PDA

View Full Version : Interesting tidbit about the last Husky/Zag Game



ZagNative
02-27-2009, 05:43 PM
From the Seattle Times (http://blog.seattletimes.nwsource.com/huskyhoops/2009/02/27/lots_of_eyes_on.html) ....
February 27, 2009 3:50 PM
Lots of eyes on the Huskies

Posted by Bob Condotta

FSN reports today that Thursday night's game against Arizona State drew the highest rating for a Husky basketball game on that network since December 2006 for a contest at Gonzaga.

An FSN press release reports the game earned a 4.2 overall Nielsen household rating in the Seattle DMA (designated market area), including a peak rating of 6.0 during the overtime period. That's the highest rated game for the Huskies on FSN since December 9, 2006, when UW recorded a 5.2 for a game at Gonzaga.

FSN has broadcast 15 of the Huskies 16 Pac-10 games this year, earning an average rating of 2.7, up quite a bit from a year ago, the network reports. During the 2007-2008 season, Husky basketball on FSN averaged a 1.8 overall rating during conference play. Just interesting to me that the Huskies' highest FSN rating for the Seattle area for a Husky game was the last matchup with the Zags.

... Which is a good excuse to post a pic of one of my favorites of two great players from that game ...

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Pargo/PargovBrockman2006.jpg

I wonder if there's a way to find out the market share for the KHQ FSN Zag games in Spokane and/or the region. Anyone know?

P.S. Correction: That pic was actually not from the December 9, 2006 game ... I realized when looking at the color of Brockman's uniform. The pic was from a story in the Seattle Times on December 9, 2006, but it must have been taken at Hec Ed the year before. See the pic below of Josh dunking on Brockman in K2 in the second pic below.

ZagNative
02-27-2009, 05:56 PM
Another great memory from that last matchup with the Huskies ....

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Heytvelt/Josh-UW06-CelebratesTurnover-smalle.jpg

ZagNative
02-27-2009, 06:04 PM
Josh dunking on Brockman Dec. 9, 2006 ... Ah, good times, good times.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Heytvelt/Josh-UW06-SlamdunkoverBrockman.jpg

ZagNative
02-27-2009, 06:10 PM
Matty B also got in on the action in that game, against Ryan Appleby.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Matt%20Bouldin/Matt-UW06-BlowsbyAppleby.jpg

ZagNative
02-27-2009, 06:26 PM
And remember these rascals?

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Kennel%20Club%20and%20Misc/Fans-UW-06-Preparetocelebrate.jpg

gu03alum
02-27-2009, 08:39 PM
including a peak rating of 6.0 during the overtime period

I think I flipped it to the Husky game right after Gonzaga's game and watched the overtime. I bet a lot of people in Seattle did the same thing.

JLGutrocks
02-27-2009, 10:48 PM
I tried, but couldn't talk for 3 days after that game.

It was great fun. My fav exp in Kennel 2 ever.

Zagineer
02-28-2009, 12:48 AM
I think I flipped it to the Husky game right after Gonzaga's game and watched the overtime. I bet a lot of people in Seattle did the same thing.

Yup. I'm one. I did that. :)

As for the last UW-Zags game in K2, I was fortunate enough to be there with my daughter. It was awesome.

In my life, there are four attended sporting events that stay in my mind as the most emotional and loud environments I've ever been in:

UConn - GU at Key Arena 2008 (I actually had to plug my ears with my fingers because it reached the threshold of pain, but I kept on yelling).

UW - Zags in last game at K2. Sweet!

Spokane - Medicine Hat (? not sure of the opponent. The memory is fading) Hockey game for the championship way back when I was in about the 4th grade or so, 1958ish. I still remember the names of some of the players. Max Mecalok (sp?) ...... Tom Hodge..... Emile Francis.

Seahawks - NY Giants at Quest Field three or four years ago.

Fun times. Great memories.

Thanks for the great pics, ZN. :)

MontanaZag
02-28-2009, 04:01 AM
I was fortunate to make that game my yearly trek to the kennel in that year. It was sooo electric, Ive never felt anything like that atmosphere on that night. The best was the Romar 0-8 sign