCC tournament. Hopefully, we won't forget to:

1. Have fun
2. Do our best
3. Kick some butt

in the NCAA.

Zip03
03-15-2009, 11:37 PM
An Akron fan here. I'll start off by saying thanks for letting me join and I look forward to seeing how Akron fares against a program I think any Zips fan will admit that it aspires Akron to be.

Personally, this is the matchup I was hoping the Zips would get. Not because it would be the "easiest win." That won't be the case. In fact, it might be the hardest game in the 4-13 matchups for the Zips to win. But I like the matchup because I believe it will be a true test to see how we match up against one of our own, (the premior mid-major) for lack of a better term.

Gonzaga is the bench mark for what any mid-major program wants to achieve, and up until this point, nobody has been able to match you guys/gals on a year-to-year basis.

I think the Zips could be on the verge of doing something similiar, based on 4 straight 20 win seasons; 3 straight MAC championship game appearances (albeit this being the first win, but ask any Zip fan and 2007 should've been 'the year'); as well as adding a top 50 recruit next year to a team that will basically return everybody. The future is bright for us. This will be a huge measuring stick to see if we're finally getting closer to going to the next level. Even if it's a year sooner than most of us thought.

I'll give you my insights on the Zips, but first, I have to ask this question.

With Washington being in Portland as well, who will those fans be rooting for? I'm just guessing that they will root for Akron (more specifically against Gonzaga due to the Bulldogs being at least what I perceive as being the top "Dawg" in the state of Washington.)

For example, in Ohio, Xavier has probably equaled OSU in basketball, and I would find it hard to believe that if OSU and Xavier were matched up in the same "bubble" that OSU fans would root for Xavier. If Washington fans become Zips fans for a day, I think it could negate some of the home-court advantage. I take it Washington will travel well and there is a lot of alums in Portland. What do you guys think?

As for Akron, this is really a team that is a year ahead of schedule. The Zips were picked fourth in the MAC East this year based on losing five 1,000 point scorers in the past two years. It's easily the least talented of the last two squads on paper. IMO, Akron took advantage of a down MAC and was able to finally capitalize. But with that being said, I'm still optimistic that the Zips could make a game of this.

1. Winning four games in five nights in the MAC tourney had never been done before. While the league was down, it still had some decent teams. ... Buffalo, which Akron beat twice and lost the third game on a tip-in at the buzzer, nearly knocked off UConn, when UConn was fully healthy. Miami, who Akron also beat twice and the third game lost in OT at Miami, nearly beat UCLA. Bowling Green, who Akron beat twice, is a team that could've won a game in the tourney based on having that "player" that can take over a game in Nate Miller.

Akron beat all three of those teams in a row.

We also won at a solid Niagara team; lost a close one at everybody's Cinderealla, VCU; and lost a game that we controlled for the most part against tourney at-large Dayton. Even the 19 point loss at Pitt was a little deceiving because we had that within 11 late in the second half (moral victory, of course).

2. While Akron has not been a good 3-point shooting team, it has came on in the MAC tourney to the tune of nearly 40 percent. Obviously, the Zips would need that kind of performance to have a chance.

3. While undersized, this team isn't afraid to get at it on the defensive end. Potentially, it could pressure Gonzaga into shooting some ill-advised 3s. Hitting from beyond the arc is something Gonzaga does well. If they feel the need to keep shooting from out there on an off night, then maybe, just maybe.

4. Who knows how a young team will react, but if Akron comes out and plays like there is nothing to lose, then again maybe the upset is possible. Upsets are what this team, as the No. 5 seed in the MAC achieved in the last week.

But, here is why Gonzaga will probably win ...

1, This team doesn't rebound well and isn't as big as it appears on paper (which isn't that big to begin with). Chris McKnight is listed at 6-8, but he's probably more like 6-5, 6-6 and he's really the only low-post scoring threat we have. Brett, his brother will post as well, but he's probably only about 6-4, plus he tends to be more perimeter-oriented. Nik Cventovic is probably a true 6-7 and he has some nice post game (and could move outside) but he's only a frosh. Heyveldt could have a field day down low, IMO.

2. Gonzaga is a lot bigger and more athletic than any team Akron saw in the MAC tournament and probably the whole season, outside of Pitt. Akron could have trouble establishing any sort of inside game. If that's the case, Gonzaga could play out on McKnees, Humpty, Roberts and the other Zips shooters. That will make it tough to continue the hot 3-point shooting.

3. This is a young Zips team ... 1 senior and 2 juniors. The young guys handled the MAC tourney well, but that was only after a bad Toledo team nearly knocked them out in the first round. The Zips settled down 35 minutes into that game. But if it takes the Zips 35 minutes to settle down against the Zags, it will already be a 20-plus point game by then and the only thing left playing for would be to cover the spread, not winning.

I'm not expecting a win, but looking forward to the game nonetheless.

EDIT: I'll also add this. While it's not NCAA experience, this program has had some "tourney" success. In 2006, the Zips went to Temple and won in what ended up being Jon Chaney's last game. They fell to a very good Creighton team a few days later.

Last year, the Zips went to Tallahassee and beat Florida State in the NIT. They then lost at UMass in a game they were up 10 points in midway through the second half. The 2006 game may be moot since only senior Nate Linhart (who is the heart and soul of this team is remaining) but most of the young guys (except for the true frosh) played quite a bit during last year's NIT.

Akzag
03-16-2009, 12:30 AM
Welcome Zip03 ... Congratulations to you and your team.

Re: the fan base in Portland; U of Portland is in our conference, and Portland State beat us in Spokane and still we are well represented by our fan and alumni base there. I would say the locals are more antagonistic towards the U of Washington.
Further, UW and GU will be in different sessions. I can't see any Zag-Hating Husky fans attending both sessions just to cheer against us. You would be better off trying to swing the Illinois and Western Kentucky fans to your side, though it should be mentioned that the Zags have pleasant relationships with both of those fanbases as well.
I'm sure they both would be happy though if you were to knock us off.

Congrats again, welcome, and good luck this week and into the future.

TexasZagFan
03-16-2009, 03:48 AM
Done the Greyhound from Spokane to Portland before. Ain't bad, give the kids room to stretch out and they'll be just fine.

I took the Greyhound several times, from Roseburg to Spokane. My memories of the Portland Bus Depot at pre-dawn hours are mediocre at best.

For Akron fans making the trip to Portland, spend a couple of hours and make a visit to Multnomah Falls. Oregon City is also worth a short trip, it's where the Oregon Trail ended.

Reborn
03-16-2009, 05:48 AM
Thanks for the post Zip03. A great report. Congrats on your great success this year, and making it to the BIG DANCE. I'm sure you're very excited. I am too. It's just such a great priveledge to be in this greatest of all sporting events. Your team sounds really good,and will most likely give the Zags a very tough game. There are NO easy wins in this tournament. The Zags had better be very, very serious about this game, and most llikelly will. As you may know, we lost a couple games because we were NOT mentally prepared. You just can't do that any more in college basketball. Teams have become so comepetitive. It sounds like you guys are tougher than nails, and that will be a great challenge for the Zags.

Gonzaga is playing well now, so we will challenge you with all we have. We have 3 Seniors starting and one coming in off the bench, so this is it for them. Hopefully, they keep that in mind. The Zags play many, many styles of play due to the different kinds of opponents we play during the year. WE play best when we push the ball upcourt and don't walk it up. If you are able to slow it down on the Zags it will help you tremendously. Yet, we do run our offensive sets brilliantly right now. Our offense is complex, and tough to handle so my guess is that you guys will play zone against us. We do have some good 3 point shooters, but attacking the basket is what we do best. We WILL TRY TO GET TO THE FOUL LINE because that's what good teams do. Our Seniors are playing real well right now. This team has suffered a lot of defeats along the way, and have had a lot to overcome. In a way I think thats why some of us fans love them so much. The path to today has been pretty rocky. The challenges have made these guys tough, and have shown us how to prepare for a big challenge like is before them. I expect the Zags to be ready, as I expect the Zips to be ready. Good luck, and thanks again for posting.

GoZips88
03-16-2009, 06:42 AM
Very impressed with all of you including those who have posted on our board http://www.zipsnation.org. No doubt you are confident that the Zags will take care of business/pound our Zips but you haven't been mean-spirited or nasty about it as far as I can tell.

We're young, happy to be dancin' again, and very much looking forward to the match-up on Thursday. Best of luck to you. You've earned your respect and we're hoping to do the same in the coming years. Go Zips!

ZagLawGrad
03-16-2009, 07:33 AM
Sounds like a nice group of fans for Akron. But that "Zips" thing? Glad we're the Bulldogs and not just the Zags.

ZagNative
03-16-2009, 07:53 AM
Thanks for the nice report, Zip03! And welcome to other visiting Zip fans! Here's to a great game!

Portland is a neat city, so I hope you'll get a nice contingent of fans out for the game.

Dave in Green
03-16-2009, 08:04 AM
Another Zips fan here. First I want to say how impressed I am with the quality of Zags fans. You folks are enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly. We appreciate your posts on Zips Nation. You already know by now that many of our fans have aspirations for Akron to become the "Gonzaga of the East." That should let you know how much we respect what you have accomplished.

One of the interesting points about the Zips that some of you may not know is that our coach, Keith Dambrot, was LeBron James high school coach in Akron. Several of LJ's high school teammates played for the Zips, and he caused a stir by attending some of Akron's games. LJ has said that if he had gone to college, it would have been Akron. He said the following after helping put together a deal with Nike:

"I'm from Akron, and The University of Akron is my hometown school. Because of my ties to the Akron community, the University and coach Keith Dambrot, it is important to me that UA is designated as a Nike/LeBron James LJ23 School. I want to be sure that coach Dambrot's guys look great head to toe."

UA's campus also serves as the site of the LeBron James Skills Academy and the LeBron James King's Academy each summer. The Skills Academy is a showcase for the nation's best high school players. Also, the King James Shooting Stars Classic (AAU tournament) is headquartered on the UA campus each April.

All of this is helping make the UA basketball program more attractive to quality high school players, and we just signed our first Top 50 recruit for next season -- Zeke Marshall, a 7-foot center from Pennsylvania who is rated among the top 10 high school center prospects.

We were really hoping that Zeke would be the missing piece that would finally get us into the Big Dance starting next season. But his soon-to-be teammates pulled a surprise by peaking at the end of this season and sweeping the MAC tournament. Most of you probably already know that this year's Zips are an undersized but scrappy, defensive-minded bunch with a 10-player rotation that includes 3 true freshmen and 2 sophomores. None of our current players were highly recruited by the bigger schools, but what they may lack in athleticism they try to make up for with heart.

Although he will never play in the NBA, senior Nate Linhart exemplifies the Zips. You wouldn't guess it by looking at him, but he is the MAC Defensive Player of the Year and MAC Tournament MVP. I think Zags fans will really appreciate the heart and intensity that Linhart and the rest of the Zips will bring to this game.

Realistically, the only way the Zips win is if everything goes right for us and the Zags have an off game. After playing Pitt earlier this season, we know the mountain we have to climb to beat an elite team. Whatever happens, I just hope that the Zips gain some respect for the way they play against the Zags.

My brother-in-law and I are flying out from Ohio for this game, and looking forward to seeing the Gonzaga team and fans in action live for the first time. If anyone has any specific questions about the Zips team, please feel free to ask.

SwainZag
03-16-2009, 08:56 AM
I expect to see the Zags try to punish Akron's guards. They are undersized. You're going to see Pargo and Bouldin quite a bit in the post.

Completely agree, Bouldin should be able to post up a lot and that should really open up the floor for Gray and Downs to get some good looks beyond the arc.

While not being biased or looking beyond on this game, I really do think this matchup is one of the better ones for the Zags than we have seen over the past 6-7 years in the first round. IE: Davidson, Winthrop, Xavier, Wyoming...

Reborn
03-16-2009, 09:01 AM
I'm sure it will be a quality game. The Akron fans who are posting here are truly classy, and I'm sure the team is the same. These bloggers are really helping me gain interest in this game. Thanks to all of you.

meatwad_zip
03-16-2009, 09:19 AM
Another Zip fan here. Since you guys invaded our board with knowledgeable and friendly fans, I was hoping we could do the same.

Just wanted to say that I'm looking forward to the matchup and the trip to Portland. Also, thanks for all of the friendly folks who have stopped by "the nation" (Zipsnation.org) to post.
Zip03 answered probably any questions you guys have, but if you have anything else just post it and we'll get you answers.
Again, looking forward to a great game.

BobZag
03-16-2009, 09:39 AM
A couple years ago I had the pleasure of watching the MAC champion play in the subregional here in Spokane. I believe it was Miami of Ohio. Anyway, they gave an Oregon team a very tough time. Oregon went on to the Elite Eight. But I know Gonzaga will face a very sound, fundamentally strong and disciplined Akron team.

Akron has my full attention.

Thanks for visiting and for all the info, Zip fans.

rawkmandale
03-16-2009, 09:47 AM
The thing that has struck me in the (very little) film I have seen of Akron is the extremely crisp passing. We better win the inside war, as I expect Akron will not give the game away. This sounds like a program on the rise, given the recruiting they will do with the James connection.

jim77
03-16-2009, 09:55 AM
Let me see...didn't we play against an undersized, scrappy team last year? That team took lots of three's....we know how long those rebounds can be. Long enough to nullify any height advantage. We also played a team this year with extremely tight "D"....the result: NOT good.

This Akron teams strength's just happen to be our weaknesses....better come to play Zags. This team reminds of a Davidson of last year...except with tighter defense. Did ya notice the number of fouls they draw? That's because their defense is tight and active...just like Memphis. The Zags need space to operate...and tight "d" gives us problems. Don't be decieved by their "3" shoot % either....they shot 40% at the tourney....good enough to win. Better come to play Zags, these guy aren't messing around. They also play a 10 man rotation to ensure they are stuck up our backsides for the full 40. They can also take lots of fouls because of their depth...which means they can take lots of chances for stuff like STEALS. The Zips intend to still be around come Saturday...though we haven't been lately. PLAY HARD! PLAY SMART!

Did ya see the Video of the Kent state player PUNCHING the Zip player in the gut? It was done barely a minute into the game. Why would someone do that???? Could it be that the Kent player was sending a message to a Zip player(s)? Maybe it was due to frustration at knowing what kinda of defense was forth coming from the Zips. This ZIPS are a dangerous team...the type that can get you out of you're game and out of the right train of thought. They can give a lot more fouls then we can....which means don't get sucked into their game. They are gonna get physical and try to frustrate us....and they are good at it....no...VERY GOOD AT IT. There might not be a more scrappy team in college basketball....I'm not joking.....Don't be lulled into comfort by their size..these can scrap with the best of them. I wouldn't call them a dirty team but, I wouldn't let them take a bath before me either...we may need IRA for this game a touch more. We may need our bench more to soften them up a bit.

P.S. Zags: If you don't currently own a mouth piece...get one.

P.S. The Pitt game was a lot closer than the score....If you're not intimdated by Blair then you're not gonna be intimidated....Ever see a badger wear a suit? He's still a badger. Zips???? LOL.

jim77
03-16-2009, 10:49 AM
Another little tidbit from the Maconline website:

"The only difference this time is that there were cameras there to catch him. For those of you who think it was just a shove or a jab, go down to your local gym and watch the way fighters let loose with short, crisp cuts to the body. Then look at the body on Sing and ask yourself if you'd stay down for a minute or so if he popped you right in the sternum (believe me, you would). Linhart's no angel -- he's always in the middle of things and tries to get away with whatever he can, but nobody deserves that kind of surprise on the basketball court."

Hmmmm, "Linhart is no angel and will get away with whatever he can"

Sounds like Ira and Linhart may need to to get intoduced early. Maybe to exchange a few kind words..of love and fellowship.

gamagin
03-16-2009, 10:49 AM
<< I wouldn't call them a dirty team but, I wouldn't let them take a bath before me either...>>

belissimo !

Go TEAM Zags !

tps12
03-16-2009, 11:00 AM
Let me see...didn't we play against an undersized, scrappy team last year? That team took lots of three's....we know how long those rebounds can be. Long enough to nullify any height advantage. We also played a team this year with extremely tight "D"....the result: NOT good.

This Akron teams strength's just happen to be our weaknesses....better come to play Zags. This team reminds of a Davidson of last year...except with tighter defense. Did ya notice the number of fouls they draw? That's because their defense is tight and active...just like Memphis. The Zags need space to operate...and tight "d" gives us problems. Don't be decieved by their "3" shoot % either....they shot 40% at the tourney....good enough to win. Better come to play Zags, these guy aren't messing around. They also play a 10 man rotation to ensure they are stuck up our backsides for the full 40. They can also take lots of fouls because of their depth...which means they can take lots of chances for stuff like STEALS. The Zips intend to still be around come Saturday...though we haven't been lately. PLAY HARD! PLAY SMART!

Did ya see the Video of the Kent state player PUNCHING the Zip player in the gut? It was done barely a minute into the game. Why would someone do that???? Could it be that the Kent player was sending a message to a Zip player(s)? Maybe it was due to frustration at knowing what kinda of defense was forth coming from the Zips. This ZIPS are a dangerous team...the type that can get you out of you're game and out of the right train of thought. They can give a lot more fouls then we can....which means don't get sucked into their game. They are gonna get physical and try to frustrate us....and they are good at it....no...VERY GOOD AT IT. There might not be a more scrappy team in college basketball....I'm not joking.....Don't be lulled into comfort by their size..these can scrap with the best of them. I wouldn't call them a dirty team but, I wouldn't let them take a bath before me either...we may need IRA for this game a touch more. We may need our bench more to soften them up a bit.

P.S. Zags: If you don't currently own a mouth piece...get one.

P.S. The Pitt game was a lot closer than the score....If you're not intimdated by Blair then you're not gonna be intimidated....Ever see a badger wear a suit? He's still a badger. Zips???? LOL.

Want to clear up a few things. The amount of fouls is based a lot on the MAC refs who like to call every ticky tacky foul as well as phantom calls. For instance during our first round game vs Toledo there were 62 fouls called, 3 players for EACH team fouled out and almost everyone else had 4 fouls.

Kent's player Singletary who punched Linhart is a thug. He has been in trouble with the law multiple times with a DUI, fighting with police officers, he has broken team rules. Every time they give him a slap on the wrist because he is their top scorer. Kent State builds their program off of problematic players who are always doing things like that. That is why Kent Sucks! (they are also our arch rival). Stay away from ThugU, hope you never have to play them.

The Pitt game was closer than the score says. The Zoo (Pitt Student section) had read all of our players profiles on facebook and got into their heads the first half. Once we focused we only lost by 2 points in the second half, and Pitt was forced to play Blair and their starters the whole game so we wouldn't make a comeback.

jim77
03-16-2009, 11:11 AM
Thanks for clearing that up TPS. It was Singletary who punched Linhart.

Could you clear up this part?

"Linhart's no angel -- he's always in the middle of things and tries to get away with whatever he can."


The Zags are a pretty good team and play CLEAN basketball we hope you do the same.

tps12
03-16-2009, 11:21 AM
Akron doesn't play dirty. Linhart always seems to just fly in from anywhere for a rebound and with people fighting for it they may have gotten an elbow or something but it isn't intentional. Kent fans usually need to pick on things like this because they are no calls because both players are merely fighting for the ball. Keith Dambrot only recruits players with a winning mentality AND have high character. If one of our players gets emotional and does a stupid foul they are yanked instantly. Emotions can lead to stupid fouls. So I would definitely say we play clean. This seems kind of like a ramble but I hope you get the point. Any more questions?

meatwad_zip
03-16-2009, 11:24 AM
Could you clear up this part?

"Linhart's no angel -- he's always in the middle of things and tries to get away with whatever he can."


The Zags are a pretty good team and play CLEAN basketball we hope you do the same.


Certainly we can clear that up. Linhart plays hard. He plays aggressive. But he does NOT play dirty in any sense of the word.

Floorburns are his trademark. I have yet to see an incident of him being overly physical with an opposing player. I have no tolerance for that, and Coach Dambrot would certainly have no tolerance for that.
You will not have to worry about anybody being a "thug" from Akron. Hard defense, yes.

I would agree with the previous Zip poster that made a comment about the refs in the MAC calling EVERYTHING. It is absolutely true. One of the frustrations on our board all the time is amount of fouls the refs called in the MAC and how long the games go, etc.

Again, Linhart is not dirty (nor is anyone else on Akron). But do expect physical guards in your face on the perimeter.

UberZagFan
03-16-2009, 11:35 AM
As for the fans at the Rose Garden, don't expect to get any help from UW fans hating on GU. They don't think of GU as a rival and in fact, think so little of GU they backed out of the home and home with GU.

With that said, like any 4-13 game in the NCAAs, if the game stays close then it's all the more likely that the non-GU fans will start cheering for an upset as the WKU-Illini fans would rather see GU out of the dance than moving on and well, everyone else just likes to see upsets.

It should also be noted that there are a lot of GU alum in the Portland area (GU-University of Portland games at UP generally have 1/3 GU fans in attendance) and many many fans within 2 1/2 hours of Portland. Uber thinks the bigger base though, will be all those college fans from Portland that just bought tickets months ago just to attend the NCAAs. And the far far majority of those fans will be Oregon Ducks fans and Ducks fans hate UW--hate is really not too strong of a word here. Those fans, while they may not be jumping up and down for GU, will not be rooting against GU because of some UW/GU rivalry.

Uber's guess is that the fan base on Thursday will probably have very little effect on the game.

jim77
03-16-2009, 11:37 AM
Thanks for the explanation. I just didn't know that you had to"get away with" hard CLEAN defense. May the best team win.

johnwzag
03-16-2009, 11:56 AM
Guarantee the ESPN headline would be something mindless like "Zags Zap the Zips"

Excellent prediction!

Nevtelen
03-16-2009, 12:31 PM
This GU team has definitely had issues with really tight, in-your-face D this season (the 2nd half of Arizona, for example). It has really bothered them and taken them out of their comfort zone. I think as long as the team can maintain their composure and show some toughness vs the D, GU will win. Can they? I guess we'll see.

Oh, and lets hope that recent good FT% continues as opposed to times at the beginning of the year.

Dave in Green
03-16-2009, 12:46 PM
Linhart will do anything within the rules to disrupt the other team's offense. Aggressive players like that tend to pick up more touch fouls from light, inadvertent contact than less aggressive players. They also pick up more phantom and anticipatory calls from the less qualified refs.

I recall one incident in the MAC tournament where Linhart was flying through the air like a heat-seeking missile at a player about to release an outside shot. It looked like he was going to crush the shooter. From my angle in the stands I could see he twisted his body at the last second and made no contact. But one of the MAC officials, who was screened off from a clear view, blew his whistle at Linhart because he thought there was no way Linhart could not have had contact with the player.

That's what is meant by Linhart trying to get away with everything he can. He just plays defense so tightly that he's always on the edge of picking up a foul. But even though he averages the most minutes played per game (29.9) and guards the other teams' top offensive players, he averages only about 2.5 fouls per game.

rawkmandale
03-17-2009, 08:42 AM
I think we should bump this thread up, so that we can think about AKRON. Two days, and a few hours.....

jim77
03-17-2009, 10:39 AM
agreed Raw.

This team is gonna be on top of us the whole game. Those folks out there thnking this will be an easy game will be surprised. This team didn't lead the nation in fouls for nothing...they are gonna get after us. If we do win, I predict the game will be in doubt till late in the 2nd half. GO ZAGS!

Lewey
03-17-2009, 12:37 PM
To back up the UberZagFans comment about whether the locals (likely Oregon Duck fans) would root for the Huskies. I bought tickets from a Duck fan. In his post for the tickets, he said he was charging $50 more per ticket if the buyers were Husky fans (and he preferred to sell to Zag fans)! After talking to him, he said a few years ago they were in the tourney and the Ducks were playing Wake Forest. He said there were about 20 Husky fans around him, waving Wake Forest flags, and generally being obnoxious. So this time around he wanted to make sure he wasn't sitting next to them!

zagsmyboys
03-17-2009, 12:46 PM
All I have to say is that the best team is going to win regardless. Gonzaga has always played a different game depending on the team they play. If your hard core in the middle Josh will find a way to flush you out. He can be very aggresive. If he gets agressive, thats when he starts scoring madd points. When Gonzaga is on....they are just on. Out of the games lost this year they were by very little. Gonzaga I think has been waiting for the chance to see NC again. I know Josh shut out Tyler when they met and I would love to see it again. Of course this is coming from a DIE HARD ZAGS FAN....but when your a fan, your a fan and you always want your team to do their best!!

Zip03
03-17-2009, 10:37 PM
Thought I would check back to see what was going on.

My thoughts after reading this thread is that Zag fans have to be the classiest group (at least the posters on here) that I've ever encountered. Looks like nobody is looking past this game. With the amount of success Gonzaga has achieved, it would be easy to do so.

Fans of programs that are not near the level of Gonzaga (Kent, Ohio, Dayton to name a few) have treated Akron with less respect than you guys have. I just hope the Zips can prove they belong on the same floor as you guys, win or lose.

Personally, I'm not expecting the Zips to win this game, and won't be picking them in my money bracket because I think Gonzaga is a legitimate Final Four threat, but I hope that our young team can use this game as a building block to what we want to eventually become "The Gonzaga of the East."

A good showing this year, along with what we have coming back, could be the spring board we need to set those wheels in motion. Regardless of what happens tomorrow, I hope this isn't the last time these programs meet. Hopefully, we can prove that we belong on the same court as the premier mid-major and it could lead to some home and homes in the future.

Before I take off, I will say this with confidence, like Gonzaga, Akron is a classy team and will not do anything to make Gonzaga's coaches, players and fans think anything different.

Since the Singletary incident at Kent was brought up, that exemplfies what kind of team Akron is. The team played 38 more minutes after that, in a hostile environment, in a a rivalry people around the country don't realize how heated it is (the schools are only 10 miles apart), and didn't retaliate. Instead, they played clean basketball the rest of the game, even in a close loss.

I beleive that Keith Dambrot is building the Akron program a lot like the program Dan Monson and Mark Few built in Spokane ... by taking quality four-year kids who aren't going to embarass themselves or their university. Has Gonzaga ever taken any JUCO kids? It seems like all the Gonzaga players throughout the years seemed to be there forever.

rawkmandale
03-17-2009, 10:43 PM
Yeah, there have been a few JUCO kids, like one Ira Brown - dunks like a monster, leads the team in prayer before games. Those are the kind of JUCO kids we bring in.

MickMick
03-18-2009, 04:06 AM
Good Luck Zips!

ZagLawGrad
03-18-2009, 06:50 AM
These Zips fans seem classy. I recall that the Davidson fans last year were pretty good, too. If the Zags weren't playing them, I'd have to say that I'd be rooting for the Zips.

kitzbuel
03-18-2009, 06:59 AM
Yeah, there have been a few JUCO kids, like one Ira Brown - dunks like a monster, leads the team in prayer before games. Those are the kind of JUCO kids we bring in.
Some of GU's more beloved players have been either JUCOs or transfers. JP Batista, Adam Morrison's teammate, was a steller JUCO and was followed by another JUCO a couple of years ago, Abdullahi Kuso.

Dan Dickau and Erroll Knight were both transfers from UW and Micah Downs is a Kansas transfer.

TheZagPhish
03-18-2009, 07:04 AM
I beleive that Keith Dambrot is building the Akron program a lot like the program Dan Monson and Mark Few built in Spokane ... by taking quality four-year kids who aren't going to embarass themselves or their university. Has Gonzaga ever taken any JUCO kids? It seems like all the Gonzaga players throughout the years seemed to be there forever.

Dambrot is certainly building a perennially strong program and this tourney trip is a well earned mile marker on that trajectory. Also gotta hand it to their players; they have a lot of heart and know how to play their game. Watching what little video I have seen, no one on the floor ever seems out of control. The Zips are zeroed in.

Like LawGrad, I remember Davidson fans were pretty cool last year. Their board posts were generally a version of, "Much respect to Gonzaga, but we have Curry." And those posts made me nervous. Justly so.

kitzbuel
03-18-2009, 07:07 AM
Dambrot is certainly building a perennially strong program and this tourney trip is a well earned mile marker on that trajectory. Also gotta hand it to their players; they have a lot of heart and know how to play their game. Watching what little video I have seen, no one on the floor ever seems out of control. The Zips are zeroed in.

Like LawGrad, I remember Davidson fans were pretty cool last year. Their board posts were generally a version of, "Much respect to Gonzaga, but we have Curry." And those posts made me nervous. Justly so.
There were a couple of posts that said 'just wait, ya'll haven't seen Curry yet'. I actually wish we never saw Jason Richardson.

lothar98zag
03-18-2009, 11:58 AM
just wanted to say that this thread is great.

rawkmandale
03-19-2009, 07:49 AM
Wanted to bump this up, because in about 7 plus hours, we'll be playing AKRON. This tread contains a link to their fan board, and I'm certain they are as excited as we are.

MedZag
03-20-2009, 06:58 AM
Guarantee the ESPN headline would be something mindless like "Zags Zap the Zips"

I would like to direct everyone's attention to the ESPN CBB section:

http://www.finaljudgement.net/ncaa.jpg

RenoZag
03-20-2009, 07:03 AM
I would like to point everyone's attention to the ESPN CBB section:

http://www.finaljudgement.net/ncaa.jpg

So. . .you've got a knack for mindless prognostication ? ;)

meatwad_zip
03-20-2009, 08:50 AM
I would like to direct everyone's attention to the ESPN CBB section:

http://www.finaljudgement.net/ncaa.jpg

LOL

Great call on that one.

MedZag
03-20-2009, 09:20 AM
So. . .you've got a knack for mindless prognostication ? ;)

Precisely. Now let me go take a look at those medical records...

;)