PDA

View Full Version : Zebra trouble...



upan8th
03-08-2009, 02:45 PM
One of the handicapping sites I visit mentioned, in an aside this morning, that they were not releasing opinions of the SCU-Gonzaga contest because, gulp!, Davy Libby was spotted walking the Orleans court this morning and is apparently scheduled to work either GU's game or the SMC game. The handicapper said he would release his opinion only after determining which game Libby would officiate due to Libby's well known proclivity "to draw attention to himself and affect, with his calls, the outcome of games." Wow!

NotoriousZ
03-08-2009, 02:52 PM
Is this true? It's amazing if it is. If any of Libby's friends (doubtful) or family sees this, please forward it to him. He should know that he's destroying the game.

MotoZag
03-08-2009, 03:06 PM
http://www.azstarnet.com/sn/hansen/277094

Just a quick reference to some of his blown calls.

Spike94
03-08-2009, 03:47 PM
That article is full of crap. The charge that is referenced in Oregon was a block. No doubt. Saw the play. And instead of the article saying that he makes these calls so that he is the main attention, it is called "making the big call" Just pure crap.

gamagin
03-08-2009, 03:59 PM
takes no crap from anyone, but his calls hold up. Or they don't. I only read that he makes the tough calls.

If the calls themselves don't pass some smell test, or review, that's one thing. If they do, that's another matter.

I like it best when our games do not come down to any ref's call.

Go Zags !

GU69
03-08-2009, 04:31 PM
Libby is a strange guy.

He seems to like to make weird (inappropriate/wrong) calls at critical times, and he seems to favor the visiting team.

Almost all fans (of all teams) think he is horrible. But the people who hire him must like him because he seems to get the big games.

I prefer not to have him reffing GU games because he sometimes takes the game away from the players.

Akzag
03-08-2009, 05:02 PM
Batsell, Burkhart and Hicks listed as the officials for our game this evening

Stache
03-08-2009, 05:09 PM
He is the quickest T in college ball. When almost everyone wants to see a game decided by players, he is intent to inject himself unnecessarily. The foul called on a screen between Arizona and ASU turned a tight end of a game scenario into a gimme for the visitor. He not only blew the whistle where there was absolutely no call, he then followed it with a technical on the Arizona bench to effectively end the game

He is overly aggressive in just making the call - seeming to show up the players - and he almost invites player, coach, and fan reaction with his angry demonstrations. Its embarassing.

Its true that both teams are subjected to him, but its a shame that either has to be. Just watch - at least a string of calls coming that leave you feeling like he wants to be mentioned by name.

gamagin
03-08-2009, 05:17 PM
this guy sounds like an egocentric.

wonder why he gets the big game calls ?

That would drive me nuts, too, having this kind of factor mess up a game like you describe.

Go Zags !