PDA

View Full Version : CBSSportsline: Indiana - Zags Post Game story and Other Post-Game Stories



ZagNative
12-06-2008, 01:01 PM
I would imagine this will be the first of many "Pesky Indiana" stories ... :(

From CBSSports (http://www.sportsline.com/collegebasketball/gamecenter/recap/NCAAB_20081206_GONZAG@IN):
Zags escape pesky Indiana in first hoops game at Lucas Oil Stadium
Dec. 6, 2008
CBSSports.com wire reports

Dec. 6, 2008
CBSSports.com wire reports

Share this page.

INDIANAPOLIS -- Josh Heytvelt scored 17 points and Jeremy Pargo added 13, as No. 5 Gonzaga survived pesky Indiana for a 70-54 victory Saturday -- the first basketball game played at Lucas Oil Stadium.

It wasn't supposed to be close between one of the West's traditional powers and a rebuilding program that had only eight scholarship players available for the game.

Clearly, though, Gonzaga (6-0) wasn't itself at the Hall of Fame Showcase. The Zags were shooting just 31 percent midway through the first half and finished the half 5-of-12 from the free-throw line. They didn't make a 3-pointer for nearly 28 minutes, and Heytvelt spent time battling foul trouble.

The result: Indiana (4-4) kept it close but couldn't overcome 25 turnovers or 30.4 percent shooting.

Devan Dumes had 15 points and Malik Story added 14 for the Hoosiers, who lost for the third time in 12 days to a team ranked in the top 20.

Gonzaga's adjustments and depth simply were too much for Indiana.

....

Whether it was the deep backgrounds at the Indianapolis Colts home stadium, an off-night or simply looking past Indiana and toward Wednesday's game against in-state rival Washington State, Gonzaga struggled to follow the game plan.

Instead of exploiting its huge size advantage inside, the Zags repeatedly settled for long jumpers early, which allowed Indiana to hang around.

It was tied 19-19 late in the first half before Gonzaga went on an 8-3 run that started to turn the game. And when Indiana repeatedly turned the ball over and got into foul trouble, it was all over.

ZagNative
12-06-2008, 01:15 PM
So, we've already got "Pesky" for Indiana, and now we add:

Indiana = "scrappy," "determined," and undermanned"
Gonzaga = "hands full," and "sputtered" (early may be added, as it was in Jim Meehan's blog (http://www.spokesmanreview.com/blogs/sportslink/archive/?postID=8852)posted a few minutes ago)

This is nice ...
Jeremy Pargo, who moved past John Stockton into third place on the school's all-time assists list, fed Bouldin for layups on consecutive possessions to hike GU's lead to 13.

Pleasant Peninsula
12-06-2008, 01:27 PM
I like being referred to as "one of the West's traditional powers! :D

ZagNative
12-06-2008, 01:35 PM
My gosh! Get a load of this Pic of Ira (and Rob Sacre):

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Ira%20Brown/2008-12-06IraBrownandAustinDayeIndi.jpg

Those arms are just hard to believe! Sacre's too!

LynetteG
12-06-2008, 01:47 PM
much better story (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/basketball/ncaa/men/viewcast/2008/12/06/index.html?contestId=53016&vendorId=200812060271&vendorVisitTeam=233&vendorHomeTeam=271&pageType=recap)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Josh Heytvelt and Jeremy Pargo taught Indiana's youngsters a few lessons about what it takes to win.

Patience, discipline, composure. No. 5 Gonzaga had all of those elements Saturday; Indiana did not.

After an uncharacteristically slow start, Heytvelt and Pargo warmed up to score 17 and 13 points, respectively, and the Zags' full-court pressure forced turnover after turnover as they finally pulled away to a 70-54 victory.

''We needed to experience how to win an ugly grinder, and we did that,'' Zags coach Mark Few said.

ZagNative
12-06-2008, 01:56 PM
Thanks, Lynette! That is a much better story. I liked this:
'The key to a game, any game, is taking what the defense gives you,'' Crean said. ''They're very, very long and very, very athletic. The bottom line is they wouldn't be that successful if they didn't play good defense.'' I'm feeling better about this ugly game by the minute!

Dogtownkid
12-06-2008, 02:10 PM
but I sure won't be watching this one again! I didn't for a minute thing Indiana could pull it off, but it just wasn't a pretty game.

ZagNative
12-06-2008, 02:11 PM
Spokesman-Review's photo album is up here (http://www.spokesmanreview.com/zags/photos/).

LynetteG
12-06-2008, 02:12 PM
Thanks, Lynette! That is a much better story. I liked this:I'm feeling better about this ugly game by the minute!

ZN, that is my fave quote from the entire story! YES!