PDA

View Full Version : What I don't understand ...



ZagNative
12-20-2008, 05:28 PM
We talk a lot here about the Gonzaga family. I, for one, really do feel as if I were part of that family. When we suffer a disappoinhting loss, I imagine if these kids were my kids, and what I would say and what I would feel ...

I am baffled by the behavior of some fans here. I wonder, "Is this the way they treat their own families, their kids, when they experience disappointing losses?

What happens to that sense of "family" here when we experience loss? Do we pull closer together? O do we look for scapegoats? Do we elect a family "goat" to blame everything on? Forgetting the many times that player has carried the team on his back?

Meanwhile, when one of our players has a huge coming out party, are we so engrossed on hammering on his teammate, who doubtless is more disappointed than we can know, that we leave his stellar performance unacknowledged and uncelebrated?

This looks like a very disfunctional Zag "family" to me - not the team but the Zag fans whose egos seem to be on the line and more engrossed in padding their own shaky self-esteem than acting like the supportive family they claim to be part of ...

Strange, simply strange, to this one-time and always mother and big-time fan of this team of exceptional young men, who don't always live up to their own hopes and dreams, but who always try valiantly.

75Zag
12-20-2008, 06:08 PM
Good thoughts ZN except that I don't know about the "family" aspect of an internet sports forum.

When I read posts, and especially some of the very angry or bitter ones (as well as some of the insanely positive ones) , I constantly need to remind myself that with only a handful of exceptions, I have no idea who these posters are, what their motives are, or what their qualifications are to offer opinions or make judgments regarding college basketball or anything else. I believe that many of us are longstanding GU fans who really want the team to do well, but who have grown up with the team and believe that whatever happens, GU basketball will keep bouncing along. I sometimes suspect that certain other posters are naive 14 year old kids working from their parent's basement, or disgruntled folks who have been abandoned by civilized society, or perhaps monkeys who have learned to type.

GU basketball is what it is. I can't imagine that anyone associated with the program as a player, coach or long-time fan will take any of this stuff too seriously. As they say, the beauty of the First Amendment is that while anyone has the right to express their own opinion, I have an equal right not to listen to it!

alaskazagnut
12-20-2008, 06:08 PM
We point to team problems and individual performances. There are only a bunch of peoples opinions and rants here. Mine included. Few will do the same thing but his opinion matters to the team. Not ours. Few won't blame any individual but himself. But we can. Makes acceptance of this loss easier. It is funny how fans turn on fans who turn on other fans who turn on our team who actually turned on themselves during the game.

CDC84
12-20-2008, 06:19 PM
I think some people on this board should go back to the game tape like I just did and watch Pargo's facial expressions throughout the 2nd half....especially while on the bench. He was visibly frustrated by the pain he was in and how it was effecting his game. I have never seen Jeremy show pain like that.

MDABE80
12-20-2008, 06:35 PM
CDC.I wonder if it was his right hand. Looked like it to me. Best keep that wrist off the rim? He sure gets it beat up when he up there. Good kid and he tries hard..amybe too hard. He's a competitor though. This is a good team....They'll live through this one. .and be back for more.
I still say it's young in the year and we have 3 months to go. This is only one loss. When mid March comes ( 3 months) this will be a super team if the kids don't get injuries. The talent is still here.......and it'll get better. Book it.......

El Voce
12-20-2008, 06:40 PM
Thank you, ZagNative, and God bless!

zag67
12-20-2008, 06:51 PM
I agree. Thanks Zagnative.

Shanachie
12-20-2008, 07:30 PM
Good thoughts, ZN.

I think fans have always made comments about individual players to their close friends and fellow fans. The problem is that while these comments used to be made to two or three friends in a living room or a bar, they now tend to be posted in black and white on a message board. The audience is much wider, and the comments don't fade away - they sit out there for others to read days, hours, or weeks, later. Most people wouldn't make comments like in person to friends and family of a player, but once something is posted, anyone can read it.

I think that it's natural after a tough loss for people to come here to express frustration. For the most part, I'm OK with that, even though much of it is too harsh for my taste. People deal with frustration in different ways. It's also worth noting that while many of us - and I put myself in this category - think of Gonzaga as a family, there are fans of this and every team who approach things in a different way. It comes with the territory of being a top program, and one that gets a great deal of national exposure.

It was an interesting game today. The team had some good moments and some bad. That's why they schedule teams like Uconn. The whole point of playing a tough schedule is to measure where the team stands compared with other top teams at this point in the season. (I know there's an RPI aspect, too, but I don't think that's the main reason.) This isn't college football - we don't have to win them all. The point is to improve enough over the course of the season that we win a few tough ones at the right time in March.

SDzagster
12-20-2008, 07:48 PM
Excellent post Shanachie.

wsulax
12-20-2008, 08:12 PM
A discussion board is anything but a family. This is just funny to me. GU is a division 1 basketball team. Probably 4-5 kids on this years roster will be payed to play ball in the next 1-3 years. I think they can handle the criticism. I bet Few tears into players much harder than we do on these boards. Bottom line is, Few has to much faith in Pargo and they need to look at other options. If you think its terrible to say and don't want to read it don't open those discussion blogs. BLOGS ARE NOT FAMILY

LongIslandZagFan
12-20-2008, 08:17 PM
A discussion board is anything but a family. This is just funny to me. GU is a division 1 basketball team. Probably 4-5 kids on this years roster will be payed to play ball in the next 1-3 years. I think they can handle the criticism. I bet Few tears into players much harder than we do on these boards. Bottom line is, Few has to much faith in Pargo and they need to look at other options. If you think its terrible to say and don't want to read it don't open those discussion blogs. BLOGS ARE NOT FAMILY

I guess there in lies the difference between WSU and GU. I've spent time with and have had the pleasure of staying in the homes of people on this board. I would most assuredly call them family.

wsulax
12-20-2008, 08:31 PM
Just b/c I am a WSU grad does not mean I have not loyalty. I bet I have been a GU fan longer than half the people on these boards. I have grown up from childhood w/ GU students, however, this is a discussion board. My roommate is always on these boards too and I would almost consider him family, but not everyone else on here. My point was, our "bashing" of these players is not equal to a parent laying into their child for missing free throws at their junior high basketball game. Most of us know nothing about the players beside what we see on t.v. Just didn't get how you compare that to family.

LongIslandZagFan
12-20-2008, 08:36 PM
Just b/c I am a WSU grad does not mean I have not loyalty. I bet I have been a GU fan longer than half the people on these boards. I have grown up from childhood w/ GU students, however, this is a discussion board. My roommate is always on these boards too and I would almost consider him family, but not everyone else on here. My point was, our "bashing" of these players is not equal to a parent laying into their child for missing free throws at their junior high basketball game. Most of us know nothing about the players beside what we see on t.v. Just didn't get how you compare that to family.

Again, you just don't get it. I'd also bet very good money that there are healthy chunk of people on this board have been fans since you were in diapers.

GolfZag
12-20-2008, 08:48 PM
Just b/c I am a WSU grad does not mean I have not loyalty. I bet I have been a GU fan longer than half the people on these boards. I have grown up from childhood w/ GU students, however, this is a discussion board. My roommate is always on these boards too and I would almost consider him family, but not everyone else on here. My point was, our "bashing" of these players is not equal to a parent laying into their child for missing free throws at their junior high basketball game. Most of us know nothing about the players beside what we see on t.v. Just didn't get how you compare that to family.

I'm with you WSU I don't understand the "family" that Long island talks about. Nobody on that team has a clue who 99% of the people who post on here is, so why would we treat them as our child??? Seems weird that Long Island would compare how people post to how they would treat their own children.
It was an upsetting loss for all GU fans LongIsland......just because some people think it was Pargo's fault doesn't mean we don't like him. It just means that he needs to improve his basketball IQ in tight games. It's not a bash on him as a "family" member or as a person.

JohnOGU
12-20-2008, 09:13 PM
To me, its not "the team lost". Its "We lost." I didnt know that it was possible to experience such emotion from a basketball game.

There were moments of the game where the student section was going absolutely insane. I mean, i saw students hugging each other in excitement. I mean, let me know if im wrong, but thats a display of extreme passion for our team.

As a devout Gonzaga Basketball fan of many years, i may not know all of the players personally, and they may not know who i am. But as much as some of us would like to be out on the court playing, we cant be. The next best thing we have is to support the team and let them know that we're here in times of success and times of turmoil. When they're down, we're down. When they're on fire, we're on fire.

In that sense, we're all somewhat connected.

LongIslandZagFan
12-20-2008, 09:27 PM
I'm with you WSU I don't understand the "family" that Long island talks about. Nobody on that team has a clue who 99% of the people who post on here is, so why would we treat them as our child??? Seems weird that Long Island would compare how people post to how they would treat their own children.
It was an upsetting loss for all GU fans LongIsland......just because some people think it was Pargo's fault doesn't mean we don't like him. It just means that he needs to improve his basketball IQ in tight games. It's not a bash on him as a "family" member or as a person.

WSU was tight and he opened it up with his basketball IQ. He was solid against Tenn and Maryland. All I have said all along is that there were SOOOO many other factors that played into that loss that had NOTHING to do with him. If it makes you feel good about yourself to heap the blame on him... go ahead. Just telling you it is wrong.

BTW, I guess if fans were not part of a sports team's family it would explain why the Seahawks retired a number for the fans. Guess they aren't family too right?

Reborn
12-20-2008, 09:31 PM
We are a family. Thats a fact. Don't most family members get mad at each other once in awhile? Mine sure did. Do good families fight now and then? Mine did. Does getting mad or evern fighting mean we dont love each other? Or that we're bad family members? I think most people can fight and make up the next day. Get mad and then give each oher a big hug before going to bed. I suppose some families are healthier then others. Mine wasn't always that healthy, but I will say one thing. We did love each other. Sometimes love is expressed in different ways. I think it is a mistake to think that some of us love the Zags more than others do. I've said that before and I'll keep saying it. Everyone who posts here loves their Zags. Unfortunaely basketball is an extremely enotional sport. I think the most passionate of any. To be passionate about the Zags is okay for me. To wear our emotions on our sleeves is okay with me. But then again, I grew up in a family that did that. Maybe it's all in how we are raised.

GolfZag
12-20-2008, 09:41 PM
WSU was tight and he opened it up with his basketball IQ. He was solid against Tenn and Maryland. All I have said all along is that there were SOOOO many other factors that played into that loss that had NOTHING to do with him. If it makes you feel good about yourself to heap the blame on him... go ahead. Just telling you it is wrong.

BTW, I guess if fans were not part of a sports team's family it would explain why the Seahawks retired a number for the fans. Guess they aren't family too right?


Oh man this is making me feel so good about myself!!!! Why would blaming a guy make me feel good about myself??? I feel horrible about this loss, I wanted us to win more than anyone. All I am saying is that I expect more out of my point guard, senior, team captain at the end of a close game.

P.S. I haven't said it was all JP's fault, but he was a big contributor.

P.P.S. I don't know what the Seahawks have to do with this discussion.

TuckC
12-20-2008, 11:03 PM
Look LIZF, there is no doubt there were many factors to the loss from today's game. Decision making, Foul calls and flat out great play by UConn affected this game. But to negate blame from Pargo is a pretty poor parenting tactic for this "family". If we are going with this family cliche, do you not demand more from your older kin? Do you not expect them to be the pillar of what the rest of the children are supposed to do? It sucks that we lost, but to try and be a socialist and spread the wealth is even suck-ier. Stephen Gray and Austin Daye kept us in this game, our leaders pretty much fumbled it.

JLGutrocks
12-20-2008, 11:32 PM
Look LIZF, there is no doubt there were many factors to the loss from today's game. Decision making, Foul calls and flat out great play by UConn affected this game. But to negate blame from Pargo is a pretty poor parenting tactic for this "family". If we are going with this family cliche, do you not demand more from your older kin? Do you not expect them to be the pillar of what the rest of the children are supposed to do? It sucks that we lost, but to try and be a socialist and spread the wealth is even suck-ier. Stephen Gray and Austin Daye kept us in this game, our leaders pretty much fumbled it.

Dissenters keep your space. Don't call yourself a fan and B I T C H about our boys. They gave it their all. Stay home and get fatter. I bet you never achieved a parochial school victory, much less a championship yourself. nice job. Enjoy the red that will be yours.

TuckC
12-20-2008, 11:41 PM
Look, don't be disrespectful. I'm a Zag fan, I've been a Zag fan since the first game I went to when I was a youngin' in 1998 watching Q-Hall goin' past everybody in the Kennel. I'm still a youngin'. To question somebody's fanhood simply because they question the idea that a player doesn't deserve a larger percentage of the blame is somewhat ridiculous. I'm not saying the rebounds didn't kill us. I'm not saying the poor foul committing didn't do us in. I'm not saying that Jeremy didn't help us keep close. I'm saying that it is pretty tough to not look at your senior point guard making 3 costly turnovers late. I love him, I think somebody needs to give the guy a cheeseburger so he can get over it and take out PSU. To use insults as a way of arguing is juvenile. Almost childish. Hey, welcome to the family.

TacomaZAG
12-21-2008, 06:34 AM
here's my two cents. I like the "family" reference, not just for the team but for the University as a whole, including all the disfunctional aspects and "crazy Uncle Charlie" always having too much eggnog at Christmas.

That being said, we win and lose as a family. Blaming a loss or crediting a win to one member of the "family" is unfair and shortsighted. Every guy out there is busting his butt the whole game, the whole season.

If we make one more free throw yesterday, we win in regulation. Who do we blame for missing the free throw???? If we don't come back from the early 13-2 deficit, none of the late game heroics and mistakes mean a thing.

I bleed ZAG blue and have lived/died with the team since 1971. I've never met any of the players or coaches but feel a kinship with them through the University, my University. My greatest appreciation for the basketball program comes from the success stories (both on and off the court) of the players, this year's stories on Micah, Josh, and Jeremy speak to the "family" part of the discussion.

You can't choose all your family members, but I like the ones we have.

Go ZAGS

wsulax
12-21-2008, 07:21 AM
Dissenters keep your space. Don't call yourself a fan and B I T C H about our boys. They gave it their all. Stay home and get fatter. I bet you never achieved a parochial school victory, much less a championship yourself. nice job. Enjoy the red that will be yours.

You are just like everyone that was on the Pendo band wagon last year. You obviously do not know basketball, you just love watching GU. Players make mistakes and it is ok to point them out. Hell Pargo would kick my butt in every aspect of basketball, but I have watched and played the sport enough to know he maid to many mistakes down the road after having a good first 3 quarters. Is it completely on him, no. Few needs to realize he is not ever going to be a clutch player and find someone else to get the ball in those final seconds. I am not a dissenter and to make the arguement of stay home and get fatter that just shows your arrogance. If you come at someone have it atleast be about what they said.

LongIslandZagFan
12-21-2008, 08:47 AM
....but I have watched and played the sport enough to know he maid to many mistakes down the road after having a good first 3 quarters...

Please tell me you aren't college educated... oh wait you went to WSU... nevermind.

wsulax
12-21-2008, 08:56 AM
Famous last words of a losing argument. "Oh lets point out his grammatical errors and the fact that he went to a public school." I am sorry I am human and make mistakes. You know, I am on this board and a huge fan of GU. In your opinion that makes me family right (or are you going to contradict yourself now)? So wouldn't your bashing of my public school education go against your beliefs of how we need to treat "family"? Maybe I'm not the only one that should think before writing.

ZagLawGrad
12-21-2008, 09:00 AM
WSULAX. I learned from my education at GU that free speech is a good thing. Keep posting as you see fit. Not everyone will agree with many posts here, but GU and WSU did not gradute clones the last time I checked. Variety may indeed be the spice of life.

wsulax
12-21-2008, 09:16 AM
WSULAX. I learned from my education at GU that free speech is a good thing. Keep posting as you see fit. Not everyone will agree with many posts here, but GU and WSU did not gradute clones the last time I checked. Variety may indeed be the spice of life.

Thank you Zaglaw. I went to Gonzaga Prep High School and was a fan even before those days. I am a fan, but w/ that I am very critical. You should hear what I have to say about our football team :). Can't argue w/ me on that one.

Shanachie
12-21-2008, 12:22 PM
I'm with you WSU I don't understand the "family" that Long island talks about. Nobody on that team has a clue who 99% of the people who post on here is, so why would we treat them as our child??? Seems weird that Long Island would compare how people post to how they would treat their own children.


I think that most who attended GU, or worked there, or have kids who go there, etc. do see Gonzaga as a family. Including the basketball team. I know it doesn't make sense when extended to a top 20 basketball team that's on ESPN every other week, the players and coaches of which most of us don't know personally, but nevertheless it's hard for many of us not to think of the players and coaches that way. I hate seeing people make disparaging remarks about the players or coaches. And let's be honest - it's not merely suggesting that one player deserves more playing time. Many posters have been much harsher than that.

So given what Gonzaga is - a small, close-knit community that nurtures a family atmosphere among its students and staff - don't be surprised that many who post here don't appreciate the player/coach bashing and that they push back when they see it.

johnwzag
12-21-2008, 02:30 PM
Look, don't be disrespectful.

Tuck, you have been disrespectful to Pargo and others fans on this board in the past. JL is right in my opinion.

thespywhozaggedme
12-21-2008, 02:38 PM
We talk a lot here about the Gonzaga family. I, for one, really do feel as if I were part of that family. When we suffer a disappoinhting loss, I imagine if these kids were my kids, and what I would say and what I would feel ...

I am baffled by the behavior of some fans here. I wonder, "Is this the way they treat their own families, their kids, when they experience disappointing losses?

What happens to that sense of "family" here when we experience loss? Do we pull closer together? O do we look for scapegoats? Do we elect a familyu "goat" to blame everything on? Forgetting the many times that player has carried the team on his back?

Meanwhile, when one of our players has a huge coming out party, are we so engrossed on hammering on his teammate, who doubtless is more disappointed than we can know, that we leave his stellar performance unacknowledged and uncelebrated?

This looks like a very disfunctional Zag "family" to me - not the team but the Zag fans whose egos seem to be on the line and more engrossed in padding their own shaky self-esteem than acting like the supportive family they claim to be part of ...

Strange, simply strange, to this one-time and always mother and big-time fan of this team of exceptional young men, who don't always live up to their own hopes and dreams, but who always try valiantly.

Family doesn't mean that you bury your head in the ground when bad behavior is prevalent. It's not realistic to say that family is all smiles and hugs all of the time. That's not to say that you love your family any less when they're participating in bad behavior, but sometimes love is tough and you have to tell your family, "I love you, but what your doing is wrong". That to me is family. Unconditional love doesn't equal unconditional endoresment of behavior.

TuckC
12-21-2008, 02:39 PM
in what way have I been disrespectful?
I know for sure that I haven't questioned the legitimacy of someone's fanhood. NegRep me all you want. I know certain people on these boards have been outspoken about their adoration for having yellow and green, but I could care less. I don't plan on "having sleepovers" with people on these boards. I'm a fan of the team. I love the school. I could care less about empty, cliche threats and insults from some people who are using this team as a way to fill the gap in their lives in "family" and their dreams of being able to play. I guess the reason why I come and leave is that some of these statements make me want to purge or throw my computer from the sheer "queso"ness.

I love Pargo, but his decision making was costly. So was the foul decision making by Austin, Josh, Micah and especially Matt. Like I've been saying, our youth fought for us (Austin and Stephen), but our vets weren't playing experienced basketball.

ZagNative
12-21-2008, 02:59 PM
This board, after a loss, is often simply insane, without any perspective or balance. There is a certain contingent that comes screaming in here sideways at the final buzzer, with their hair on fire, taking punches at players and staff, seemingly forgetting the team's entire record. It's all-or-nothing thinking gone nuts.

I have this vision of myself getting together with some pals at the Bulldog after a loss to commiserate and console each other and maybe do a little head scratching, but with a bit of perspective and ability to talk about the good as well as the bad, the great moments and the not-so-great moments in the game.

But the post-game crowd that surges in here too often seems as if it's ready to start throwing chairs. I personally find it goofy, but those who enjoy that kind of over-the-top bench-clearing brawl are certainly free to continue to do it so long as they like. No one is stopping them.

With about 40 different negative threads on the board over the past 20 hours or so, no one should begrudge the couple that say, "Hey, rein up! Have we got this team's back or not?"

TuckC
12-21-2008, 03:10 PM
I'm not saying get rid of Pargo, ZN. I'm saying he deserves some of it. The talk of "let MEECH start" is absurd and laughable. I want Pargo to do well just as much as the next guy. I want to see him be consistent, so the adj. "inconsistent" isn't in the AP article before a game, and maybe I can see him in another jersey from the States next season.

ZagLawGrad
12-21-2008, 03:28 PM
This board, after a loss, is often simply insane, without any perspective or balance. There is a certain contingent that comes screaming in here sideways at the final buzzer, with their hair on fire, taking punches at players and staff, seemingly forgetting the team's entire record. It's all-or-nothing thinking gone nuts.

I have this vision of myself getting together with some pals at the Bulldog after a loss to commiserate and console each other and maybe do a little head scratching, but with a bit of perspective and ability to talk about the good as well as the bad, the great moments and the not-so-great moments in the game.

But the post-game crowd that surges in here too often seems as if it's ready to start throwing chairs. I personally find it goofy, but those who enjoy that kind of over-the-top bench-clearing brawl are certainly free to continue to do it so long as they like. No one is stopping them.

With about 40 different negative threads on the board over the past 20 hours or so, no one should begrudge the couple that say, "Hey, rein up! Have we got this team's back or not?"

Why get so worked up with people expressing their opinions? There is no cookie cutter formula for what makes one fan better than another.

I think this is meant to be a baskeball forum to talk about issues whether or not fans agree with the opinions expressed. It seems that the opinions, as varied as they are, make for some interesting reading.

thespywhozaggedme
12-21-2008, 03:30 PM
This board, after a loss, is often simply insane, without any perspective or balance. There is a certain contingent that comes screaming in here sideways at the final buzzer, with their hair on fire, taking punches at players and staff, seemingly forgetting the team's entire record. It's all-or-nothing thinking gone nuts.

I have this vision of myself getting together with some pals at the Bulldog after a loss to commiserate and console each other and maybe do a little head scratching, but with a bit of perspective and ability to talk about the good as well as the bad, the great moments and the not-so-great moments in the game.

But the post-game crowd that surges in here too often seems as if it's ready to start throwing chairs. I personally find it goofy, but those who enjoy that kind of over-the-top bench-clearing brawl are certainly free to continue to do it so long as they like. No one is stopping them.

With about 40 different negative threads on the board over the past 20 hours or so, no one should begrudge the couple that say, "Hey, rein up! Have we got this team's back or not?"

What's Occums Razor; often times the easiest answer is the correct one? I'm just gonna throw this out there, don't get mad at me: maybe because most of us here are men and you're a woman? Men, by and large are idiots, my wife looks at me like I'm a moron (I am) when I yell at the tv. You simply are more rational and level headed. I chalk it up to gender and that's why we need you. :D Just my .02$

RenoZag
12-21-2008, 05:01 PM
"It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat."

"Citizenship in a Republic,"
Speech at the Sorbonne, Paris, April 23, 1910

Ol' Teddy had it right.

johnwzag
12-21-2008, 05:05 PM
in what way have I been disrespectful?

from some people who are using this team as a way to fill the gap in their lives in "family" and their dreams of being able to play.

What else needs to be sad?

Nevtelen
12-21-2008, 05:41 PM
Ol' Teddy had it right.

Perfect quote for this situation, Reno. Kudos.

montanazag88
12-21-2008, 06:05 PM
Native, this is a passion for you...the board, that is. If you simply loved the team and had no other interests, the rest of us would be left without some of the best insider info (no offense, Bob) any sports blog has to offer about its program. Keep your focus...stay in the BLOG ZONE...where you are at your best. Now is when we need you the most. That's your role as I see it and there is nobody better at it than you. Don't worry so much about what's said....tough losses are just another component of adversity for the program/the players...we're all big boys (and girls) and understand that language, discounting the garbage.

One clarification: constructive criticisms ARE crucial to the program's success. In addition, the "contentedness" of many on this board, if you are trying to please them, is honesty and truthfulness about the strengths and weaknesses of a team. For example, I truly hope Mark Few's reputation does not become tagged by "REMEMBER UCLA, ____, _____, ____." It's not the question alone that is important. Rather, it's the "insider" stuff answering the question. How do the Zags tackle their weaknesses during practice and upcoming scrimmages? (Is Few blessing Pargo, Goodson and Gray to go one-on-one up the court against a press before the trap takes place...sending the rest of the team to the other end? Was Pargo hurt - which appears he was and it impacted him mentally? - he certainly was not at fault for having nobody to pass the ball to in a deep full-court press - that's either the team on the floor, the coach or both...don't need a philosophy course to answer this one.) Stay on track, ZNative.... Keep us up to speed by staying above the fray.

TuckC
12-21-2008, 07:52 PM
What else needs to be sad?
lol wut :\
That isn't being disrespectful, that's shining a light on the people that are coming up with "zingers" such as "LOL GO GET FATTER IN FRUNT OF DA COMPUTER HUR" and "ZOMG LEAVE OUR BOYZ ALONE!"

Zagpower
12-22-2008, 10:48 AM
Once I stepped away from these boards for several days, I start feeling better about the Zags and myself. I'm starting to figure out what has been driving me crazy for a few months now.

I used to come here for basketball info not a social networking site, now the board has become a "family" for some of the posters. Nothing wrong with family, but I think "family" is being defined by a handful of posters that post 20-50 times a day on this board.

When I see posters that post thousands of posts on a chat board or write hundreds of letters to the editor of the local paper, I always think of a recluse or shut-in or someone that may be lacking some balance in their life and to me it's frustrating that these people have somehow elected themselves as board leaders.

Nothing wrong with posting all day long on a chat board as it takes all kinds, but I hope you understand why I don't post to please these people and am a little worried when these folks are the ones who gets to define "family" or "real fans". They seem to only include like-thinkers in the family.


Instead of talking family several times a day on a chat board, why not spend some of that time with your actual family or friends?

I have made many friends on this board as well and consider a handful like family but have never understood the need of a few individuals to absolutely take over a basketball chat board and turn it into the epicenter of their lives.