PDA

View Full Version : Old Spice Classic Championship Game Thread



BobZag
11-30-2008, 11:16 AM
It's the Vols of Tennessee versus the Zags of Gonzaga.

May the Force be with the team from Spokane.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 01:37 PM
I have nothing intellegent whatsoever to say. My eyes will be focused on the game. Interesting Western Kentucky is ahead of LV by 4 right now. Wish I could watch the game.

Zagdawg
11-30-2008, 02:18 PM
Headed to Players and Spectators to relax with dinner and a beverage or two enjoyed during the game.

I'm with ya Bob---

May the best team from Spokane win!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 02:30 PM
Partake and visit: http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=15817

MickMick
11-30-2008, 02:50 PM
Take care of the ball. Take care of the ball.

Repeat after me.

Take care of the ball.

75Zag
11-30-2008, 02:50 PM
Georgetown is really spanking Maryland right now. Hope this is irrelevent to GU - Tenn matchup, but those who have been endlessly posting that GU had the difficult side of the Old Spice bracket may be full of whatever.

Go Bulldogs.

TheBeast
11-30-2008, 03:08 PM
Anyone know of a Chicago meet-up to watch the game?

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 03:23 PM
Georgetown is really spanking Maryland right now. Hope this is irrelevent to GU - Tenn matchup, but those who have been endlessly posting that GU had the difficult side of the Old Spice bracket may be full of whatever.

Guilty. Maryland looks terrible, although I am starting to see a spark. Was Maryland just lucky beating MSU? However; This is the best I have seen Georgetown play. Also MSU did no overwhelm Wichata. I am totally confused.

http://blog.syracuse.com/axeman/2007/07/medium_duncecap.jpg

No, I won't put it on. Just looking at it right now.

primal23
11-30-2008, 03:32 PM
Georgetown is young, so they are playing up and down between games.

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 03:55 PM
1.) limit TOs (11 against OKSt...15 against Maryland)
Optiminal range: 10-12... Definitely less than assist putout

2.) Stop shooting trey balls (6-22 vs OKSt & 5-16 vs UM)
When you have JH inside, Pargo & Matt who are linebackers that can slash through the lane at will, and Micah and Austin with their ballhandling, although ADaye is a bit slow with the knee, can juke any defenders to get an easy basket... GO INSIDE

3.) Free Throws (13-26 OkSt & 18-25 UM). Had an ulcer with our shooting at the stripe vs OKst. Needs to be up around 77-82+%

4.) STOP THE DRIBBLE... includes help defense.. slide boys slide! You all have mouths, I know that from the noises arising from the 2nd floor last year, use em on the court!

BobZag
11-30-2008, 04:04 PM
Zags have to be strong and play strong. Dribble with a purpose, instead of not having a plan. Just be completely determined.

HOOTER
11-30-2008, 04:28 PM
The Zags need to go into this match-up knowing that if they play their best they will win. They can't get over-confident, but at the same time they have no reason to be intimidated.

Also, I'm pretty sure Tennessee didn't bring their conference officials to this one. ;)

Akzag
11-30-2008, 04:44 PM
Welcome to our new home ... may it see it us into uncharted territory.

Go Zags!

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 04:56 PM
One more thing to note: They need to be VERY careful inbounding the ball. Tennessee gave them fits last year, causing several turnovers.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:00 PM
Well here goes in 2 minutes :bishop_smiley:

MBZags
11-30-2008, 05:00 PM
Hubert Davis and Jay Williams both "Gonzoga'd" us. Sigh.

NorthoftheBorder
11-30-2008, 05:01 PM
We don't get ESPN up here in Canada so I have to follow the game on the CBSSportsline Game Tracker.

What time is the game scheduled to start?

RenoZag
11-30-2008, 05:02 PM
First game away from Casa Reno. . .hope this doesn't disrupt the karma !

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 05:06 PM
Good start but scary turnover.

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:08 PM
Take care of the ball PLEASE!

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:08 PM
Daye is a turnover machine

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:10 PM
Two WIDE open 3 point shots :mad: :mad:

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 05:11 PM
Gray for 3!!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 05:12 PM
Daye deserved that last foul. The first one was ridiculous.

FuManShoes
11-30-2008, 05:13 PM
Love that the Zags are hitting threes, but what happened to going down to low to what's his name, oh yeah, JOSH HEYTVELT. Come on, guys...

gmo
11-30-2008, 05:14 PM
some very sloppy basketball right now - which plays right into Tennessee's hands of course. Need to be stronger with the ball and start utilizing our height (slow the game down). We stand very little if any chance of winning a free-wheeling up and down game like this...

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:17 PM
Where is everyone?

Austin with 2 fouls!
Defense guys! Defense!!

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:18 PM
No no ira ><

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:18 PM
Ira!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:19 PM
Yeah Austin just isn't ready to play against a physical team and HOLY CRAP THAT JAM BY IRA! WAS CRAZY!!!!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 05:19 PM
Sweet jesus.....

gmo
11-30-2008, 05:19 PM
yes yes Ira (ha).

I think we need to shoot more threes, we don't seem to be shooting enough of those (sarcasm alert).

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 05:19 PM
Big Dunk, Ira!

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:19 PM
Ok he made up for it :)

whatazag
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
WOW! Brown is providing great minutes spelling Daye while he has foul trouble.

Akzag
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
ira!

MickMick
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
IRA! Dunks!

They wanna get rough?

Rob and Ira! can get rough!

GPGUgrad
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
Oh man, Ira!!!

That got me going!

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:20 PM
Ira, all is forgiven -- no more threes -- just flush it another two or three times for us. So awesome

zagirl2k
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Everybody is in the new game thread forum

HERE (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=15809)

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Check the new forum @
http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=308405&posted=1#post308405

NorthoftheBorder
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
The game thread is in the special "Game Thread" forum that was created a couple of days ago.

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Like what I see so far, could stand to play a little more physical on defense, but so far ok...I REALLY wanted to see Heytvelt get the ball down low...the guys just don't look for him enough...this is going to be a very different game than last year...
ALSO what is gong on with Micah slipping? He's hit the ground like 3 times...

OZZag
11-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Yeah Austin just isn't ready to play against a physical team and HOLY CRAP THAT JAM BY IRA! WAS CRAZY!!!!

I'm listening to Tennessee radio, even they said that IRA's jam was nasty!

whatazag
11-30-2008, 05:22 PM
Yes, Sacre. If you are going to foul, that is the way to do it. He should teach that to some of the other guys.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:22 PM
Good foul Sacre

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 05:22 PM
They wanna get rough?

Rob and Ira! can get rough!

Seconded.

NorthoftheBorder
11-30-2008, 05:22 PM
Ozzag,

How do you get Tennesse Radio? What's the website?

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:23 PM
Grey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:23 PM
Gray!!! Kids are playing these thugs tough! I don't mind!

gmo
11-30-2008, 05:24 PM
freshman (even though I think the world of him) against this pressure D scares me.

Nice Gray - i love the tenacity on the and-1.

zagirl2k
11-30-2008, 05:24 PM
I like our intensity and hustle for loose balls so far. Need to clean up some other stuff, but at least the intensity is there.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:25 PM
A little softer Jeremy.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:25 PM
Not good, get a rebound ffs and how about guard the 3?

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:25 PM
I don't like the defensive rebounding -- where's Austin?

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:26 PM
Natt is bad so far

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:27 PM
I don't like the defensive rebounding -- where's Austin?

2 fouls already...he really isn't capable of playing against a physical team like this yet...you can tell he gets REALLY frustrated fast....

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:27 PM
Steven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:28 PM
we dont need to be jumping to contest shots... just get a hand in their face... STOP JUMPING.... >>> we need to CLOSE OUT and then BOX OUT


Stop fooling around with the ball and stop shooting so many threes


Tenn is athletic.. they are over playing each pass... OBviously they are athletic.... OLD SCHOOL BBALL TIME>.. Back door cuts... screen and roll... fade.... nothing like the Pargo turn around shot at the top of the key though


JH you need to be big.. you have a fat guy on you.. he was 347... now he is 260... he is nothing EAT HIM ALIVE


no more TOs... 7 alreayd with 10 and change to go

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:29 PM
WAY too many threes being chucked up....lets see something downlow!

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:29 PM
Didn't realize he had 2 already....

Micah et al gotta hit the glass hard in his absence. Josh pretty well pinned down so need the wings to step up.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:29 PM
All these 3s, and I think Meech should file charges, he was being molested out there.

GPGUgrad
11-30-2008, 05:30 PM
Agree Abe!

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:30 PM
Zags look weak on the boards...but lotsa hustle and the kids are 3 pts up. Gray has newfound vertical!!! Ira's type of play will hold off lots of trouble.

I wonder if the mods couldn't leave the game threads and move em after the game???

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 05:30 PM
JH always did have problems with heavy 5's.

Birddog
11-30-2008, 05:31 PM
That was solid duty from Meech, the kid's got some smarts.

MickMick
11-30-2008, 05:31 PM
Need to take care of the ball.

GPGUgrad
11-30-2008, 05:33 PM
Yes! Josh!!

We need a big game from him tonight!

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:34 PM
is tired... he just rested his arms on his knees with the ball 3 feet away then decided not to switch properly ... he needs to be yelled at and benched

whatazag
11-30-2008, 05:34 PM
Matt needs to get some better shot selection here.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:34 PM
Matt is hurting us so far.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:34 PM
Guys are just giving the Tenn a break with these forced jump shots.

75Zag
11-30-2008, 05:35 PM
No entry passes, lots of 3s. Bad news.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:36 PM
So tenn can hit ppl in the face, slap kick all that and no call?!?

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:36 PM
Bout time they called some of those thug fouls. Austin was just fouled. I t's obvious the Zags are getting called.

FEW needs to call time!!!

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:38 PM
we need to use screens against a faster team.. not lollygaggle around and fool with the ball... SCREEN A BODY NOT A SPACE

also, Micah needs to step up the defense...

INSIDE INSIDE INSIDE

PUMP FAKE, ADaye needs to use his triple threat more than his back to the basket junk

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:38 PM
How was that not a foul on that swipe on Micah? The guys are not handling the pressure very well right now....wow this officiating is getting a little ridiculous....but that is no excuse...DOUBLE FOUL? WTF?

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:39 PM
Officiating getting pretty bad...they are about to lose control in they're not careful. How can you not call the foul when Micah got hit in the eye?

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 05:39 PM
Bouldin needs to learn how to pick his shots better. Real momentum killers

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:40 PM
That was beautiful Micah downs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:40 PM
Impressed with Micah, Ira!, and Steven tonight. Stay with it.

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:40 PM
So wait, are we watching the NFL or NCAAB?

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:41 PM
No doubt Law. But Tenn is just a bunch of thugs! Refs,,,,do your jobs!

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:42 PM
see what happens when we ball fake (i,e Micah)


JH... DOWN LOW please... i respect you highly, yet right now we need you to turn it on down low rather than from 22+ feet out

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 05:43 PM
Can we please take it to these guys inside!!!!

75Zag
11-30-2008, 05:43 PM
Those who were not expecting a slash and burn SEC style game will be offended by the refs. This is the way men live and die in BCS basketball, and if you expect GU to become a final four team, get used to it.

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:46 PM
Point taken on SEC-style basketball/officiating, but when a defensive player hits his man in the face, there is no call but the ref still stops play for the injured player, that's just idiotic. Think about it.

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:47 PM
Take Micah out, immediately.

How to play a ZONE DEF.... FIND A MAN and BOX OUTTTTT.... also we need to close out on shots.. no open looks... doesnt mean Jump to block it (we dont do style) we do BLUE COLLAR



OT- why are all of Few's buttons buttoned?

75Zag
11-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Apparently Few did not get the memo that Bruce Pearl got regarding tonight being "coaches in bowling shirts" night. Ugh!

Great Half! I will take it.

MDABE80
11-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Tenn is a bunch of thugs. It's their first line of defense! Ira needs to knowck somebody on his a**. This is just plain stupid. We get called and they don't. FLUSHHHHHHHHHH! Micah!!!

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Micah the beast!!!!!!!!!!!

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Keep Micah in!!! flush it!

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:50 PM
Grey!!!!!!!!! Yah!!!!

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:51 PM
And Josh grabs the board! Yes, I think they want it.

whatazag
11-30-2008, 05:51 PM
Feels pretty good to get out of that half up 4.

GPGUgrad
11-30-2008, 05:51 PM
Ok, I feel better now.

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 05:51 PM
Nice end to the half...but just happened there with people walking off?

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 05:51 PM
Did you see Micah Pat Bruce Pearl on the shoulders?

primal23
11-30-2008, 05:52 PM
Shows more class then it looked like ole Pearl was willing to do in a heated situation.

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 05:54 PM
Anyone figure out what happened?

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 05:56 PM
Point taken on SEC-style basketball/officiating, but when a defensive player hits his man in the face, there is no call but the ref still stops play for the injured player, that's just idiotic. Think about it.

Let's not jump on the Officiating. I am sure that the older Ref who confused his hands early in the game was in Spokane recently... I know there is a site where you can see all of that, but its not at hand and I'm too wired to look....


Officiating is Huge, yes, but we cannot let it summarize the game. We need to play our game and our game only. Don't get frustrated when we don't get a call our way.. just play HARDER. Scream louder when that Tennesee guy comes down the lane and you take the charge... Don't moan because it'll turn the refs off. Let Few do the talking. Play hardnosed Gonzaga Ball.

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 05:56 PM
Looked like Pargo had some words with a Vol.

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 05:57 PM
Need to go inside, get away from the 3's. Daye needs to step up big time in 2nd half. C'mon Bouldin, lots of minutes over 3 years----c'mon!!!!

BobZag
11-30-2008, 05:59 PM
Crazy turnovers. Zags need to calm down and play smarter. Play hard, be aggressive, but do it smartly.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:00 PM
We have been tested, now we know we can handle the ball while being upper cut in the lip and slapped around. I have hopes we can win this game and I am proud of our Zags for hangin in there. How about Micah? HEE HEE, He is an incredible bad boy dude. He looked like Ira out there for a moment.

Birddog
11-30-2008, 06:01 PM
Two points, Isn't there an old saw "that teams that like to press, don't like to be pressed"? So why don't we press a little?
2nd, Is this a case of the mugger having the little old lady arrested because she hit him with her purse?

FuManShoes
11-30-2008, 06:01 PM
Want to take a moment to congratulate Steven on breaking out of his slump. I had a feeling he would (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=307702#post307702). (OK, so I was a bit off on Josh and Austin) .....

That said, the guys have got to stop taking contested threes and work inside and get the Vols in foul trouble. The Vols have been sending opponents to the line this year and the Zags are not exploiting it. Josh should have tried 8 FTs by now.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:02 PM
Sweet jesus.....

Amen brother!

jim77
11-30-2008, 06:03 PM
Good half......need to get it inside. No way Tenn has 3 guys tougher than Josh, Ira and Rob.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:03 PM
that's the way to finish a half. good to see that gray is back to his old form. I think we need to pound it inside to establish our will now. as fran said, they are pressuring the ball on the wings so we need to work harder to get a good entry pass into the bigs.

Akzag
11-30-2008, 06:03 PM
and congrats to the Hilltoppers for taking out Louisville (another top 10 team falls)

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:04 PM
Want to take a moment to congratulate Steven on breaking out of his slump. I had a feeling he would (http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=307702#post307702). (OK, so I was a bit off on Josh and Austin) .....

That said, the guys have got to stop taking contested threes and work inside and get the Vols in foul trouble. The Vols have been sending opponents to the line this year and the Zags are not exploiting it. Josh should have tried 8 FTs by now.

If they survive this game I will happy.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:06 PM
18-11 Tennessee advantage on the boards...including 7 offensive vs. our 1. 2nd half is going to be a war.

Birddog
11-30-2008, 06:06 PM
What does Elmore add to the broadcast?

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:07 PM
If the Zags win this game, I predict they will be in top 5 tomorrow. Go Zags!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:08 PM
I am on the Micah Downs bandwagon now. He is playing tough and doing a lot of those things that don't show up on the stat sheet, and a lot of things that do.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:08 PM
What does Elmore add to the broadcast?

obligatory acc refrences.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:09 PM
A little blood, but no injuries. thank you!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:11 PM
Matt needs to stick with his mid-range jumper. He is money with that.

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:11 PM
Bouldin is playing well this game.
Nice 3's from Josh

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:13 PM
This is the kind of game Austin's maturity matters. Thank goodness for the threes.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:15 PM
Phantom call on IRA!

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 06:15 PM
I dare someone to defend this officiating. We'll just have to win anyway

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:15 PM
Absolutely god awful foul call on Ira.

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:17 PM
Rub wouldn't hire these refs to do a peewee game.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:17 PM
josh is stepping up the D but we need to cover the weak side

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:17 PM
Phantom call on IRA!

100% agreement there.

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:17 PM
Officiating - nothing nice to say, so nothing to say :mad:

FuManShoes
11-30-2008, 06:18 PM
Sucks that a hard-fought game may well be decided by some BS officiating. Not an excuse, just a lament.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 06:18 PM
I am loving Micah Down's so far for the MVP with that last defensive play and a couple of impossible shots.

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:18 PM
josh is stepping up the D but we need to cover the weak side

If we had a 6'9" version of Ira on the other side of that zone in the paint, we'd be unstoppable.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:19 PM
Will someone please block out

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:21 PM
great take by pargo

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:21 PM
Pargo: Nice move!!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:22 PM
Sweeeeeeeet!!!!!

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 06:22 PM
Back to back guard flushes...oh yeah!

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:22 PM
now step it up on the O boards and stretch this thing out like a champion!!!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:22 PM
I think I just broke my fist.

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:22 PM
Pargo is taking over the game!

ZagNative
11-30-2008, 06:23 PM
Man, this is FUN! Keep it up guys!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:23 PM
What a different game than the BiS....

75Zag
11-30-2008, 06:24 PM
Powerful effort by the core players. God I wish we had an inside game, but we are obviously going to live or die with the 3 point shot tonight.

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 06:24 PM
That point about pressing the pressers is spot-on...keep up the pressure, don't get conservative

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:26 PM
What a move! Go Pargo!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:26 PM
Hopson is good.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:28 PM
big rob giving it everything

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:28 PM
That is what I like seeing out of Sacre.

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:29 PM
Good effort by Sacre! He is a clean up guy

asoc
11-30-2008, 06:29 PM
Sacre is a beast, working very hard, doing good things. Imagine if he was 100%.

Oregon Zag
11-30-2008, 06:30 PM
Pargo is the man! To quote him, "Yes, ma'am".

Birddog
11-30-2008, 06:30 PM
That might be the smartest move by Rob I've seen. He's figuring it out.

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:34 PM
Go JH!!

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:34 PM
way to run the floor big man

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:35 PM
Gray Is Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!!!

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:35 PM
Gray is starting to find it!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:35 PM
A couple ridiculous blocking fouls on Zags in the last 2 or 3 mins.

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 06:40 PM
Another solid 9 minutes and we're in top 5

FuManShoes
11-30-2008, 06:40 PM
Won't it be nice when commentators can stop saying they're "surprised" by GU's toughness? Maybe this is the squad that changes perceptions.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 06:40 PM
great pass by AD

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:41 PM
Bouldin almost got the big dunk. :(

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:42 PM
TO - Gotta recharge :)

NJZag
11-30-2008, 06:45 PM
What does Elmore add to the broadcast?

Less than the colorful commentary coming from the Vols Radio Network!

http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball/boxscore?gid=200811300580

Click on the game channel, to listen to gems like: "That Pargo did like a Whirling Dervish Circus Move - not sure he meant to do that -- but it's good for the basket!"

Homeristic? Sure. But at least they're focused on the game 100%. :D Smattering of comments in bold ...

"We've turned it over 18 thaymes and they've only done turned it over 12!"

"Their zone has really, really hurt us."

"Big Wayne has only taken 1 shot tonight, Bobby, and I think that Zone has just durn taken him out of his game."



"I've been impressed with their balance; they've got somebody at every position."

"We've killed 'um on the glass 30-16 but we're just not effective against this zone. They're dictating tempo."

Nice thing about this game is that there haven't been the roller coaster runs and lead changes like there were with the earlier Hoyas game. But Zags can't relent ... Hoyas had a 9 point lead with 9 minutes remaining in the 2nd half and a quick 6-0 run changed the momentum.

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:47 PM
GU should do a better job on the rebounce. GU now is up by 16... We are the champion!

wazmix
11-30-2008, 06:48 PM
5 mins to Number-5 ???

Take care of the ball. Here comes the storm.

FuManShoes
11-30-2008, 06:49 PM
"How many weapons do these guys have?" -- Fran on Zags

awesome.

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 06:49 PM
Eom

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 06:49 PM
That wasnt a travel, was it?

asoc
11-30-2008, 06:49 PM
Smell the blood and go for the kill Zags...

McZag
11-30-2008, 06:50 PM
Just Amazing!

asoc
11-30-2008, 06:51 PM
definitely not liking these calls by the refs.

kitzbuel
11-30-2008, 06:51 PM
5 mins to Number-5 ???

Take care of the ball. Here comes the storm.

:agreed:

primal23
11-30-2008, 06:52 PM
Ugh ugly couple of minutes, JH gets 4 down to 12 :mecry: :vomit-smiley-007: :D

McZag
11-30-2008, 06:54 PM
No "Prevent Offense". Attack until the last tick of the clock.

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 06:54 PM
Let's finish fellas

75Zag
11-30-2008, 06:56 PM
Time for good karma thoughts. I think I can. I think I can. I think I can.

PortlandbasedZag
11-30-2008, 06:56 PM
These last few minutes are going to really help define us...they are on a bit of a run are they going to stop it and pull it out or fold to the pressure...come on guys! And start making those free throws!!!!

asoc
11-30-2008, 06:57 PM
Lets just make those free throws men...

Just A Zag
11-30-2008, 06:57 PM
i'm loving this

timgozags
11-30-2008, 06:58 PM
That's it.... Congrat to the Zags! They should be in the top 5 tomorrow. Happy for them!

75Zag
11-30-2008, 06:58 PM
Suicide Plays.

primal23
11-30-2008, 06:59 PM
What a stupid move by Daye.

NJZag
11-30-2008, 06:59 PM
Noooooo ... Daye .... 2 for intentional? 2+2?

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 06:59 PM
Daye is still at D-World

MBZags
11-30-2008, 07:01 PM
Wow, what a bonehead play. This better not come back to bite us.

primal23
11-30-2008, 07:01 PM
Wow will Daye feel like an arse if we lose

MickMick
11-30-2008, 07:01 PM
Just can't stand putting teams away can they?

McZag
11-30-2008, 07:01 PM
Sick feeling creeping up.................

MBZags
11-30-2008, 07:02 PM
How the hell is that not a foul? Ridiculous call by the refs.

And this team better learn to box out and rebound against physical teams.

asoc
11-30-2008, 07:02 PM
Fight For The Win Zags!!! Fight For It!!!

primal23
11-30-2008, 07:03 PM
MD was fouled, but why didnt he pull it back out?

MickMick
11-30-2008, 07:03 PM
With good officiating this game would be over.

zag944
11-30-2008, 07:03 PM
they fouled micah on that drive, and we fouled them on the next posession...at least its consistent?

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 07:04 PM
These refs have done there best to keep Ten in the game, that's for sure.

gozags09
11-30-2008, 07:04 PM
make your free throws boys.

gueastcoast
11-30-2008, 07:04 PM
Toughness and discipline.

And FT shooting.

McZag
11-30-2008, 07:05 PM
Horrible refs but we gotta rise above it.

Take your reward Zags - You deserve it!

gozags09
11-30-2008, 07:05 PM
nice exclamation point by pargo!!!

MBZags
11-30-2008, 07:06 PM
Nice couple blocks by Austin. If he can learn to lay off the fouls, he will be a legit defender.

johnwzag
11-30-2008, 07:06 PM
I just wanna say Micah is MVP overall and JP #2/

McZag
11-30-2008, 07:06 PM
Pargoooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 07:07 PM
good job men

primal23
11-30-2008, 07:07 PM
AWESOME win!

NJZag
11-30-2008, 07:07 PM
Even the Vol homer radio announcers asked "How did that foul on Downs not get called?"

OK ... both points made.


YES! JP
"Pargo is MVP right there."

Wow!
"Tyler don't know what to make of them long arms!"

timgozags
11-30-2008, 07:08 PM
Congrat to Steven Gray! He earns Play of the game. Hope to see more good performance like this by Steven

CTDeSmetZagAlum
11-30-2008, 07:08 PM
5 mins to Number-5 ???

Take care of the ball. Here comes the storm.

these minutes are synonymous with the first few in each half. players need to PLAY... stop the bs and trying to put up lazy shots (SG, MB ) and protect the ball; use the shot clock; no blow ups

MBZags
11-30-2008, 07:09 PM
It's good to know that Gonzaga will be the 2009 Old Spice Classic Champions as well. :)

zag944
11-30-2008, 07:10 PM
Mark Few calls him Step-fhon Curry haha

ZagLawGrad
11-30-2008, 07:10 PM
right on CTD

MickMick
11-30-2008, 07:15 PM
Champions!!!

Ssshhhh! they can play defense too

GPGUgrad
11-30-2008, 07:16 PM
Congrats to the Zags!!!

We won, yes!!!

Rubbadub
11-30-2008, 07:24 PM
######bag Fraschilla continues after the game to badmouth our defense. What the hell is that guy's problem?

BobZag
11-30-2008, 07:24 PM
Zags did themselves proud. They played kinda dumb at the end (gotta milk the clock and not commit brainless fouls), but this edition of Zags is wayyy tougher than previous two years.

Nice win.

Onward to Indiana.

McZag
11-30-2008, 07:39 PM
this edition of Zags is wayyy tougher than previous two years.

Toughness is so key. I havent seent his kind of toughness since Casey C. took Kenyon Martin's fist across his face. I recall watching Nilson leave blood on the floor on a couple of occasions as well. Those teams were defined by toughness.

The Zags lost that along the way but Pargo, Brown, Gray and Downs showed me toughness tonight. Toughness combined with smart play can and will win March games. We'll see, but man is it nice to be TOUGH again!!