PDA

View Full Version : Countdown to October 17, 2008 - First day of Practice Allowed



ZagNative
07-16-2008, 08:54 AM
93 days until the official start of basketball practice (October 17, 2008)

17.5.2 Preseason Practice -- On-Court Practice. (https://goomer.ncaa.org/wdbctx/LSDBi/LSDBi.LSDBiPackage.GetBylawToDisplay?p_Division=1&p_Key=17998&p_Bylaw=17.5.2&p_ViewAdopted=Adopted&p_TextTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplica ted&p_TitleTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplic ated&p_HeadFoot=1&p_CallCount=1)

A member institution shall not commence on-court preseason basketball practice sessions prior to 7 p.m. on the Friday nearest October 15 (see Figure 17-2). (Revised: 4/28/05 effective 8/1/05)
Countdown computer to first practice (http://www.timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?month=10&day=17&year=2008&hour=7pm&min=00&sec=00&p0=234)

121 days until first allowable Division I competition - - November 17, 2008


17.5.3 First Contest (https://goomer.ncaa.org/wdbctx/LSDBi/LSDBi.LSDBiPackage.GetBylawToDisplay?p_Division=1&p_Key=18731&p_Bylaw=17.5.3&p_ViewAdopted=Adopted&p_TextTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplica ted&p_TitleTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplic ated&p_HeadFoot=1&p_CallCount=1).

A member institution shall not play its first contest (game or scrimmage) with outside competition in basketball prior to the second Friday of November (see Figure 17-2). Countdown computer to first competition allowed (http://www.timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?month=11&day=14&year=2008&hour=7pm&min=00&sec=00&p0=234)

If I'm reading the rules correctly, we can also play some exhibition games against non-Division I competition on our home court after October 31. Link to rule (https://goomer.ncaa.org/wdbctx/LSDBi/LSDBi.LSDBiPackage.GetBylawToDisplay?p_Division=1&p_Key=18735&p_Bylaw=17.5.5.3&p_ViewAdopted=Adopted&p_TextTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplica ted&p_TitleTerms=ThisIsADummyPhraseThatWillNotBeDuplic ated&p_HeadFoot=1&p_CallCount=1).

Please let me know if any of the above is incorrect.

ZagNative
07-18-2008, 08:39 PM
90 days until the young man on the right suits up for his first official practice with the Zags at MacCarthey Athletic Center?

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/Goodson/2007-12-11DemetriHastings69KleinCol.jpg
Klein Collins' Demetri Goodson tries to get
past Hastings' Tituf Mims during their game
on Dec. 11, 2007. Hastings 69, Klein Collins 66

What the ...??? Meech doesn't lose! I demand an investigation into that slanderous caption!!!!

MDABE80
07-18-2008, 08:46 PM
Saw him the other evening with Matt and Jeremy. Very shy kid. Sleek looking with great hops........since Jeremy was trying to hit him with a golf ball using a 9 iron......on the soccer field on Hamilton. Matt looks taller and way more chiseled. Nice kids.

ZagNative
07-19-2008, 02:06 AM
Thanks for the report, Abe! Nice to know Jeremy and Matt are taking him under their wings a little bit and helping to make him feel at home, even if it's to make him feel like a little brother having to dodge big brothers' golf ball blasts!

ZagNative
08-09-2008, 10:51 AM
First Practice can't come soon enough (http://www.timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?month=10&day=17&year=2008&hour=7pm&min=00&sec=00&p0=234):


It is 69 days, 7 hours, 17 minutes and 10 seconds until Friday, October 17, 2008 at 7:00:00 PM (Seattle time)
And will we have a game the first day competition is allowed (http://www.timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?month=11&day=14&year=2008&hour=7pm&min=00&sec=00&p0=234)? Hope so!


It is 97 days, 8 hours, 15 minutes and 48 seconds until Friday, November 14, 2008 at 7:00:00 PM (Seattle time)

Can't wait to see these two in uniform that first game in K2:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Austin%20Daye/2008-02-19.jpg

(Photo from February 18, 2008, in San Diego, with Brandon Johnson)

MississppiZag
08-09-2008, 11:22 AM
Thanks ZN. Didn't we start on a Sunday last year. I hope we atleast start on Saturday this year. That extra day might actually kill me.:) Seriously though anyone know who are first game of the opening weekend will be? Idaho?

ZagNative
09-06-2008, 03:14 PM
That rascal Kitz sent me a spreadsheet that automatically calculates and displays graphically elapsed time between two dates. I adapted it to calculate the days remaining to the date and time the Zags' first practice is allowed under NCAA rules (maybe this year's Kraziness in the Kennel?).

First, it calculates the time remaining between today and October 17 (only 41 days, folks!) and then the time between September 1 and October 17 practice time. Mighty purty, if you ask me (yeah, I know you didn't)!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Schedule/CountdownfromSept6.jpg

P.S. Kitz, apologies if my messing with the chart screwed up any calculations. If so, you can disown the result.

ZagNative
09-14-2008, 11:56 PM
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Screenprints/Countdown/Clipboard01.jpg

htownzagfan
09-15-2008, 06:55 AM
90 days until the young man on the right suits up for his first official practice with the Zags at MacCarthey Athletic Center?

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/Goodson/2007-12-11DemetriHastings69KleinCol.jpg
Klein Collins' Demetri Goodson tries to get
past Hastings' Tituf Mims during their game
on Dec. 11, 2007. Hastings 69, Klein Collins 66

What the ...??? Meech doesn't lose! I demand an investigation into that slanderous caption!!!!

Long time no talk ZAG Fans - spoke with Meech the other day and the kid is pumped up about the season and LOVES GU - told me he couldn't be happier and is ready to get the ball bouncing - ZN, had to let you know that the main reason KC lost that game was that we later found out Meech was really ill - played with like a 101 fever - kids a competitor - told you boys you were going to love him - as always- GO ZAGS!!!

ZagNative
09-15-2008, 09:26 AM
Long time no talk ZAG Fans - spoke with Meech the other day and the kid is pumped up about the season and LOVES GU - told me he couldn't be happier and is ready to get the ball bouncing.Hey, htown, nice to hear from you again. I've heard nothing but terrific reports aout Meech's play since he's been in Spokane, and I'm so pleased he is enjoying himself!

Here's one of his freshman team members, Grant Gibbs, who I am personally eager to see developing for the Zags over the next four years. He's got the clenched fists and the fire down pat, I'm hoping he finds as happy a fit here as you say Meech has.

GO GRANT! GO ZAGS! Only 32 days until official practice time!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2008-03-05Grantscreamafterdunkstate.jpg

Pic is fuzzy because it was a screen shot from a video, but I loved the fire it shows!

P.S. htownzagfan, I don't know if you've seen a game in Spokane, but if you want a taste of what Meech might expect from the crowd the first time he steps on the court to warm up for a contest in MacCarthey Athletic Center (hopefully, in 61 days, when the Zags play their first game this seaon), click on the link in my signature.

ZagNative
09-15-2008, 10:41 AM
It is 61 days, 8 hours, 18 minutes and 56 seconds until Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 7:00:00 PM (Seattle time), until this young man will be in K2 to see the Zags tip off in their first competition of the 2008-09 season.

He's 2010 prospect Cody Larson, out of Sious Falls, S.D., Roosevelt HS, scheduled to make an unofficial visit to the Boone Avenue campus.


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Recruits/2010%20Recruits/Cody%20Larson/2008-02-28CodyLarsonvOGorman.jpg

I've got a feeling the fans are going to make him welcome!

We've talked earlier here about Cody, in this thread (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=242426#post242426).

Oregon Zag
09-15-2008, 11:17 AM
Hi Mods, Is there any way we can get the countdown to the first game posted?

Can't wait for the season!

ZagMan in Philly
09-15-2008, 03:53 PM
yes. I like the count down clock that cbssports has..
http://www.sportsline.com/collegebasketball

Can't wait for the season to start!

MississppiZag
09-15-2008, 05:22 PM
So is the Montana State Billings an actual game? Or exhibition?

ZagNative
09-15-2008, 05:31 PM
It turns out it's not an exhibition game, per BZ. I think what Bob explained was that it counts as a game, but it isn't counted in computing RPI, since it's a Division II team.

MississppiZag
09-15-2008, 06:46 PM
So when we win(if we do:) ) we will be 1-0. Cool I guess....now i don't have to wait until the Idaho game, to get pumped up. Even though it will be hard to get excited about Montana State Billings.

thickman1
09-15-2008, 07:42 PM
as long as the game is on TV I'll be happy.

Akzag
09-29-2008, 11:44 AM
... one day closer

ZagNative
09-29-2008, 12:46 PM
Yup, it's now:

It is 33 days, 3 hours, 23 minutes and 24 seconds until the game against Wayne Saturday, November 1, 2008 at 5:00:00 PM (Seattle time)

And it's only:

18 days, 5 hours, 19 minutes and 31 seconds until Kraziness in the Kennel, Friday, October 17, 2008 at 7:00:00 PM (Seattle time)

Not sure of that time for Kraziness in the Kennel. Anyone know?

MississppiZag
09-29-2008, 02:08 PM
ZN, do you know if the Wayne State game will be shown on Fox Sports NorthWest? If not i guess i will have to wait 45 days for the MSU Billings game.:(

Although Kraziness in the Kennel will be on ESPNU, so that is a plus.

ZagNative
09-29-2008, 02:27 PM
The official schedule, as you probably know, just shows it on KHQ and doesn't mention FSN, as do other games such as the MSU-Billings and Idaho games. I have a hunch it's not going to be on FSN.

I assume that if a couple of the freshmen end up red-shirting, Kraziness in the Kennel is going to be our only chance to see them on the Court this year, if even the exhibition game against Wayne State would count as a game and prevent a qualifying red shirt. Hmmm.

Oregon Zag
09-29-2008, 06:51 PM
How does Kraziness in the Kennel work? Does it require a ticket to get in? I'd like to get up there to see it, if possible.

BroncoZAG615
09-29-2008, 07:21 PM
It's free to everyone. They are trying to pack the place.

Grad Zag
09-29-2008, 07:30 PM
Does anyone know when the kraziness in the kennel is? I went to it last year and wasn't sure if they were going to do it again. It was pretty sloppy and I was sitting just behind coach Few and he didn't look too happy about the style of play.

MBZags
09-29-2008, 07:35 PM
I thought Kraziness in the Kennel was October 17, but I could've read that wrong.

EDIT: TKR says it's October 17 at 7 pm. My mind hasn't failed me...yet.

Grad Zag
09-29-2008, 07:38 PM
Oh there it is. Thanks for the help

RenoZag
10-05-2008, 06:45 PM
bump

ZagNative
10-05-2008, 07:12 PM
Countdown to Kraziness in the Kennel: It is 11 days, 22 hours, 51 minutes and 36 seconds until Friday, October 17, 2008 at 7:00:00 PM (Seattle time)

Boy, this has been the most pathetic buildup to basketball season I've ever seen on GUBoards, myself included! Pitiful, just pitiful.

Remember the Kennel Club?
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Kennel%20Club%20and%20Misc/GreatlookinggirlsfromtheKennelClubi.jpg Those are some seriously beautiful girls! And the Kennel Club's got 'em!

Anybody got any music? Got any Zombie Nation? Can we get a group rate on mass blood transfusions to pump some life into this bunch?

Geez! I hope the team is building up morre energy and enthusiasm than we are here.

We ought to bring the Bunnies back, if for no other purpose than to aggravate Sinto ...

ON YOUR FEET, ZAGS FANS! SAGSLUG, BRING ON THE YOUTUBE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQAEibm_yRQ)!

ZagNative
10-05-2008, 07:53 PM
Question: Are we good enough for these guys? Still one of my favorite Zag videos (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kn9MsWmu0lQ).

MATTY B, YOU READY? FEWIE, YOU READY?


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Matt%20Bouldin/2007-12-08CSUNFewwithMattyDenverPos.jpg

ZagNative
10-05-2008, 08:27 PM
More great video from JesuitHighlight Guy - Thunderstruck (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Y-8s8rkiOM)!

And Micah ready to run!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Downs/2008-01-26MicahMemphisrunning.jpg

(Running past Chris Doulas-Roberts in Memphis FedEx Forum January 26, 2008.

NEC26
10-05-2008, 08:51 PM
I like your enthusiasm Zag Native!!

Ziggy
10-05-2008, 10:51 PM
I'm right there with you ZN! Keep us focused! It's the quiet before the storm.

thickman1
10-06-2008, 06:19 AM
I like this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-pQzS7v6k&feature=related

MDABE80
10-06-2008, 12:21 PM
Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzus that's a good one Thick. Sometimes we forget what those kids have done......under pressure;)

hockeyzag
10-06-2008, 01:14 PM
Awesome to hear Josh is doing so well recently, how cool would it be to see him dunk all over everybody like he did in 06-07. Love this video because it really shows how much Josh can dominate.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1xF-V7svdYU&feature=related

ZagNative
10-06-2008, 01:50 PM
Awesome to hear Josh is doing so well recently, how cool would it be to see him dunk all over everybody like he did in 06-07. Love this video because it really shows how much Josh can dominate.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1xF-V7svdYU&feature=relatedYep, hockeyzag, that's a good one! Love those JesuitHIghlightGuy's videos! He's right on with the music ... usually. The show tune intro with the New York video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUKVGkuUSto) did scare me at first, but all's well that ends well ... (Warning: red uni alert.)

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Heytvelt/2008-03-10JoshSCUWCCsemisangry.jpg
"Gonzaga center Josh Heytvelt lets out a scream after controlling a defensive rebound late in the game against Santa Clara Sunday March 9, 2008. The Zags won the game to advance to the championship game."

ZagNative
10-07-2008, 06:33 AM
10 days to Kraziness in the Kennel!

Looking back at one of the great college basketball games - Zags v. Michigan State in 3 OTs - Maui, November 2005(Youtube - thanks again JesuitHighlightGuy!) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOGRtwF37ys)

November 21, 2005, and this guy was there, shown here in the opening round game against Maryland:


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Pargo/2005-11-21Jeremy-MarylandatMaui.jpg

What a long way that character has come!

Reborn
10-07-2008, 07:01 AM
Very good thread to get the juices flowing again. It's great to see all this focus on all the great things, great games, great plays that we have witnessed by the Zags. It was great to see some of our stars from the recent past. This is the time, the year, to add new faces to this video.

ZagNative
10-08-2008, 05:17 AM
9 days to Kraziness in the Kennel!

And another Gonzaga game that is on most people's list of the greatest college basketball games of all times, March 22, 2003, Gonzaga v. Arizona on Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GKBC3SzjxzU)in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Listen to the crowd and tell me when you've ever heard one louder!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/NBA/Stepp/2003-03-22BlakeArizonadrives.jpg

ZagNative
10-09-2008, 12:54 PM
8 Days to Kraziness in the Kennel!

Okay, so this post is a throwaway, for the truly obsessed only. Can't be helped. I'm looking ahead to this season so much! Even as far ahead as to ....


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Kennel%20Club%20and%20Misc/2006-02-09-Fans-ESPNcrewStanfordGam.jpg

Memphis on February 7, and the pre-tip towel rally with some Zombie Nation!. Youtube from year before last (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCnh1mcXcd8).

Here's a description of the tip-off from a fan on the Memphis board from someone who traveled to Spokane for the last game (http://ncaabbs.com/showthread.php?tid=304693&pid=3402223#pid3402223):

The atmosphere in the Arena in 07 was electric, we were very lucky
to eke out a win. One thing they do is start playing music at about 4 minutes til the first horn blows and at 3 minutes the anoouncer very
loudly " 3 minutes,3 minutes to ZAGS basketball" and at 2 minutes.
1 minute all the while the music from that Fort Minor song we used at intro 2 yrs ago plays. Each time the crowd gets louder waving the towels til
it hits a 00:00 on the clock " It's time for Gonzaga Basketballllllll.....
CROWD GOES WILD.
Pretty intimidating and bears a look by us , gets everybody, not just
students but blue hairs pumped too.
Good town, good folks I'm going back.

And if you are as demented as I am and will take your ESPN College Gameday Fix however you can get it and need to hear "Ain't Nothin' But a Pawty!" just once before the day is over, watch this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJhIqQkE30E). (okay, it's not at Gonzaga, but if you close your eyes and just listen and imagine it's February 7, 2009!")

ZagNative
10-10-2008, 05:02 AM
One week until Kraziness in the Kennel!


http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/2007-12-31BenchUtahFosterBrownSacre.jpg
Will Foster, Ira Brown, Rob Sacre, and Abdulahi Kusa

Be sute to check out the JesuitHighlightGuy video on this thread (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=14495).

P.S. Good thoughts and best wishes go to Kuso! We'll miss you this year!