PDA

View Full Version : Contest: Predict Mangisto Arop at the U18 World Games



BobZag
07-03-2008, 03:18 PM
It's approaching fast. July 14-18 in Argentina.

1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto.
2. Predict his highest scoring game.
3. Predict his lowest scoring game.

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores.


Below is USA's U18 Team; Mangisto could be playing against these guys:

Malcom Lee first showcased his talent in a USA Basketball uniform at the 2007 USA Basketball Youth Development Festival, held in Colorado Springs, Colo. Also returning from the Festival are: Leslie McDonald (Briarcrest H.S. / Memphis, TN); Travis Releford (Bishop Miege H.S. / Shawnee Mission, KS) and Lance Stephenson (Abraham Lincoln H.S. / Brooklyn, NY).

Rounding out the finalists roster are USA Basketball newcomers: Dominic Cheek (St. Anthony H.S. / Jersey City, NJ); JaMychal Green (St. Jude H.S. / Montgomery, AL); Matt Humphrey (Hales Franciscian H.S. / Chicago, IL); Ryan Kelly (Ravenscroft H.S. / Raleigh, NC); Mason Plumlee (Christ H.S. / Arden, N.C.) Kemba Walker (Rice H.S. / New York, N.Y.); Maalik Wayns (Roman Catholic H.S. / Philadelphia, PA); David Wear (Mater Dei H.S. / Santa Ana, CA); Travis Wear (Mater Dei H.S. / Santa Ana, CA) and Wesley Witherspoon (Berkman H.S. / Lilburn, GA).

OZZag
07-03-2008, 03:35 PM
It's approaching fast. July 14-18 in Argentina.

1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto.
2. Predict his highest scoring game.
3. Predict his lowest scoring game.

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores.


Below is USA's U18 Team; Mangisto could be playing against these guys:

Malcom Lee first showcased his talent in a USA Basketball uniform at the 2007 USA Basketball Youth Development Festival, held in Colorado Springs, Colo. Also returning from the Festival are: Leslie McDonald (Briarcrest H.S. / Memphis, TN); Travis Releford (Bishop Miege H.S. / Shawnee Mission, KS) and Lance Stephenson (Abraham Lincoln H.S. / Brooklyn, NY).

Rounding out the finalists roster are USA Basketball newcomers: Dominic Cheek (St. Anthony H.S. / Jersey City, NJ); JaMychal Green (St. Jude H.S. / Montgomery, AL); Matt Humphrey (Hales Franciscian H.S. / Chicago, IL); Ryan Kelly (Ravenscroft H.S. / Raleigh, NC); Mason Plumlee (Christ H.S. / Arden, N.C.) Kemba Walker (Rice H.S. / New York, N.Y.); Maalik Wayns (Roman Catholic H.S. / Philadelphia, PA); David Wear (Mater Dei H.S. / Santa Ana, CA); Travis Wear (Mater Dei H.S. / Santa Ana, CA) and Wesley Witherspoon (Berkman H.S. / Lilburn, GA).

BZ,

Love the enthusiasm, but as much as I expect him to make the team, the Canadian Junior Nats training camp is this week......and we have'nt been given the final 12 players yet.

BobZag
07-03-2008, 04:32 PM
I'm going to take a wild guess and predict Mangisto makes the team. :)

My answers--

1. 17 ppg
2. 25 points
3. 8 points
4. 11 points

I feel I'm being very conservative.

zag67
07-03-2008, 05:01 PM
I will also say that he makes the team.

1. 15 points
2. 20 points
3. 9 points

Bonus: 9 points

Scotto
07-03-2008, 05:40 PM
12
19
8
8

OZZag
07-03-2008, 07:50 PM
Ok, I'll guess as well, I just didn't want to jinx him...

16
24
6


Bonus 15

ZagNative
07-04-2008, 10:46 AM
From today's Hamilton Spectator (http://www.thespec.com/Sports/article/397101):

Elite go for broke
NEDA eight vying for spots on National Juniors

July 04, 2008
Larry Moko
The Hamilton Spectator

History will be made today when the first basketball game is played at Toronto's Ricoh Coliseum.

And participating in that 4 p.m. contest against a university all-star delegation could be as many as eight St. Mary's Secondary School students who are also members of Canada Basketball's National Elite Development Academy.

The NEDA eight -- Mike Allison, Mangisto Arop, Simon Bibeau, Murphy Burnatowski, Rob Dewar, Roger Dugas, Rob Gagliardi and Ty Nurse -- were to find out late last night whether they've survived the first-round National Junior team cuts.

A 20-player junior tryout camp, including Hamilton's Tyrone Watson, is being held at McMaster University until July 10. That squad then leaves for Formosa, Argentina, to play in the eight-team Americas U18 Championship. The top four finishers earn berths to the 2009 junior world championship in New Zealand.

The games at Ricoh are a tune-up for the qualifier.

"That should be really fun," said Lynden resident Allison of the upcoming games in Toronto. "I've got a lot of people coming to watch."

The juniors and university players will tangle today and tomorrow on the Raptors' floor as openers to the Canadian senior men's games against New Zealand and Lebanon, respectively. The men's action (7 p.m. starts) is part of the Jack Donohue International Classic.

"I think we have the best players in Canada for this age group," said Allison after the first of two practice sessions yesterday. "Everyone deserves to be here. The cuts will be hard to make."

Allison, a 6-foot-9, 210-pounder who turns 18 next month, says the NEDA experience since last September has been extremely beneficial.

"Playing against the best players in the country every day makes you improve that much faster. I think I've improved a lot more than I could have in a regular high school."

Allison's basketball travels have taken him to competitions in Germany and Texas.

National Junior team coach Greg Francis also oversees the NEDA program.

"I'm a guy who grew up in Toronto, so those games at Ricoh should be fun for me. We're excited to be playing university-age guys. It will be good competition for us to get ready for the qualifier."

One of the national junior team's hopefuls is 6-foot-8, 280-pound Maurice Walker, a Toronto Blessed Mother Teresa student who played for Canada at the 2007 U19 world championships in Serbia.

"I was a younger guy then, so I didn't get to shine that much," Walker said. "This year, I feel I'll get to do more and be more of a leader."

According to Francis, McMaster veterans Tyrell Vernon, Terry Licorish and Martin Ajayi have been asked to play for the university all-stars.

Canada is 2-0 at the Jack Donohue exhibition series. New Zealand has a 1-1 record, while Lebanon is 0-2.

BobZag
07-04-2008, 01:52 PM
The winner of this contest gets two tickets to a Zag game in K2. The game will be TBD later, when the schedule comes out.

KSTATEZAG
07-04-2008, 02:05 PM
The winner of this contest gets two tickets to a Zag game in K2. The game will be TBD later, when the schedule comes out.

Alright Bob you snaked me in...
Avg PPG 8.5
High Game 15
Low Game 3
Vs USA 8
----

FYI this is why I don't do sportsbooks.
I always think I know the winner...I always am wrong.

nonzagzag
07-04-2008, 02:22 PM
I'm optimistic about the good Canadian kid:

1. 20
2. 27
3. 13

bonus: 18

OZZag
07-04-2008, 02:47 PM
You're too quick for me ZN (I was probably sleeping atvthe time though).

Great find and I will try and get some infromation on the cuts if i can.

BZ If I win are you going to be able to get me two plane tickets as well?......I'm sure I'll find a place to stay.

S.U. Chieftain
07-04-2008, 04:06 PM
It's approaching fast. July 14-18 in Argentina.

1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto.
2. Predict his highest scoring game.
3. Predict his lowest scoring game.

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores.



1. 8
2. 13
3. 0
4. 8

haMarlin
07-04-2008, 04:09 PM
I think he could have a good showing.

16
23
9

14

BobZag
07-04-2008, 04:49 PM
You're too quick for me ZN (I was probably sleeping atvthe time though).

Great find and I will try and get some infromation on the cuts if i can.

BZ If I win are you going to be able to get me two plane tickets as well?......I'm sure I'll find a place to stay.

No, but my cousin lives over there and she could loan you her row boat. :)

VinnyZag
07-04-2008, 05:55 PM
The winner of this contest gets two tickets to a Zag game in K2. The game will be TBD later, when the schedule comes out.

Well, when you put it THAT way ...

1. 11.5
2. 21
3. 5

bonus: 9

ZagNut08
07-04-2008, 06:52 PM
13
19
7

bonus: 12

freezer12
07-04-2008, 08:45 PM
I predict that Marc Trasolini outscores (ppg) Arop.

zagfan07
07-05-2008, 02:56 AM
1. 12
2. 18
3. 6

bonus: 9

Here's to him scoring more as a Zag

NontradZag
07-05-2008, 08:25 AM
1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto. 16
2. Predict his highest scoring game. 24
3. Predict his lowest scoring game. 9

Bonus Prediction:

15

webspinnre
07-05-2008, 11:07 AM
1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto. - 11.2
2. Predict his highest scoring game. - 15
3. Predict his lowest scoring game. - 6

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores. - 11

KSTATEZAG
07-05-2008, 11:27 AM
Marc Trasolini is a 2 star recruit.
Arop is a 3 star recruit.
So Freezer, What's your basis for suggesting that Trasolini will score more?
Of Course, besides the fact that you are a SC fan.

Final4Zag
07-05-2008, 12:34 PM
1. 10.5

2. 17

3. 6

Bonus 10

SLOZag
07-05-2008, 01:08 PM
1. 15
2. 21
3. 6
B: 14

freezer12
07-05-2008, 01:50 PM
Marc Trasolini is a 2 star recruit.
Arop is a 3 star recruit.
So Freezer, What's your basis for suggesting that Trasolini will score more?
Of Course, besides the fact that you are a SC fan.

Trasolini's senior year:
28 ppg, 12 rpg, 4.5 bpg

Trasolini's junior year:
23 ppg, 10 rpg, 5 bpg

I suspect that Scout and Rivals don't watch much British Columbia basketball. Also, have you ever heard the theory that players can earn higher stars simply based on who is recruiting them? Because Arop is committed to GU, it's possible that the recruiting services assume he is a better player. Besides, I really don't put much stock in to "stars." Duck football predominantly gets 4 and 5 star recruits, while the Beavs usually get 2 and 3 star players. I ask, who has won the last two Civil Wars? (It's OSU)

To be frank, I've never seen either play, but I suspect that you (and most everyone here) hasn't either, so really, we're all guessing.

Gonezagaga
07-05-2008, 01:55 PM
I predict that Bobzag's prize offer makes this a 60 post thread.:)

17
25
11

Bonus 13

KSTATEZAG
07-05-2008, 03:25 PM
Trasolini's senior year:
28 ppg, 12 rpg, 4.5 bpg

Trasolini's junior year:
23 ppg, 10 rpg, 5 bpg

I suspect that Scout and Rivals don't watch much British Columbia basketball. Also, have you ever heard the theory that players can earn higher stars simply based on who is recruiting them? Because Arop is committed to GU, it's possible that the recruiting services assume he is a better player. Besides, I really don't put much stock in to "stars." Duck football predominantly gets 4 and 5 star recruits, while the Beavs usually get 2 and 3 star players. I ask, who has won the last two Civil Wars? (It's OSU)

To be frank, I've never seen either play, but I suspect that you (and most everyone here) hasn't either, so really, we're all guessing.

Hmm...fair enough (unless any of my compatriots can provide evidence for either argument).

MississppiZag
07-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Arop got recruited by Gonzaga, while Trasolini got recruited by Santa Clara. That gives me a pretty good idea.:D

palmerda
07-05-2008, 07:39 PM
Who can resist the chance to win a couple of tickets to a Zag game?

14
21
9
16

TimZag
07-05-2008, 08:29 PM
1. 15 ppg
2. 28 points
3. 6 points
4. 13 points

Tickets would be nice

zag buddy
07-06-2008, 08:10 AM
17
14
17

Nevtelen
07-06-2008, 08:15 AM
It's approaching fast. July 14-18 in Argentina.

1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto.
2. Predict his highest scoring game.
3. Predict his lowest scoring game.

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores.


1. 13.7
2. 22
3. 5
Bonus: 11

thespywhozaggedme
07-06-2008, 03:21 PM
19
27
17
Bonus-19

pbriz
07-06-2008, 04:06 PM
1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto. 13
2. Predict his highest scoring game. 23
3. Predict his lowest scoring game. 6

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores. 12

NorthoftheBorder
07-06-2008, 09:29 PM
1. Scoring Average 7.5
2. Highest Game 12
3. Lowest Game 2

If Canada plays the US: 7 points

OZZag
07-06-2008, 11:40 PM
Arop got recruited by Gonzaga, while Trasolini got recruited by Santa Clara. That gives me a pretty good idea.:D

In all fairness, when Marc was available last summer, I understand that the Zags did look at him, but at that time they had Theo and Brock already committed, and most likley did not think they needed someone like him....only time will tell if they might have.

Marc did play well last year at the Nike Global Challenge in Portland and made the international all star team, obviously they are quite different players. Both players made the All star team at the Canadian U17 championship last year.

MickMick
07-07-2008, 12:35 AM
Avg-20
High-31
Low-10

vs USA-10

wazZag
07-11-2008, 09:14 AM
18
26
11
13

zagmantis2001
07-11-2008, 09:30 AM
1. Scoring Average 9.3
2. Highest Game 14
3. Lowest Game 4

If Canada plays the US: 4 points

whatazag
07-11-2008, 09:30 AM
Avg-10.2
High-19
Low-3

vs USA-7

Zag509
07-11-2008, 09:31 AM
Ave= 18.3
High= 27
Low= 13

Vs USA=18

SteelCityZag
07-11-2008, 09:38 AM
Scoring Average: 17
High Score: 25
Low Score: 13

vs USA: 13

sonuvazag
07-11-2008, 09:58 AM
17
29
8
25

DoggieDogpound
07-11-2008, 10:04 AM
12.5 ppg
21 points
6 points

11 points

Qhall43
07-11-2008, 10:15 AM
14.7

19

8

15

Count it!

JohnOGU
07-11-2008, 10:20 AM
Average-14.5
High-19
Low-8
USA-12

Rubbadub
07-11-2008, 10:29 AM
1. Predict the scoring average for Mangisto. - 8
2. Predict his highest scoring game. - 14
3. Predict his lowest scoring game. - 4

Bonus Prediction:

4. If Canada plays USA, predict how much Mangisto scores. - 7

sdzag
07-11-2008, 11:09 AM
Avg: 9.7
High: 20
Low:4

Bonus: 7

snohozag
07-11-2008, 11:26 AM
Average: 13
High:18
Low:7
Canada vs USA: 10

GonzagaGurl08
07-11-2008, 12:14 PM
I'm in for tickets as well. Here are my numbers


1. 20 ppg
2. 25 points
3. 10 points
4. 15 points

finechina2003
07-11-2008, 12:59 PM
14
22
8
12

madazaggal
07-11-2008, 05:10 PM
1. Scoring Average: 11.9
2. Highest Game: 16
3. Lowest Game: 5

If Canada plays the USA: 7

thespywhozaggedme
07-11-2008, 08:10 PM
1. Scoring Average: 11.9
2. Highest Game: 16
3. Lowest Game: 5

If Canada plays the USA: 7

Um, the idea is to be closest to his average, not furthest. :mad:
You're seriously underestimating how good of a player Manny is. He won't score in single digits in any game.

WestSeattleZag
07-12-2008, 02:20 AM
14.5 ave
23 High
5 low
12 USA game

gonzozag
07-12-2008, 03:05 AM
13.8
21
5
bonus 11

Fantastic7
07-12-2008, 02:22 PM
Avg. 14.8
H. 24
L. 7

Vs. USA 14

MBZags
07-12-2008, 04:43 PM
16.6
23
12

v. USA - 20

4EVERaZAG
07-12-2008, 08:07 PM
1. Avg: 15
2. High: 22
3. Low: 6
4. USA: 11

StatMan
07-13-2008, 01:04 PM
Avg 15.5

High 23

Low 11


Against US 16

BobZag
07-18-2008, 04:20 PM
Final Results!

17ppg
21 high
14 low
21 vs USA

ZaggyStardust
07-18-2008, 04:36 PM
I predict that Marc Trasolini outscores (ppg) Arop.


Sorry - Not Even Close!!!!!


Canada

2 Pts 3 Pts FT Points Reb
# Player GP Min M/A % M/A % M/A % Pts Avg O/D Tot Ast PF TO St BS
8 Arop, M. 4 133 23/40 57.5 4/17 23.5 11/12 91.7 69 17.3 7/33 40 8 7 14 4 3
12 Trasolini, M. 4 88 16/30 53.3 0/1 0.0 5/8 62.5 37 9.3 8/14 22 3 7 3 2 10