PDA

View Full Version : Harris impressing coaches

N texas 509er
03-06-2009, 01:38 PM
By Brent Stecker
World sports writer
Posted March 06, 2009

YAKIMA In two games at the Class 1A state tournament, Chelan's 6-foot-5 junior Joe Harris has scored a combined 68 points. So it shouldn't come as a surprise that he's turning the heads of opposing coaches.

"That guy (Harris) is unbelievable," said King's coach Bill Liley, whose team had to withstand Harris' 38 points in defeating Chelan 69-66 in overtime on Thursday night. "He's the best player we've played against. He's a Pac-10 basketball player."

That's high praise coming from a coach of a team based out of Seattle, especially one that has coached against teams like 3A power Rainier Beach.

"He just rose to the occasion. It was an amazing effort," Liley said. "I'm a University of Washington graduate, and I'm going to talk to my coach about him."

He may need to get in line. Harris also has attracted the interest of fellow Pac-10 schools UCLA, Washington State and Oregon State, as well as national power Gonzaga.

Harris scored 20 of Chelan's last 21 points of the game against the Knights, and it was just that much more remarkable that he did so considering how King's was focusing on him.

"I think we guarded him about as well as anyone else has," Liley said. "He's just one of those players that it seems like, the bigger the game, the better they play."

CaliforniaZaggin'
03-06-2009, 01:53 PM
Hopefully the Zags are in the lead for his services aftering planting their seed early on in the recruiting process.

BobZag
03-06-2009, 02:09 PM
Thanks, 509'er.

ZagAddict
03-06-2009, 02:18 PM
PAC-10 schools... :mecry: I had a feeling the sharks would begin to circle...

Ziggy
03-06-2009, 08:29 PM