PDA

View Full Version : WCC Tournament in Vegas



Akzag
03-08-2009, 06:29 PM
Okay ... we have soldiers in Vegas ready to give their reports.

And we've now seen it on television.

Your thoughts ... and vote

Do you like the WCC Tournament in Vegas at the Orleans?

ZagLawGrad
03-08-2009, 06:50 PM
and anyone have a review of the Tower of Power concert?

Once and Future Zag
03-08-2009, 07:50 PM
I say yes - actual HD cameras.

Zag 77
03-08-2009, 08:05 PM
The WCC had better thank their lucky stars that our fans travel well.

MedZag
03-08-2009, 08:10 PM
The WCC had better thank their lucky stars that our fans travel well.

I don't know, the Gaels contingent sounds pretty loud on TV right now, and posts/news stories from the weekend have noted fans of even the bottom rung teams traveling well.

Akzag
03-08-2009, 08:38 PM
Commish Jamie Z came off very well on tv.

ccpinky
03-08-2009, 09:47 PM
Is the tourney in Vegas next year?

Akzag
03-08-2009, 10:21 PM
Is the tourney in Vegas next year?


I do not believe that there has been a commitment yet, one way or the other.

Hopefully, it is a moot point ... but every votes counts (as a vote on a message board poll ... all results are purely unscientific, and are only for entertainment. Unless, someone in power is on the fence and happens to poke in to see what the little people think ....)

T-bonedazag
03-08-2009, 10:41 PM
I love Vegas even when the Zags aren't there, so think of how I feel about this town now....it has to stay here!! Only in Vegas, baby!

Psychozag
03-08-2009, 10:43 PM
The WCC had better thank their lucky stars that our fans travel well.

I was thinking the same thing. I would say the fans in the arena are ten to one Zags, the one being all other WCC teams combined.

I rooted for Portland tonight, and they stuck in there until the last 7 minutes. Oh well, bring on SMC with Patty Mills.

And I also feel GU fans represent well. I have not personally seen any Zags fans being out of line (of course that doesn't mean it hasn't happened...I've seen a lot with beers in their hands).

Look forward to seeing the Zags tomorrow and coming back next year. A neutral, warmer than Spokane, easy to get to Vegas is the way to go.

Pargo the Destroyer
03-09-2009, 01:09 AM
I was pretty impressed at how well we traveled.....if it doesn't come back to vegas it will be a huge mistake. We turned the Orleans arena K3 tonight. Our seats were next to the scu "cheering section" across from our kennel club and I heard comments from the "ruff riders" like how the hell do they travel so well...and holy crap look at how many their are of them. That was pretty funny.

meadfirefighter
03-09-2009, 11:12 AM
Wondering what people thought of the tournament in Vegas? Orleans Arena seems good. Think WCC will come back next year?

Pretty cool how well GU traveled to this.

meadfirefighter
03-09-2009, 11:23 AM
Definetly need to comeback to Vegas. I did over hear some complaining from other teams fans about how well we traveled so why did it have to be in Vegas.

Orleans arena as a venue is just ok I think, but dont know if we have any other choices for similiar size arenas in Vegas.

former1dog
03-09-2009, 11:28 AM
Regarding how well we travel, last year in San Diego for the championship game I would say half the arena was filled with Zag fans.

meadfirefighter
03-09-2009, 11:32 AM
As far as the casino. Leading up to the game with Santa Clara there were so many Zag fans trying to get drinks that they overwhelmed the wait staff. Wait staff got grouchy and irritated.

meadfirefighter
03-09-2009, 11:34 AM
They only setup a one year contract so who knows. They would be stupid to not come back.

lothar98zag
03-09-2009, 11:37 AM
It better get renewed. Maybe I can make it next year...

bartruff1
03-09-2009, 12:59 PM
Vegas baby...

Fonebone
03-09-2009, 02:15 PM
I was told yesterday by a fairly well connected guy yesterday that the league signed a three year committment. that could be wrong - does anybody know ?

lothar98zag
03-09-2009, 02:21 PM
I was told yesterday by a fairly well connected guy yesterday that the league signed a three year committment. that could be wrong - does anybody know ?
If it's actually official I'd expect it to be announced before the end of the game tonight. That way they could make sure word got out on E$PN.

Zag365
03-09-2009, 02:23 PM
hey, it's mandatory. renew the deal

zagirl2k
03-09-2009, 02:53 PM
I thought I had read somewhere that we had a 1 year deal with an option for a 3 year extension. I would expect it to be renewed. We might make it one of these years. . .

A SMC coworker who is already back was commenting on how Zag people were everywhere in Vegas and I am not surprised. The last year it was in Santa Clara it was probably 80% Zag fans there and there are 3 schools within driving distance.