PDA

View Full Version : GU Ladies Soccer



willandi
10-20-2008, 09:00 AM
I know this is not a basketball topic, but a GU sports topic that should be looked at and addressed. I hope that those of you that are able, direct these thoughts where they are needed.


I have had the pleasure and disapointment to have attended every ladies home soccer game this season, excepting this last Sunday. We have some remarkable talent on the team, with Riley, Cox, Dolcetti and others on the offensive end, Cullen, Conrad, and Kelsey on the defense with Rhodes, Sheridan, Christie and others filling the middle. Ames is a superb keeper, and has excellent backup. Individually they are some of the best players I have seen.
The problem is there is no offensive system in place. They have scored 3 goals in the last 10 games, two of those in one game, and have only one win.
Friday it appeared, to me, that Riley and Cox, on offense, are getting frustrated. They are trying to do everything one-on-one, because they have no certainty that if they pass, a teammate will be anywhere in the area.
The defense seems to be a collapsing style, which works to a point, but if the ball isn't cleared adequately, it leaves an open, and often, uncontested, shot on goal.
Both the womens and mens teams just brought in goalkeeper coaches. The womens team far more needs an offensive coach, a system that has the players with the ball knowing where their teamates will be, on the wings or in the center, and able to make the extra pass, without having to stop and look to see where the players are.
If they could score one or two goals (or more) every game, the defense should hold up, but it could use some refinement as well.
I'm not sure if coach Stiles is capable of implementing the changes that are needed. She has the talent and now she needs to have the ability to use it properly or be replaced.
A loyal fan, Will

Zag 77
10-20-2008, 09:09 AM
Somebody starts calling for the coach's head. Relax Will. This is not a year they would be expected to contend in one of the toughest conferences in the country. 2 seniors and 4 juniors on a 23 person roster means you have a lot of young players that need to learn.

Be patient.

BobZag
10-20-2008, 09:45 AM
Kip is in his 8th year at GU. The team hasn't won a WCC match yet. I believe EWU beat his team. How long does one keep a coach, even if he is a nice guy.

Let's face it, besides basketball, the other sports are average to awful.

ACZag
10-20-2008, 10:38 AM
The women’s rowing team won their 11th WCC Championship in 12 years last spring and they did it by sweeping all 3 races. I hardly think their performance can be categorized as “average to awful”.

Ezag
10-20-2008, 10:47 AM
I just talked to coach the other day. She knows her team is under performing and acknowledged that the injuries and lack of depth due to the injuries have been the main reason for this

BobZag
10-20-2008, 11:21 AM
The women’s rowing team won their 11th WCC Championship in 12 years last spring and they did it by sweeping all 3 races. I hardly think their performance can be categorized as “average to awful”.

You are so right. A brain cramp. My bad. Our women's rowing has been stellar, no question.

Any other sports?

LynetteG
10-20-2008, 12:05 PM
You are so right. A brain cramp. My bad. Our women's rowing has been stellar, no question.

Any other sports?

debate... brain sport!

willandi
10-20-2008, 09:18 PM
All of those responses make sense, except they lacked a coherent offense last year too!! I thought the upgrade in players, even though frosh and soph's, would result in more impact. Most were stars in their highschools, and presumably worked within the confines of an offensive system then. It shouldn't be that hard to adapt to SOME system, if one is in place.
Will

Nevtelen
10-20-2008, 09:40 PM
You are so right. A brain cramp. My bad. Our women's rowing has been stellar, no question.

Any other sports?

Men's crew as well.

mpdogs15
10-20-2008, 10:22 PM
While I understand everyone's perception that, "If it happened in basketball why not all the other sports"... a couple of reasons, but the main one is the facilities. The non "major revenue" sports such as soccer and baseball are just starting to get facilities that match the basketball teams... Soccer for one just got a field that is closed to the public. Meaning any yahoo with a ball can't run around on the field. Baseball just got five stellar recruits from AZ due in large part to facilities.

Another reason I believe soccer is having problems is the risk averse nature of the coaching staff to take on questionable kids, i.e. bad grades, out of high school. There have been kids that wanted to go to GU to play, but couldn't get into the school. Said kids go to different WCC schools to play against GU for 4 years, with a chip on their shoulders.

It's really about the direction the AD wants to go in. Basketball is where the money is at, so follow the money and help the non revenue generating sports.

Zag 77
10-20-2008, 10:27 PM
OK Will, we get your point. You want them to win. You mention they were all stars in HS. Last time I looked, the opponents can pretty much say the same thing, and probably more. GU Women went to the NCAA for the first time a couple of years ago and the program has not been a varsity sport at GU that long; considering its the WCC they play in that is pretty darned good. Teams like UP and Santa Clara are national powerhouses and have been for a long time. Compare to the GU men's basketball, that went to D-1in the 1960's and took until 1995 to make its first NCAA appearance.

Until this season, soccer had a pretty mediocre facility. The administration is willing to put some resources into both mens and womens soccer, which will help GU get better recruits. Realistically, GU men and women get good recruits but not world-class.

It sounds like you have friends on the womens team. Tell them to be patient and keep working hard; hopefully by the time they are seniors they can make another run at an NCAA berth. This is a rebuilding year.

willandi
10-21-2008, 08:55 AM
Yes I have friends on several of the GU teams, and we seldom talk about their sports.
I am 60 years old and have been participating in sports and been a sports fan since I was 5 yrs old. I have participated in organized baseball, football, basketball, golf and rugby, as well as pick up games in anything else I coluld find.
If you took 10 highschool students, split them into two five person teams and put them on a basketball court with no instuction, the only people that would have a clue are those who have played. If you took 10 players, they would know their positions and what to expect.
If Few can impart any worthwhile knowledge in his elite basketball camp (and I assume he can and does) then the soccer coach should be able to impart a basic offensive scheme in preseason, regardless of the facilities.
My original post said that I believe that the womens team needs an offensive coach more than a goalkeeper coach, and if Stiles can't do that, then she needs to step aside.
I am not a GU grad, but am an avid fan, and I will match my general education with any of you. Some will be better, but not many.
Please don't patronize me.
Thanks, Will

a4zag
10-21-2008, 04:32 PM
I agree. There is no way the team should be expected to perform at a very high level with so many walk-ons making up players that see playing time. Give it a year, the team is going through a recruiting cycle and will get back on track.

willandi
10-22-2008, 07:38 PM
I just talked to coach the other day. She knows her team is under performing and acknowledged that the injuries and lack of depth due to the injuries have been the main reason for this

This is the only response that has dealt with my questions. Have any of the rest of the responders been to a women's soccer game this year? or are you just exercizing your fingers?
We have injuries, and we have sophs and frosh starting in front of juniors and seniors. I hope its because they are better.
I doubt that Monson told Casey "don't worry about tipping this in to beat Florida. We have always sucked so maybe next year." I thought the idea was to teach the athletes you have and try harder to win, but I am sure I am in the wrong here, because all of you say the same thing...maybe next year!!!

sittingon50
10-22-2008, 07:55 PM
Isn't that a game played by Communists/Socialists that has more flopping than in a Bass Fishing Tournament & people routinely get killed in the stands?

asoc
10-22-2008, 10:44 PM
Isn't that a game played by Communists/Socialists that has more flopping than in a Bass Fishing Tournament & people routinely get killed in the stands?

As opposed to basketball that is only played by thugs and gang members with little to no education besides the free pass they got in college?

I guess masses of Washington State residents that play Soccer at all age levels are communists/socialists...

What sport in the world has inspired a cease fire during a civil war just to watch their team compete in the greatest sporting event in the world?

I guess Ronny Turiaf and JP Batista are Communists/Socialists for loving Soccer?

I guess Steve Nash is a communist/socialist for being part of an ownership group for a possible MLS expansion team in Vancouver that includes former Yahoo! president Jeff Mallett.

I guess Brian Ching is a communist/socialist as well?
FYI, Brian Ching is a GU alumni who plays for the 2 time defending MLS Champions Houston Dynamo. He has also played for the US Mens National Team in various competitions.

sittingon50
10-23-2008, 09:08 AM
You may be on to something, asoc. Perhaps you could get Congresswoman Bachmann to look into it for all of us!